تعلم ركوب الدراجات وبناء البرمجيات

دراجة هوائيةكان العمل تحديا حقيقيا في الآونة الأخيرة. إن كونك مدير منتج هو عمل رائع - عندما تقوم بالفعل بهذه الوظيفة. أعلم أن هذا أمر غير مستقر ولكنك حقًا المحور المركزي في حرب شد وجذب مستمرة مع المبيعات والتطوير وخدمة العملاء والقيادة في الشركة.

يفقد بعض الأشخاص موقع حقيقة أن الهدف ليس بناء المزيد من الميزات أو تطبيق Web 2.0 الرائع التالي ، فالهدف هو تمكين الأشخاص من القيام بعملهم بشكل أكثر فاعلية وكفاءة. يسألني كل يوم ، "ما الميزات الموجودة في الإصدار التالي؟"

نادرًا ما أجيب على السؤال لأن تركيزي ليس على الميزات على الإطلاق ، بل أركز على بناء حل يمكّن المسوقين من أداء وظيفتهم بشكل أكثر فعالية وكفاءة. إن تمكين عملائك هو كل ما يدور حوله. إذا ركزت على أشياء كبيرة ولامعة ، فستحصل على أشياء كبيرة ولامعة دون أن يستخدمها العملاء.

جوجل بنى إمبراطورية تبدأ من مربع نص واحد. لقد قرأت بعض المقالات حيث ياهو! انتقد Google في الواقع بشأن قابليتها للاستخدام. ما هي قابلية الاستخدام الأفضل من مربع نص واحد؟ لا تفهموني خطأ ، ياهو! يقوم ببناء بعض الميزات الرائعة في تطبيقاتهم. أنا أحب تمامًا مكونات واجهة المستخدم الخاصة بهم ، فأنا لا أستخدم تطبيقاتهم.

تقوم Google بتثقيف الأشخاص حول كيفية ركوب الدراجة ، ثم يواصلون تحسين الدراجة. من خلال إنشاء عمليات بحث أكثر كفاءة من مربع نص واحد ، مكّنت Google مئات الملايين من الأشخاص من أداء وظائفهم بشكل أفضل. لقد نجحت ، ولهذا السبب يستخدمها الجميع. لم تكن جميلة ، لم تكن تحتوي على صفحة رئيسية ساحرة ، لكنها مكنت مستخدميها من العمل بكفاءة وفعالية.

هل يمكنك تخيل وضعك في الرابعة من العمر على دراجة جبلية ذات 4 سرعة مع مرايا الرؤية الخلفية والإشارات وإبريق الماء وما إلى ذلك؟ لن تفعل. فلماذا تريد إنشاء تطبيق برمجي يحتوي على 15 سرعة ومرايا وإشارات وإبريق ماء؟ لا يجب عليك. الهدف هو جعلهم يتعلمون ركوب الدراجة حتى يتمكنوا من الانتقال من النقطة أ إلى النقطة ب. عندما يزداد تعقيد النقطة أ إلى النقطة ب ، عندها تحتاج إلى دراجة ذات وظائف جديدة تدعمها. ولكن فقط عندما يمكن للمستخدم ركوبها بالفعل!

هذا يعني أن عجلات التدريب رائعة (نراها في شكل معالجات). بمجرد أن يتمكن المستخدم من ركوب الدراجة بالفعل ، يمكنك إزالة عجلات التدريب. عندما يصبح المستخدم ماهرًا في ركوب الدراجة ويحتاج إلى ركوبها بشكل أسرع ، فضع بعض التروس عليها. عندما يحتاج المستخدم إلى الركض على الطرق الوعرة ، قم بإعداده باستخدام دراجة جبلية. عندما يصطدم المستخدم بحركة المرور ، قم برمي المرآة. ولهذه الرحلات الطويلة ، ارمِ في إبريق الماء.

تقوم Google بهذا من خلال الإصدارات التدريجية والتحسينات المستمرة في برامجها. أحب حقيقة أنهم يربطونني بشيء بسيط ثم يستمرون في الإضافة إليه. لقد بدأوا بمربع نص ، ثم أضافوا أشياء أخرى مثل البحث في الصور ، والبحث في المدونات ، والبحث عن الكود ، وصفحة Google الرئيسية ، ومستندات Google ، وجداول بيانات Google ... نظرًا لأنني اعتدت على استخدام برامجهم ، فقد استمروا في التحسين لدعم العمليات الإضافية التي تجعلني أقوم بعملي بشكل أكثر فعالية وكفاءة.

الدراجة هي ما تنقل الشخص من النقطة أ إلى النقطة ب. اصنع دراجة رائعة يسهل ركوبها أولاً. بمجرد أن يتعلموا كيفية ركوب الدراجة ، فإن القلق بشأن كيفية دعم العمليات الإضافية من خلال إنشاء وظائف جديدة في التطبيق الخاص بك.

تذكر - بدأت Google بمربع نص بسيط. أود أن أتحداك أن تلقي نظرة على التطبيقات الأسرع نموًا والأعمال التجارية الناجحة على الويب وستجد خاصية فريدة لكل منها ... فهي سهلة الاستخدام.

إلى العمل…

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مشاركة رائعة! أحب هذا القياس بشكل خاص.

    أعتقد أن ما يواجه مديرو المنتجات صعوبة في الوقت الحاضر هو التحديد الدقيق للوقت المناسب لميزات "الدراجة" الإضافية وكيفية توصيلها بالميزات الموجودة بالفعل التي اعتاد عليها المستخدمون.

  2. 2

    بعد دوغ العظيم. الكثير من الأشياء التي تبدو رائعة حقًا تجعل المهمة أصعب. شاهدت كتاب "لماذا يضعف البرنامج" أو "الحلم في الكود"؟

    يتحدث كلاهما عن كيفية تدمير البرامج من خلال محاولة أن تكون رائعًا أو مرنًا للغاية مقابل مجرد إنجاز المهمة ببساطة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing, Technology

Learning to Ride Bikes and Building Software

BikeWork has been a real challenge recently. Being a Product Manager is a fascinating job – when you actually get to do that job. I know that’s a flippant thing to say but you’re really the central hub in an ongoing tug ‘o war with Sales, Development, Customer Services and leadership in the company.

Some people lose site of the fact that the objective isn’t to build more features or the next cool Web 2.0 application, the objective is to empower people to do their job more effectively, and more efficiently. Every day I’m asked, “What features are in the next release?”

I rarely answer the question because my focus isn’t on features at all, my focus is to build a solution that enables marketers to do their job more effectively and more efficiently. Empowering your customers is what it’s all about. If you focus on things big and shiny, you’ll have big and shiny things with no customers using it.

Google built an empire starting with a single text box. I’ve read some articles where Yahoo! has actually criticized Google on their usability. What’s better usability than one text box? Don’t get me wrong, Yahoo! does build some fantastic features into their applications. I absolutely love their user interface components, I just don’t use their applications.

Google educates people how to ride a bike, and then they continue improving the bike. By building more efficient searches from a single text box, Google empowered hundreds of millions of people to do their jobs better. It worked, and that’s why everyone uses it. It wasn’t pretty, it didn’t have a glamorous home page, but it empowered their users to work efficiently and effectively.

Can you imagine putting you 4-year old on a 15-speed mountain bike with rear view mirrors, signals, water jug, etc? You wouldn’t. So why would you want to build a software application that has 15-speeds, mirrors, signals and a water jug? You shouldn’t. The objective is to get them to learn to ride the bike so that they can get from point A to point B. When Point A to Point B grows in complexity, that’s when you need a bike with new functionality that supports it. But only when the user can actually ride it!

That means training wheels are great (we see these in the form of wizards). Once a user can actually ride the bike, then you can remove the training wheels. When the user gets great at riding the bike and needs to ride it faster, then put some gears on it. When the user needs to run off-road, set them up with a Mountain Bike. When the user is going to hit traffic, throw in a mirror. And for those long rides, throw in the water jug.

Google does this with the progressive releases and continuous improvements in their software. I love the fact that they hook me with something simple and then they continue to add to it. They started with a text box, then they added other things like image search, blog search, code search, the Google Home page, Google docs, Google Spreadsheets… As I’ve grown accustomed to using their software, they’ve continued to improve it to support additional processes that make me do my job more effectively and more efficiently.

The bike is what gets the person from point A to point B. Build a great bike that’s easy to ride, first. Once they learn how to ride the bike, then worry about how to support additional processes by building out new functionality in your application.

Remember – Google started with a simple text box. I would challenge you to take a look at the fastest growing applications and successful businesses on the web and you’ll find one unique characteristic for all of them… they are easy to use.

Off to work…

3 Comments

  1. 1

    Fabulous post! Especially loved the analogy.

    I think what product managers have difficulty in nowadays is precisely defining when is the right time for extra the “bike” features and how to plug ’em in the already existing features that their users have grown accustomed to.

  2. 2

    Great post Doug. So many things that seem so cool really just make the job harder. Seen the book “Why Software Sucks” or “Dreaming in Code”?

    Both talk about how software is ruined by trying to be cool or super flexible vs. just getting the job done simply.

Leave a Reply