وقف قتل سبب التسويق

عندما يحتاج الطالب إلى المال من أجل غداء مدرسي ، فإن ذلك يكون له عواقب قليلة أو معدومة بالنسبة له من أين يأتي المال. إنهم جائعون فقط ويحتاجون إلى أموال. إنها ليست مجرد وجبات غداء مدرسية ، إنها منح الطلاب والمنح الدراسية ، والسلع الطبية ، والدروس الخصوصية ، والرعاية النهارية ، وغير ذلك الكثير. قائمة الاحتياجات لا حصر لها ، وفي ظل اقتصاد متدهور ، فإنها تستمر في النمو.

تبرعات للمتابعين

عندما وقع الزلزال في هايتي ، كانت الإنترنت تعج بكل الاحتياجات النقدية والمادية التي تحتاجها البلاد. في ذلك الوقت ، لم يكن لدي عمل. كنت أبًا أعزبًا ولم يكن المال متوفرًا على الإطلاق. لكن الحادث شد على أوتار قلبي عرضت التبرع بالمال إذا وصلت إلى عدد معين من المتابعين على Twitter.

كانت ردة الفعل فورية. صرخ الناس في وجهي بأنني كنت بلا قلب وأنه كان شيئًا فظيعًا بالنسبة لي. لقد اندهشت تمامًا ... كنت أسعى فقط إلى زيادة سلطتي على Twitter ويبدو أن هذا سبب يستحق. كان بإمكاني أخذ المال وشراء الإعلانات على أي عدد من المواقع للترويج لحسابي ... ولكن بدلاً من ذلك اعتقدت أن هذا سيكون أفضل لأن الأموال ستذهب إلى من هم في أمس الحاجة إليها.

استسلمت أخيرًا. كان لدي الكثير من الناس يضربونني لدرجة أنني سحبت العرض (وقدمت التبرع ، على أي حال).

هذا يجب أن يتوقف.

كنت أتحدث مؤخرًا مع كبير مسؤولي التسويق في شركة كبيرة أخبرني أنه يرغب في تقديم المنح والمنح الدراسية للطلاب مقابل تقديمهم للمحتوى والترويج لسلعهم وخدماتهم. رد الفعل هو نفسه بالنسبة لهذه الإستراتيجية ... صرخ الكثير من الجمهور أن شركته للقطط السمينة كانت تستغل الطلاب فقط ويجب عليهم تقديم المنح والمنح الدراسية ، على أي حال.

هناك مشكلة واحدة فقط ... لا يمكنه ذلك. لا توجد ميزانية للمنح والمنح الدراسية. لا يمكنه ببساطة التبرع بالمال الذي تتطلبه ميزانيته أن يكون مسؤولاً عنه ويزيد أرباحه. عليه أن يستثمر الأموال ويحصل على عائد استثمار على الأموال. بمعنى آخر ، لديه ميزانية تسويقية ويمكنه استخدامها لأي شيء - طالما أنها تؤدي إلى نتائج أعمال. إنه لا يدير مؤسسة خيرية ، إنه يدير عملاً.

تحب العديد من الشركات القيام بالأمرين معًا

بدلاً من ذلك ، يستمر في الدفع مقابل الدفع لكل نقرة ، والإعلان ، والمحتوى ، والاستراتيجيات الأخرى مع الشركات التي لن يتعرض فيها للإساءة علنًا. إنها خسارة كاملة. إن النقاد الذين يعاملون شركته مثل الوحش (ويعاملون معظم الشركات مثل الوحوش) يقتلون سببًا للتسويق. ثم تذهب الأموال بعد ذلك إلى الشركات الكبرى الأخرى بدلاً من المساعدة حيث تشتد الحاجة إليها.

تعمل الشركات لتحقيق الربح ، لكن هذا لا يعني أنها لا يجب أن تجد فرصًا لمساعدة الأقل حظًا ، أو البيئة ، أو المحتاجين. توقف عن قتل التسويق وإدراك أن هناك مليارات الدولارات التي يمكن إنفاقها لمساعدة أولئك الذين هم في أمس الحاجة إليها - ولكن لا يمكن للشركة استثمارها إلا إذا أدركت أن هناك عائدًا على هذا الاستثمار.

توقف عن القتل يسبب التسويق.

فيما يلي بعض الأمثلة الرائعة على قضية التسويق

مقاطع كبيرة عمل مع اعتمادAClassroom.org للعثور على المعلمين المستحقين ومفاجأتهم بفصل أحلامهم. هذا الفيديو ، جزء من دمج Great Clips تسبب حملة تسويقية، - هي الأولى في تاريخ الشركة التي تجمع بين وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والرقمي وداخل المتجر وفي المنزل والتلفزيون والراديو والمطبوعة.

9 تعليقات

  1. 1

    "أعني إذا كان لدينا عربة يد فقط. سيكون ذلك شيئًا ". - ويستلي ، المعروف أيضًا باسم القرصان الرهيب روبرتس.

    أخبر المحتاجين أنك ستساعد ولكن عليك أولاً أن تحصل على مساعدتك. انها ليست صدقة. إنها ليست تبرعات. انها ليست العطاء. إنه استغلال. إنه تربح. إنها تجارة خيول كلاسيكية.

    هذا ليس حب حقيقي. هذا *** يحدث كل يوم.

    تبرع للقضية. احصل على نماذج النقل الضريبي. اكتب بياناتك الصحفية. اعمل مع فريق العلاقات العامة للتأكد من حصولك على كلمتك. افعلها بشكل صحيح.

    لكن في الغالب ، افعل ذلك من أجلهم ، للمحتاجين. افعلها لأن قلبك يشتاق. لا تفعل ذلك لتحقيق مكاسب أنانية. إذا كنت بحاجة إلى عائد استثمار مباشر على "الجهد السببي" لأولئك الذين يعانون من الجوع والمعاناة والبكاء والنفط والتلوي من الألم من الإصابات والجوع والجفاف ، والخوض في الخنادق المليئة بالإسهال والمبطنة بالزحار وبرك الفيضانات في نفس الملابس لمدة 3 أسابيع ، يصلي ضد حكمهم الأفضل أن يقضوا الليل وسط النهب وأعمال الشغب وأكل لحوم البشر ، ثم لا يمكنك تحمل ذلك.

    لقد تم تخصيص هذا بالفعل في ميزانيات المديرين التنفيذيين للشركات الكبيرة. إن "CMO لشركة كبيرة" إما يكذب عليك أو أنه غبي. يحتاج للصفع وصوت. أو يحتاج لقضاء الليل مع الضحايا. سوف يغير واحد. الجحيم ، لقد استمتعنا يومًا ممطرًا في LM لمثل هذه المناسبات. كما استخدمنا أدواتنا ومواهبنا لأخذ وقت بعد العمل لمساعدة المجتمع. كانت الفرصة للشركات هي المفضلة لدينا.

    اكتب منشورًا. ارفع صلاة. أعط بعض النقود في الجيب. ولكن لا تحاول أبدًا الحصول على حصة في السوق من التواجد على شبكة الإنترنت وعدد قليل من العملاء من خلال استغلال معاناة الآخرين ومحنةهم.

    أنت لست قرصانا. أنت لست تاجرًا في السوق السوداء. أنت بطلي. أنت أحد مرشدي. قلبك في المكان المناسب. وأنا أعلم ذلك. لكن هذه كانت واحدة من أكبر معاركي خلال أيام Denom U: التبرع للقضية مقابل الاعتراف بالهدية. هذا هو السبب في أنه سيتم تنظيم صناعة CRM في غضون بضع سنوات.

    أنت لا تحتاج إلى كل ذلك قصير المدى ، تجارة الخيول. لديك واحد من أفضل الأصوات في الصناعة. لديك انتباهي ، وهذا يتطلب الكثير للحصول عليه. أنام ​​وأنا أقرأ معظم خطابات أقرانك. كل ما تحتاجه هو أن تتحلى بالشجاعة لتكون بصوت عالٍ مثل أولئك العشرين الموجودين في الطبقة فوقك وستقوم بتحريك الجبال. والأهم من ذلك ، أن لديك حضورًا لإحداث التغيير. استخدم هداياك ، وليس الحيل. ستكون DM New Media أفضل حالًا على المدى الطويل.

    وسيكون العالم مكانًا أفضل.

    - برومانس مدى الحياة

    الفنلندي

    • 2

      حسنًا ،natfinn: disqus - هذه استجابة سخيفة حقًا لا تستحق الرد. لقد أهان صديقًا عزيزًا لي في المحادثة أيضًا. إن إدراكك للأعمال التجارية ليس جاهلاً بقدر ما هو غبي. لقد عملت في العديد من الشركات ولديها ميزانيات بملايين الدولارات - ولم يكن للتسويق مطلقًا ميزانية للتبرع للجمعيات الخيرية ، ولم تحصل أي شركة عملت بها على "عائد تبرع" يمكنهم قياسه. لكن لدينا أموال للتسويق. النقطة المهمة هنا هي أن تكون قادرًا على استثمار هذه الأموال في مؤسسة خيرية بدلاً من عمل تجاري آخر قد لا يكون خيريًا. وجهة نظرك هي بالضبط المشكلة التي أستنكرها - إنها غير منطقية. تفضل مؤسسة خيرية الحصول على أي شيء.

      • 3

        إذا لم تستمع إلى أولئك الذين وبخوك لتجربتها ولم تستمع إلي ، فحاول التبرع بمبلغ 500 دولار لضحايا قاذفات ماراثون بوسطن واشتر لي Gumballhead في كل مرة يستخدمون فيها كلمة "رشوة". لأن هذا ما يسمونه عرضًا عامًا للنوايا الحسنة أو الدعم مقابل المال.

        لا تحصل المؤسسات الخيرية على أي شيء عند تجربة مثل هذا النهج فحسب ، بل إن معظمهم جميعًا لن يأخذه. لماذا ا؟ إنهم يعلمون أنه يفتح بابًا من المانحين الذين يتوقعون خدمات مقابل المال. ينتهي بهم الأمر بقضاء وقت أطول في التعامل مع المتبرعين أكثر من قضيتهم. إنه يعززها ويمهد الطريق لمصالح أعمق وأكثر قتامة تندرج في فئة الفساد. منحدر زلق. لهذا السبب هناك قوانين ضده.

        مرحبًا ، أنا نات فين. بكالوريوس في الدين ، بكالوريوس في الأعمال. عملاء وكالة المليونير الذين لدينا في وكالة Oole - Sony ، و Samsung ، و Sealy ، و Trump University ، و TELEBrands - هم منشئو "As Seen on TV" ، Russ Whitney (ومن بين عملائه فيلم "Rich Dad، Poor Dad" لروبرت كيوساكي). ، All Star Products (التي تشمل منتجاتها Snuggie) ، عرفت على الأقل أنها تتبرع بعائدات الأرباح لأسباب. لقد خططوا لذلك. للأسف ، لأن من المحتمل أن يعرف الجانب الاقتصادي من التسويق السبب. لقد عرفوا التأثير وكانوا يعرفون مدى تكرار حدوث مثل هذا الحدث. لهذا السبب انتظرت الرد. أنا حزين فقط لأن الحدث كان مأساويًا جدًا.

        يرجى إعادة النظر في موقفك من التسويق لأسباب. أنت رائع جدا. تجد وظائف للأصدقاء. تفتح منازلكم لمن هم في حاجة. أنت تجني الدايمات. يمكنك أنت وصديقك CMO الجيد القيام بأكثر من ذلك بكثير. اكثر بكثير.

        • 4

          حسنًا ، سأحاول ذلك مرة أخرى. ليس لدينا ميزانية خيرية. لدينا ميزانية تسويقية. إما أن نحصل على عائد على الاستثمار من خلال ميزانيتنا التسويقية أو نخرج من العمل.

          لذا ، تفضل أن تحصل المؤسسة الخيرية على لا شيء. أفهم. ولا ، أنا لا أعيد النظر في موقفي. أفضل أن أرى الأعمال التجارية تعمل وتربح جنبًا إلى جنب مع من هم في حاجة إليها على ألا ترى.

  2. 8

    تعجبني وجهة النظر البديلة هنا حول جمع الأموال وإليك السبب ...

    مدرسة طفلي تنظم نزهة "عشاء للعجين" كل بضعة أسابيع. الفرضية بسيطة ، اذهب وتناول الطعام في مطعم كذا وكذا وهذا المطعم يمنح المدرسة 10 ٪ من جميع المبيعات لهذا المساء. من وجهة نظر دوج ، هذا هو نفس إعلان المطعم "تعال وتناول الطعام معنا في ليلة كذا وكذا وسنمنح مدرستك المحلية 10٪ من مبيعاتنا". في نهاية اليوم ، تحصل المدرسة على 10٪ بغض النظر عمن قدم الطلب.

    يكمن الاختلاف هنا في كيفية تصور الناس للعرض. عندما تطلب المدرسة أموالنا ، نقول "نحن نحب مدارسنا ، لذا فلنذهب لمساعدتهم". عندما تطلب الشركة ذلك ، نقول "هذا العمل يحاول فقط زيادة المبيعات باستخدام مدرسة طفلي". في النهاية ، النتيجة النهائية هي نفسها.

    سأعترف ، حتى قراءة هذا المقال وفهم المنظور الآخر ، كنت سأبكي أيضًا. التراجع خطوة للوراء ، ما الفرق في أن يستخدم الطالب الجامعي حقيبة ظهر أو أي أداة أخرى عليها شعار؟ أظن أن معداتهم تحمل شعارًا بالفعل وأنهم لا يحصلون على أي أموال مقابل ذلك.

    • 9

      هذه رؤية رائعة حقًا @ google-607b0d9455bf19307cf8bf2968785187: disqus - أنت محق تمامًا ، الفعل هو نفسه ولكن المنظور مختلف كثيرًا. الهدف ليس "استغلال" ، بل هو استثمار أموال التسويق حيث يمكن أن يكون لها عائد على الاستثمار. إنه لأمر مدهش كيف أصبحت نظرتنا للأعمال التجارية سلبية على مر السنين. إنه لأمر رائع أن تستثمر الشركات في المؤسسات الخيرية. التبرعات رائعة ، لكن التبرعات عادة لا يكون لها عائد على الاستثمار. لذا ... ما لم أكن من الأثرياء في أوبر وتفيض الأموال ، فأنا بحاجة إلى وضع المال حيث سيحصل على عائد.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, , Marketing & Sales Videos, Search Marketing, , Technology

Stop Killing Cause Marketing

When a student needs money for a school lunch, it’s of little or no consequence to them where the money is coming from. They’re just hungry and need funds. It’s not just school lunches, it’s student grants and scholarships, medical goods, tutoring, daycare, and so much more. The list of needs is infinite and, in a downed economy, it continues to grow.

Donations for Followers

When the earthquake in Haiti happened, the Internet was buzzing about all the monetary and physical needs that the country needed. At the time, I didn’t have a business. I was a single father and money was never plentiful. But the incident tugged at my heartstrings so I offered to donate money if I got to a certain number of followers on Twitter.

The backlash was immediate. People screamed at me that I was heartless and it was a terrible thing for me to do. I was absolutely astonished… I was just seeking to increase my authority on Twitter and this seemed like a worthy cause. I could have taken the money and purchased advertising on any number of sites to promote my account… but instead I thought this would be better since the funds would go to those who needed it most.

I finally gave up. I had so many people pummeling me that I withdrew the offer (and made the donation, anyways).

This has to stop.

I was recently speaking with the CMO of a large company who told me that he’d love to provide grants and scholarships to students in return for them providing content and promoting their goods and services. The backlash is the same for this strategy… many in the public screamed that his fat cat company was just exploiting the students and they should provide the grants and scholarships, anyways.

There’s only one problem… he can’t. There’s no budget for grants and scholarships. He can’t simply give money away that his budget requires him to be accountable for and to grow earnings on. He has to invest the money and get a return on investment on the funds. In other words, he has marketing budget and can use it for anything – as long as it leads to business results. He’s not running a charity, he’s running a business.

Many companies would love to do both

Instead, he continues to pay for pay per click, advertising, content and other strategies with businesses where he won’t be publicly maligned. It’s a total loss. The very critics who treat his company like a monster (and treat most corporations like monsters) are killing cause marketing. The money then goes to other big companies instead of helping where it’s needed most.

Companies are in business to make a profit, but that doesn’t mean they shouldn’t find opportunities to help those less fortunate, or the environment, or those in need. Stop killing cause marketing and recognize that there’s billions of dollars that could be spent to help those who need it most – but the company can only invest it if they realize there’s a return on that investment.

Stop killing cause marketing.

Here are some great examples of Cause Marketing

Great Clips worked with AdoptAClassroom.org to find deserving teachers and surprise them with a classroom of their dreams. This video, part of Great Clips’ integrated cause marketing campaign, – is a first in the company’s history combining social, digital, in-store, in-home, TV, radio and print.

9 Comments

  1. 1

    “I mean if we only had a wheelbarrow. That would be something.” – Westley, AKA the Dread Pirate Roberts.

    Telling those in need that you’ll help but first you gots’ to get yours ain’t helping. It ain’t charity. It ain’t donations. It ain’t giving. It’s exploitation. It’s profiteering. It’s classic horse trading.

    That’s not true love. That s*** happens every day.

    Donate to the cause. Get your tax rideoff forms. Write your press release statements. Work with their PR team to make sure you get your word. Do it right.

    But mostly, do it for THEM, those in need. Do it because your heart yearns. Don’t do it for selfish gain. If you need a direct ROI on the ‘causal effort’ for those starving and suffering and crying and heaving and writhing in pain from injuries, starvation and dehydrating, wading around in diarrhea-soaked, dysentery-lined ditches and flood pools in the same clothes for 3 weeks, praying against their better judgment that they make it through the night amidst the looting and rioting and cannibalism, then you can’t afford it.

    Big company CEOs have this already earmarked in their budgets. Your “CMO of a large company” is either lying to you or is a dumbass. He needs slapped and voted out. Or he needs to spend the night with the victims. It’ll change one. Hell, we had a rainy-day fun at LM for such occasions. We also used our tools and talents to take time after work to help the community. Opportunity Enterprises was our favorite.

    Write a post. Send up a prayer. Give some pocket change. But don’t you ever try to pick up web presence market share and a few clients by piggybacking of the suffering and misfortune of others.

    You’re not a pirate. You’re not a black market dealer. You’re my hero. You’re one of my mentors. Your heart is in the right place. I know that. But these were one of my biggest fights during my Denom U days: giving to the cause vs. being recognized for the gift. This is why the CRM industry is going to get regulated in a few years.

    You don’t need all that short-term, horse-trading sh*t. You have one of the best voices in the industry. You have my attention, and that takes a lot to get. I sleep reading most of your peers’ rhetoric. You just need to have the courage to be as loud as those 20 on the tier above you and you’ll move mountains. Most importantly, you have the presence to make change. Use your gifts, not the gimmicks. DM New Media will be better off in the long run.

    And the world will be a better place.

    – Bromance for life

    Finn

    • 2

      Ok, @natfinn:disqus – this is a ridiculous response and really not worth me responding. You insulted a good friend of mine in the conversation as well. Your perception of business isn’t as much ignorant as it is stupid. I’ve worked for many companies and had million dollar budgets – and marketing never had a budget for donating to charities, nor did any company I worked for get a “return on donation” that they could measure. But we DID have money for marketing. The point here is to be able to invest that money into a charity rather than another business that may not be as charitable. Your view is exactly the problem that I’m denouncing – it’s illogical. You’d rather a charity get NOTHING.

      • 3

        If you won’t listen to those who berated you for trying it and you won’t listen to me, then try donating $500 to victims of the Boston Marathon Bombers and buy me a Gumballhead every time they use the word, “bribery.” Because that’s what they call a public display of goodwill or support in exchange for cash.

        Charities not only get NOTHING when you try such an approach, most all of them won’t even take it. Why? They know that it opens a floodgate of donors expecting favors in exchange for cash. They end up spending more time dealing with donors than their cause. It leverages them and eases the way for deeper, darker favors that fall into the category of corruption. Slippery slope. That’s why there’s laws against it.

        Hi, I’m Nat Finn. BA in Religion, BS in Business. The millionaire agency clients we had at the ole’ agency – Sony, Samsung, Sealy, Trump University, TELEBrands – the originators of ‘As Seen on TV,’ Russ Whitney (whose clients include Robert Kiyosaki’s “Rich Dad, Poor Dad.”), All Star Products, (whose products include “Snuggie”), knew at least to donate proceeds of profits to causes. They planned for it. Sadly, because the probably knew the economic upside of cause marketing. They knew the impact and they knew the frequency in which such an event comes around. It’s why I waited to reply. I’m just sad the event was so tragic.

        Please reconsider your stance on cause marketing. You’re too awesome. You find jobs for friends. You open up your homes to people in need. You spare dimes. You and your good CMO friend could do so much more. So much more.

        • 4

          Ok, I’m going to try this again. We don’t HAVE A CHARITY BUDGET. We have a MARKETING BUDGET. Either we get a return on investment with our MARKETING BUDGET or we go out of BUSINESS.

          So, you would rather the charity get nothing. I understand. And no, I don’t reconsider my stance. I would rather see businesses work and profit alongside of those who are in need than not.

  2. 8

    I like the alternate perspective here on fund raising and here’s why…

    My kid’s school has a “Dining for Dough” outing every few weeks. The premise is simple, go eat at such and such restaurant and that restaurant gives the school 10% of all sales for that evening. From Doug’s perspective, this is the same as the restaurant advertising “come eat with us on such and such night and we’ll give your local school 10% of our sales”. At the end of the day, the school gets 10% regardless of who makes the request.

    The difference here is in how people perceive the offer. When the school asks for our money, we say “we love our schools so let’s go help them”. When a business asks for it, we say “that business is just trying to increase sales my using my kid’s school”. Ultimately though, the end result is the same.

    I’ll admit, until reading this article and understanding the other perspective I too would have cried foul. Taking a step back, what’s the difference in the college student using a backpack or other gear with a logo on it? My guess is that their gear already has a logo and they aren’t getting any money for it.

    • 9

      That’s truly great insight @google-607b0d9455bf19307cf8bf2968785187:disqus – you’re absolutely right, the act is the same but the perspective is much different. The point isn’t to ‘exploit’, it’s truly to invest marketing dollars where it can have a return on investment. It’s fascinating how negative our view of business has become over the years. It’s a GREAT thing to have businesses investing in charities. Donations are fantastic, but donations don’t typically have a return on investment. So… unless I’m uber wealthy with money overflowing, I need to put the money where it will have a return.

Leave a Reply