حل إدارة المشاريع للاستشاريين

برنامج Mavenlink Project Collaboration Software

برنامج Mavenlink Project Collaboration Softwareهناك ثلاثة أنواع من المشاريع. الأشياء التي يمكنك القيام بها بنفسك ، وتلك التي يمكنك أن تدفع لشخص آخر للتعامل معها نيابة عنك ، وتلك التي تحتاج إلى التعاون مع الآخرين بشأنها. برنامج إدارة المشاريع هو من النوع الثالث.

لقد اكتشفت مؤخرًا Mavenlink ، وهو تطبيق لإدارة المشاريع قائم على السحابة يشبه Basecamp ، ولكن مع التركيز على احتياجات المستشارين وأصحاب الأعمال الحرة. يتيح لك Mavenlink إنشاء مشاريع ودعوة العملاء وتعيين المهام بقصد تعاون وتواصل أفضل ، تمامًا مثل Basecamp. ما يميز Mavenlink عن غيره هو إضافة ميزات إدارة الفواتير.

قم بإنشاء مشروع في Mavenlink ويمكنك تخصيص ميزانية. في التخطيط للمشروع ، تقوم بإنشاء المهام والتسليمات. بعد ذلك ، يمكنك تتبع النفقات والوقت في كل مشروع حسب المهمة ، وإذا كان الوقت قابلًا للفوترة ، فقم بتعيين معدل الساعة. مع تراكم الفواتير ، تُظهر لوحة تحكم المشروع لك وللعميل مكانك في الميزانية.

أجد أن جانب الفوترة هو المكون الرئيسي المفقود من تطبيقات التعاون الأخرى. يميل المستقلون والمستشارون إلى العمل مع العملاء على أساس المشروع ، وقد يكون من الصعب تسجيل كل الوقت المستغرق والإبلاغ عنه. يعد توفير آلية لتتبع الميزانية وإعداد التقارير أحد الأصول لكل من البائع والعميل. هناك عدد أقل من المفاجآت ، وسيظهر ذلك عندما تختلف التوقعات أو يحتاج تغيير المشروع إلى أن ينعكس في تغيير الميزانية. يجعل Mavenlink الميزانية جزءًا من المحادثة.

في نقاط مختلفة أثناء المشروع ، يمكنك إنشاء فواتير وقبول الدفع عبر تكامل PayPal. تفاوضت شركة Mavenlink على سعر خاص مع PayPal يقوم بخصم رسوم التاجر العادية. هناك أيضًا تكامل مع حساب Google الخاص بك ، مما يتيح مزامنة التقويم ومشاركة المستندات ودعوات جهات الاتصال.

تستحق أدوات التعاون عبر الإنترنت الاستثمار الصغير في الوقت الذي يستغرقه إعدادها. القاعده لا تزال شائعة بالنسبة للمؤسسات الصغيرة الكبيرة بما يكفي لإدارة المشاريع بشكل منفصل عن الفواتير والفواتير. قد تكون المؤسسات ذات المشاريع المتزامنة المعقدة أو المتعددة أفضل حالًا في تنفيذ حل قائم على الخادم مثل اكتف كولاب. إذا كنت مستشارًا أو مطور ويب أو مصممًا مستقلاً ، مافينلينك قد يكون مناسبًا لك.

12 تعليقات

  1. 1
    • 2

      دوغ ، لقد كنت أفكر فيك بالفعل عندما كنت أكتب منشوري. كنت أعلم أنك ابتعدت عن Basecamp وتساءلت عما إذا كان Mavenlink سيكون أكثر إعجابك. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن Mavenlink أسهل بكثير على المحفظة. لن تضطر حتى إلى تقليص قهوتك من هذا المتجر في الطابق السفلي. 🙂

  2. 3
    • 4

      أنا لم ... حتى الآن. يبدو لي أن PBworks تعمل مثل مزيج إدارة مشروع شبكة اجتماعية. رأيي البالغ 5,280،XNUMX هو أنه يعمل بشكل أفضل للمؤسسات الكبيرة حيث يتم إعداد الجميع على النظام ، ثم تقوم بجذبهم إلى مشاريعك لجمع الآراء والحقائق. هذا لن يعمل بالضرورة لسيناريو المستشار / العميل.

      سأكون مهتمًا جدًا بسماع آرائك حول PBworks ، والمكان الذي تعتقد أنه يناسبها بشكل أفضل.

  3. 5

    تيم ،

    أنا أقدر حقًا المنشور والمنظور الذي قدمته لتقييمك لـ Mavenlink. بينما أنا بالطبع متحيز قليلاً (كمؤسس Mavenlink) ، وقد أتساءل عن سبب استخدامك لـ ActiveCollab :) ، أعتقد أنك قمت بعمل رائع في تقييم المساحة ونقاط القوة لدى المشاركين.

    • 6

      شكرا لك شون. لقد استخدمت ActiveCollab كنائب رئيس New Media في وكالة إعلانات. مع العشرات من أصحاب المصلحة الداخليين والمئات من أصحاب المصلحة الخارجيين ، أردنا حلاً مستضافًا ذاتيًا يمكننا تخصيصه ودمجه مع التطبيقات المخصصة الأخرى.

      لكن الحقيقة تُقال ، كان ActiveCollab مرهقًا بعض الشيء وصداعًا للتدريب / الدعم. لا أعتقد أن Mavenlink كان متاحًا في ذلك الوقت. 🙂

  4. 7

    يبدو قليلا مثل Onit. سيكون من المثير للاهتمام معرفة ما إذا كان Mavinlink هو الشيء الذي قد يروق للمحامين. شكرا للفت إنتباهي. لقد جربت إصدار PBworks Legal وقد أعجبت به من أجل تعاون المحتوى العام ، ولكن لا يزال يبدو وكأنه صفع على موقع wiki. ومع ذلك ، فقد مر وقت طويل منذ أن نظرت إلى PBworks.

    • 8

      حسنًا ، هذه فكرة مثيرة للاهتمام ، بول. قد أكون مخطئًا بسهولة بشأن هذا الأمر ، ولكن يبدو أن المحامين سيكونون حساسين بشكل خاص لمخاطر وضع معلومات العميل في بيئة "خدمة سحابية". يمكنك أن تجادل بأن السحابة ربما تكون أكثر أمانًا من الشبكة الخاصة داخل شركة محاماة ، ولكن المشكلة هي أنه إذا كان هناك تعرض سلبي لبيانات العميل ، فمن سيكون المسؤول ، شركة المحاماة أو السحابة؟

      يبدو أنك أكثر دراية بهذه المساحة. ما هو رأيك في هذا؟ كيف يقوم أعضاء المهنة القانونية بتخفيف المخاطر عند العمل في السحابة؟

  5. 9

    هل ألقيت نظرة على LumoFlow (http://www.lumoflow.com)?

    إنه يوفر بديلاً ميسور التكلفة للغاية لـ Basecamp وهو سهل الاستخدام للغاية ، خاصة للمستخدمين لأول مرة ، لذا فهو مثالي لتعاون العملاء. لا توجد وظيفة فوترة حتى الآن حيث أن التركيز ينصب على إنشاء بيئة تعاون نشطة (وليس إدارة المشروع كما هو الحال مع Basecamp).

    هتاف!

    بارت

  6. 10

    لقد عثرت على منشور مدونتك عبر بحث Google ... هل ما زلت تستخدم Mavenlink؟ أفكار؟ بينما أنا رجل واحد (التسويق عبر الإنترنت) ، فأنا في حاجة ماسة إلى أداة PM جيدة. لقد كنت أستخدم WorkETC ، لكنني لست سعيدًا به حقًا. يبدو أن برنامج Basecamp ليس مناسبًا لمستخدم واحد.

  7. 11

    أوصيك أيضًا بتجربة Comindware ، وهو حل أكثر مرونة من Basecamp ، مع ميزة رائعة لإعداد التقارير في الوقت الفعلي.

  8. 12

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

A Project Management Solution for Consultants

Mavenlink Project Collaboration Software

Mavenlink Project Collaboration SoftwareThere are three kinds of projects. The ones you can do on your own, the ones that you can pay someone else to handle for you, and the ones that you need to collaborate with others on. Project management software is for the third kind.

I recently discovered Mavenlink, a cloud-based project management application that is similar to Basecamp, but with a focus on the needs of consultants and freelancers. Mavenlink lets you create projects, invite clients, and assign tasks with the intent toward better collaboration and communication, just like Basecamp. What sets Mavenlink apart is the addition of billing management features.

Create a project in Mavenlink and you can assign a budget. In planning the project, you establish tasks and deliverables. Then you can track expenses and time on each project by task, and if the time is billable, set the hourly rate. As billings accumulate, the project dashboard shows you and the client where you stand on the budget.

I find the billing aspect to be the key ingredient missing from other collaboration apps. Freelancers and consultants tend to work with clients on a project basis, and it can be difficult to capture and report all of the time spent. Providing a mechanism for budget tracking and reporting is an asset to both the vendor and the client. There are fewer surprises, and it will be apparent when expectations differ or a project change needs to be reflected in a budget change. Mavenlink makes the budget a part of the conversation.

At various points during the project you can generate invoices and accept payment via PayPal integration. Mavenlink negotiated a special rate with PayPal that discounts their normal merchant charge. There is also integration with your Google account, enabling calendar syncing, document sharing, and contact invitations.

Online collaboration tools are worth the small investment in time it takes to set them up. Basecamp continues to be popular for small organizations who are large enough to manage projects separate from their invoicing and billing. Organizations with complex, or multiple concurrent projects might be better off implementing a server-based solution like ActiveCollab. If you are a consultant, web developer or freelance designer, Mavenlink might be the right fit for you.

12 Comments

  1. 1
    • 2

      Doug, I actually had you in mind when I was composing my post. I knew you had walked away from Basecamp and wondered if Mavenlink would be more to your liking. Interestingly enough, Mavenlink is much easier on the wallet. You wouldn’t even have to cut back on your coffee from that shop downstairs. 🙂

  2. 3
    • 4

      I haven’t… until just now. It appears to me that PBworks functions more like a social network-project management mashup. My 5,280′ view is that it works better for larger organizations where you get everyone set up on the system, and then you pull them into your projects to gather opinions, facts. This wouldn’t necessarily work for the consultant/client scenario.

      I would be very interested in hearing your views on PBworks, and where you think it fits best.

  3. 5

    Tim,

    I really appreciate the post and the perspective you brought to your evaluation of Mavenlink. While I of course am a little biased (as a founder of Mavenlink), and might wonder why you would ever use ActiveCollab :), I think you did a great job of evaluating the space and the strengths of the participants.

    • 6

      Thank you, Sean. I used ActiveCollab as VP of New Media at an advertising agency. With dozens of internal stakeholders and hundreds of external stakeholders, we wanted a self-hosted solution that we could customize and integrate with other custom apps.

      But truth be told, ActiveCollab was a bit cumbersome and a headache to train/support. I don’t think Mavenlink was available at the time. 🙂

  4. 7

    Sounds a bit like Onit. It will be interesting to see if Mavinlink is something that would appeal to lawyers. Thanks for bringing it to my attention. I’ve tried the PBworks Legal edition and was impressed with it for general content collaboration, but it still feels like PM slapped on a wiki. That said, it has been a while since I’ve looked at PBworks.

    • 8

      Hmm, that is an interesting thought, Paul. I may easily be wrong about this, but it seems that lawyers would be particularly sensitive to the risks of putting client information in a “cloud service” environment. You could argue that the cloud is probably more secure than the private network inside a law firm, but the problem is that if there was an adverse exposure of client data, who would be responsible, the law firm or the cloud?

      You seem to be much more familiar with this space. What is your take on this? How are members of the legal profession mitigating their risk when operating in the cloud?

  5. 9

    Have you had a look at LumoFlow (http://www.lumoflow.com)?

    It offers a very affordable alternative to Basecamp and is very easy to use, especially for first time users so it’s perfect for customer collaboration. There is no billing functionality yet as the focus is on creating an active collaboration environment (not project management as with Basecamp).

    Cheers!

    Bart

  6. 10

    I found your blog post via Google search… Are you still using Mavenlink?  Thoughts?  While I’m a one man operation (web marketing), I’m in desperate need of a good PM tool. I’ve been using WorkETC, but am not really pleased with it.  Basecamp seems like it’s not a good fit for a single user.

  7. 11

    I also recommend you to try Comindware, more flexible solution than Basecamp, with great feature of real-time reporting.

  8. 12

Leave a Reply