تحطم ... لا فو فو من فضلك.

تحطمكان يوم أمس أول يوم عدت فيه إلى المنزل وخرجت منه. اليوم تحطمت. مثل الكثيرين ، أنا مخلوق من العادة. ومن المثير للاهتمام أن عاداتي أسبوعية. غالبًا ما تكون عطلات نهاية الأسبوع مليئة بالإثارة ، لذا مهما كانت العادة التي كنت أمارسها في الأسبوع السابق ، فإنها تنتهي عادةً بحلول مساء السبت. إذا تأخرت عن العمل يوم الاثنين ، فعادة ما أتأخر طوال الأسبوع. إذا كنت أعمل في وقت متأخر من يوم الإثنين ... فأنا أعمل حتى وقت متأخر طوال الأسبوع.

في نهاية الأسبوع الماضي عملت طوال عطلة نهاية الأسبوع. نحن نتجه نحو إطلاق سراح في العمل ، وكنت أمارس ما لا يقل عن 6 مشاريع جانبية في نفس الوقت. إن عملية التوازن ممتعة ، لكني أميل إلى تحمل المزيد والمزيد ... وببساطة أعمل بجد وأصعب. الليلة الماضية اشتعلت بي وأنا قيلولة. الليلة ، تحطمت. أنا متغوط. لقد بدأت "أسبوع العادات" الخاص بي في بداية سيئة. الآن سأكون متعبًا على الفور عندما أعود إلى المنزل من العمل وربما أجد نفسي نائمًا كل ليلة عندما أصل إلى المنزل. أرغ.

على الجانب المشرق ، هذا يعني أنني في طلب ، دائمًا شيء جيد! على الجانب السلبي ، لا أحب الاستقرار في عملي. لدي فهم ممتاز لتقديم الكمال مقابل التسليم. أنا أحب الكمال. انا اكره م تقديم ... على الرغم من أن موكلي لن يعرفوا الفرق. غالبًا ما يعني التسليم أنه بعد شهور أجد نفسي `` أعيد '' شيئًا كنت أعرف أنه كان بإمكاني القيام به بشكل مثالي عند التسليم لو كان لدي وقت إضافي.

غالبًا ما يكون التسويق والبرامج مثل هذا ، ألا تعتقد ذلك؟ تتطلب المواعيد النهائية التنفيذ وغالبًا ما تتجاهل الكمال. غالبًا ما يكون التقويم أكثر أهمية من النتائج. الحاجة إلى الإنجاز أقوى من الحاجة إلى الإنجاز على أكمل وجه. في كثير من الأحيان ، ألاحظ أن العملاء يفضلون التضحية بالميزات والوظائف والجماليات للحصول على شيء في أيديهم عاجلاً وليس آجلاً. هل هذا عيب أمريكي؟ اندفاع ، اندفاع ، اندفاع ... تحطم؟ أم أن هذا عيب عالمي؟

أنا لا أدعو "الزحف". الزحف هو عندما يستمر تعريف الإنجاز في "التسلل" حتى لا تتمكن أبدًا من إكمال المشروع. احتقر "الزحف". حتى بدون الزحف ، كيف لا يبدو أن لدينا الوقت الكافي للتنفيذ بشكل مثالي بعد الآن؟

في South Bend Chocolate Factory ، أطلب قهوتي مع لا فو فو... يعني عدم وجود ملعقة شوكولاتة ، ولا كريمة خفق ، ولا كرز ، ولا نثر شوكولاتة أو رش شراب ... فقط القهوة. لا يحصل لي foo-foo على قهوتي ، دون انتظار الأشياء الأخرى.

ملاحظة: إذا لم تقم بزيارة مصنع ساوث بيند للشوكولاتة، تفقد مكانًا رائعًا به موظفين رائعين. لديهم شخصية ... وليس طائرات بدون طيار. وفي المرة الأولى التي تحصل فيها على موكا لطيفة ، تأكد من الحصول على foo-foo. إنها متعة لطيفة.

عودة إلى وجهة نظري ... مثل الشركات جوجل, فليكر, 37 إشارات وغيرها من النجاحات الحديثة التي ترمي "foo foo". هؤلاء الأشخاص يبنون برامج رائعة بدون foo foo. إنهم يبنون تطبيقات تنجز المهمة ، ويصرون إلى حد ما على أنها لا تفعل أكثر من ذلك. إنها تعمل. أنه يعمل بشكل جيد. قد يعتقد البعض أنها ليست "مثالية" رغم أنها تفتقر إلى foo-foo. تخبرني معدلات النجاح والتبني الهائلة أن هذا ليس صحيحًا بالنسبة للأغلبية. إنهم يريدون فقط القيام بالمهمة - حل المشكلة! لاحظت في عملي أننا نقضي الكثير من الوقت في foo-foo.

أتساءل عما إذا كنت تصطدم بدون foo foo.

ربما نحتاج إلى البدء في تنظيم منتجنا بهذه الطريقة حتى نتمكن من تقديم أفضل وأسرع:

فو فو:ماذا نسميها؟ كيف ستبدو؟ ما هي كل الخيارات التي يمكننا وضعها فيه؟ ماذا يفعل منافسونا؟ ماذا يريد عملاؤنا؟ متى يتعين علينا القيام بذلك؟
لا foo-foo: ماذا ستفعل؟ كيف ستفعل ذلك؟ كيف يتوقع المستخدم أن يفعل ذلك؟ ماذا يحتاج مستخدمينا؟ كم من الوقت سيستغرق ذلك؟

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    Foo-foo، foo-foo ... ما زلت أحاول الحصول على فهم لما يعنيه هذا فيما يتعلق بالبرمجيات ، على عكس القهوة. مع القهوة بدا الأمر بسيطًا بما فيه الكفاية ، كما في foo-foo كانت كل الأشياء الدخيلة التي لم تكن قهوة بيرسي. من أمثلة الشركات التي تخلصت من foo-foo ، يبدو أن جميع برامج الويب 2.0 ، يبدو أن برامجها تستند إلى "البساطة" ، على الأقل من وجهة نظر المستخدم ، من الناحيتين الوظيفية والجمالية. أفترض أن الشيء الذي أشعر فيه بالارتباك قليلاً هو المكان الذي تسأل فيه أسئلة foo-foo مقابل no foo-foo ، لأنني لست متأكدًا مما إذا كانت بعض هذه الأسئلة تنتج foo-foo أم لا في أي من الفئتين.

    ماذا نسميها؟ حسنًا ، كل من google و flickr وأسماء البرامج المصممة بواسطة 37 إشارة تبدو كلها جذابة ومهمة إلى حد ما ، وأعتقد أن بعض الوقت قد مضى في طرحها. كيف ستبدو؟ بسيط ، نظيف ، ويب 2.0 ... مرة أخرى ، تم التفكير في هذا الأمر لتلك الشركات ، والخيارات ... لا تزال فو فو على ما أعتقد. ما الذي يفعله منافسونا ، وما زال مهمًا ، إذا كان من أجل القيام بالعكس ، أو على الأقل عدم القيام بما يفعلونه. ما يريده العملاء مهم ... ما يعتقده العملاء ليس بنفس الأهمية. متى يتعين علينا القيام بذلك ، لا يزال مهمًا ، خاصة في مجال برامج الإنترنت.

    ماذا ستفعل؟ كيف ستفعل ذلك؟ لا فوو فو هنا على ما أعتقد. كيف يتوقع المستخدم أن يفعل ذلك؟ بالنسبة لي قد يكون هذا إما foo أو non-foo. ماذا يحتاج مستخدمينا؟ أعتقد غير فو هنا. كم من الوقت سيستغرق ذلك. حسنًا ، يبدو أن المجموعة الثانية من الأسئلة ليست غريبة إلى حد ما. المجموعة الأولى هي ما أربكني قليلاً.

    ربما كان السؤال الأهم بالنسبة لي هو "لماذا هو مطلوب؟"

  2. 2

    الخلاصه ،

    أنت على الطريق الصحيح مع وجهة نظري. الأسئلة متشابهة جدًا ، لكنها جميعًا تنقسم إلى السؤال الذي طرحته بالضبط ... "لماذا هناك حاجة؟"

    لدي زميل وصديق ، كريس باجوت، من المولع بسؤال "ما المشكلة التي تحلها؟". اسم التطبيق ، الشكل ، الخيارات ، المنافسة ، الرغبات ، التوقيت ... كل ذلك يتم الاهتمام به في عالم البرمجيات ، لكن لم يُسأل أبدًا ... "ما المشكلة التي يحلها هذا التطبيق؟"

    يجب أن نقضي الوقت في الإجابة على الأسئلة الصحيحة ، بدلاً من قضاء الكثير من الوقت في الإجابة على الأسئلة الخاطئة!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing, Technology, WordPress

Crash…no foo-foo please.

CrashYesterday was the first day I came home and zonked out. Today I crashed. Like many, I’m a creature of habit. Interestingly enough, my habits are weekly, though. My weekends are almost always action-packed so whatever habit I was in the week before, it’s normally ended by Saturday evening. If I’m late to work on Monday, I’m usually late all week. If I work late on Monday… I work late all week.

This last weekend I worked the entire weekend. We’re heading for a release at work, and I was juggling no less than 6 side projects at the same time. The balancing act is fun, but I tend to take on more and more… and I simply work harder and harder. Last night it caught up with me and I napped. Tonight, I crashed. I’m pooped out. And I’ve gotten my ‘week of habits’ off to a bad start. Now I will be instantly tired when I get home from work and will probably find myself sleeping each night when I get home. Argh.

On the bright side, that means that I’m in demand, always a good thing! On the negative side, I don’t like settling on my work. I have an excellent understanding of delivering perfection vs. delivering. I like perfect. I hate just delivering… though my clients would never know the difference. Delivering often means that months later I find myself ‘redoing’ something that I knew I could have done perfect at delivery had I had the extra time.

Marketing and Software is often like this, though, don’t you think? Deadlines demand execution and often toss out perfection. The calendar is often more important than the results. The need to deliver is stronger than the need to deliver perfectly. Often, I notice that clients would much rather sacrifice features, functionality, and aesthetics to get something in their hands sooner rather than later. Is this an American flaw? Rush, rush, rush… crash? Or is this a global flaw?

I’m not advocating ‘creep’. Creep is when the definition of completion continues to ‘creep’ until you never are able to complete a project. I despise ‘creep’. Even without creep, how come we never seem to have the time to execute perfectly anymore?

At the South Bend Chocolate Factory, I order my coffee with no foo-foo… meaning no chocolate spoon, no whip cream, no cherry, no dusting of chocolate or sprinkle of syrup… just the coffee. No foo-foo gets me my coffee, without the wait for the other stuff.

Note: If you’ve never been to the South Bend Chocolate Factory, you’re missing out on a great place with great employees. They have personality… not mindless drones. And the first time you get a nice mocha, be sure to get the foo-foo. It’s a nice treat.

Back to my point… firms like Google, Flickr, 37 Signals and other modern successes toss the ‘foo foo’. These folks build great software with no foo foo. They build applications that get the job done, and are fairly adamant that it doesn’t do more than that. It works. It works well. Some may think it’s not ‘perfect’ though because it lacks the foo-foo. Huge success and adoption rates tell me that this is not true for the majority, though. They just want it to do the job – solve the problem! I notice at my work, that we spend a lot of time on the foo-foo.

I wonder if you crash with no foo foo.

Perhaps we need to start organizing our deliverable this way so that we can deliver better and faster:

Foo-foo:What are we going to call it? How is it going to look? What are all the options we can put in it? What are our competitors doing? What do our clients want? When do we have to have it done?
No foo-foo: What is it going to do? How is it going to do it? How would a user expect it to do it? What do our users need? How long will it take to have it done?

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Foo-foo, foo-foo…still trying to get a grasp of what this means in relation to software, as opposed to coffee. With coffee it seemed simple enough, as in foo-foo was all of the extraneous stuff that was not coffee persay. From your examples of firms that toss out the foo-foo, all web 2.0 it seems, their software seems based on ‘simplicity’, at least from a user standpoint, both functionally and aesthetically. I suppose wher I get a bit confused is where you ask foo-foo vs. no foo-foo questions, as I’m not sure whether some of these questions produce foo-foo or not in either catagory.

    What are we going to call it? Well, google, flickr and the names for the software designed by 37 signals all seem fairly catchy and important, and I think some time went into coming up with them. How is it going to look? Simple, clean, web 2.0…again some thought went into this for those companies, options…still foo-foo I think. What are our competitors doing, still important, if onlt in order to do the opposite, or at least not do what they are doing. What clients want is important…what clients think they want is not as important. When do we have to have it done, still important, especially in the internet software sphere.

    What is it going to do? How is it going to do it? No foo-foo here I think. How would a user expect it to do it? To me this could be either foo or non-foo. What do our users need? I think non-foo here. How long will it take to have it done. Ok so the second set of questions seems fairly non-foo to me. The first set is what confused me a bit.

    Perhaps the most important question to me is ‘Why is it needed?’

  2. 2

    Summae,

    You are on track with my point. The questions are very similar, but they all break down to exactly the question you asked… ‘Why is it needed?’

    I have a colleague and friend, Chris Baggott, who is fond of asking “What problem does it solve?”. The name of the app, the look, the options, the competition, the wants, the timing… all of those are paid attention to in the software world, but it’s never asked… “What problem does it solve?”

    We should be spending time on the right questions, rather than spending so much time answering the wrong ones!

Leave a Reply