نهائيات Cisco I-Prize!

سيسكو

توجهت أنا وفريقي من الأصدقاء المقربين ، جايسون وبيل وكارلا إلى سينسيناتي أمس من أجلنا العرض النهائي لجائزة I-Prize مع سيسكو. منشأة Carmel هي أقرب كثيرًا ولكن سيسكو كانت بحاجة إلى تحريكنا لتمكين فريق الابتكار الكامل لديهم من التواجد.

النهائيات!

مع أكثر من 1100 مشاركة دولية في المسابقة ، تم اختيارنا ووصل إلى نصف النهائي 32. لقد كنا الآن واحدة من آخر 12 فكرة تم تقديمها أمام مجلس الإدارة الذي بدأ المسابقة. لا ضغط ، هاه؟

نحن في نهائيات I-Prize!

لم أستطع التفكير في مزيج أفضل من زملائي في الفريق للعمل معهم في هذا المشروع. المفارقة ، بالطبع ، هي عندما تختار فريقًا من العمال الجادين ... كل واحد منا لديه وظائف صعبة بالفعل. لقد أضافت جائزة I-Prize حقًا إلى عبء العمل لدينا وأنا ممتن لأن لدي أصدقاء سيتقدمون عندما لا أستطيع ذلك. يمكنك أن ترى الإجهاد يغادر أجسادنا وتعود الابتسامات بعد الانتهاء من العرض التقديمي.

تجربة التواجد عن بعد

img 0140 2

عينة فيديو عن بعد موجود على Youtube ولكنه في الحقيقة لا يوفر التجربة الكاملة.

الغرفة عبارة عن طاولة بيضاوية جزئية تواجه مباشرة 3 شاشات ضخمة بها كاميرات فيديو مدمجة. عندما تقوم بتوصيل الكمبيوتر المحمول الخاص بك للقيام بالعرض التقديمي ، يتم عرضه محليًا تحت الشاشات وكذلك عن بُعد أسفل الشاشة حتى يتمكن جميع الأعضاء من رؤيته.
IMG 0144

كانت لدينا أطراف في 3 مواقع للتواجد الفعلي عن بُعد في اجتماعنا بالإضافة إلى متصل آخر اتصل ببساطة. يقلب النظام الصورة تلقائيًا بناءً على الموقع الذي يتحدث. لكنها لا تقلب جميع الشاشات - إنها تنقلب ببساطة على الشاشة التي يتحدث عليها شخص ما. هذه صورة رائعة حيث كانت التكنولوجيا تعمل على يسار مجموعة سان خوسيه - يمكنكم رؤية نصفها.
IMG 0145

في غضون دقائق قليلة من استخدام النظام ، تنسى حقًا أنك في الواقع على طرفي نقيض من البلد. إنها تجربة مريحة بشكل مذهل. لقد تأثرنا بالتأكيد.

فريق سيسكو

مع دقات القلوب والعديد من المديرين التنفيذيين من Cisco ، حاولت كتابة أسماء الجميع لكنني فقدت المسار ببساطة. لقد كان من المثير أن أكون وجهًا لوجه مارثين دي بير، على أية حال! كان فريق Cisco مضيفين غير رسميين ولطفاء وداعمين. سرعان ما تبخرت أي مخاوف من راندي وبولا وسيمون مع فريق القيادة الذي كان أمامنا!
IMG 0146

يكفي! كيف ذهب العرض؟

محاولة بيع فكرة بمليار دولار في 60 دقيقة هي بالتأكيد تجربة جديدة. كان بيل المتحدث الرسمي باسمنا والرجل الذي حافظ على وتيرة الاجتماع. لقد تعاملت مع أكبر قدر ممكن من بيانات الصناعة والخبرة. كنا نعلم أن أصعب عقبة كانت في الواقع جعل الفريق يدرك الحل والفرصة. أوضحت كارلا مجموعة الشرائح الخاصة بنا لالتقاط أكوام البيانات التي قمنا بتجميعها في كل شريحة بصريًا.

نقاط البيع؟ هل حقا؟

عندما تقول نظام "نقطة البيع" ، يفكر الناس على الفور في ماسح الباركود ، وقاعدة بيانات المخزون ، والقدرة على طباعة إيصال وشحن بطاقة الائتمان. هذا هو النموذج الذي كان علينا تغييره في أول 30 دقيقة!

We كان لجعل الفريق يدرك أن نقاط البيع لديها إمكانات أكبر بكثير لتكون المحور الكامل للأعمال مع فرصة للاندماج في جميع العمليات التجارية الأخرى - مراقبة المخزون ، وإمدادات الغذاء ، والتوظيف ، والمحاسبة ، والتسويق ، والمكافآت ، والطلب عبر الإنترنت ، والكشك الطلب ، الطلب اللاسلكي ، إعداد التقارير ، إدارة المؤسسات ، إلخ.

السبب الذي يجعل الناس ينظرون إلى نقاط البيع على أنها "سجل نقدي رائع" هو أن هذا هو بالضبط ما كان عليه في الخمسين عامًا الماضية مع القليل من التغيير. جوهر فكرتنا للنهائيات هو جعل نقطة البيع محور المطعم ، مع شبكة آمنة وموثوقة لدعم أي اتصالات.

ربما كان أفضل جزء في العرض أنه ، أثناء حديثنا ، يمكننا أن نرى جسديًا تغيرات وجوههم وتضيء المصابيح الكهربائية. تغيرت الأسئلة من "من وماذا وكم" إلى "ماذا عن ، هل تتخيل ، لماذا لا". مع صناعة تبلغ قيمتها 17 مليار دولار ، وآفاق محبطة من العروض الحالية ، وعدم وجود بائع يتدخل - صناعة المطاعم مهيأة للاضطراب من قبل شركة لديها موارد سيسكو.

ما هي الخطوة التالية؟

عند اختتام الاجتماع ، تحدثنا عن عملاء الشبكة الرفيعة الذين تم نشرهم بأفكار "المطعم في صندوق" والتحالفات مع عملاء أجهزة نقاط البيع غير الملائمين من البائعين. نعم!!!! هذه هي الصورة التي أردنا رسمها طوال الوقت. تلقينا بعض الردود الإيجابية للغاية من الفريق ، وبعض التناغم الجيد طوال الوقت ، وأغلقنا الاجتماع. صقل جيسون الاجتماع ليعلم الفريق لماذا كان النظام ضروريًا جدًا لنجاحه كصاحب مطعم.

لا أعتقد أنه كان يمكن أن يكون أفضل! هناك تحليل تكلفة / فائدة إضافي يمكن إنجازه ونحن حددت الموارد للحصول على تلك المعلومات لتحسين دراسة الجدوى الخاصة بنا. ستحتاج بضعة آلاف من الدولارات في تقارير الصناعة إلى البحث عن محلل جيد للتوصل إلى تقدير دقيق.

الآن ننتظر! اختتم مارثين الاجتماع ببيان حول مدى أهمية سماع تصورات الآخرين حول ما كانت "أو" تفعله "سيسكو". نأمل أن يتمكنوا من تصور أنفسهم في هذا الفضاء. سيؤدي ذلك إلى ترسيخ سيسكو باعتبارها العمود الفقري للبيانات التجارية ، أولاً في قطاع خدمات الطعام ، وما وراء صناعة البيع بالتجزئة بأكملها.

أنهى الفريق المكالمة الهاتفية وقام باستخلاص المعلومات لمدة 30 دقيقة. ننتظر حتى يونيو لسماع النتائج! ضع علامة ... ضع علامة ...

إذا لم تختارنا Cisco ، فقد ناقشنا الفكرة بالفعل مع بعض رواد الأعمال والمستثمرين الملاك وأصحاب رؤوس الأموال هنا على المستوى الإقليمي. بدون شبكة Cisco ونفوذها ، قد تكون هذه فكرة صعبة للبيع. هذا ما لم نحصل على التمويل ونصبح عملاء لهم!

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    كنا محظوظين جدًا لأننا كنا قادرين على تقديم عرض إلى مجموعة كبيرة من المديرين التنفيذيين لشركة Cisco وجيفري مور. (مؤلف كتاب "عبور الهوة: تسويق وبيع منتجات التكنولوجيا العالية للعملاء الرئيسيين" ومالك مجموعة Chasm.)

    لقد كانت تجربة فريدة من نوعها ، وأنا فخور بالعمل الذي أنشأه فريقنا. شكراً لكارلا ودوغ وجيسون !!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

The Cisco I-Prize Finals!

My team of good friends, Jason, Bill, Carla and I drove to Cincinnati yesterday for our final I-Prize presentation with Cisco. The Carmel facility is a lot closer but Cisco needed to move us to enable their full Innovation team to be present.

The Finals!

With over 1100 international entries to the contest, we were selected and made the 32 semi-finalists. Now we were one of the final 12 ideas presenting in front of the very board who initiated the contest. No pressure, huh?

We\'re in the I-Prize Finals!

I couldn’t think of a better mix of team mates to work with on this project. The irony, of course, is when you pick a team of hard workers… all of us have challenging jobs already. The I-Prize really added to our workload and I’m thankful I had friends who would step up when I couldn’t. You could see the strain leave our bodies and the smiles return after we finished the presentation.

The Telepresence Experience

A sample video of Telepresence is on YouTube but it really doesn’t provide the full experience.

The room is a partial oval table that directly faces 3 enormous screens with built-in video cameras. When you plugin your laptop to do your presentation, it’s projected locally under the screens as well as remotely under the screen so all members can see it.

We had parties at 3 physical telepresence locations at our meeting as well as another caller who simply dialed in. The system automatically flips the image based on which location is speaking. But it doesn’t flip all of the screens – it simply flips to the screen that someone is speaking on. Here’s a great pic where a tech was working to the left of the San Jose group – you can see half of her.

Within a few minutes of using the system, you truly forget that you’re actually at opposite ends of the country. it’s an amazingly comfortable experience. We were definitely impressed.

The Cisco Team

With hearts pounding and so many executives from Cisco, I tried to write down everyone’s names but simply lost track. It was a thrill to be face-to-face with Marthin De Beer, though! The Cisco team were casual, gracious, inviting and supportive hosts. Any fears of Randy, Paula and Simon quickly evaporated with the leadership team we had in front of us!

Enough! How did the Presentation go?

Trying to sell a billion dollar idea in 60 minutes is definitely a new experience. Bill was our spokesperson and the guy who kept the tempo of the meeting. I chimed in with as much industry data and experience I could. We knew the toughest hurdle was actually getting the team to recognize the solution and opportunity. Carla illustrated our slide deck to visually capture the mounds of data that we packed into each slide.

POS? Really?

When you say “Point of Sales” system, folks immediately think about a barcode scanner, an inventory database, and the ability to print a receipt and charge a credit card. That’s the paradigm that we had to shift in the first 30 minutes!

We had to get the team to recognize that the POS has much more potential to be the entire hub of the business with an opportunity to integrate into all other business processes – inventory control, food supply, employment, accounting, marketing, rewards, online ordering, kiosk ordering, wireless ordering, reporting, enterprise management, etc.

The reason why people see a POS as a ‘glorified cash register’ is that this is exactly what it’s been the last 50 years with very little change. The core of our idea for the finals is to make the POS the HUB of the restaurant, with a secure and reliable network to support any communications.

Perhaps the best part of the presentation was that, as we spoke, we could physically see the expressions on their faces change and the light bulbs turn on. Questions changed from ‘who, what, how much’ to ‘how about, do you picture, why not’. With a $17B industry, prospects that are disappointed with current offerings, and no vendor stepping to the plate – the restaurant industry is primed for disruption by a company with the resources of Cisco.

What’s Next?

By close of the meeting, we had talk of thin-net clients deployed with ideas of the “Restaurant in a Box” and alliances with vendor agnostic POS hardware clients. Yes!!!! That’s the picture that we wanted to paint all along. We had some very positive responses from the team, some good chemistry throughout, and we closed the meeting. Jason polished off the meeting letting the team know why a system would have been so essential to his success as a restaurateur.

I don’t believe it could have gone better! There is additional cost/benefit analysis that could be accomplished and we identified the resources to obtain that information to refine our business case. A few thousand dollars in industry reports would need to be scoured with a good analyst to come up with an accurate estimate.

Now we wait! Marthin closed the meeting with a statement of how interesting it was to hear others’ perceptions of what Cisco ‘was’ or ‘did’. We hope that they can visualize themselves into this space. This would solidify Cisco as the data backbone of commerce, first in the food service segment, and beyond to the entire retail industry.

The team ended the phone call and did a 30 minute debriefing. We wait until June to hear the results! Tick… tick… tick…

If Cisco does not choose us, we’ve already discussed the idea with some entrepreneurs, angel investors and venture capitalists here regionally. Without Cisco’s network and reach, this may be a tough idea to sell. That is, unless we get the funding and become their customer!

One comment

  1. 1

    We were very fortunate to be able to present to a large group of Cisco executives and Geoffrey Moore. (Author of “Crossing the Chasm: Marketing and Selling High-tech Products to Mainstream Customers” and owner of the Chasm Group.)

    It was a unique experiences, and I’m proud of the work our team created. Thanks, Carla, Doug and Jason!!

Leave a Reply