التركيز على واجهات برمجة التطبيقات لتنمية تطبيقك (Del.icio.us و Technorati)

الجذوربحلول الوقت الذي تقرأ فيه هذا ، قد يتم تصحيحه ... ولكن قد تلاحظ أن ملف ستثمبليوبون الترتيب هو 0. وذلك لأن Technorati API لا يُرجع الترتيب كجزء من الاستدعاء (إنه يُرجع عقدة مغلقة ).

كذلك، Del.icio.us' API يتصرف. قاموا بإصلاح مشكلة حيث لن يتم إرجاع أي منشورات في اليوم الآخر عندما تقدم طلبًا لعلامة معينة. اليوم يقوم فقط بإعادة السجل الأول ضمن تلك العلامة. الوظيفة الآلية التي تنشر قراءاتي اليومية لم يتم نشرها أيضًا.

لقد قدمت طلبات إلى كلا الشركتين ولكني لم أحصل على أي رد. كلاهما شركتان رائعتان تواصلت معي حقًا عندما احتجت إلى المساعدة في الماضي وآمل أن يفعلوا ذلك الآن. قد لا يكون هذا هو الحال مع هاتين الشركتين ، لكن العديد من الشركات تتعامل مع API كميزة ثانوية لخدمتهم أو تطبيقهم.

هذا خطأ قد يقتل عملك في المستقبل القريب. نحن نتسارع نحو الويب "الدلالي" ... مع المكونات الإضافية ، والأدوات ، و rss ، والصفحات المخصصة ، وما إلى ذلك حيث ستصبح واجهات برمجة التطبيقات أكثر أهمية من واجهات المستخدم نفسها. في الهريس التطبيق ، قد أتصل بخادم مركزي يتواصل بدوره مع واجهات برمجة تطبيقات متعددة. إذا كنت شركة Mashup ، فلن أقوم بأعمال تجارية لا تأخذها API بشكل جاد.

IMHO، هذا هو الدرس جوجل تعلمت في وقت مبكر جدا. إذا كنت تراقب Google بعناية ، فإن كل تطبيق من التطبيقات التي يقدمونها إلى السوق به واجهات برمجة تطبيقات قوية تدعو إلى إبداع طرف ثالث. هناك عدد لا يحصى من الأعمال والتطبيقات المبنية على واجهات برمجة التطبيقات هذه أيضًا.

بدلاً من دعم براعة الطرف الثالث ، تحاربهم بعض الشركات تمامًا. كان على Statsaholic تغيير اسمه من Alexaholic بسبب مخاوف بشأن العلامات التجارية. تخيل أن ... شخصًا ما يبني واجهة مستخدم رائعة تروج للإحصاءات التي طورتها. لقد وزعوا هذه الإحصائيات على مئات الآلاف (ربما الملايين) من المستخدمين. الوصول الذي ربما لم يتحقق أبدًا لو أنك حاولت ببساطة أن تفعل ذلك بنفسك ... وتضايقك.

نجم البحر والعنكبوتناقشنا هذا الأسبوع في نادي الكتاب إنديانابوليس نجم البحر والعنكبوت: القوة التي لا يمكن وقفها للمنظمات غير القيادية. النقطة الأساسية في هذا الكتاب هي أن العنكبوت يمثل منظمة من أعلى إلى أسفل. اقتل الرأس ولا يستطيع الجسد البقاء. قطع نجم البحر وينتهي بك المطاف مع 2 نجم البحر.

مدونات جوجل أخذ حصة في السوق من Technorati. أنا أحب Technorati وما زلت أعتقد أنه من الأسهل بكثير العمل معها ، ولكن لا جدال في أن Google هي الشاحنة الكبيرة في مرآة الرؤية الخلفية. أصدرت Google هذا الأسبوع ملف Ajax Feed API… هذا يعد تعديًا إضافيًا على Technorati سواء أدركوا ذلك أم لا. (كما أنها تتنافس مع Yahoo! Pipes.)

لا أفهم مخاوف الشركات من فتح واجهات برمجة التطبيقات الخاصة بها وضمان الأداء القوي والدعم لها للشركات الأخرى ، بدورها ، لمزيد من التطوير. هناك العديد من المزايا ... تطوير واجهة مستخدم أقل ، أخطاء أقل ، دعم أقل ، عرض نطاق ترددي أقل (ملف API المكالمة هي بيانات أقل بكثير من الصفحة) والمزيد من الشركات التي تعتمد على عملك. هؤلاء ليسوا أشخاصًا تريد التنافس معهم أو عزلهم ، هؤلاء هم الأشخاص الذين تريد احتضانهم ومكافأتهم.

إذا قمت بتصوير تطبيق الويب الخاص بك على أنه شجرة ، فقد ترغب في التفكير في واجهة المستخدم الخاصة بك على أنها أوراقك و API كجذورك. الأوراق ضرورية وجميلة ، لكن وجود جذور عميقة سيؤمن مستقبل عملك.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    من المسلم به أن الحفاظ على سلاسة عملياتنا الخلفية وتحسين موقع الويب لهما الأسبقية ، ولكن لا تخف ، فإن مستخدمي واجهة برمجة التطبيقات لدينا هي مهم بالنسبة لنا. يسعدني أن أرى عنصر واجهة المستخدم الخاص بك يعرض الترتيب مرة أخرى ، أعتقد أن هذا يؤكد صحة أن الإصلاح الذي تم إجراؤه على واجهة برمجة التطبيقات ساري المفعول 🙂
    -إيان
    ستثمبليوبون

    • 2

      شكرا ايان! أعلم أنكم تعتقدون أن جميع المستخدمين مهمون - لم يكن لدي أبدًا تجربة مختلفة مع Technorati. كوننا مدير منتج في مزود خدمة البريد الإلكتروني ، فإننا نكافح مع API الخاص بنا بنفس الطريقة.

      يبدو أن المد يتحول! تدرك شركتي أخيرًا قيمة API من فائدة عائد الاستثمار. أنتم يا رفاق تستمرون في دفع فرص متكاملة جديدة - وسنواصل الترويج لخدمتكم!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Concentrate on APIs to Grow your Application (Del.icio.us and Technorati)

RootsBy the time you read this, it may be corrected… but you may notice that my Technorati Rank is 0. That’s because the Technorati API is not returning rank as part of the call (it’s returning a closed node <rank />).

As well, Del.icio.usAPI is acting up. They fixed an issue where no posts would be returned the other day when you make a request for a specific tag. Today it’s just returning the first record within that tag. The automated job that posts my Daily Reads never posted either.

I’ve put requests in with both companies but I’m not getting any response. They are both great companies who have really reached out to me when I’ve needed assistance in the past and I hope they do now. It may not be the case with these two companies, but many companies treat their API as a secondary feature of their service or application.

That’s a mistake that may kill your business in the near future. We’re accelerating towards the ‘semantic’ web… with plugins, widgets, rss, custom pages, etc. where APIs are going to become more important than the User Interfaces themselves. In a Mashup application, I may be contacting a central server which in turn communicates with multiple APIs. If I’m a Mashup company, I’m not going to do businesses that don’t take their API seriously.

IMHO, this is a lesson that Google learned very early. If you carefully observe Google, each of the applications that they bring to market has robust APIs that invite third party ingenuity. There are countless businesses and applications built off of those APIs as well.

Rather then support third party ingenuity, some companies actually fight them altogether. Statsaholic had to change it’s name from Alexaholic due to trademark concerns. Imagine that… someone builds a fantastic User Interface that promotes the statistics that you have developed. They’ve distributed those statistics to hundreds of thousands (perhaps millions) of users. Reach that may never have been established had you simply tried to do it on your own… and you get upset with them.

The Starfish and the SpiderThis week in our Indianapolis Book Club, we discussed The Starfish and the Spider: The Unstoppable Power of Leaderless Organizations. The key point of this book is that a Spider represents a top-down organization. Kill the head and the body can’t survive. Cut the Starfish and you wind up with 2 Starfish.

Google Blogsearch has been taking market share from Technorati. I love Technorati and still think it’s much easier to work with, but there’s no arguing that Google is the big truck in the rearview mirror. This week Google released its Ajax Feed API… this is additional encroachment on Technorati whether they recognize it or not. (It also competes with Yahoo! Pipes.)

I don’t understand the apprehension of companies to opening their APIs and ensuring robust performance and support of them for other companies, in turn, to further develop on. There are so many advantages… less user interface development, less bugs, less support, less bandwidth (an API call is much less data than a page) and more businesses that are dependent upon your business. These aren’t people you want to compete with or alienate, these are people you want to embrace and reward.

If you pictured your Web Application as a tree, you might want to think of your UI as your leaves and the API as your roots. Leaves are necessary and pretty, but having deep roots will secure your business’ future.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Admittedly, keeping our back-end operations smooth and improving the website take precedence but, fear not, our API users are important to us. Glad to see your widget displaying the rank again, I think that validates that the fix made to the API took effect 🙂
    -Ian
    Technorati

    • 2

      Thanks, Ian! I know you folks think all users are important – I’ve never had a different experience with Technorati. Being a Product Manager at an Email Service Provider we struggle with our API the same way.

      The tide does seem to be turning though! My company is finally recognizing the value of the API from an ROI benefit. You folks keep pushing out new integrated opportunities – and we’ll keep promoting your service!

Leave a Reply