بناء الثقة من خلال قول لا!

الى الوراءمتى كانت آخر مرة جلست فيها أمام مندوب مبيعات وقالوا ، "عذرًا ، ربما لن نتمكن من تلبية هذا السعر أو هذه التوقعات". لم يكن لدي ابدا.

الليلة ابتعدت عن عقد كان بإمكاني إتمامه وعيني مغمضتين. ومع ذلك ، أعلم أن بساطة العقد ستتطور وستفتح علبة ضخمة من الديدان. كنت أقوم بإعداد مدونة وتثبيتها لشخص ما ، وبعد ذلك ، بشكل افتراضي ، سأصبح دعم مدونتهم ودعم تكنولوجيا المعلومات ودعم الاستضافة الخاص بهم. أنا لا أخمن - أنا أتحدث من تجربة. هذا هو السبب في أنني أفضل إحالة العملاء المحتملين إلى برنامج مثل بائع الخدمة خلاصة وافية. (إفصاح: أنا مساهم)

العملاء الذين أساعدهم في التدوين ليسوا عقدًا لمرة واحدة ، فلدينا علاقات مستمرة لتغطية القضايا المذكورة. يسعدني مساعدتهم في تلبية أي من احتياجاتهم لأن هذه الموارد متوقعة. لم يكن هذا هو الحال الليلة ... لقد انسحبت ببساطة من الطلب لأنه كان مجرد تنفيذ المشاريع اقتبس. لا يوجد شيء اسمه مشروع ويب ينتهي… ما لم تنفجر الشركة. من المحتوى إلى التصميم إلى النظام الأساسي إلى التكامل ... يتطور كل مشروع ويب مع تغير الطلبات بمرور الوقت. المدونات كذلك. وقد تم تصميم شركة البرمجيات كخدمة (SaaS) للتعامل مع المشكلات المستمرة والدعم. أنالست.

بالعودة إلى وجهة نظري ... ربما إذا رفضت المزيد من الشركات الميزانيات غير المعقولة ، والجداول الزمنية المجنونة ، والتوقعات السخيفة ، يمكن لبقية الشركات الصادقة أن تبني بالفعل الثقة مع توقعاتنا. تكمن المشكلة في أن العديد من الأشخاص ، خاصة في مجال التسويق عبر الإنترنت ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، يخشون الابتعاد عن بضعة دولارات.

يفضل العديد من مندوبي المبيعات دفع فواتيرهم على حساب العميل بدلاً من فرض رسوم كافية للوفاء بوعودهم. إنه لأمر مؤسف لأن النسغ المسكين التالي للسير في الباب يتعرض للهجوم على الفور وكأنهم لص 2 بت هناك للاغتصاب والنهب وإفراغ الخزائن.

إذا لم تتمكن من إكمال مشروع في إطار زمني ، أو الوفاء بوعودك أو تحقيق دخل متواضع من القيام بالعمل ، فلماذا تقوم بالبيع؟ قبل بضعة أشهر ، اضطررت إلى الانفصال عن صديق رائع وشركته لأن مشاريعنا لم تكن تعمل. لم أكن أفي بتوقعاتهم ... وأنا أفضل الحفاظ على الصداقة وخسارة المال على الفشل التام. وكنا قد أخفقنا بشكل مذهل في المشروع الذي ابتعدت عنه ... أعرف ذلك.

هل يمكنني استخدام المال؟ بالتاكيد! تمثل المشاريع الصغيرة مثل هذه تدفقًا كبيرًا للأموال إلى الشركة ويمكن أن تحملنا خلال فترات الهدوء الخاصة بالعقود الكبيرة القادمة والذهاب. أنا فقط لا أستطيع أن أفعل ذلك. بعد فوات الأوان ، كنت أتمنى أن أبتعد عن الكثير من العقود الصغيرة منذ أن بدأت عملي.

المفارقة هي أن هؤلاء هم نفس العملاء الذين يقتربون مني على الطريق في مشاريع أكبر بكثير ذات مخرجات قوية وتعويضات جيدة وجداول زمنية مرنة. في كل مرة أقول فيها "لا" الآن ، أعلم أنني أقوم ببناء الثقة وفرصة الحصول على فرصة أفضل في المستقبل. يجب عليك أنت أيضا.

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    نحن في الواقع ندير عرضًا تقديميًا كاملاً حول "The Power of No." اقرأ المزيد عن أهمية رفض العمل في مقال بقلم آشلي لي ، هذا ليس وظيفتي!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing, WordPress

Build Trust By Saying NO!

When’s the last time you sat across from a salesperson and they said, “Sorry, we probably won’t be able to meet that price or/nor those expectations“. I never have, either.

Tonight I walked away from a contract I could have done with my eyes closed. However, I know that the simplicity of the contract would evolve and open a huge can of worms. I’d setup and install a blog for someone and then, by default, I’d become their blog support, their IT support and their hosting support. I’m not guessing – I’m speaking from experience. It’s why I’d much rather refer prospects to a Software as a Service vendor like Compendium. (Disclosure: I’m a shareholder)

The clients I do help with blogging aren’t a one-time contract, we have ongoing relationships to cover said issues. I’m happy to assist them with any of their needs since those resources are anticipated. That wasn’t the case tonight… I simply walked from the request since it was just a project quote. There’s no such thing as a web project that ends… unless the company goes under. From content, to design, to platform, to integration… every web project evolves as demands change over time. Blogging does, too. And a software as a service (SaaS) firm is designed to handle ongoing issues and support. I’m not.

Back to my point… perhaps if more companies turned down unreasonable budgets, crazy timelines, and ridiculous expectations the rest of the honest businesses could actually build trust with our prospects. The problem is so many folks out there, especially in the online marketing and social media domain, are afraid to walk away from a few bucks.

Many salespeople would rather pay their bills at the expense of the client than actually charge enough to deliver on their promises. It’s unfortunate because the next poor sap to walk in the door is immediately attacked t like they’re a 2-bit thief there to rape, pillage and empty the coffers.

If you can’t complete a project in a timeframe, deliver on your promises or make a modest income doing the work, why would you take the sale? A few months ago, I had to part ways with a great friend and their firm because our projects weren’t working out. I wasn’t meeting their expectations… and I’d rather keep the friendship and lose the money than outright fail. And we would have failed spectacularly on the project I walked away from… I know it.

Could I use the money? Of course! Small projects like that are a great influx of cash to the business and could carry us through the lulls of large contracts coming and going. I just can’t do it, though. In hindsight, I wish I would have walked away from a lot of small contracts since I started my business.

The irony is that these are the very same customers who approach me down the road on much larger projects that have solid deliverables, good compensation and flexible timelines. Each time that I say “No” now, I know that I’m building trust and the opportunity to get a better opportunity down the road. You should, too.

One comment

  1. 1

    We actually run an entire presentation around “The Power of No.” Read more about the importance of refusing work in an article by our own Ashley Lee, That’s Not My Job!

Leave a Reply