معظمهم اتصل بي دوغ ، اليوم كان أبي

كبيربكل صدق ، لم أخطط لتوقيت هذا المنشور. مع ذلك ، إنها مصادفة أن أشاركها معكم جميعًا.

فريد أثار اهتمام مجموعة كاملة من الناس مؤخرًا عندما سأل عن العمر وتأثيره على المواهب الريادية. المدرجة في رد الفعل العنيف كانت ديف وينروسكوت كارب وستيفن هودسون ومجموعة من الأشخاص الآخرين علق.

لم يكن لدي الكثير لأقوله حول الموضوع لذلك علقت باستخفاف. أنا أقدر مكان العمل المتنوع حيث يوجد كل من الشباب والخبرة. يميل الأشخاص الأصغر سنًا إلى إيلاء اهتمام أقل للحدود ، لذا فإن مظهرهم الجديد وافتقارهم للخوف يفسح المجال أمام المخاطرة والتوصل إلى بعض الحلول الرائعة. ومن المفارقات ، أنني أحب أن أفكر في نفسي عندما كنت شابًا يبلغ من العمر 39 عامًا ، وغالبًا ما أكون صريحًا وأبحث عن بعض البدائل الرائعة للقاعدة. من ناحية أخرى ، تميل الخبرة إلى الموازنة بين المخاطر والنتائج - غالبًا ما تحبط كارثة.

بصفتي مدير المنتجات ، فإن الخطر الذي أواجهه لا يقتصر على شركتي فقط. أفترض أن المخاطرة تنتقل إلى 6,000 عميل يستخدمون البرنامج وأكثر من ذلك لشركاتهم. هذا بيانو ضخم جدًا معلق من السقف ، لذلك أريد التأكد من أن الحبال آمنة وأن العقد كلها مقيدة قبل أن نقرر نقلها إلى مكانها.

حسنًا أبي!

اليوم كان مختلفا. عندما وضعت بعض الحدود اليوم على الموارد والمشروع ، واجهت شخصًا يقول ساخرًا ، "حسنًا أبي!". على الرغم من أنه كان من المفترض أن يهين ، إلا أنني تجاهلت ذلك بهدوء تام. إذا كان هناك شيء واحد أفخر به في حياتي ، فهو أن أكون أبًا رائعًا.

لدي طفلان سعداء لا تقع في مشاكل .. مع واحد تم قبوله في الكلية بمنحة دراسية والأخرى التي حصلت مؤخرًا على "جائزة غاندي" في مدرستها. كلاهما موهوب موسيقيًا - أحدهما يغني ويؤلف ويمزج الموسيقى ... والآخر ممثل ومغني رائع.

لذا ، ربما كان ينبغي على زميلي الأصغر في العمل أن يأتي بشيء مختلف عن "أبي". أنا أحب مصطلح "أبي". إذا بدوت وكأنني "أب" ، فربما يكون ذلك لأنني كنت أتعامل مع موقف يذكرني بضرورة تأديب طفل. ومن المفارقات أن هذه المواقف نادرًا ما أواجهها مع أطفالي.

العمر والعمل

هل يغير هذا رأيي في العمر والعمل وريادة الأعمال؟ بالطبع لا. ما زلت أعتقد أننا بحاجة إلى شجاعة الشباب لدفع حدود ما يمكننا تحقيقه. أنا do نعتقد أن العديد من المهنيين يصبحون أكثر تسامحًا مع تقدم العمر ويميلون إلى التراجع داخل الحدود الموضوعة. أنا معجب بالمعارضة ، رغم أنني ما زلت أؤمن بالاحترام والمسؤولية والحدود.

الدروس التي أعلمها لأولادي هي أنني كنت في مكانهم من قبل ، لقد ارتكبت الأخطاء ، وأنا أتطلع إلى نقل الحكمة التي تعلمتها. هذا لا يعني أن عليهم أن يسيروا على خطى. أحب حقيقة أن ابنتي على المسرح عندما استغرق الأمر مني سنوات لاكتساب تلك الثقة. أحب حقيقة أن ابني يتجه إلى الكلية عندما توجهت بلا هدف للانضمام إلى البحرية. يفاجئونني كل يوم! جزء من ذلك لأنهم يدركون الحدود ويحترمونني ويعرفون أن لديهم الحرية لفعل ما يحبون (طالما أن ذلك لا يؤذيهم أو يؤذي شخصًا آخر).

آمل أن يتعلم "طفلي" في العمل نفس الشيء! ليس لدي شك في أنه سيكون قادرًا على مفاجأة الشركة ويكون له تأثير كبير ، ولكن أول الأشياء أولاً ... التعرف على التجربة الموجودة واحترامها وفهم الحدود. بعد القيام بذلك ، فاجئ الجميع من خلال شق طريق جديد في اتجاه لم يفكر فيه أحد من قبل. سأساعدك في الوصول إلى هناك! بعد كل شيء ، ما هو "أبي"؟

PS: في العام المقبل ، أود بطاقة عيد الأب ... وربما ربطة عنق.

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

    تبدو وكأنك رجل يعرف كيف يتدحرج مع اللكمات. بصفتي رئيس قسم ، أجد أن الأشخاص الذين يعملون تحت إشرافي يقدرون صفاتك. بالمناسبة ، تهانينا على إنجازات أطفالك.

    حظ سعيد.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management, Search Marketing

Most call me Doug, today it was Dad

SeniorIn all honesty, I didn’t plan the timing of this post. It’s such a coincidence, though, that I have to share it with all of you.

Fred got a whole bunch of people up in a tizzy recently when he asked about age and its impact on entrepreneurial talent. Included in the backlash were Dave Winer, Scott Karp, Steven Hodson, and a host of others who commented.

I didn’t have much to say about the topic so I commented lightly. I appreciate a diverse workplace where both youth and experience are present. Younger people tend to pay less attention to boundaries so their fresh look and lack of fear lends itself well to taking risks and coming up with some great solutions. Ironically, I like to think about myself as a young 39 and am often outspoken and looking for some great alternatives to the norm. Experience, on the other hand, tends to balance risk with results – often times thwarting disaster.

As a Product Manager, the risk that I present isn’t only with my company. Risk that I assume is passed on to the 6,000 clients who utilize the software and beyond to their companies. That’s a pretty hefty piano hanging from the roof, so I want to make sure the ropes are secure and the knots are all tied before we decide to move it into place.

Okay, Dad!

Today was different. When I set some boundaries today on resources and a project, I was faced with someone sarcastically saying, “Okay, Dad!”. Though it was meant to insult, I actually shrugged it off quite calmly. If there’s a single thing I’m most proud of in my life, it’s been being a great Dad.

I have two kids who are happy, don’t get in trouble.. with one accepted into college with a scholarship and the other that most recently won the “Ghandi Award” in her school. Both are talented musically – one singing, composing, and mixing music… the other a fantastic actress and singer.

So, my younger colleague at work should probably have come up with something different than “Dad”. I like the term “Dad”. If I sounded like a “Dad”, it was probably because I was handling a situation that was reminiscent of having to discipline a child. Ironically enough, I seldom have these situations with my own kids.

Age and Work

Does this change my opinion on age, business, and entrepreneurialism? Absolutely not. I still believe that we need the fearlessness of youth to push the limits of what we can achieve. I do believe that many professionals become a little more tolerant with age and tend to coast within the boundaries that are set. I admire dissent, though I still believe in respect, responsibility, and boundaries.

The lessons I teach my children are that I’ve been where they are before, I’ve made the mistakes, and I look forward to passing on the wisdom I’ve learned. That doesn’t mean they have to follow in my footsteps, though. I love the fact that my daughter is on the stage when it took me years to gain that confidence. I love the fact that my son is heading off to College when I headed off aimlessly to join the Navy. They surprise me every day! Part of it is because they recognize the boundaries, they respect me, and they know they have the freedom to do what they would love (as long as it doesn’t hurt them or someone else).

I hope my “kid” at work can learn the same thing! I have no doubt that he’ll be able to surprise the company and have a huge impact, but first things first… recognize and respect the experience that’s there and understand the boundaries. After you’ve done that, surprise everyone by blazing a new trail in a direction nobody has ever thought about. I’ll help you get there! After all, what’s a “Dad” for?

PS: Next year, I’d like a Father’s Day card… and perhaps a tie.

One comment

  1. 1

    You sound like a guy that knows how to roll with the punches. As head of a department, I find that people who work under me appreciate your qualities. By the way, congrats on your kids accomplishments.

    Good luck.

Leave a Reply