نسخ المحتوى ليس بخير

بارت سيمبسون نسخة 1

أولاً إخلاء مسؤوليتي: أنا ليس محاميا. بما أنني لست محاميًا ، سأكتب هذا المنشور كرأي. على LinkedIn ، أ محادثة بدأ بالسؤال التالي:

هل من القانوني إعادة نشر المقالات والمحتويات الأخرى التي أجدها مفيدة على مدونتي (بالطبع منح الفضل للمؤلف الفعلي) أم يجب أن أتحدث مع المؤلف أولاً ...

هناك إجابة بسيطة جدًا على هذا ، لكنني شعرت بالخوف الشديد من استجابة الجماهير في المحادثة. استجاب غالبية الناس بنصائح كانت ، في الواقع ، قانوني لإعادة نشر المقالات أو المحتوى الذي وجدوه مفيدًا على مدونتهم. إعادة نشر المقالات؟ المحتوى؟ دون الحصول على إذن؟ هل انت مجنون؟

بارت سيمبسون نسخة 1

الحجة القانونية مستمرة حول ما يشكل الاستخدام العادل وكذلك إلى أي مدى تحمي حقوق الطبع والنشر شركة أو فردًا إذا وجد المحتوى الخاص بك نفسه على موقع آخر. بصفتي شخصًا يكتب الكثير من المحتوى ، يمكنني أن أخبرك تمامًا أنه خطأ. لم أقل أنه غير قانوني ... قلت إنه كذلك خاطئ.

بشكل لا يصدق، تاينت يزودني بإحصائيات أن المحتوى الخاص بي يتم نسخه أكثر من 100 مرة في اليوم من قبل الزوار. 100 مرة في اليوم !!! يتم توزيع هذا المحتوى غالبًا عن طريق البريد الإلكتروني ... ولكن يتم نشره على مواقع الآخرين. بعض المحتوى عبارة عن عينات من التعليمات البرمجية - ربما يتم تحويلها إلى مشروعات ويب.

هل أقوم شخصيًا بإعادة نشر المحتوى؟ نعم ... ولكن دائمًا بإذن أو باتباع سياسة الموقع الذي أنشأ المحتوى. من فضلك لاحظ أنني لم أقل عزو. لا يشكل إلقاء رابط خلفي على المحتوى الذي نشرته إذنًا ... يجب تقديم الإذن لك صراحةً. غالبًا ما يكون لديّ شركات تكنولوجيا تسويقية تعرضني على منصتها أو برامجها ... بدلاً من القيام بالعمل الصعب المتمثل في كتابة مراجعة كاملة ، غالبًا ما أسألهم عن النقاط البارزة التي يرغبون في نشرها في المنشور. يزودونها ... بإذن صريح لنشرها.

خارج حقوق النشر ، أميل إلى الخطأ في جانب استخدام المشاع الإبداعي. المشاع الإبداعي يحدد صراحةً ما إذا كان يمكن نسخ العمل على الموقع مع الإسناد فقط أم لا ، أو ما إذا كان يتطلب إذنًا إضافيًا.

في عصر أصبح فيه كل نشاط تجاري ناشرًا للمحتوى ، يكون إغراء نسخ ولصق منشور مع محتوى شخص آخر قويًا. إنها خطوة محفوفة بالمخاطر ، على الرغم من أنها تزداد خطورة يومًا بعد يوم (فقط اطلب من المدونين الذين تتم مقاضاتهم من قبل رايتهافن). بغض النظر عما إذا كانت الدعاوى القضائية صالحة أم لا ... فإن جلب مؤخرتك إلى المحكمة والاضطرار إلى الاستعانة بمحام لحمايتك أمر مكلف ويستغرق وقتًا طويلاً.

تجنب ذلك عن طريق كتابة المحتوى الخاص بك. إنه ليس فقط الشيء الآمن الذي يجب القيام به ، إنه أيضًا الشيء الجميل الذي يجب القيام به. لقد استثمرنا الكثير من الوقت والجهد في تطوير مواقعنا (كما تفعل العديد من الشركات). إن رفع المحتوى الخاص بك وعرضه على بعض المواقع الأخرى ... جذب الانتباه وأحيانًا حتى الإيرادات ... هو مجرد أمر بسيط.

صورة: بارت سيمبسون السبورة صور - صور

13 تعليقات

  1. 1

    يا صاح أنت محق تمامًا في الشرعية بأكملها مقابل الخطأ. هذا ليس صحيحًا وهو غير قانوني على الحدود في بعض الحالات. لقد قرأت في بعض الأماكن أن نسبة 10 إلى 20٪ لا بأس بها مع رابط + الائتمان ، وكل هذا يتوقف على السياق أيضًا. السخرية و "الفن التصويري" وأنواع أخرى من الأشياء تحصل على مزيد من التساهل.

    لكن يجب أن أقول إن الإذن ضروري فقط إذا كنت "تعيد نشر" كل شيء أو جزء كبير منه.

    على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت أكتب مقالاً في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وأريد أن أقتبس منك ، Douglas Karr ومشاركتي عبارة عن 600 - 1200 كلمة على سبيل المثال ... وأريد استخدام اقتباس من إحدى مشاركاتك ، سأستخدم اقتباسًا وأقدم الإسناد دون طلب الإذن.

    بعد كل ما قمت بنشره عبر الإنترنت ، فأنت الآن "شخصية عامة" وإذا كان علي طلب الإذن من أي شخص أقتبس منه ، فسيصبح نشر شيء ما مستحيلًا - يستغرق بعض الأشخاص أيامًا أو أسابيع أو لا يردون أبدًا. لكن لاحظ الجزء المتعلق بعدد الكلمات ... الاقتباس سيكون جملة واحدة ... 1 كحد أقصى ، لذا سيكون مجرد جملة واحدة ربما في 2 - 1 جملة.

    و ... أنا لست محاميًا أو أي شيء آخر ، لذلك هذا بالطبع رأيي الشخصي.

  2. 2
  3. 4

    ما هو شعورك حيال المقتطفات؟ غالبًا ما أسحب فقرة من مدونة أجدها مثيرة للاهتمام أو ملهمة كأساس لمقال جديد. أنا دائما أدرج الروابط الخلفية والائتمان.

    • 5

      ليس ما أشعر به تجاههم ، لورين ... إنه شعور صاحب الموقع. لا تزال المقتطفات تنسخ المحتوى - لا يهم مدى ضآلة المادة. قد يقول المؤيدون أن المقتطف هو "الاستخدام العادل" إذا كنت تقوم بأشياء مثل تعليم الآخرين. ومع ذلك ، فإن أولئك الذين لديهم مدونة تبني علامتنا التجارية وأعمالنا يستفيدون من تلك المقتطفات. حتى لو كان ذلك غير مباشر ، فقد تجد نفسك تتعرض للمقاضاة.

      • 6

        أعتقد أن المقتطف هو دائمًا الاستخدام العادل. تكمن المشكلة في أن الأشخاص يسيئون استخدام مفهوم الاستخدام العادل برمته. إن السؤال عن ماهية المقتطف وكيف نحدده هو ما يهم بالفعل هنا.

        تم تعريف الاستخدام العادل بوضوح وعليك فقط قراءة ما ينص عليه الاستخدام العادل. يتم شرحه جيدًا هنا: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_use

        هناك طرق تقنية لمالك الموقع لتقديم مقتطفات ، وإذا قدم المؤلف ذلك عبر خلاصته على سبيل المثال ، فمن المفهوم أن هذا * المقتطف * لا يعود لنا كمدونين "الاختيار والاختيار" ما الفقرة التي نريد استخدامها كمقتطف.

        إذا لم يتم تعريف المقتطف ، فأعتقد أنه من المقبول استخدام اقتباس من المقالة لإعطاء سياق لكتابتك ولتقديم رابط. فقط تأكد من أن مقالتك أصلية وأن الاقتباس / المقتطف موجود فقط لإثبات نقطة أو اقتباس شخص ما. يجب أن يكون جزءًا صغيرًا من المقالة ، لذا فهو ليس سرقة أدبية أو مجرد إعادة صياغة ، ولكن يجب أن يقع في المقالات التحريرية والنقدية والسخرية وما شابه.

        يعود الأمر دائمًا إلى كمية الكلمات المستخدمة من المقالة الأصلية وإلى أي مدى تكتب قيمة تضيف قيمة إلى المحادثة أو الموضوع؟ أم أنك فقط تعيد صياغة ما قاله شخص آخر وهل مقالتك مبنية بالكامل تقريبًا على تلك الكتابة؟ إذا كنت لا تضيف قيمة ، فأنا أتساءل عما تفعله. إذا كنت من ناحية أخرى ، تقتبس من شخص ما أو مقالته لدعم رأيك على سبيل المثال ، فاذهب إليه. سيؤدي ذلك فقط إلى زيادة التعرض للمقال الأصلي وإذا كان المدون المعني موجودًا فيه لكسب المال في كتاباته ، فسيكون هذا مفيدًا فقط.

        • 7

          أنت تتحدى وجهة نظرك يا أوسكار ... وتدعم وجهة نظري. مفتاح المشكلة هو أنه لا يوجد متطلب محدد يثبت ولا يدحض ماهية "الاستخدام العادل" في الواقع. عدد الكلمات ليس له علاقة به (انظر: http://www.eff.org/issues/bloggers/legal/liability/IP) إذا تمت مقاضاتك ... ستذهب إلى المحكمة وهذا هو المكان الذي تقرر فيه. بحلول ذلك الوقت ، أظن أنك قد أنفقت بالفعل الكثير من الوقت وربما المال. هذه هي كلمتي التحذيرية - يجب على المدونين توخي الحذر.

  4. 8

    بصفتي مطورًا ، أرى هذه الطريقة كثيرًا في مدونات المطورين. سيأخذ المطورون التعليمات البرمجية من موقع مثل شبكة مطوري Microsoft (MSDN) ، ودمجها في منشوراتهم ، ويفشلون في تقديم مرجع إلى مصدر المصدر ثم التعليق على الكود كما لو كان خاصًا بهم. في حين أنهم لا يذكرون صراحة أنه عمل أصلي ، إلا أنهم لا يستشهدون بالعمل أيضًا. هذا يترك لك انطباعًا بأنه عمل أصلي وأنهم مرجع في الموضوع.

    يعود كل هذا المحتوى حقًا إلى ما تعلمناه جميعًا ، أو كان يجب أن نتعلمه ، في المدرسة الثانوية حول الاستشهاد بأعمال أخرى وانتحال أدبي. في حين أنه قد يبدو غير ضار للكثيرين ، إلا أنه غير أخلاقي. حتى إذا حصل الناشر على إذن لإعادة نشر المحتوى ، فلا يزال يتعين عليه ذكر مصدره.

  5. 9

    اقرأ مقالتك باهتمام كبير ، أعتقد أن معظمنا مذنب بنشر / نشر محتوى محمي بحقوق الطبع والنشر بدون إذن المالك.

    راجع للشغل ، أتساءل فقط ، هل حصلت على إذن بنشر رسم بارت سيمبسون؟

  6. 11
  7. 12

    مرحبا دوغلاس.

    أنا مهتم بمعرفة ما إذا تم نسخ المحتوى من مدونة أخرى إلى موقع ويب. . . ثم ينزعج المدون ويطلب إزالة المحتوى. . . ثم تتم إزالة المحتوى على الفور ويتم إرسال اعتذار. . . هل يحق للمدون إذن توجيه اتهامات؟

    شكرا لك وأنا أتطلع إلى العودة منك

    • 13

      نعم ، كيلسي. سرقة المحتوى هو سرقة ، والاعتذار بعد ضبطك لا يغير الحقيقة. ومع ذلك - لم أتابع مطلقًا ملاحقة أي شخص بشكل قانوني بعد إزالته.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

Copying Content is Not Okay

First my disclaimer: I am not an attorney. Since I am not an attorney, I’m going to write this post as an opinion. On LinkedIn, a conversation started with the following question:

Is it legal to repost articles and other content that I find informative on my blog (of course giving credit to actual author) or should I speak with author first…

There’s a pretty simple answer to this but I was absolutely mortified at the response of the masses in the conversation. The majority of the people responded with advice that is was, indeed, legal to repost articles or content that they found informative on their blog. Repost articles? content? Without permission? Are you nuts?

The legal argument is ongoing on what constitutes fair use as well as how far a copyright protects a company or individual if your content finds itself onto another site. As someone who writes a ton of content, I can absolutely tell you it’s wrong. I didn’t say it was illegal… I said it was wrong.

Incredibly, Tynt provides me with statistics that my content is copied over 100 times a day by visitors. 100 times a day!!! That content is distributed often by email… but some of it makes it onto other people’s sites. Some of the content are code samples – probably making it into web projects.

Do I personally repost content? Yes… but always with permission or by following the policy of the site that created the content. Please notice that I didn’t say attribution. Throwing a backlink on content that you posted doesn’t constitute permission… permission must be expressly provided to you. I often have marketing technology companies pitch me on their platform or software… rather than do the difficult work of writing a full review, I often ask them for highlights they’d like to make it into the post. They provide them… with expressed permission to publish them.

Outside of copyright, I tend to err on the side of utilizing Creative Commons. Creative commons expressly defines whether or not the work on the site can be copied with attribution only, without attribution, or whether it requires additional permission.

In an age where every business is becoming a content publisher, the temptation to copy and paste a post together with someone else’s content is strong. It’s a risky move, though, that is getting riskier by the day (just ask the bloggers being sued by Righthaven). Regardless of whether or not the lawsuits are valid… getting your butt dragged to court and having to enlist an attorney to protect you is time-consuming and expensive.

Avoid it by writing your own content. It’s not just the safe thing to do, it’s also the nice thing to do. We’ve invested a lot of time and effort into developing our sites (as do many companies). Having your content lifted and presented on some other site… attracting both attention and sometimes even revenue… is just plain sleezy.

Image: Bart Simpson Chalkboard PicturesPictures

13 Comments

  1. 1

    Dude you’re absolutely right in the whole legality vs wrong. It isn’t right and it is bordernline illegal in some cases. I’ve read some places that 10 to 20% is okay with credit + link, and it all depends on the context too. Satire, “collages” and other type of stuff gets a little more leniency.

    But I have to say that permission is only necessary if you’re “reposting” the whole thing or a huge portion of it.

    For example, if I’m writing a piece in social media and I want to quote YOU, Douglas Karr and my post is 600 – 1200 words for exmple… and I want to use a quote from one of your posts I will use a quote and provide attribution without asking for permission.

    After all you did post it online and as such you’re now a “public figure” and if I had to ask for permission from anyone I quote, then posting something would just become impossible –some people take days, weeks or never respond. But note the part about the number of words… A quote would be 1 sentence… 2 max so it would just be 1 sentence in maybe 100 – 200 sentences.

    and… i’m not a lawyer or anything either so this is of course, very much my own opinion.

  2. 2

    Neither is it right to make mashups of OPC (other people’s content). It’s the intellectual property or the idea that’s protected. Not just the words. Nope…

  3. 4

    How do you feel about excerpts? I often pull a paragraph from a blog I find interesting or inspirational as the foundation for a new article. I always include back links and credit.

    • 5

      It’s not how I feel about them, Lorraine… it’s how the site owner feels. Excerpts are still copying content – it doesn’t matter how little the material is. Proponents would say that an excerpt is ‘fair use’ if you are doing things like educating others. However, those of us with a blog that builds our brand and our business are profiting from those excerpts. Even if that’s indirect, you could find yourself getting sued.

      • 6

        I think an excerpt is always fair use. The problem is that people misuse and abuse the whole concept of fair use. The question of what an excerpt is and how we define it is what actually matters here.

        Fair use is clearly defined and you just have to read what fair use says it is. It is very well explained here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_use

        There are technical ways for a site owner to provide an excerpt, and if an author provides that via their feed for example, it is understood that this is *the excerpt* it isn’t up to us as bloggers to “pick and choose” what paragraph we want to use as the excerpt.

        If an excerpt is not defined, then I think its okay to use a quote from the article to give context to your writing and to provide a link. Just make sure that your article is original and the quote/excerpt is only there to make a point or to quote somebody. It must be a small part of the article so it isn’t really plagiarizing or simply rephrasing, but it should fall into editorial, critique, satire and the likes.

        It always comes back to the quantity of words being used from the original article and how much you are writing are you really adding value to the conversation or topic? Or are you just rewording what someone else said and is your article based solely and almost entirely in that writing? if you’re not adding value, I’d question what you’re doing. If you’re in the other hand, quoting somebody or their article to support your opinion for example then go for it. It is only going to bring more exposure to the original article and if the blogger in question is in it to make money in their writing, then this will only help.

        • 7

          You’re challenging your own point, Oscar… and supporting mine. Key to the issue is that there is NOT a specific requirement that proves nor disproves what “fair use” actually is. The number of words doesn’t have anything to do with it (See: http://www.eff.org/issues/bloggers/legal/liability/IP) If you are sued… you’re going to court and that’s where it’s decided. By that time, my guess is that you’ve already spent a lot of time and possibly money. That’s my word of warning – bloggers must be careful.

  4. 8

    As a developer, I see this way too often with developer blogs. Developers will take code off a site such as the Microsoft Developer Network (MSDN), incorporate it into their post, fail to provide a reference as to where the source came from and then comment on the code as if it were their own. While they aren’t explicitly stating that it’s original work, they aren’t citing the work either. This leaves you with the impression that it is original work and they are an authority on the subject.

    All of this content really gets back to what we all learned, or should have learned, in high school about citing other work and plagiarism. While it may seem harmless to many, it’s unethical. Even if the poster does obtain permission to re-post content, they still have an obligation to cite their source.

  5. 9

    Read your article with great interest, I think most of us are guilty of posting/publishing copyrighted content w/o owner’s permission.

    BTW, just wondering, did you get permission to post the graphic of Bart Simpson?

    • 10

      Hi Odale,

      Yes, you’ll see the reference to the graphic at the footer – used with permission as long as there was a reference in the article back to their site. 🙂

      Doug

  6. 11
  7. 12

    Hi Douglas.

    I am interested in knowing, if content IS copied from another blog onto a website . . . and the blogger then gets upsets, asks for the content to be removed . . . the content is then removed immediately AND an apology is sent . . . Does the blogger then have the right to lay charges?

    Thank you and i look forward to heairng back from you

    • 13

      Yes, Kelsey. Stealing content is stealing, apologizing after you’re caught doesn’t change the fact. That said – I’ve never pursued going after anyone legally after they removed it.

Leave a Reply