الجدال ضد التاريخ والدخول في التنقل

العمل من المنزل

كنت أجري محادثة ممتعة مع صديقي ، تشاد مايرز تسويق القبعات الثلاث، يناقش كيف أدى كل من اقتصادنا الزراعي والثورة الصناعية إلى عادات العمل الحديثة لدينا. تماما مثل لوحات مفاتيح QWERTY لجهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص بنا (تم تصميمها لتكون غير فعالة بحيث لا تلتصق مفاتيح الآلة الكاتبة ، ولكننا نستخدمها اليوم على الأجهزة التي لن تلتصق أبدًا) ، فنحن نستخدم التفكير في أي مكان من 100 إلى 1,000 عام (وأكثر) لتحديد قرارات التوظيف والعمل. وهم غير فعالين إلى حد بعيد.

كيف يؤثر الاقتصاد الزراعي على عادات العمل لدينا

عندما تنظر إلى Baby Boomers وعلاقاتهم العائلية بالزراعة ، كان واحدًا من كل أربعة أمريكيين مرتبطًا بطريقة ما بمزرعة ، وعادة ما تكون مزرعة عائلية. في ذلك الوقت ، وحتى اليوم ، استيقظت عند شروق الشمس ، وعملت حتى غروب الشمس. لا يمكنك العمل في الليل ، لأن الحقول لم تكن مضاءة ولم تكن الجرارات مزودة بمصابيح أمامية. كنتم تشتغلون بالنهار لأن آبائهم عملوا نهارا كما عمل آبائهم وآباؤهم من قبلهم. في الأساس ، منذ أن كانت لدينا الزراعة في هذا العالم ، كنت تعمل أثناء النهار وتنام في الليل.

في الوقت الحاضر ، ليس علينا القيام بذلك. لدينا مصابيح كهربائية ، ونحن قادرون على العمل عبر المناطق الزمنية ، والتواصل الفوري مع الإنترنت عالي السرعة.

كيف تؤثر الثورة الصناعية على عادات العمل لدينا

تقدم سريعًا إلى أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وأوائل القرن العشرين ، عندما انتشرت المصانع وجلبت الأتمتة الناس من المزارع إلى المدن للعثور على عمل. الآن ، إذا احتاج أي شيء إلى البناء ، فقد تم تصنيعه في مصنع. ولأن الناس أتوا من المزارع ، كان عليهم العمل بين الساعة 1800 و 1900 مرة أخرى.

ولكن الآن ، نظرًا لأن المصنع كان في مكان واحد ، كان لا بد من إنجاز العمل في الموقع. كانت أدواتك هناك. كان منتجك هناك. كنت جزءًا من النظام ، وإذا لم تكن موجودًا ، فقد فشل النظام. كان من المهم أن تكون قد حضرت.

في الوقت الحاضر ، لا يزال من المتوقع أن نظهر. يتم عملنا في مبنى إداري. نحن بحاجة للقاء الناس وجهًا لوجه. نحتاج أن نجلس في مزارعنا الصغيرة ، ونحافظ على إنتاجنا. أنت جزء من النظام ، لكن وهذا ما لم يدركه المديرون بعد لن يفشل النظام لمجرد أنك لست في المبنى.

جزء من السبب هو عدم ثقة المديرين. إذا لم يتمكنوا من مشاهدتنا ، فهم لا يعرفون ما إذا كنا ننجز العمل. إنهم يعتقدون أننا قد نقضي المزيد من الوقت في الاستمتاع بدلاً من إنجاز العمل. لا يهم أنه يمكنهم معرفة ذلك على أي حال ، عندما لا يلتزم الأشخاص بالمواعيد النهائية وتكون الإنتاجية أعلى أو منخفضة ، حتى عندما يكون الأشخاص في المبنى. لكن لسبب ما ، يعتقد المدراء أن الناس بحاجة إلى التواجد طوال الوقت ، وإلا فلن يتم فعل أي شيء.

مشكلة القرن الحادي والعشرين سببها التفكير في القرن التاسع عشر

لا تزال معظم الشركات والوكالات الحكومية تفكر فيما يتعلق بالقرن التاسع عشر عندما يتعلق الأمر بأوقات العمل المقبولة. أنت يجب يكون في المكتب من الساعة 8:00 صباحًا حتى 5:00 مساءً. لا يُسمح لك بالعمل من المنزل ، وبالتأكيد لا يُسمح لك بالعمل من الساعة 9:00 إلى الساعة 6:00 ، أو لا سمح الله 10: 00 - 7: 00.

قبل بضع سنوات ، عندما كنت أعمل لدى وزارة الصحة بولاية إنديانا، كنت مسؤولاً جزئياً عن خطة الطوارئ التي سنستخدمها إذا أصابت أنفلونزا عموم الولايات المتحدة. ومع ذلك ، فإن الكثير منها يدور حول قدرة الناس على العمل من المنزل. أحب الجميع الخطة وقالوا إنها بالضبط ما نحتاجه.

قلت "عظيم". "يجب أن نضعه موضع التنفيذ عدة مرات ، ونتأكد من أنه يمكن للجميع استخدامه. سيتيح ذلك للموظفين الضروريين حل المشكلات ، والتأكد من إمكانية وصولهم عبر الإنترنت ، وأن جميع تقنياتنا تعمل. بهذه الطريقة ، عندما نضعها موضع التنفيذ ، لا نتصل جميعًا بقسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات في اليوم الأول ".

كان الرد "لا ، لا نريد أن نفعل ذلك". "نريد أن يعمل الجميع هنا. نحن لا نعمل عن بعد ".

هذا كان هو. نهاية المناقشة. نحن لا نعمل عن بعد. أكبر قسم في حكومة الولاية ، القسم المسؤول عن استجابة عموم الإنفلونزا في الولاية ، ولم نكن "تناول طعام الكلاب الخاص بنا. " لذلك ، لا يوجد اختبار ، وبالتالي من المحتمل أن يعيق استجابة الوكالة بأكملها عندما يحين الوقت.

*تنهد*

حل القرن الحادي والعشرين

أنا لست محصنًا من هذا النوع من التفكير أيضًا. بصفتي صاحب عمل ، لم يكن لدي جدول عمل منتظم لأكثر من عام. أصل إلى المكتب في وقت متأخر ، لأنني أبقى متأخرا ، عادة حوالي الساعة 2:00.

لكنني ما زلت أشعر بالذنب عندما ينطلق المنبه في الساعة 8:00 ، وأفكر ، "يجب أن أكون في المكتب" ، حتى عندما يهدد جسدي بإجباري على الدخول في غيبوبة محرومة من النوم.

ومع ذلك ، أنجز معظم عملي في المساء والليل. أقود السيارة من وإلى المكتب في غير ساعات الذروة ، مما يعني أنني أستخدم كميات أقل من الغاز. انا اضيع وقتي الدخول من المقاهي أو مقاهي صغيرة. ما مقدار الوقود الذي يمكننا توفيره كل عام إذا تمكن الموظفون من تعديل جداول عملهم في المكتب لتتناسب مع أفضل جداول عملهم؟

إذا تمكنت الشركات من الخروج من نمط التفكير "لا يمكننا الوثوق بك" ، وإيجاد طرق جديدة للسماح للموظفين بالعمل من المنزل ، فيمكننا تقليل استهلاك الوقود لدينا. يمكننا تقليل تكاليف المرافق ، وحتى تكاليف العقارات والتأجير ، إذا كان لدينا بصمة أصغر للشركات. تخيل استخدام مبنى بعُشر الحجم الأصلي ، ممتلئًا فقط بغرف الاجتماعات وقاعات المؤتمرات وبعض المقصورات للأشخاص الذين يحتاجون إلى قضاء بعض الوقت في المكتب قبل الاجتماع أو بعده.

إذا تمكنت الشركات والوكالات الحكومية من الانضمام إلى القرن الحادي والعشرين ، فيمكننا القيام ببعض الأشياء المدهشة. حتى ذلك الحين ، سنقوم بتشغيل مفاتيحنا على خطوط التجميع ، وربط الخيول وحرث الحقول.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    منشور رائع يا إريك. أود أن أضيف أنني أعتقد أن الكثير من المشكلة ينبع من عدم فهم هذا البلد "ما هي القيادة". يعتقد غالبية القادة عديمي الخبرة الذين قابلتهم أن وظيفتهم هي "إصلاح" الأشخاص والعمليات. ونتيجة لذلك ، فإنهم يركزون على السلبيات… الصفات السلبية لموظفيهم ، والقضايا السلبية لمنتجاتهم وخدماتهم ، والقضايا السلبية في أعمالهم.

    سيكون هناك دائمًا شيء يجب "إصلاحه" مع كل شخص وكل شركة. هذه ليست وظيفة القائد. يجب على القائد أن يكتشف كيفية إطلاق العنان للموهبة في موظفيه ، وكيفية الاستفادة من نقاط القوة في منتجاتهم وخدماتهم ، وكيفية استغلال الأشياء المذهلة التي تقوم بها أعمالهم للنمو.

    لسوء الحظ ، نقوم بترقية الأشخاص إلى مستوى عدم كفاءتهم. نحن لا نوفر لمديرينا أو مشرفينا أي تدريب حول كيفية إدارة الأفراد بشكل فعال. إنه سيء ​​للغاية!

  2. 2

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Arguing Against History and for Entre-Commuting

I was having an interesting conversation with my friend, Chad Myers of 3 Hats Marketing, discussing how both our agricultural economy and the Industrial Revolution have led to our modern day work habits. Just like our computer’s QWERTY keyboards (they were designed to be inefficient so typewriter keys wouldn’t stick, yet we use them today on devices that will never, ever stick), we’re using thinking that’s anywhere from 100 to 1,000 years old (and more) to determine our staffing and working decisions. And they’re wildly inefficient.

How the Agricultural Economy Affects Our Work Habits

When you look at the Baby Boomers and their family connections to agriculture, 1 in 4 Americans was somehow connected to a farm, usually a family farm. Back then, and even today, you got up at sunup, and worked to sundown. You couldn’t work at night, because the fields weren’t lit and tractors didn’t have headlights. You worked during the day, because their fathers worked during the day, as did their fathers, and their fathers before them. Basically, ever since we had agriculture in this world, you worked during the day and slept at night.

Nowadays, we don’t have to do that. We have electrical lights, we are able to work across time zones, and communicate instantly with high-speed Internet.

How the Industrial Revolution Affects Our Work Habits

Fast forward to the late 1800s and early 1900s, when factories rose and automation brought people from the farms to the cities to find work. Now, if anything needed to be built, it was made in a factory. And because people came from the farms, they had to work between 8 and 5 again.

But now, because the factory was in one location, the work had to be done on-site. Your tools were there. Your product was there. You were part of the system, and if you weren’t there, the system failed. It was crucial that you showed up.

Nowadays, we’re still expected to show up. Our work is done in an office building. We need to meet with people in person. We need to sit in our little cubicle farms, and keep up our output. You’re part of the system, but and here’s what managers haven’t realized yet the system won’t fail just because you’re not in the building.

Part of the reason is a lack of trust on the part of the managers. If they can’t watch us, they don’t know if we’re getting work done. They believe that we might spend more time having fun instead of getting work done. Never mind that they can tell that anyway, when people don’t meet deadlines and productivity is up or down, even when people are on the premises. But for some reason, managers think people need to be present all the time, or nothing will get done.

A 21st Century Problem Caused by 19th Century Thinking

Most corporations and government agencies are still thinking in terms of the 19th century when it comes to acceptable working times. You must be at the office from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. You’re not allowed to work from home, and you’re certainly not allowed to work from 9:00 – 6:00, or God forbid! 10:00 – 7:00.

A few years ago, when I was working for the Indiana State Department of Health, I was partly responsible for the contingency plan that we would use if the pan flu ever hit the United States. However, a lot of it revolved around people being able to work from home. Everyone loved the plan and said it was exactly what we needed.

“Great,” I said. “We should put it into practice a couple of times, and make sure everyone can use it. That will let the necessary staff work out the kinks, make sure they can get online access, and that all of our technology works. That way, when we put it into action, we’re not all calling the IT department on the first day.”

“No, we don’t want to do that,” was the response. “We want everyone to work here. We don’t do telecommuting.”

That was it. End of discussion. We don’t do telecommuting. The largest department in state government, the department in charge of the state’s pan flu response, and we didn’t “eat our own dog food.” So, no testing, thus possibly crippling the entire agency’s response when the time arose.

*sigh*

The 21st Century Solution

I’m not immune from this kind of thinking either. As a business owner, I haven’t had a regular work schedule for over a year. I get to the office late, because I stay up late, usually around 2:00.

But I still feel guilty when the alarm goes off at 8:00, and think, “I should be at the office,” even when my body is threatening to force me into a sleep-deprived coma.

Yet, I get most of my work done in the evening and at night. I drive to and from the office in non-peak hours, which means I use less gas. I spend my time entre-commuting from coffee shops or little cafés. How much fuel could we save each year if employees could adjust their in-office schedules to match their best work schedules?

If companies could get out of this “we can’t trust you” mode of thinking, and find new ways to allow employees to work from home, we could reduce our fuel consumption. We could reduce utility costs, and even real estate and leasing costs, if we have a smaller corporate footprint. Imagine using a building one-tenth of the original size, filled with nothing but meeting rooms, conference rooms, and some cubicles for people who need to spend time in the office before or after a meeting.

If corporations and government agencies could join the 21st century, we could do some amazing things. Until then, we’ll turn our wrenches on the assembly lines, and hook up the horses and plow the fields.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Awesome post, Erik. I would add that I believe that much of the problem stems from this country’s lack of understanding of “What leadership is”. The majority of inexperienced leaders I meet believe that it’s their job to ‘fix’ people and processes. As a result, they focus on the negative… the negative traits of their employees, the negative issues with their products and services, the negative issues with their business.

    There’s always going to be something to ‘fix’ with every person and every business. That’s not the job of a leader. The leader should be figuring out how to unleash the talent in their employees, how to leverage the strengths of their products and services, and how to exploit the incredible things their business is doing to grow.

    Unfortunately, we promote people to their level of incompetence. We don’t provide our managers or supervisors with ANY training on how to manage people effectively. It’s too bad!

  2. 2

Leave a Reply