هل عملك يعمل أنت؟ كم عدد الموظفين؟

قبل بضعة أشهر ، لم تكن ستمسك بي على مكتبي حتى الساعة 9 صباحًا أو بعد ذلك. ليس الأمر أنني عملت متأخرًا ... إنه فقط لأن وظيفتي كانت تعمل معي أكثر مما كنت أعمل فيه. ربما كانت أفضل وظيفة يمكن لأي شخص أن يجدها هنا في منتصف الغرب. في صناعة البرمجيات ، أود أن أتحدى الناس لإيجاد أفضل. كنت مدير المنتجات في واحدة من أسرع الشركات نموًا - ليس فقط في المنطقة - ولكن في الدولة. ومع ذلك ، فإن النمو السريع يجلب معه الكثير من التحدي.

لقد جئت من خلفية الإنتاج ، ولا يزال الكثير من انطباعي عن العمل الحديث يعود إلى جوهر الهندسة لدي. تم تصميم المنتج وبناؤه وبيعه ودعمه. الأمر بسيط جدًا ... حتى تبدأ في النمو بمعدل سريع. بدلاً من بدء خط التجميع الجديد ، يمكنك الاستمرار في إضافة الأشخاص إليه. تخيل الكلب المزلقة يسحب الزلاجة. أضف بضعة كلاب وزوجين آخرين من الدراجين والآن أنت بحاجة إلى طيار رائع وقائد كلب. أضف الكثير ، ومع ذلك ، فإن الكلاب لا تعرف الاتجاه الذي يجب أن تتحرك فيه وتضيع الطلقة في مكان ما في المزيج.

الاجتماعات - لا أحد منا غبي مثلنا جميعًا. Despair.com
المفارقة ، بالطبع ، هي أن النمو الهائل هو أحد الخصائص الأساسية لنجاح الأعمال. أنا لا أطرق الأعمال الكبيرة على الإطلاق - أنا فقط أطرق عامل في شركة كبيرة. مع انتقالي الأخير ، انتقلت من شركة تضم أكثر من 200 شركة إلى شركة مكونة من 5 أفراد.

في وظيفتي الجديدة ، ربما يكون هناك ضعف إلى ثلاثة أضعاف العمل الذي يوجد فيه الناس. الاختلاف هو أنه لا أحد ينتظر شخصًا آخر ، على الرغم من ... نحن جميعًا نركض بأسرع ما يمكن لإخراج العمل. لا أحد منزعج ، ولا أحد يصرخ ... كلنا نساعد بعضنا البعض على دفع المنتج وعملائنا إلى الأمام. بعض عملائنا كبير بشكل لا يصدق ، لكنهم متسامحون للغاية طالما أننا نحافظ على التواصل معهم ونعلمهم بتقدمنا.

العائلة أسبوع لقد قمت بتثبيت نظام هاتف PBX ، وشبكة ، وشبكة لاسلكية ، وصممت رسالتنا الإخبارية الأولى ، وأرسلت حملتنا الأولى ، وكتبت متطلبات العديد من التحسينات على نظامنا لفريقين من المطورين ، وعملت على إلغاء حظرنا مع AOL Postmasters ، وانتقل المكتب من مواقعنا القديمة إلى مواقعنا الجديدة ، ساعد في تنفيذ عدد قليل من العملاء الجدد ، وتم التعامل معهم طوال الوقت شركة الهاتف مسائل.

قد يكون هذا أكثر مما حققته في العام الماضي في الشركة الأكبر! وجهة نظري هنا ليست ضرب الشركة التي عملت بها - ما زلت عميلاً وأود أن أوصي بهم على أنهم الأفضل في الصناعة ، باستثناء أي شيء. وجهة نظري هي فقط لفت الانتباه إلى حقيقة أن الفرق الصغيرة المستقلة يمكنها التحرك بسرعة البرق. إذا كنت تريد أن ترى تقدمًا ، فقم بإزالة البيروقراطية وتمكين موظفيك من النجاح.

كان أحد الأمثلة التي قرأتها منذ سنوات عديدة حول WL جور، الشركة التي اخترعت جور تكس.

نطح تم تصنيفها من بين "أفضل 100 شركة للعمل في أمريكا" من قبل مجلة FORTUNE ، وثقافتنا هي نموذج للمنظمات المعاصرة التي تسعى إلى النمو من خلال إطلاق العنان للإبداع وتعزيز العمل الجماعي.

وجد القادة في Gore أن زيادة موقع يتجاوز عددًا معينًا من الموظفين يقلل من الإبداع ويقلل من الإنتاجية الإجمالية. بدلاً من تنمية الشركة ، سيبدأ Gore ببساطة شركة "جديدة" ، تعكس خطوط الإنتاج والهيكل التنظيمي لكل موقع. الآن لديهم أكثر من 8,000 موظف في 45 موقعًا. إذا قمت بالحسابات ، فهذا يعني حوالي 177 موظفًا لكل موقع - وهو عدد موظفين يمكن التحكم فيه للغاية.

البرمجيات اليوم تفسح المجال لهذا الهيكل. ليست هناك حاجة إلى وجود فريق تطوير هائل يتخطى نفسه لتطوير تطبيق ضخم به أخطاء وطبقات مخفية بشدة وطبقات من التعقيد. في حين أن، الخدمية يشجع فرقًا صغيرة مستقلة. يمكن لكل فريق بناء حلول معقدة ... القاسم المشترك الوحيد هو كيف تتحدث أجزاء التطبيق مع بعضها البعض.

الحياة جيدة في صغارنا شركة. نحن نتلقى التمويل الاستثماري الآن (لا تتردد في ذلك الاتصال بي إذا كنت مستثمرًا جادًا) وكانت الصناعة مفتوحة على مصراعيها. قد يختلف البعض ، لكنني لا أعتقد أن لدينا منافسًا واحدًا قادرًا. نحن متوائمون ومتكاملون مع أفضل الحلول في الصناعة ... الاستفادة من البريد الإلكتروني والرسائل القصيرة و Voiceshot والفاكس والويب و منتجات مختلفة تقنيات لتعظيم المشاركة والربحية لصناعة المطاعم.

لحسن الحظ ، نحن نحيفون ، وئيمون ، ونتحرك بمعدل مذهل من السرعة. لقد أنشأنا علاقات مع أكثر الشركات احترامًا في مجالات المطاعم والويب والبحث والتسويق. الصناعة ملكنا لأخذها ولدينا إستراتيجية والقيادة لإنجازها. ولا نخطط للتوظيف في أي وقت قريب.

اليوم ، أنا أعمل في وظيفتي - ولا أدعها تعمل معي. أنا في المكتب في الساعة 8 صباحًا وأعمل لمدة 10 إلى 20 ساعة في الأسبوع أكثر مما كنت أعمله قبل عام. لأنني أنجز كمية هائلة من العمل ، فأنا سعيد و إنتاجي. آمل ألا نصل إلى 177 موظفًا في أي وقت قريب ... ما لم نقرر إطلاق موقع جديد!

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مقالة رائعة. أفكر في هذا كثيرًا لأنني أعمل في شركة كبيرة ، لكن في أوقات فراغي أدير شركة صغيرة ناشئة على الويب وبعض المدونات. إدارة البيانات هي ما أقوم به يوميًا ، لكني أحب الشركات الناشئة لأنك تتذوق كل جزء من العمل.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing, Technology

Is your Job Working You? How Many Employees?

A few months ago, you wouldn’t catch me at my desk until 9AM or later. It’s not that I worked late… it’s just that my job was working me more than I was working it. Quite possibly, it was the best job a person could find here in the mid-west. In the software industry, I would really challenge folks to find better. I was a Product Manager with one of the fastest growing companies – not just in the region – but in the country. Rapid growth brings a lot of challenge with it, though.

I come from a Production background, so much of my impression of modern work still returns to my engineering core. A product is designed, built, sold and supported. It’s pretty simple… until you start growing at a rapid rate. Instead of starting the new assembly line, you keep adding people to it. Imagine the sled dog pulling the sleigh. Add a couple more dogs and a couple more riders and now you need a great musher and a dog leader. Add too many, though, and the dogs don’t know which direction to move and the musher is lost somewhere in the mix.

Meetings - None of us are as dumb as all of us. Despair.com
The irony, of course, is that massive growth is one of the core characteristics of business success. I’m not knocking big business at all – I’m just knocking working in a big business. With my last transition, I’ve moved from a company of over 200 to a company of 5.

At my new job, there’s probably two to three times the work than there is people. The difference is no one is waiting on another person, though… we’re all sprinting as quickly as we can to knock out the work. No one is upset, no one is yelling… we’re all helping each other move the product and our clients forward. Some of our clients are incredibly large, but they are extremely forgiving as long as we maintain communication with them and let them know our progress.

Last week I installed a PBX phone system, a network, a wireless network, designed our first newsletter, sent out our first campaign, wrote requirements for several enhancements to our system for two teams of developers, worked to get us unblocked with the AOL Postmasters, moved the office from our old to new locations, helped to implement a few new clients, and all the while dealt with phone company issues.

That may be more than I achieved in the last year at the larger company! My point here isn’t to knock the company I worked for – I still am a customer and would recommend them as the best in the industry, bar none. My point is only to bring attention to the fact that small, autonomous teams can move at lightning speed. If you want to see progress, then remove the bureaucracy and empower your employees to succeed.

One example I read many years ago was about W.L. Gore, the company that invented Gore-tex.

Gore is named among the “100 Best Companies to Work for in America,” by FORTUNE magazine, and our culture is a model for contemporary organizations seeking growth by unleashing creativity and fostering team-work.

The leaders at Gore found growing a location beyond a certain number of employees minimized creativity and reduced overall productivity. Instead of growing the company, Gore would simply start a ‘new’ company, mirroring the product lines and the organizational structure of each location. Now they have over 8,000 employees in 45 locations. If you do the math, that’s about 177 employees per location – a very manageable employee count.

Software today lends itself to this structure. There’s no need to have a massive development team tripping over themselves to develop an enormous application with deeply-hidden bugs and layers and layers of complexity. Instead, SOA fosters small, autonomous teams. Each team can build complex solutions… the only commonality is how the portions of the application speak to one another.

Life is good at our small company. We’re taking on investment funding right now (feel free to contact me if you’re a serious investor) and the industry is wide open. Some might disagree, but I don’t believe we have a single, capable competitor. We’re aligned and integrated with the best solutions in the industry… leveraging email, SMS, Voiceshot, Fax, Web and POS technologies to maximize engagement and profitability for the restaurant industry.

Luckily, we’re lean, mean, and moving at an astonishing rate of speed. We have established relationships with the most well-respected companies in the Restaurant, Web, Search and Marketing industries. The industry is ours for the taking and we have a strategy and the leadership to get it done. And we’re not planning on hiring any time soon.

Today, I’m working my job – not letting it work me. I’m in the office at 8AM and I work a good 10 to 20 hours more per week than I did a year ago. Because I’m getting an exponential amount of work done, I’m happy and productive. I hope we don’t get to 177 employees any time soon… unless we decide to roll out a new location!

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Great article. I think about this often because I work at a large company, but in my spare time run a small web startup and a few blog. Data Governance is what I do on a daily basis, but I love startups because you get a taste of every part of the business.

Leave a Reply