تدوين الشركات خلال كارثة (كما تتكشف)

قنبلةتعيش خدمة استضافة Monster ، Dreamhost ، كابوس SaaS في الوقت الحالي. يبدو أن أحجار الدومينو في الكارثة قرروا جميعًا الاصطفاف في سلسلة مستمرة من الأحداث بالنسبة لهم. بينما كنت أعمل كمدير صيانة في إحدى منشآت الصحف الكبرى ، أخبرت الناس أن هناك عددًا لا حصر له من الأشياء استطاع يحدث خطأ بين إخراج الصفحات وإخراجها في الشارع. كانت وظيفتي هي إدارة هذا الخطر من خلال مهاجمة كل نقطة ضعف محتملة في النظام. في بعض الأحيان ، كانت هذه الأشياء خارجة عن سيطرتنا! يكتشف Dreamhost هذا الآن ... لكنهم يتواصلون بنشاط مع الكارثة من خلال مدونة الشركة (تسد).

وأثني على Dreamhost لحسن توقيتها وصدقها على سد. أنا لست عميلاً (أستضيف مع Jumpline) ، ولكن احترمهم حديثًا بعد أن قرأت عن "الكارثة المستمرة".

كتب سيث جودين:

الدرس الأول: عندما تتعطل الأمور ، فإن الوضوح والنقد الذاتي والاعتذار هو حقًا الطريقة الوحيدة للتعامل مع العملاء إذا كنت تتوقع منهم منحك فرصة أخرى.

الدرس الثاني: قصتك هي كل ما لديك. إذا كنت تبيع قصة "up-time" ، فمن الأفضل أن تفرط في الاستثمار في كل ما يتطلبه الأمر للتأكد من أن قصتك صحيحة. إذا كنت تبيع الزبادي العضوي ، ادفع أكثر مما تحتاجه لإبعاد السموم.

الدرس الثالث: إذا كنت تعتقد أنه في وقت ما في السنوات العشر القادمة سيكون هناك فائض في الطاقة (لا يوجد انقطاع في الطاقة في نيويورك ، والغاز الرخيص في أوهايو والكثير من الطاقة لأدواتك الجديدة أينما كنت) أعتقد أنك تصنع رهان خاطئ.

أود إضافة نقطتين إلى الدرس الأول:

  • كن في الوقت المناسب.
  • لا تختبئ.

قدمت التعليق التالي على مدونة Dreamhost (اقرأها أولا):

بعض الملاحظات إلى "مكتب المبنى". إن تقديم الكثير من التفاصيل فيما يتعلق بفشل المعدات لا يوفر للعميل سوى فضول للتساؤل عن مقدار الخطأ الذي يمكن أن يحدث. من خلال تقديم قدر كبير من التفاصيل المتعلقة بانقطاع التيار ، ولكن لا يوجد تخصيص أو معلومات اتصال (ببساطة التوقيع "مكتب المبنى") هو أمر غير صادق ويظهر أنك لا تريد مواجهة المشكلة مع عميلك. هذا أمر محير.

تعرضت شركتي لانقطاع الخدمة الممتد العام الماضي مما كلفنا مئات الآلاف من الدولارات في عمليات التجديد. ومع ذلك ، كان من الممكن أن يكلفنا ملايين الدولارات لو لم نقم باستدعاء الموظفين ، وقمنا بوضع صفحة اتصال بديلة (صفحة تسجيل مع رقم هاتف يمكننا الوصول إلى عملائنا عليه) واتصلنا شخصيًا بكل عميل كان متأثر.

الاختباء خلف توقيع لا معنى له أمر فظيع. لن أتحمل هذا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

Corporate Blogging through a Disaster (as it’s unfolding)

BombMonster hosting service, Dreamhost, is living the SaaS nightmare right now. It appears the dominoes of disaster all decided to line up in a continuous chain of events for them. While I worked as a maintenance manager at a major newspaper facility, I told people that there were an infinite amount of things that could go wrong between getting the pages and putting the paper out on the street. My job was to manage that risk by attacking every possible point of weakness in the system. Sometimes, those things were outside of our control, though! Dreamhost is finding this out right now… but they are actively communicating the disaster through their corporate blog (clog).

I commend Dreamhost for their timeliness and honesty on their clog. I’m not a customer (I host with Jumpline), but have a newfound respect for them after reading about their ‘ongoing disaster’.

Seth Godin writes:

Lesson one: when things get messed up, being clear, self-critical and apologetic is really the only way to deal with customers if you expect them to give you another chance.

Lesson two: your story is all you’ve got. If you sell the “up-time” story, better over-invest in whatever it takes to be sure your story is true. If you sell organic yogurt, pay more than you need to to keep the toxins out.

Lesson three: if you think that sometime in the next ten years there’s going to be a power surplus (no brownouts in New York, cheap gas in Ohio and plenty of power for your new widgets wherever you are) I think you’re making the wrong bet.

I would add a couple points to Lesson one:

  • Be timely.
  • Don’t hide.

I provided the following comment to the Dreamhost blog (read it first):

Some feedback to â??Office of the Buildingâ?. Providing a great many details with respect to the equipment failure only provides the customer with a curiosity of wondering how much more can go wrong. By providing a great amount of detail regarding the outage, but no personalization or contact information (simply signing â??Office of the Buildingâ?) is insincere and shows that you do not want to face the issue with your customer. Thatâ?’s disconcerting.

My company had an extended outage last year that cost us hundreds of thousands of dollars in renewals. However, it could have cost us millions of dollars had we not called in employees, put up an alternative contact page (a sign-up page with a phone number where we could reach our customers at) and personally contacted each and EVERY client who was impacted.

Hiding behind a meaningless signature is terrible. I would not put up with this.

Leave a Reply