مطاردة الذيل: هاري بوتر والذيل الطويل

إذا كان هاري بوتر يدير شركة جنرال إلكتريكيبدأ يوم السبت بتوقفي المعتاد إلى الحدود. طلبت خرائط جوجل المأجورون من Amazon حتى أتمكن من العمل على بعض واجهات رسم الخرائط المتأخرة لـ ResortPub في نهاية هذا الأسبوع. طلبت شحنًا لمدة يومين ولكن الكتاب لم يصل ... تم تعقبه إلى كولومبوس ، أوهايو. أعتقد أن هذه هي المرة الأولى التي لم أتلق فيها طلبي من أمازون في الوقت المحدد - آمل ألا يحدث مرة أخرى.

عودة إلى وجهة نظري ... أنا في بوردرز وشاهدت الكتاب إذا كان هاري بوتر يدير شركة جنرال إلكتريك. أنا أقرأ حاليًا الذيل الطويل ويتحدث عن المفهوم المثير للاهتمام القائل بأن التقدم التكنولوجي في أجهزة الكمبيوتر والإنترنت والتوزيع يقود مبيعات المنتجات التي ليست في النسب المئوية الأعلى. إنه كتاب رائع. بعد أن قرأت للتو Freakonomics، هذه هي المجاملة المثالية.

كما رأيت عنوان إذا كان هاري بوتر يدير شركة جنرال إلكتريك، لا يسعني إلا أن أجد أنه من المثير للاهتمام أن المؤلف توم موريس ، بينما كان مؤلفًا راسخًا يتمتع بمراجعات رائعة ، استخدم نجاح هاري بوتر لدفع كتابه "إلى أعلى الذيل". زوار أمازون الذين يقومون بالبحث عن هاري بوتر سيجدون هذا الكتاب في رقم 30 في نتائج بحثهم. قد يكون هاري بوتر أنجح سلسلة كتب على الإطلاق. الأطفال والآباء على حد سواء يقفون في طابور وهم جائعون للكتاب القادم. بينما يطلعون على موقع أمازون ، لا يسعني إلا أن أتساءل عن عدد الآلاف منهم الذين اشتروا هذا الكتاب.

كما أنني أشعر بالفضول لمعرفة ما إذا كانت هذه استراتيجية تسويقية متعمدة للسيد موريس وناشره! بشكل عام ، تم تصنيف كتابه في المرتبة # 66,951،154,295 على موقع أمازون بينما كتابه الأخير هو # 3،XNUMX. هل أصبح توم موريس ببساطة كاتبًا أفضل خلال السنوات الثلاث الماضية؟ أو هل طارد كتابه هاري بوتر وجعله يصعد إلى أعلى الذيل الطويل؟

روبرت سكوبل وشيل إسرائيل تكلم حول هذا الاتجاه الذي يحدث مع أحاديث عارية. من المثير للاهتمام التفكير في أنه يمكن استخدام هذا كاستراتيجية ، على الرغم من ذلك!

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مرحبا دوغلاس! شكرا لملاحظة الكتاب! لم أقرأ أيًا من قصص هاري بوتر إلا منذ حوالي 3 أو 4 سنوات ، اتصل بي فيلسوف شاب ليطلب مني كتابة مقال لكتاب كان سيحرره - هاري بوتر والفلسفة. لم يكن لدي الوقت للقيام بالمشروع ، ولم أشعر بأي ميل لذلك ، لكنه كان طالبًا من أحد طلاب الدكتوراه المفضلين لدي ، وذلك خدمة له ولمعلمه ، الذي كان قد جنده في الاتصال بي بشأن مشروع ، وافقت على الأقل على إلقاء نظرة على أول كتاب بوتر. كنت مدمن مخدرات على الفور ، وقرأت كل منهم 6 مرات! كتبت مقالًا لكتاب الأستاذ الشاب ولم أستطع التوقف عن الكتابة. كان هناك الكثير من الأفكار المدهشة حول الحياة والقيادة في هذه القصص ذات الشعبية الهائلة التي لم يتحدث عنها أحد. قريبًا كان لدي 300 صفحة - كتاب! كان يُطلق عليه "هاري بوتر ومعنى الحياة" ، لكن رئيس تحرير الأعمال ، وهو صديق لوكيلي ، تمسك به ، ورأى مستوى حكمة القيادة فيه ، وسألني عما إذا كان بإمكاني تحويله إلى كتاب سيكون بمثابة كتاب أعمال بقدر ما سيكون دليلًا للحياة. كنت مريبًا في البداية ، لكن أثناء إعادة قراءته أصبحت مقتنعًا.

    بعد التدريس في جامعة Notre Dame لمدة 15 عامًا في قسم الفلسفة ، أتحدث الآن إلى مجموعات تجارية كبيرة في جميع أنحاء البلاد. عرف محرر Doubleday أن العنوان التجاري من شأنه أن يجذب جمهوري. قال: "كل شخص في Doubleday يحب كتابك الصادر عام 1997 إذا كان أرسطو ران جنرال موتورز وكذلك كل مدير تنفيذي أعرفه ، فهل أنت على استعداد لعمل عنوان موازٍ؟" لقد أجريت الكثير من الأبحاث وكذلك فعلت Doubleday ، واتفقنا على إذا كان Harry Potter Ran General Electric وسيلة ممتعة للذهاب.

    طلبت الشركات آلاف النسخ ، وقد اختارها الرؤساء التنفيذيون ثم اشتروها لجميع تقاريرهم ومديريهم التنفيذيين ، والآن اكتشفها معجبو هاري بوتر. لذا فهو أول كتاب لي منذ عام 97 يصل إلى قوائم أفضل الكتب مبيعًا (هذا الصيف The Wall Street Journal ، CEO Read ، BookJive).

    إنه جهاز تسويقي مثير للاهتمام - عنوان وصفي ، ومثير للذكريات ، وحيوي ، وممتع ، ويستقطب جمهورين مختلفين للغاية يشتريان الكتب.

    وبالمناسبة - أعتقد أن كل كتاب أكتبه هو أفضل ما قمت به ، ولكن بعد سنوات ، أحبهم جميعًا مثل الأطفال.

    شكرا لملاحظتك!!!!!

    توم موريس

  2. 2

    أحببت مقال هاري بوتر هذا. هل تفحصتم يا رفاق منتديات هاري بوتر هذا هو المكان الأول الذي نشر الأخبار حول أحدث أفلام هاري بوتر وهاري بوتر وجماعة العنقاء.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

Chasing The Tail: Harry Potter and The Long Tail

If Harry Potter ran General ElectricSaturday begins with my regular stop to Borders. I ordered Google Map Hacks off of Amazon so I could work on some overdue mapping interfaces for ResortPub this weekend. I ordered 2-day shipping but the book didn’t arrive… it’s tracked to Columbus, OH. I think this is the first time that I’ve not received my order from Amazon on time – hope it doesn’t happen again.

Back to my point… I’m at Borders and I happen to see the book If Harry Potter ran General Electric. I’m currently reading The Long Tail and it speaks to the intriguing concept that technology advances in computers, the internet, and distribution are driving sales of products that are not in the top percentiles. It’s a great book. Having just read Freakonomics, this is the perfect compliment.

As I viewed the title of If Harry Potter ran General Electric, I couldn’t help but find it interesting that author Tom Morris, while an established author with great reviews, used the success of Harry Potter to push his book ‘up the tail’. Visitors to Amazon who do a search of Harry Potter will find this book at #30 in their search results. Harry Potter may be the most successful series of books of all time. Children and parents alike stand in line and are hungry for the next book. As they peruse Amazon, I can’t help but wonder how many thousands of them purchased this book.

I’m also curious if this was a deliberate marketing strategy of Mr. Morris and his Publisher! Overall, his book is rated at #66,951 on Amazon while his last book is #154,295. Did Tom Morris simply become a better writer over the last 3 years? Or did his book chase Harry Potter and get him further up The Long Tail?

Robert Scoble & Shel Israel spoke about this trend occurring with Naked Conversations. It’s interesting to think that this could be utilized as a strategy, though!

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Hi Douglas! Thanks for noticing the book! I hadn’t read any of the Harry Potter stories until about 3 or 4 years ago, a young philosopher called me to ask me to write an essay for a book he was going to edit – Harry Potter and Philosophy. I didn’t have time to take on the project, and felt no inclination to, but he was a student of one of my favorite PhD students, so as a favor to him and his teacher, whom he had enlisted in calling me about the project, I agreed to at least look at the first Potter book. I was instantly hooked, and read them all 6 times each! I wrote an essay for the young professor’s book and then couldn’t stop writing. There were so many amazing insights about life and leadership in these immensely popular stories that no one was talking about. Pretty soon I had 300 page – a book! It was called “Harry Potter and the Meaning of Life” but the top business editor, a friend of my agent, got hold of it, saw the level of leadership wisdom in it, and asked me whether I could turn it into a book that would be as much a business book as a life guide. I was dubious at first, but while rereading it became convinced.

    After teaching at Notre Dame 15 year in the philosophy department, I now speak to large business groups all over the country. The Doubleday editor knew that a business title would appeal to my audiences. He said “Everyone at Doubleday loves your 1997 book If Aristotle Ran General Motors and so does every CEO I know, so would you be willing to do a parallel title?” I did lots of research and so did Doubleday, and we agreed on If Harry Potter Ran General Electric as a fun way to go.

    Companies have ordered thousands of copies, CEOs have picked it up and then bought it for all their reports and execs, and now the Harry Potter fandom has discovered it. So it’s my first book since 97 to hit bestseller lists (this summer The Wall Street Journal, CEO Read, BookJive).

    It is an interesting marketing device – a title that is descriptive, evocative, vivid, fun, and that appeals to two very different book buying publics.

    And – by the way – I think that every book I write is the best I’ve ever done, but then years later I love them all equally like children.

    Thanks for noticing!!!!!

    Tom Morris

  2. 2

    Loved this Harry Potter article. Have you guys checked out Harry Potter Forums Thats the first place that posted the news about the latest Harry Potter Movie, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.

Leave a Reply