من الذي يمنعك؟

يعيقك

إحدى المشاكل التي نواجهها مع الانتخابات الآن هي أنها طويلة جدًا. إن محاولة توقع أن يحقق مرشح ما أكثر من عام دون أن يجعله يبدو وكأنه جوزيف أمر شبه مستحيل. الأمر بنفس الصعوبة على الرئيس ... يتساءل الجميع من يدير هذا المكان لأنه على الطريق طوال الوقت يحاول أن ينتخب. وكل ثانية من كل خطوة في كل خطاب يتم تحليلها بشكل يبعث على السخرية حتى الموت حتى تتمكن وسائل الإعلام لدينا من العثور على نوع من الخردة لقضية ما للانقضاض عليها. هذا مقرف.

أنا لست مرشحًا ، لكن طرح نفسك على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي يفتح لك نفس التدقيق. بينما تستمر في الكتابة والتغريد والتحديث والمشاركة ، فإن فرصك في تحقيق رعشة كاملة من نفسك تقترب من 100 بالمائة. إذا لم تفعل ذلك أبدًا ، فأنت ببساطة لا تضع قلبك وشغفك في هذا. أنا ألصق قدمي في فمي طوال الوقت. في يوم من الأيام سأقول للناس هناك لا توجد قواعد لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، عندها انا سوف الصراخ على الجميع في Google+ عن طريقة استخدامهم لها.

كثير من الناس (والشركات) سوف يتذمرون من فكرة الوقوع في تناقض كهذا.

ليس لي.

لماذا ا؟ لن أترك الخوف من الظهور كأنني أحمق يمنعني من التعبير عن نفسي. إذا كنت لا تحب ذلك ، مثل علق كريس بروغان... يمكنك إقصائي من دائرتك.

عائشة تايلرقابلت شخصين رائعين في BlogWorld Expo وأريد أن أذكرهما هنا. كان واحد عائشة تايلر، شخص لديه الكثير من المواهب (بما في ذلك أسرع ذكاء شاهدته على الإطلاق) لا يمكنني حتى سردها.

ملكة جمال لوريبعد الكلمة الرئيسية ، جلست مع ملكة جمال لوري، مشهورة معروفة بعملها على PBS وعملها المستمر في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والإعلام والتعليم. لقد أمضينا ساعات نتحدث ... وكنت محظوظًا بمشاركة سيارة أجرة مع الآنسة لوري هذا الصباح! لا يمكنني حتى أن أصف بالكلمات كم كان من الرائع التحدث إليها.

مثيرة للاهتمام… شخصين التي تركت انطباعًا لا يمحى لدي كانت رائعة ، قوية ، سوداء ، أنثوية وجميلة. الآن - قبل أن تبدأ في إلقاء نكات الرجل العجوز القذر ، سأقطعك هناك. لم يكن الجمال هو ما جذبني ... لقد كانت الشجاعة الملهمة لهاتين السيدتين. اعتقدت أنه كان من الصعب علي الخروج ، لكن لا يمكنني حتى تخيل كل الأشياء التي كان من الممكن أن تعيد عودة عائشة وملكة جمال لوري. لم يبطئهم. لقد كانوا يشقون طريقهم في كل مكان لقد ذهبوا. ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي الشيء التالي الذي يجب عليهم التغلب عليه (إنهم بالفعل في طريقهم جيدًا!).

لم أتوقف عن التفكير في الأمر.

من بين الأشياء التي دفعت النمو في هذه الصناعة خلال السنوات القليلة الماضية كانت قدرتي على تجاوز الخوف من الفشل. توقفت ببساطة عن الاستماع إلى الأشخاص الذين قالوا لي إنني لا أستطيع أو لا أفعل أو لا ينبغي. توقفت عن الاستماع إلى الزملاء والأصدقاء وحتى العائلة. تقدمت للأمام على أي حال. الناس ... أبلغ من العمر 43 عامًا! هذا هو الوقت الذي استغرقته للتغلب عليه والتقدم إلى الأمام. حتى اليوم ، عندما يقول أحدهم إن الناس يتحدثون من وراء ظهري أو يشاركونني الشائعات ، فأنا لا أتراجع - أنا أهاجم. أصابني الخوف بالشلل لمدة 20 عاما. لقد سرق ما لا يقل عن نصف حياتي الشخصية والمهنية. أنا لست بلا خوف ، لكنني لن أدع الخوف يوقفني مرة أخرى.

بعد قولي هذا ... أنا متوترة تمامًا مقارنة بعائشة والآنسة لوري. كلاهما انغمس في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي دون مجموعة دعم (كنت محاطًا بالمتخصصين). جاء كلاهما من وسائل الإعلام التقليدية حيث كان (ولا يزال) يُنظر إلى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بعين الشك. كلاهما امرأتان ، ثقافيًا هناك فجوة بين النساء والتكنولوجيا. كلاهما كان لهما سيرة ذاتية رائعة ونمو مستمر في مهنة تقليدية. ناهيك عن أن هذه الصناعة ليست مغناطيسًا متنوعًا تمامًا.

لكنهم فعلوها على أي حال.

لماذا ا؟ عند الاستماع إليهم ، يرجع السبب في ذلك إلى أن شغفهم ورؤيتهم لرؤية أن هناك فرصة في هذه الصناعة كانت أكبر بكثير من أي خوف قد يكون لديهم (لا أعرف حتى ما إذا كانوا خائفين!). وضعتها عائشة بشكل مثالي في تدمير الكلمة الرئيسية الأخيرة ... و *** لهم قالت. كنت من دواعي سروري الاستماع إلى ذلك لأنه كان ما كنت أقوله في الداخل في كل مرة تحدث فيها شخص ما وراء ظهري عن هلاك الوشيك.

عليك أن تفهم أنه في المرة الثانية التي تفصل فيها نفسك عن القطيع ، فأنت مختلف. يريد القطيع أن يسحبك مرة أخرى. لا يريدونك أن تمضي قدمًا. يريدون إعاقتك. لا يمكنك السماح لهم. لحسن الحظ بالنسبة لك ، هناك أشخاص آخرون مثلك سيساعدونك. كما قضيت الوقت مع أصدقائي في معرض BlogWorld، وجدت أنني كنت في المنزل مع أشخاص يريدونني أن أنجح. وأريدهم أن ينجحوا أيضًا.

من يمنعك؟ أعرف ما يمكنك أن تقوله لهم ... فقط اسأل عائشة.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    دوغ ، لم تزر مدونتك من قبل ، فقد قامت الآنسة لوري بنشرها على Twitter لذا اقرأها ... وتذكر رؤيتك في #Bwela لكن لم تكن متأكدة من أنت. لذا ، إلى حد بعيد ، هذا منشور رائع وصادق. أنا رجل عنيد ، لكنني تركت الخوف يعيقني كثيرًا في حياتي. سأكون في الخامسة والثلاثين من عمري في غضون يومين ، لكنني أعمل بجد لترك هذا الخوف ورائي. أنا أقدر منشورك حقًا ومن الرائع دائمًا سماع الآخرين أثناء مرورهم بتلك المتاهة. شكرا يا رجل ، لديك فكرة جيدة !!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Who’s Holding You Back?

One of the problems we have with elections right now is that they’re too long. Trying to expect a candidate to make it over a year without making his/herself looking like a nutcase is nearly impossible. It’s just as hard for the President… everyone wondering who’s running this place since he’s on the road all the time trying to get elected. And every second of every step of every speech is being ridiculously analyzed to death until our media can find some kind of scrap of an issue to pounce upon. It’s disgusting.

I’m no candidate, but putting yourself out there in social media opens you up to the same scrutiny. As you continue to write, tweet, update and share, the chances for you to make a total jerk out of yourself nears 100 percent. If you never do, you’re simply not putting your heart and passion into this. I stick my foot in my mouth all the time. One day I’ll tell folks there are no rules to social media, then I’ll yell at everyone on Google+ for the way they’re using it.

A lot of people (and companies) would cringe at the thought of getting caught up in a contradiction like this.

Not me.

Why? I’m not even going to let the fear of looking like a jerk stop me from expressing myself. If you don’t like it, as Chris Brogan commented… you can drop me out of your circle.

I met two amazing people at BlogWorld Expo and I want to mention them here. One was Aisha Tyler, a person with so many talents (including the quickest wit I’ve ever witnessed) I can’t even list them.

After the keynote, I happened to sit down with Miss Lori, a celebrity known for her work on PBS and her continued work in social media, in the media, and in education. We spent hours talking… and I was even blessed to share a cab with Miss Lori this morning! I can’t even put into words how amazing she was to speak to.

Interesting… the two people that made an indelible impression on me were brilliant, strong, black, female and beautiful. Now – before you start throwing your dirty old man jokes, I’ll cut you off right there. It wasn’t the beauty that got me… it was the awe inspiring courage of these two ladies. I thought it was tough for me to step out but I can’t even imagine all the things that could have held Aisha and Miss Lori back. It hasn’t slowed them down. They’ve been blazing a trail everywhere they’ve gone. And social media is just the next thing for them to conquer (they’re already well on their way!).

I haven’t stopped thinking about it.

One of the things that’s propelled my growth in this industry the last few years has been my ability to work past the fear of failure. I simply stopped listening to people who told me I couldn’t, wouldn’t or shouldn’t. I stopped listening to colleagues, friends and even family. I stepped forward anyways. Folks… I’m 43! That’s how long it took me to overcome and step forward. Even today, when someone says that folks are talking behind my back or they share rumors, I don’t retreat – I attack. Fear paralyzed me for 20 years. It stole at least half of my life, both personal and professional. I am not without fear, but I’m never going to let fear stop me again.

That said… I’m a total wussy compared to Aisha and Miss Lori. Both of them dove into social media without a support group (I was surrounded by geeks). Both of them came from traditional media where social media was (and is) still viewed with skepticism. Both of them are women, culturally there’s a gap there with women and technology. Both had an impressive resume and continued growth in a traditional career. Not to mention that this industry isn’t exactly a diversity magnet.

But they did it anyways.

Why? In listening to them, it’s because their passion and vision to see there was an opportunity in this industry was far bigger than any fear they may have had (I don’t even know if they were fearful!). Aisha put it perfectly in the final keynote destruction… f*** them she said. I was pumped listening to that because it was what I’ve been saying inside everytime someone talked behind my back about my impending doom.

You have to understand that the second you separate yourself from the herd, you’re different. The herd wants to pull you back in. They don’t want you to run ahead. They want to hold you back. You can’t let them. Luckily for you, there are other ones like you that will help you. As I spent time with my friends at BlogWorld Expo, I found that I was at home with people that wanted me to succeed. And I want them to succeed, too.

Who’s holding you back? I know what you can tell them… just ask Aisha.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Doug, never been to your blog before, Miss Lori posted it on Twitter so read it…and remember seeing you at #Bwela but was not sure who you were. So, to the point, this is an amazing and honest post. I’m an opinionated dude, but have let fear hold me back a lot in my life. I will be 35 in a couple of days, but have been working hard at leaving that fear behind. I really appreciate your post and it’s always great to hear others as they have gone through that maze. Thanks man, have a good one!!

Leave a Reply