لماذا سيسود فليكس وأبولو

الإنترنتالليلة الماضية قضيت المساء مع بعض الأصدقاء.

قضيت الساعات الثلاث الأولى في الحدود العمل على موقع عميل به بعض المراوغات عبر المستعرضات. تمت كتابة الموقع بشكل مثالي وصالح CSS. ومع ذلك ، مع Firefox 2 على جهاز كمبيوتر ، كان لقائمة القائمة النقطية تحول قبيح في البكسل وفي Internet Explorer 6 ، لم تنجح إحدى طرق CSS على الإطلاق.

Firefox 2 (تحقق من هذا التحول الغريب في البكسل الذي يجعله يبدو مائلًا تقريبًا):
قائمة Firefox 2

هكذا المفروض ان يظهر:
إنترنت إكسبلورر 7

في كل مرة اختبرنا فيها شيئًا ما ، تعطل متصفح آخر. كنا نختبر عبر OSX مع Safari و Firefox ثم XP مع IE6 و IE7 و Firefox. خبرة بيل في CSS وأدى حبي لجافا سكريبت في النهاية إلى حل لا يتطلب اختراقًا معينًا للمتصفح ... ولكنه كان تمرينًا سخيفًا (ولكنه ممتعًا) يمر به مصممو الويب كل يوم.

حقيقة أن أجهزة آبل, موزيلا, Microsoftو العمل غير قادرين على كتابة التطبيقات التي تستخدم أ معيار الويب يجب أن يكون محرجًا لكل منهم. يمكنني أن أفهم تمامًا ما إذا كان لكل متصفح ميزاته الخاصة التي يمكن دعمها من خلال البرمجة النصية الخاصة به - ولكن هذه أشياء أساسية.

هذا مثال ممتاز على السبب أبولو و ثني تتمتع بفرصة كبيرة لاكتساح الإنترنت. لقد كتبت منذ يومين عن سجل القصاصات، تطبيق مكتوب في Flex (وتم نقله بسرعة إلى Apollo). إذا لم تسنح لك الفرصة لرؤيتها - اذهب وجربها - إنه أمر مذهل.

فليكس يعمل تحت أدوبي فلاش المتصفح المساعد. هذا هو البرنامج المساعد الذي 99.9% كثير من الإنترنت (أنت تعمل في كل مرة تشاهد فيها مقطع فيديو على Youtube). يستخدم Apollo نفس المحرك ولكنه يسمح لك بالفعل بالتشغيل في نافذة التطبيق بدلاً من أن يقتصر على المتصفح.

ما هو فليكس؟

من أدوبي: يتكون إطار عمل تطبيق Flex من MXML و ActionScript 3.0 ومكتبة فئة Flex. يستخدم المطورون MXML لتعريف عناصر واجهة مستخدم التطبيق بشكل إعلاني واستخدام ActionScript للتحكم المنطقي والإجرائي للعميل. يكتب المطورون كود مصدر MXML و ActionScript باستخدام Adobe Flex Builder؟ IDE أو محرر نص قياسي.

نظرًا لإحباطنا من إنشاء قائمة بسيطة عبر المستعرضات ، تخيل محاولة إنشاء تطبيق ويب كامل مدعوم عبر المتصفحات! في النهاية ، يتعين على المطورين كتابة الاختراقات أو البرمجة النصية الخاصة بالمتصفح لضمان نفس التجربة بغض النظر عن نوع المتصفح أو سطح المكتب الذي تجد نفسك تعمل عليه. لا توجد مشاكل عبر المتصفح و الميزة الإضافية المتمثلة في نقل التطبيق بسهولة إلى Apollo للتشغيل داخل المتصفح أو خارجه.

بصرف النظر عن عدم القلق من شكله في كل متصفح ، هناك مزايا أخرى. الكتابة لـ Flex تفعل ليس تتطلب مهارات البرمجة الرسمية. أعتقد أن هذا هو السبب في أن العديد من المبرمجين المحترفين يسخرون من استخدام Flex أو Adobe. إنهم يفضلون إنفاق عشرات الآلاف من الدولارات لجعلهم يطورون الميزة في ASP.NET التي تتطلب بضعة أسطر MXML.

إذا كنت ترغب في متابعة فليكس وأبولو ، فقم بالاشتراك في مدونة صديقي بيل.

7 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 5
  4. 6
  5. 7

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Why Flex and Apollo Will Prevail

InternetLast night I spent the evening with some friends.

The first 3 hours was spent at Borders working on a client site that had some cross-browser quirks. The site was written with perfect, valid CSS. However, with Firefox 2 on a PC the bulleted menu list had an ugly pixel shift and on Internet Explorer 6, one of the CSS methods didn’t work at all.

Firefox 2 (check out that weird pixel shift that makes it look almost italicized):
Firefox 2 Menu

This is how it should look:
Internet Explorer 7

Each time that we tested something, another browser broke. We were testing across OSX with Safari and Firefox and then XP with IE6, IE7, and Firefox. Bill’s expertise at CSS and my love of JavaScript eventually led to a solution that didn’t require browser specific hacks… but it was a ridiculous (but fun) exercise that web designers go through every single day.

The fact that Apple, Mozilla, Microsoft, and Opera are incapable of writing applications that utilize a Web Standard should be embarrassing to each of them. I could absolutely understand if each browser had its own features that could be supported through their own scripting – but this is basic stuff.

This is a perfect example of why Apollo and Flex stand a great chance of sweeping the Internet. I wrote a couple days ago about Scrapblog, an application written in Flex (and quickly ported to Apollo). If you haven’t had a chance to see it – go try it out – it’s nothing short of amazing.

Flex runs under Adobe Flash’s browser plugin. This is a plugin that 99.9% a lot of the Internet runs (you’re running every time you look at a YouTube video). Apollo utilizes the same engine but allows you to actually run in an application window rather than being limited to the browser.

What is Flex?

From Adobe: The Flex application framework consists of MXML, ActionScript 3.0, and the Flex class library. Developers use MXML to declaratively define the application user interface elements and use ActionScript for client logic and procedural control. Developers write MXML and ActionScript source code using the Adobe Flex Builder? IDE or a standard text editor.

Given our frustration at building a cross-browser simple menu, imagine trying to build an entire web application that is supported across browsers! Ultimately, developers have to write hacks or browser-specific scripting to ensure the same experience regardless of what kind of browser or desktop you find yourself working on. No cross-browser issues and the additional advantage of easily porting the application to Apollo to run in or out of the browser.

Aside from not worrying how it looks in each browser, there are other advantages. Writing for Flex does not require formal programming skills. I think that’s why many professional programmers scoff at utilizing Flex or Adobe. They’d rather you spent tens of thousands of dollars having them develop the feature in ASP.NET that takes a few lines of MXML.

If you’d like to keep up on Flex and Apollo, subscribe to my friend Bill’s blog.

7 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 5
  4. 6

    Hmm.. This technology is really interesting. I am not a programmer, but as you write it doesn’t need it. Well done, I’ll go and check it up.

  5. 7

Leave a Reply