الاستشاريون والمقاولون والموظفون: إلى أين نتجه؟

كثيرًا ما أسمع صرخات الألم عندما نلجأ إلى استشاريين أو مقاولين خارجيين لإنجاز العمل. إنه وضع حساس - يشعر الموظفون أحيانًا وكأنهم يتعرضون للخيانة لأنك تتجه إلى الخارج. بصراحة تامة ، هناك منحنى تعليمي ونفقات إضافية للذهاب إلى الخارج. لكن هناك مزايا.

أنا أحب هذه اللوحة من يأس:
الاستشارات

بغض النظر عن الفكاهة ، يدرك المستشارون والمقاولون حقيقة أنهم إذا لم يؤدوا ، فلن يعودوا. فترة. إنها فرصة واحدة لغرس الثقة في العميل من أجل الحصول على عمل إضافي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لا توجد أي من القضايا الأخرى المرتبطة بالموظفين - الإجازة ، والمزايا ، والمراجعات ، والتوجيه ، وتكاليف التدريب ، والسياسة ، وما إلى ذلك.

الموظفون استثمار طويل الأجل. قد يبدو هذا غير شخصي ، لكنه يشبه إلى حد كبير شراء منزل أو استئجار شقة. يتطلب المنزل الكثير من الاهتمام الذي نأمل أن يؤتي ثماره على المدى الطويل. لكن هل هذا يؤتي ثماره حقًا؟ إذا كان لديك معدل دوران حيث لا يقيم الناس لأكثر من بضع سنوات ، فهل تحصل على عائد الاستثمار؟

يتمتع الاستشاريون والمقاولون أيضًا بحس شديد في خدمة العملاء. أنت عميلهم وهدفهم المطلق هو إرضائك. في بعض الأحيان لا يكون هذا هو الحال مع الموظفين. لدى الموظفين توقعات لأرباب عملهم - أحيانًا تكون أقوى من العكس.

مع ارتفاع مزايا الرعاية الصحية واستمرار دوران الموظفين يمثل مشكلة ، أنا مندهش من أننا لا نستعين بالمقاولين والاستشاريين أكثر فأكثر لتنفيذ عملنا. هذا محزن بعض الشيء من بعض النواحي ، لكنه بالتأكيد يفصل القمح عن القشر. أعتقد أن الأمر يتطلب حقًا منظمة قوية بشكل لا يصدق لبناء قاعدة من الموظفين الرائعين لدرجة أنك لا تحتاج أبدًا إلى البحث عن مهارة خارجية - وأنت تدفع ما يكفي بحيث لا تقلق أبدًا بشأن مغادرتهم. هل مثل هذه الشركة موجودة؟

أفكار؟

7 تعليقات

  1. 1

    لسوء الحظ دوج ، لا يوجد الكثير من الشركات التي تحبها ، على الأقل لا أعرف عنها. أعتقد أنه في بعض الأحيان تحتاج الشركة إلى خلط الأشياء قليلاً والحصول على مساعدة خارجية ، يمكن للموظفين في بعض الأحيان السماح للكثير من المشكلات الأخرى بإعاقة أدائهم مثل الراتب والتطوير الوظيفي والرعاية الصحية على سبيل المثال لا الحصر. كما قلت في بعض الأحيان ، فإن الاستثمار طويل الأجل لا يؤتي ثماره.

  2. 2

    ما تفشل الشركات في رؤيته غالبًا هو أنها تقدم المشاريع الجديدة والمثيرة للاستشاريين بينما تلصق موظفيها الحاليين بأعمال الصيانة. هذا يتعارض مع فكرة أن الموظفين هم استثمارات طويلة الأجل. جزء مما أحببته في كوني استشاريًا هو أن هناك فرصة جيدة جدًا أن يعرضني كل مشروع لأشياء جديدة.

    أما بالنسبة للاستشاريين الذين يتم قطعهم إذا لم يؤدوا أدائهم ، فعادةً لا يحدث ذلك قريبًا بما يكفي. لذلك ينتهي بهم الأمر بعدم فعل أي شيء وفي الوقت الذي يستمرون فيه في الحصول على المال. هذا يولد الاستياء بين الموظفين.

  3. 3

    من وجهة نظر الموظف ، أعتقد أنه يتعين عليك أحيانًا النظر إلى ما وراء الأرقام لمعرفة ما يحافظ على بقاء الموظف.

    قبل بضع سنوات عملت كمقاول مستقل في شركة استشارات سياسية. اشتريت التأمين الصحي الخاص بي ولم يكن لدي خطة تقاعد. لقد نظرت إلى الوظيفة على أنها "قدمي في باب" السياسة. لم ينجح الأمر بهذه الطريقة. لكني لست نادما على ذلك. في الحقيقة ، أحببت العمل هناك. وثق بي رئيسي في العمل ، ولم ينظر إلى كتفي. من الناحية القانونية ، لم يستطع تحديد الساعات التي أعمل فيها (ثم مرة أخرى في السياسة تعمل 24/7).

    الآن أنا أعمل كموظف في وكالة التسويق عبر محرك البحث. لقد رفضت التأمين الصحي ب / ج كان تأمين زوجي أفضل والشركة هي شركة ناشئة لذلك لا تكاد توجد أي فوائد. راتبي أقل بـ 5 آلاف مما ربحته في السنوات القليلة الماضية. ولكن هل تعلم؟ أنا أحب الوظيفة. زملائي في العمل رائعون وهناك القليل جدًا من الدراما. لدينا وقت مرن وهو أمر رائع. تربية الأطفال مجنونة بالمدرسة وكل شيء.

    لن أنكر أن المال ضيق. لكن فكرة العودة إلى بيئة عمل أكثر تقليدية - حسنًا ، لا يمكنني حتى أن أفهمها - مقابل أي مبلغ من المال. ب / ج أنا سعيد. ولا يمكنك كتابة ذلك في شيك أجر.

  4. 4

    يفترض بعض الناس أنه إذا استغرقت امرأة واحدة 9 أشهر لإنجاب طفل ، فيمكنهم تعيين 8 استشاريات إضافية وإنجاب الطفل بطريقة ما في شهر واحد.

    في بعض الأحيان ، لا تعمل كما هو متوقع.

  5. 5

    كمستشار ، أعتقد أنه أمر رائع. نعم ، إنها ليست مستقرة ، لكنها تتيح المزيد من الحرية ، ويمكنني اختيار رئيسي. لا بد لي من شراء المزايا الخاصة بي (وهذا ليس بهذا السوء - أنا في كندا لكنني أفهم أنها أغلى في أماكن أخرى).

    أعتقد أيضًا أن الأمر يعتمد على الدور. انا مستشار موقع. يحتاج معظم الناس إلى إعادة تصميم كل بضع سنوات ثم يحصلون على jr. الموارد للحفاظ عليها. لذلك فهو يعمل. تحتاج الأدوار الأخرى بدوام كامل. أفكر في مستشاري المالي - لا أريده أن يكون مقاولًا أو بابًا دوارًا لأشخاص مختلفين. تحتاج بعض الأدوار إلى هذا الاستقرار.

  6. 6

    أتفق مع التعميم القائل بأنه في كثير من الحالات ، سيكون المستشار أكثر تحفيزًا ويقدم خدمة عملاء أفضل من الموظفين الداخليين. غالبًا ما يكون الموظفون ذوو الأداء المنخفض بهذه الطريقة لأنهم لا يقومون بالعمل الذي يحبونه ويفضلون القيام به ، ولا يُكافأون إذا أدوا أو لا يُعاقبوا إذا كان أداؤهم دون المستوى. (بالتأكيد ، هناك مليون سبب آخر ، لكني أعمم هنا).

    لكن العلاقات الاستشارية يمكن وضعها في هذه الأخاديد أيضًا. أعتقد أن الميزة هي أنه بشكل افتراضي ، تقوم بتعيين مستشار للقيام بشيء معين يفترض أنه / هي بارع فيه ويحب القيام به. وهناك مكافأة / غرامة مباشرة على المهمة المنجزة ... لا توجد طريقة لتحصيل أجر موظف مقابل منتج تم شحنه متأخرًا. ويعرف الموظفون عمومًا أن لديهم وظيفة بغض النظر عن ... إذا تم شحن المنتج في الوقت المحدد ، فيمكنهم التطلع إلى زيادة بنسبة 4٪ ، بينما يتطلع الاستشاري إلى مزيد من العمل أو عقد صيانة لطيف.

    هناك بالتأكيد الكثير من الاستشاريين السيئين ، وأشعر في حدسي أنه من الصعب العثور على مستشار رائع كما هو الحال في العثور على موظف رائع. أعتقد أنه إذا وجدت واحدة رائعة من أي منهما ، فستذهب معها. وإذا كنت عالقًا في حالة سيئة من أي منهما ، فعليك المضي قدمًا.

    منشور رائع دوغ ... هناك الكثير للتفكير فيه ، وهو شيء يدور في ذهني كثيرًا نظرًا لأن العديد من عملائي في وضع يحاولون فيه معرفة ما إذا كانوا قد وظفوني كمستشار أو توظيف شخص آخر كموظف.

  7. 7

    وظيفة مثيرة جدا للاهتمام. بصفتي مساعدًا افتراضيًا ، فأنا مقاول مع قليل من المستشارين. الشيء الوحيد الذي يحبطنا هو عقلية أصحاب العمل الذين يريدون موظفًا ، لكنهم يريدون أن يدفعوا لهم كمقاول من أجل تجنب الضرائب. آسف ، لكنك لن تحصل على كعكتك وتأكلها أيضًا. بصفتي صاحب عمل ، فأنا لست موظفًا. إذا كان العميل يريد مني أن أتصرف كواحد (أقبل الطلبات التي خرجت من الخدمة ، وكن هناك تحت رغبته واتصل به ، ودفع الفول السوداني) ، فحينئذٍ سيتعين عليهم دفع راتبي كموظف ، مما يعني أن الأمر يستحق بينما ، من حيث الوقت ، والأجور ، والمزايا من حيث التكلفة ، والمصروفات (نعم ، يدفع الموظفون ثمن معداتهم ويتم تسديد النفقات). إذا لم يرغبوا في القيام بذلك ، فعليهم البدء في قبول حقيقة أن المقاولين ليسوا وسيلة لتجنب اتباع القانون ، وأنه ستكون هناك بالضرورة مقايضات مثل حقيقة أنه بصفتهم أصحاب أعمال ، سيقوم المقاولون بفرض أسعار احترافية تعكس مهاراتهم ومعرفتهم وقيمتهم ، والتي ستدعم أعمالهم بشكل مربح.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing

Consultants, Contractors and Employees: Where are we heading?

Often, I hear the screams of pain when we turn to external consultants or contractors to get work completed. It’s a delicate situation – sometimes employees feel like they are being betrayed that you’re going external. Quite honestly, there’s a learning curve and additional expense to going external. There are advantages, though.

I love this plaque from Despair:
Consulting

Humor aside, consultants and contractors recognize the fact that if they do not perform, they will not return. Period. It’s a single opportunity to instill confidence in the client in order to get additional work. As well, there are none of the other issues associated with employees – vacation, benefits, reviews, mentoring, training costs, politics, etc.

Employees are a long-term investment. This may sound impersonal, but it’s a lot like buying a house or renting an apartment. The house requires so much more attention that will hopefully pay off in the long run. But is it really paying off? If you have turnover where folks aren’t staying for more than a few years, are you getting your return on investment?

Consultants and contractors also have keen sense of customer service. You are their customer and their absolute goal is to please you. Sometimes this isn’t the case with employees. Employees have expectations for their employers – sometimes stronger than vice-versa.

As health care benefits rise and employee turnover continues to be a problem, I’m surprised that we don’t utilize contractors and consultants more and more to execute our work. That’s a little sad in some ways, but it definitely separates the wheat from the chaff. I think it really takes an incredibly strong organization to build a base of employees that are so fantastic that you need never look external for skill – and you pay enough that you never have to worry about them leaving. Does such a company exist?

Thoughts?

7 Comments

  1. 1

    Unfortunately Doug, there are not too many companies that exist that like, at least I don’t know of them. I think sometimes a company needs to mix things up a bit and get external help, employees can sometimes let a lot of other issues get in the way of their performance like pay, career development, and Health care to name a few. Like you said sometimes the long term investment doesn’t pay of.

  2. 2

    What companies often fail to see is that they give out the new and exciting projects to consultants while sticking their current employees with the maintenance work. This is counter to the idea that employees are long-term investments. Part of what I liked about being a consultant is that there was a very good chance that every project would expose me to new things.

    As for consultants being cut loose if they don’t perform, that often doesn’t happen soon enough. So they end up doing nothing and while still getting paid. This breeds resentment amongst employees.

  3. 3

    From an employee perspective, I think sometimes you have to look beyond the numbers as to what keeps an employee around.

    A few years ago I worked as an independent contractor for a political consulting firm. I bought my own health insurance and didn’t have a retirement plan. I viewed the job as my “foot in the door” to politics. It didn’t work out that way. But I don’t regret it. In fact, I loved working there. My boss trusted me, didn’t look over my shoulder. Legally he couldn’t determine which hours I worked (then again in politics you work 24/7).

    Now I work as an employee for an SEM agency. I turned down the health insurance b/c my husband’s was better and the company is a startup so there are just hardly any benefits. My salary is 5k less than what I’ve made the past few years. But you know what? I love the job. My coworkers are great and there’s very little drama. We have flex time which is awesome b/c raising kids is crazy with school and everything.

    I won’t deny that money is TIGHT. But the thought of going back to a more traditional work environment – well, I really can’t even fathom it – for any amount of money. B/c I’m happy. And you just can’t write that into a paycheck.

  4. 4

    Some people assume that if it takes one woman 9 months to have a baby, they can hire an additional 8 female consultants and somehow produce the child in one month.

    Sometimes, it just doesn?t work as well as expected.

  5. 5

    As a consultant, I think it is great. Yes, it is not as stable, but it allows more freedom, and I get to choose my boss. I have to buy my own benefits (which isn’t that bad – I am in Canada but I understand it is more expensive in other places).

    I also think it depends on the role. I am a website consultant. Most people need a redesign every few years then get jr. resources to maintain. So it works. Other roles need full-time. I am thinking of my financial advisor – would not want him to be a contractor or a revolving door of different guys. Some roles need that stability.

  6. 6

    I agree with the generalization that in many cases, a consultant will be more driven and provide better customer service than internal employees. Low performing employees are often that way because they’re not doing the work they love and are best at, aren’t rewarded if they perform or aren’t penalized if they underperform. (Sure, there are a million more reasons, but I’m generalizing here).

    But consulting relationships could be placed in those ruts too. I think the advantage is that by default, you hire a consultant to do a specific thing that presumably he/she is great at and loves to do it. And there’s a direct reward/penalty for the job done … there’s no way you’re going to dock an employee’s pay for a product that shipped late. And employees generally know they have a job no matter what … if the product ships on time they can look forward to a 4% raise, whereas the consultant looks forward to more work down the road or a nice maintenance contract.

    There are definitely a lot of bad consultants out there, and my gut feel is that it’s as hard to find a great consultant as it is to find a great employee. I think if you find a great one of either, you go with it. And if you’re stuck with a bad one of either, you have to move on.

    Great post Doug … a lot to think about, and something that’s on my mind a lot since many of my clients are in a position where they’re trying to figure out if they hire me as a consultant or hire someone else as an employee.

  7. 7

    Very interesting post. As a Virtual Assistant, I’m more contractor with just a pinch of consultant. One thing that is frustrating for us is the mindset of employers who want an employee, but want to pay them as a contractor in order to avoid taxes. Sorry, but you don’t get to have your cake and eat it, too. As a business owner, I’m not an employee. If a client wants me to act like one (accept barked out orders, be there at their beck and call, paid peanuts), then they’re just going to have to pay me like an employee, which means it has to be worth my while, time-wise, pay-wise, benefits-wise and expense-wise (yes, employees get their equipment paid for and expenses reimbursed). If they don’t want to do that, then they need to start accepting the fact that contractors are not a way to avoid following the law, and that there are necessarily going to be trade-offs such as the fact that as business owners, contractors are going to charge professional rates that reflect their skill, knowledge and value, and that will sustain their business profitably.

Leave a Reply