تمرين الدماغ - والقليل عن دوج

من أكثر الأشياء التي أحبها في الويب أنه يتجاوز الخط الفاصل بين الفن والبرمجة. في سنوات دراستي الثانوية ، كنت فنانًا متعطشًا ... دائمًا أرسم شيئًا ما في مكان ما. في سنتي الأخيرة ، درست بعض الدورات الجامعية في الصياغة الصناعية. أخذت الصياغة قليلاً من حرية قلمي ، لكنني استمتعت حقًا بدقة الصياغة. لقد تفوقت في الفصل ولكني لم أحصل عليه في الكلية.

وبدلاً من ذلك انضممت إلى البحرية وأصبحت كهربائيًا. فوجئ الكثير من الناس بأن ماضي قد قادني إلى التسويق ، وتسويق قواعد البيانات ، وتصميم الويب ، وتصميم تطبيقات الويب ... لكنه كان تطورًا طبيعيًا. لقد منحني المنطق والانضباط المطلوبان في العمل مع الآلات الكهربائية والإلكترونية الصناعية بعض المنطق الممتاز وتجربة استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها. أدى هذا في النهاية إلى ذهابي إلى الكلية لتكنولوجيا الإلكترونيات. في ذلك الوقت ، بدأت في استكشاف الأخطاء وإصلاحها وتصميم برمجة منطق السلم في PLC (وحدات التحكم المنطقية القابلة للبرمجة). أدى ذلك إلى تكامل الكمبيوتر الشخصي والبرمجة وتكامل الشبكة وتكامل قواعد البيانات.

لقد وقعت في حب التكنولوجيا والصناعة التي كنت فيها ... صناعة الصحف. كنت أرغب في الانتقال من جانب الإنتاج في العمل إلى جانب التسويق والإعلان في الشركة ... ولكن بمجرد أن يراك شخص ما بزي أزرق ، يصعب الحصول على وظيفة تسويق. لذا ... قمت بتحميل الخيول والعربات ونقل أطفالي إلى الغرب ، حيث عملت في شركة تسويق قواعد البيانات التي صممت وبنيت ونفذت مستودعات بيانات التسويق في جميع أنحاء صناعة الصحف. كان عملا رائعا. عملت أيضًا مع بعض أكبر الصحف وقمت شخصيًا بتطوير بعض التطبيقات الرائعة في الصناعة.

لقد تمسكت بالصناعة لأكثر من عقد من الزمان وقمت بعمل جيد لنفسي. لقد تم ترشيحي في الصناعة كواحد من أفضل 20 تحت 40. كتبت للعديد من الدوريات الصناعية ووضعت خبرتي في العمل ، حيث أقيمت مبادرة تسويق قاعدة بيانات متميزة للصحيفة المحلية. أدى التغيير في الإدارة هناك إلى تقليل التركيز على تسويق قاعدة البيانات. كانت الصحف تبتلعها الشركات الضخمة في العقد الذي أمضيته ، لذا لم تكن المواهب الريادية شيئًا يمكنك استخدامه في الصحف المحلية. قررت في النهاية ترك الصحيفة والصناعة ورائي. كانت تلك خطوة صعبة. لحسن الحظ حصلت على دفعة صغيرة في طريق الخروج. 🙂

أمضيت السنة التالية في مساعدة الشركات الأخرى على بناء برامجها ، وفي النهاية حصلت على خدمة رائعة الهدف الدقيق. إنها شركة رائعة ، واحدة من أسرع الشركات الخاصة نموًا في الولايات المتحدة. لديهم منتج ممتاز وأنا أتحدى الآن لمواصلة تحسينه.

في بعض الأحيان لا يكفي. ما زلت متحمسًا لمساعدة The Indianapolis Colts ، غرفة التجارة في Indianapolis ، واستضافة وتصميم العديد من المواقع للأصدقاء والزملاء ، والمشاركة في أحداث التسويق الإقليمية ، ومواجهة تحديات جديدة. لقد ساعدت في الإطلاق اخترت إندي!، وهو موقع شعبي حيث يمكن للناس التعبير عن سبب اختيارهم إنديانابوليس. إنه موقع يكتسب زخمًا. أنا أعمل أيضًا على إطلاق عملي الخاص ، Compendium Software ، مع شريك آخر حيث أعمل على تشغيل تجربتي في التدوين والتكنولوجيا والتسويق. أحب العمل بوتيرة سريعة وغاضبة وأحب العمل مع الأشخاص الذين لديهم موقف "يمكن أن أفعله".

أستمتع بتمرين "دماغي الأيسر" وإنشاء الرسوم التوضيحية باستخدام Photoshop و Illustrator. يتطلب القليل من الإبداع. الليلة ، عملت على شعار لفرقة محلية ، روك هوليوود. لقد أرسلت لهم هذا منذ حوالي ساعة. سأقوم على الأرجح بإعادة ذلك عدة مرات بناءً على ملاحظاتهم ... ولكن كما ترى ، أستمتع:

روك هوليوود

خلاصة القول هي أنني أبلغ من العمر 38 عامًا ولا أعرف ماذا أريد أن أكون عندما أكبر! أعلم أنني جيد جدًا في إيجاد حلول تقنية لمشاكل صعبة للغاية ، وتثقيف الناس بشأنها. لدي شهية حقيقية للتكنولوجيا. ليس لدي أي صبر على الأشخاص الذين يختلقون الأعذار ، لكني أحب مساعدة الأشخاص الذين يطلبون المساعدة. لا يوجد شيء يرضيني أكثر من الابتسامة على وجه العميل.

أنا ملك جميع المهن (لقد تطورت من جاك) لكنني ما زلت أتقن أي شيء. لا يمكنني تحمل السياسة ، خاصة في المكتب. لا أحب العمل على أشياء ليس لها أهداف قابلة للقياس. أكره الاجتماعات التي نلتقي فيها بلا هدف (أتأخر وأحضر جهاز المساعد الرقمي الشخصي الخاص بي حتى أتمكن من إرسال بريد إلكتروني). أحب العمل لوقت متأخر ... أكثر أوقاتي إنتاجية عادة ما تكون بين العاشرة مساءً ومنتصف الليل. وأحب الغفوة 10 مرة في الصباح.

كل هذا وأنا أب واحد! الوقت مع أطفالي رائع. ما زلنا نشاهد الأفلام عندما نستطيع ونتسكع كثيرًا معًا. كلا أطفالي لا يصدقون. أوه ، إنني أتطلع إلى "موعد القهوة" الأول لي منذ فترة طويلة في نهاية هذا الأسبوع ... هذا جزء من عقلي لم أستخدمه منذ فترة طويلة ، لذا أتمنى لي التوفيق!

كفى عني! حان وقت النوم.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    لدي بالفعل الكثير من الوقت معهم ، ستيرلنج. لدي حضانة الأطفال. كان أحد الأسباب التي دفعتني إلى اختيار الغرب الأوسط هو السماح لهم برؤية المزيد من أمهاتهم ، التي تزوجت مرة أخرى وتعيش في لويزفيل. لست متأكدًا مما كنت سأفعله بدونهم!

    أوافق على إعادة: الطلاق. إنه أمر فظيع لجميع المعنيين.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management

Brain Exercise – and a little about Doug

One of the things that I love best about the web is that it crosses the line between art and programming. In my high school years, I was an avid artist… always drawing something somewhere. In my senior year, I took some college courses in Industrial Drafting. The drafting took a little bit of the freedom out of my pencil, but I really enjoyed the precision of drafting. I aced the class but never took it up in college.

Instead I joined the Navy and became an Electrician. Lot’s of folks are surprised that my past led me to Marketing, Database Marketing, Web Design, and Web Application design… but it was a natural evolution. The logic and discipline required in working with industrial electrical and electronic machinery gave me some excellent logic and troubleshooting experience. This eventually led to me going to college for Electronics Technology. At the time, I started troubleshooting and designing ladder logic programming in PLC’s (Programmable Logic Controllers). That led to PC integration, Programming, Network Integration, and Database Integration.

I fell in love with both technology and the industry I was in… the Newspaper Industry. I wanted to move from the Production side of the business to the Marketing and Advertising side of the business… but once someone sees you in a blue uniform, it’s hard to get a Marketing job. So… I loaded up the horses and wagons and moved my kids West, working for a Database Marketing firm that designed, built and implemented Marketing Data Warehouses throughout the Newspaper Industry. It was fascinating work. I also worked with some of the largest newspapers and personally developed some great applications in the industry.

I stuck with the industry for over a decade and did quite well for myself. I was even nominated in the industry as one of the top 20 under 40. I wrote for several industry periodicals and put my experience to work, building up an outstanding Database Marketing initiative for the local newspaper. A change in management there brought about less of an emphasis on database marketing. Newspapers were getting swallowed up in my decade by huge corporations, so entrepreneurial talent wasn’t something you could put to use at the local paper. I eventually decided to leave the newspaper, and the industry behind. That was a tough move. Luckily I got a little push on the way out. 🙂

My next year was spent helping other companies build out their programs and I eventually landed a great gig with ExactTarget. It’s a fantastic company, one of the fastest growing private companies in the United States. They have an excellent product and I’m challenged right now to continue to make it better.

It’s sometimes not enough, though. I still get excited about helping The Indianapolis Colts, the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, hosting and designing a ton of sites for friends and colleagues, participating in regional Marketing events, and taking on new challenges. I helped launch I Choose Indy!, a grass-roots site where folks can voice why they choose Indianapolis. It’s a site that’s gaining momentum. I’m also working on launching my own business, Compendium Software, with another partner where I’m putting my blogging, technology, and marketing experience to work. I love working at a fast and furious pace and I love working with people that have a ‘can do’ attitude.

I enjoy exercising my ‘left brain’ and building out illustrations using Photoshop and Illustrator. It takes quite a bit of creativity. Tonight, I worked on a logo for a local band, Rok Hollywood. I sent this to them about an hour ago. I’m going to probably redo it a few times based on their feedback… but as you see, I’m having fun:

Rok Hollywood

The bottom line is that I’m 38 and don’t know what I want to be when I grow up! I do know that I’m very good at finding technical solutions to very difficult problems, and educating people on it. I have a veracious appetite for technology. I have no patience for people that make excuses, but I love helping people that ask for help. There’s nothing that satisfies me more than the smile on a client’s face.

I’m a King of all Trades (I’ve evolved from a Jack) but I’m still master of none. I can’t stand politics, especially at the office. I don’t like working on things that don’t have quantifiable goals. I hate meetings where we meet with no goal (I show up late and bring my PDA so I can do email). I like working late… my most productive time is usually between 10PM and midnight. And I like hitting snooze 20 times in the morning.

All this and I’m a single Dad! Time with my kids is fantastic. We still see movies when we can and we hang out a lot together. Both my kids are incredible. Oh, I am looking forward to my first ‘coffee date’ in quite a while this weekend… that’s a part of my brain that I’ve not used in quite a while so wish me luck!

Enough about me! Time for sleepy.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    I was a single Dad for most of my older boys’ childhoods. That was the absolute worst part about divorce — not seeing my boys for long periods of time. Now they’re all grown up, and I see them even less. Cherish the times.

  2. 2

    I actually have a lot of time with them, Sterling. I have custody of the kids. One of the reasons I chose the midwest was so that they could see more of their Mom, who is remarried and living in Louisville. I’m not sure what I would have done without them!

    I agree re: Divorce. It’s terrible for everyone involved.

Leave a Reply