الاختصارات: ماذا تعني DEAD و DITO؟

تكنولوجيا

لقد قمت بتطوير وتعريف ودمج وتقدير المشاريع لأكثر من عقد. بعد أن عملت مع مئات الشركات بالإضافة إلى العديد من شركات التطوير الداخلي والاستشارات الخارجية ، فأنا دائمًا مندهش من مدى خطأ الصناعة دائمًا في تحديد تقديرات الإنجاز والمواعيد النهائية للانتهاء. نتيجة لذلك ، توصلت إلى حسابات DEAD و DITO الجديدة لتقدير المشروع وإكماله. ها هم:

الميت: تقديرات التطوير والمواعيد النهائية:

  1. إدارة المبيعات: سوف تأخذ توقعات العميل 25% أطول لتطوير من المشروع الفعلي الذي وعد به البائع.
  2. المتطلبات الوظيفية: المتطلبات الوظيفية التي حددتها لن تعمل في الواقع. أضف 25% مزيد من وقت التخطيط لضمان إمكانية تنفيذ المتطلبات الوظيفية بالفعل بناءً على بنية النظام وواجهة التطبيق.
  3. المتطلبات الوظيفية: لن يتم تطوير المتطلبات الوظيفية التي حددتها بالطريقة التي توقعتها. يتعلق الأمر بحواجز اللغة في Klingon مقابل اللغة الإنجليزية (أو العكس) بين Developer ومدير المنتج. يضيف 25% مزيد من وقت التطوير لمشروعك ، ما قبل الإصدار لضمان تطويره وفقًا لمتطلباتك.
  4. إدارة المشاريع: سوف يستغرق التطوير الفعلي 25% أطول لتطوير من تقدير المشروع الفعلي.
  5. استخدم حالات: تتكون حالات استخدام الأعمال التي حددتها فقط من 25% من حالات الاستخدام الفعلي التي سيتم تكبدها. أضف 50٪ وقت تطوير إضافي لمشروعك ، بعد الإصدار ، لضبطه للاستخدام الفعلي مقابل الاستخدام المتوقع. يتضمن ذلك الوظائف بالإضافة إلى الأداء.

تطبيق DEAD:

  1. يقدر المشروع ويباع لمدة 10 أيام عمل.
  2. سيستغرق الأمر بالفعل 12.5 يومًا لإكمال ما وعدت به.
  3. سيستغرق الأمر فعليًا 15.625 يومًا لتوضيح المشكلات المتعلقة بالمتطلبات غير الصحيحة أو الفائتة.
  4. سيستغرق الأمر في الواقع 19.53125 يومًا لإكمال المشروع كما هو محدد بشكل صحيح.
  5. لذا ... اكتمل المشروع في حوالي 20 يومًا.
  6. بمجرد إطلاقه ، سيتطلب الأمر 10 أيام أخرى لتصحيح المشكلات المعلقة.
  7. إجمالي وقت المشروع 30 يومًا.

DITO: مطور الأرق و Take Out.

لحسن الحظ ، على الرغم من ذلك ، تمتلك شركاتنا عامل تعويض DITO للتطبيق ، وحفظ المشروع ، والاقتباس من المشروع التالي.

تم تطبيق DITO:

  1. إن المطورين المذهلين الذين وظفتهم هم في الواقع يعانون من الأرق ويمكنهم في كثير من الأحيان تمديد 8 ساعات عمل إلى عدة ساعات أخرى ، بما في ذلك عطلات نهاية الأسبوع. ربح بنسبة 100٪ في توفير الإنتاجية: ~ 10 أيام. الآن نحن متأخرون 10 أيام فقط.
  2. من خلال تملق المبرمجين بالطعام الجاهز ، يمكنك الحصول على عطلات نهاية الأسبوع والعمل من خلال الوجبات. (المطورون هم أشخاص رائعون ولكني تساءلت دائمًا عن سبب عمل مبرمج 75 دولارًا في الساعة خلال ساعة من الغداء مقابل بيتزا بقيمة 10 دولارات ... من كان يعلم ؟!). المدخرات: ~ 25٪. الآن نحن متأخرون 5 أيام فقط.
  3. مع اقتراب المواعيد النهائية وتزايد غضب العملاء ، ستحتاج إلى إضافة Mountain Dew إلى Take-Out ولكن هذا سيؤدي في بعض الأحيان إلى امتداد 24 إلى 36 ساعة من البرمجة المباشرة. سيتم إطلاق الحل الناتج ، مع وجود أخطاء (أحيانًا بسبب فتات البيتزا في لوحة المفاتيح) في الوقت المناسب.
  4. DITOتطبيق نتائج ما بعد الإصدار في توفير 5 أيام في تحسين ما بعد الإصدار.

الجمع بين ميت و DITO ينتج عن الحسابات مضاعف 1.5 بسيط عند اكتمال المشروع. استخدم دائمًا وقتًا أطول بنسبة 50٪ لإكمال المشاريع أكثر مما تتوقع.

NOTE: اختصار ميت قابل للتطبيق لأن المطورين سيموتون في المتوسط ​​بنسبة 25٪ أسرع من الموظف العادي بسبب المضاعفات الناتجة عن عدم النوم وارتفاع ضغط الدم والسكري ومشاكل الوزن التي يشتريها صاحب العمل من البيتزا والدونات وماونتن ديو والقهوة. DITO ينطبق لأن موظفي المبيعات سيطبقون التقدير الأصلي على المشروع التالي المباع.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    الحياة الحزينة (أو يجب أن أقول ... "لا حياة") للمبرمج. يجب إضافة الطلاق والعزوبة. لكنك ضربت المسمار على الرأس. خاصة إعطاء منفذي المبيعات ذخيرة تحويل المنتج في مثل هذا الوقت القصير. أو حتى الأسوأ… بيعه قبل أن يتم تصوره !!! نحن نحب ذلك. في المرة التالية التي يحين فيها مشروع ما ، تأكد من أن مندوب المبيعات في متناول اليد ... طوال مدة المشروع. شخص ما يحتاج إلى القهوة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Technology

New Acronyms: D.E.A.D. and D.I.T.O.

SalesI’ve been developing, defining, integrating and estimating projects for over a decade. Having worked with hundreds of companies as well as with tons of internal development and external consulting firms, I’m always amazed at just how wrong the industry always is on setting estimates of completion and deadlines for completion. As a result, I’ve come up with the new D.E.A.D. and D.I.T.O. computations for project estimation and completion. Here they are:

D.E.A.D.: Development Estimates and Deadlines:

  1. Sales Management: The client expectations will take 25% longer to develop than the actual project that promised by the Salesman.
  2. Functional Requirements: The functional requirements you defined will not actually work. Add 25% more planning time to ensure functional requirements can actually be implemented based on your system architecture and application interface.
  3. Functional Requirements: The functional requirements you defined will not actually be developed the way you expected. It’s something to do with the language barriers of Klingon vs. English (or vice versa) between Developer and Product Manager. Add 25% more development time to your project, pre-release to ensure that it’s developed according to your requirements.
  4. Project Management: The actual development will take 25% longer to develop than the actual project estimate.
  5. Use Cases: The business use cases you defined only consist of 25% of the actual use cases that will be incurred. Add 50% more development time to your project, post release, to adjust for actual use vs. expected use. This includes functionality as well as performance.

D.E.A.D. Applied:

  1. Project estimated and sold for 10 business days completion.
  2. It will actually take 12.5 days to complete as promised.
  3. It will actually take 15.625 days to clarify issues with incorrect or missed requirements.
  4. It will actually take 19.53125 days to complete the project as properly defined.
  5. So… project is completed in ~20 days.
  6. Once launched, it will require 10 more days to correct outstanding issues.
  7. Total Project time is 30 days.

D.I.T.O.: Developer Insomnia and Take Out.

Luckily, though, our companies have the D.I.T.O. compensating factor to apply, save the project, and quote the next project.

D.I.T.O. Applied:

  1. The incredible Developers you hired are actually insomniacs and can often stretch 8 business hours into many more, including weekends. A 100% gain in productivity Savings: ~10 days. Now we’re only 10 days late.
  2. By cajoling programmers with Take-Out food, you’re able to gain weekends and working through meals. (Developers are brilliant guys but I always wondered why a $75/hr programmer would work through an hour of lunch for a $10 pizza… who knew?!). Savings: ~25%. Now we’re only 5 days late.
  3. As deadlines loom and clients get angrier, you’ll need to add Mountain Dew to the Take-Out but this will result in sometimes a 24 to 36 hour stretch of direct programming. The resulting solution will be released, with bugs (sometimes due to pizza crust crumbs in the keyboard) on time.
  4. D.I.T.O. applied post-release results in a 5 day savings on post-release enhancement.

Combining the D.E.A.D. and D.I.T.O. computations results in a simple 1.5 multiple on project completion. Always apply 50% more time for completion on projects than you expect.

NOTE: The acronym D.E.A.D. is applicable because Developers will die an average of 25% sooner than the typical employee due to complications resulting from no sleep, high blood pressure, diabetes and weight problems from Employer-purchased Pizza, Donuts, Mountain Dew and Coffee. D.I.T.O. applies because your Sales folks will apply the original estimate on the next project sold.

3 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

    The sad life (or should I say… “no life”) of a programmer. You should add divorce and celibacy. But you hit the nail on the head. Especially giving the sales execs the ammunition of turning a product around in such a short time. Or even worse… selling it before it has been conceived!!! We love that. The next time a project is due, be sure the sales rep is on hand… the entire duration of the project. Someone needs to get the coffee.

Leave a Reply