Wer definiert Technologie in Ihrem Unternehmen?

search1

Die Definition von Technologie lautet:

die praktische Anwendung der Wissenschaft auf Handel oder Industrie

Vor einiger Zeit fragte ich: „Wenn Ihre IT-Abteilung Innovationen tötete“. Es war eine Frage, die eine ziemliche Antwort erbeten hat! Viele IT-Abteilungen haben die Fähigkeit, Innovationen zu unterdrücken oder zu ermöglichen. Können IT-Abteilungen Produktivität und Vertrieb überhaupt ersticken oder ermöglichen?

Heute hatte ich das Vergnügen, Chris von zu treffen Kompendium. Es war ein lebhaftes Gespräch und wir gingen ungefähr 45 Minuten vorbei, wo wir wollten.

One of the interesting pieces of the conversation was discussing who owned the decision to purchase a platform or SEO services. We both sighed when that decision fell into the hands of an IT representative. I'm in no way trying to disparage IT professionals – I rely on their expertise on a daily basis. Bloggen für SEO ist eine Strategie zur Gewinnung von Leads… a Marketingverantwortung.

However, it's intriguing that an IT department is often put in charge of a platform or process that determines business results. Too many times, I see business results (innovation, return on investment, ease of use, etc.) taking a backseat in the purchasing decision.

In selecting us as their corporate blogging platform, it's often the IT department that believes that they can implement a kostenlos Lösung für das Bloggen. Ein Blog ist ein Blog, oder?

  • Nevermind that the content isn't optimized
  • Nevermind that the platform isn't secure, stable, maintenance-free, redundant, etc.
  • Nevermind that the platform isn't scalable to millions of pageviews and tens of thousands of users.
  • Nevermind Das Unternehmen, das es gebaut hat, gab Hunderttausende von Dollar für Forschung und Entwicklung aus, um Best Practices und die Einhaltung von Suchmaschinen zu gewährleisten.
  • Nevermind dass die Benutzeroberfläche für jedermann einfach zu bedienen ist, ohne dass eine intensive Schulung erforderlich ist.
  • Nevermind dass das System automatisiert ist, sodass keine Kenntnisse über Tagging und Kategorisierung erforderlich sind.
  • Nevermind that our staff monitors our clients' progress to ensure their success.
  • Nevermind dass die Plattform mit fortlaufendem Coaching ausgestattet ist, um den Bloggern zu helfen, ihre Fähigkeiten zu entwickeln und ihren Return on Investment im Laufe der Zeit zu steigern.

With SEO, it's often the same argument. I've even been on the opposite side of the SEO argument, telling you that you don't need an SEO expert. Jeremy hat mich an diesen Beitrag erinnert ... doh!

Mein Punkt war, dass zu viele Unternehmen KEINE Suchmaschinenoptimierung haben und viel relevanten Verkehr verpassen. Wenn sie nur das taten MinimumSie könnten zumindest die schöne Seite, für die sie 10 Dollar ausgegeben haben, vor ein paar Besuchern platzieren. Dieser Beitrag wurde für die große Mehrheit der Unternehmen geschrieben, die keine Konkurrenz und keine Optimierung haben. Es war ein Plädoyer, zumindest das Minimum zu tun.

For companies in competitive industries, though, 80% optimized isn't even close. 90% isn't enough. To get a #1 ranking on a highly competitive term requires the expertise of one of a handful of companies in the world. If you're in an even moderately competitive search engine results page, your IT department isn't going to get you to #1. You'll be lucky if they even get you on the first page of results.

You wouldn't put your IT department in charge of your sales team, yet you'll put them in charge of a technology that could prevent your company from getting sales. If you're going to apply technology practically… make sure you fully investigate the opportunities and advantages before you think you can do it alone!

5 Kommentare

  1. 1

    Es gibt einen großen Unterschied zwischen einem Bloggen Plattform und eine SEO und Dritten .

    Eine Blogging-Plattform ist nur eine Kombination aus Software und Hardware, und die IT-Abteilungen sind ziemlich gut darin, diese zusammenzustellen. Es gibt auch viele Anbieter, die diese Arbeit ausführen, entweder weil sie über proprietäre Software verfügen oder weil sie bereits Hardware besitzen oder leasen, oder weil sie über viel Fachwissen bei der Wartung dieses bestimmten IT-Stacks verfügen. Die Frage, wie Sie die Verwaltung Ihrer Blogging-Plattform zwischen internen und ausgelagerten Mitarbeitern aufteilen, ist das kanonische IT-Problem "Kaufen / Bauen / Ausleihen".

    Eine SEO-Strategie ist jedoch fast völlig unabhängig von Ihrer Blogging-Plattform. Sie können großartige oder schreckliche SEO haben, unabhängig von der Plattform. Aber mit einem SEO-Unternehmen ist nicht wie bei einem Drittanbieter-IT-Unternehmen. Es ist eher so, als würden Sie Texter einstellen, die Ihre Ideen in die Sprache von Google übersetzen können.

    Natürlich können Sie kostenlose Open-Source-Blogging-Software verwenden. Und seien wir fair, Doug - WordPress läuft auf einer sicheren, stabilen und hochredundanten Infrastruktur. Zu den Nutzern von WordPress gehören Dow Jones, die New York Times, das People Magazine, Fox News und CNN, die alle Ihren Test "Millionen von Seitenaufrufen, Zehntausende von Nutzern" bestehen. Automattic (die Leute, die WordPress machen) haben zig Millionen in Risikofinanzierung, was meiner Meinung nach ein ziemlich umfangreiches Budget für Forschung und Technik darstellt. WordPress ist kein Spielzeug.

    WordPress ist jedoch nur eine Blogging-Plattform. Eigentlich ist es nur so Hälfte Eine Blogging-Plattform - die Open-Source-WordPress-Software (obwohl es unzählige WordPress-Hosting-Dienste gibt, einschließlich WordPress.com). Wenn Sie an einem gewissen Grad an Zuverlässigkeit oder Skalierbarkeit interessiert sind, müssen Sie in die entsprechende Hardware und das entsprechende Fachwissen investieren.

    Die IT-Abteilung hat also Recht, dass ein Blog nur ein Blog ist und sie kostenlose Tools verwenden können, um den Blog-Teil in Gang zu bringen. Der größte Teil der Arbeit und der größte Teil des potenziellen Werts sind jedoch nicht in der Software enthalten. Fast der gesamte Sinn eines Blogs wird durch eine umfassende und kontinuierliche SEO-Strategie ermöglicht. Und sobald Sie erkennen, dass Sie das brauchen, sollten Sie bereit sein, dafür zu bezahlen.

    Die Herausforderung besteht darin, den IT-Abteilungen klar zu machen, dass gutes SEO keine Handvoll alberner Tricks ist, dass es schwierig ist, dass es sich ständig ändert und dass es den Unterschied in der Welt ausmacht.

    @robbyslaughter

    • 2

      Hallo Robby!

      Ich bin mir nicht sicher, ob Sie mir zustimmen oder nicht. Sie und ich wissen, dass Dow Jones, die New York Times, das People Magazine, Fox News und CNN WordPress nicht so ausführen, wie es ist. Sie betreiben es ohne zusätzliche Infrastrukturkosten, Kosten für die Themenentwicklung, Kosten für Suchmaschinenoptimierung usw.? Sie glauben nicht, dass sie Geld ausgeben, um ihre Mitarbeiter über die Nutzung dieser Plattformen zu informieren? Oder Entwicklung, um Inhalte an diese Plattformen weiterzugeben? Natürlich sind sie! Jedes dieser Unternehmen hat eine Menge Geld investiert, damit eine „kostenlose“ Plattform für sie funktioniert.

      Ein Blog ist nur ein Blog, aber eine Blogging-Plattform ist NICHT nur eine Blogging-Plattform. Das Keyword-Stärkemessgerät, die Automatisierung der Kennzeichnung, die Kategorisierung und die Platzierung von Inhalten im Kompendium sind große Unterscheidungsmerkmale. Es erfordert, dass der Benutzer weniger Zeit damit verbringt, sich Gedanken darüber zu machen, wie er bloggt, wie er seinen Inhalt optimiert, und mehr Zeit damit, sich Gedanken darüber zu machen, was er bloggen soll. Business-Blogger sollten sich auf ihre Botschaft konzentrieren - nicht auf ihre Plattform.

      Ich garantiere Ihnen, dass jede Person das Kompendium öffnen und intuitiv posten kann und dieser Beitrag optimiert wird. Dies ist bei WordPress nicht der Fall. Die Mehrheit der Leute, denen ich persönlich beigebracht habe, wie man effektiv mit WordPress bloggt, hatte keine Ahnung, wie viel sie bei jedem Beitrag vermisst haben.

      Auch hier ist der Fokus der IT-Abteilung nicht oft der Fokus des Geschäfts. Ich habe es immer geschätzt, dass meine IT-Kollegen meine Softwarekäufe überprüft haben, um sicherzustellen, dass ich das Unternehmen nicht gefährde. Sie werden jedoch niemals in der Lage sein, die Vorteile der Plattform oder Strategie und ihre Auswirkungen auf das Geschäft zu erkennen. Das ist nicht das, wofür sie ausgebildet sind, was ihre Erfahrung ist oder wofür sie genutzt werden sollten.

      Lassen Sie Geschäftsleute die Geschäftsentscheidungen treffen! Lassen Sie die IT ihre vertrauenswürdigen Berater sein.

      • 3

        Ich stimme Ihrem allgemeinen Punkt nicht zu oder nicht zu, ich kläre nur Ihre Kommentare.

        Niemand sagte, dass die großen Benutzer von WordPress die Software ohne zusätzliche Anpassungs- und Infrastrukturkosten ausführen. Du sagtest "Bedenken Sie jedoch, dass die Plattform nicht auf Millionen von Seitenaufrufen und Zehntausenden von Benutzern skalierbar ist.", aber das stimmt einfach nicht. Es ist eindeutig möglich, WordPress (oder Blogger oder Drupal oder DotNetNuke oder Compendium usw.) auf dieses Niveau zu skalieren, aber Sie müssen in Hardware, unterstützende Software und technisches Fachwissen investieren. Die Frage ist nicht, ob es ist möglichEs ist, ob Sie es selbst tun möchten oder ob Sie möchten, dass jemand anderes es für Sie tut.

        Ja, Eine Blogging-Plattform ist nur eine Blogging-Plattform. Es ist eine Kombination aus Software und Hardware, die ein Blog erstellt. Sicher, einige haben unterschiedliche Funktionen, und diese Funktionen haben möglicherweise mehr Wert und sind mehr Geld wert. Egal, ob Sie ein IndyCar, einen voll ausgestatteten BMW oder einen zuverlässigen Lkw haben, Sie haben ein Kraftfahrzeug, das von Punkt zu A nach Punkt B gefahren werden kann. Stimmt es, dass einige dieser Fahrzeuge für bestimmte Aufgaben besser geeignet sind? Absolut. Die Frage ist: Welche Aufgabe versuchen Sie zu erreichen?

        Ich bin sicher, wenn Sie einen Benutzer neben Compendium und eine Open-Source-Blogging-Plattform stellen, würde der Beitrag im Compendium-Blog mehr Verkehr erzeugen - selbst wenn die Beiträge Wort für Wort identisch wären. Das ist ein großartiger Wert für Ihr Unternehmen! Wenn dieser Anwendungsfall repräsentativ ist, ist dies ein fantastisches Verkaufsargument für CB.

        Aber lassen Sie uns untersuchen warum Dieser einzelne Beitrag würde mehr Verkehr bekommen. Der Grund liegt hauptsächlich im Kompendium das Unternehmen hat eine laufende Strategieoperation. Sie aktualisieren die Codebasis ständig. Sie verlinken auf Kundenbeiträge, um deren Reputation zu stärken. Sie treffen sich mit Kunden und bieten zusätzliche Schulungen und Ressourcen an. Sie pflegen eine hochzuverlässige Infrastruktur. Der größte Vorteil von Compendium gegenüber einem kostenlosen Tool ist der fortlaufende Service und Support, den Sie für Ihre Software, Ihre Kunden und deren Inhalte bereitstellen.

        Und wieder ist das ein wunderbarer Vorteil und viele Ihrer Kunden sind sehr glücklich. Aber es ist kein grundlegender Bestandteil Ihrer "Blogging-Plattform" für Software und Hardware. Sie könnten das gleiche Ergebnis erzielen, wenn Sie unterschiedliche Software verwenden (aber es wäre mehr Arbeit!). Dies ist in der Tat das, was Unternehmen mögen DK New Media jeden Tag machen. Jeder, der an Entscheidungen für das Bloggen von Unternehmen beteiligt ist, muss diese Nuancen verstehen.

        Das grundlegende Problem hierbei ist, wo die Verantwortung einer Abteilung endet und die einer anderen beginnt. Es gibt keine einfachen Antworten auf diese Frage. Schlimmer noch, wenn ein Teil dieser Linie außerhalb des Unternehmens zu einem Drittanbieter wechselt, entstehen verschwommene Räume zwischen den Unternehmen, und es wird schwieriger, Risiken und Vorteile zu bewerten. Wie schützen Sie Ihren Umkreis, wenn externe Personen Zugriff haben? Oder von der Marketing-Seite: Wie können Sie sicher sein, dass der ausgelagerte Plattformanbieter Ihre Marke nicht vermasselt und ruiniert? Diese Risiken können klein oder groß sein, aber sie sind nicht Null.

        Ich bin sicher, dass viele Entscheidungen in Bezug auf Technologie von der IT getroffen werden, ohne die geschäftlichen Auswirkungen ausreichend zu berücksichtigen. Das Problem geht jedoch in beide Richtungen: Geschäftsleute müssen mehr über IT verstehen und umgekehrt. Zusammenarbeiten statt gegeneinander wird allen zugute kommen.

        • 4

          Danke für diese Klarstellung, Robby! Ich werde zu den letzten Kommentaren stehen. Ich vertraue darauf, dass meine IT-Ressourcen meine Berater sind, damit ich nichts Dummes tue. Ich werde ihnen jedoch nicht die endgültige Entscheidung über Plattformen und Strategien geben, die im besten Interesse sind, um das Geschäft voranzutreiben. Wir haben alle unsere eigenen Stärken und sie müssen angemessen genutzt werden.

Was denken Sie?

Diese Seite verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahren Sie, wie Ihre Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.

Search Marketing

Who Defines Technology at your Company?

The definition of technology is:

the practical application of science to commerce or industry

A while ago, I asked, “If your IT department was killing innovation“. It was a question that solicited quite a response! Many IT departments do have the ability to stifle or enable innovation… can IT departments even stifle or enable productivity and sales?

Today, I had the pleasure of meeting with Chris from Compendium. It was a spirited conversation and we wound up going about 45 minutes past where we wanted to.

One of the interesting pieces of the conversation was discussing who owned the decision to purchase a platform or SEO services. We both sighed when that decision fell into the hands of an IT representative. I’m in no way trying to disparage IT professionals – I rely on their expertise on a daily basis. Blogging for SEO is a strategy for acquiring leads… a marketing responsibility.

However, it’s intriguing that an IT department is often put in charge of a platform or process that determines business results. Too many times, I see business results (innovation, return on investment, ease of use, etc.) taking a backseat in the purchasing decision.

In selecting us as their corporate blogging platform, it’s often the IT department that believes that they can implement a free solution for blogging. A blog is a blog, right?

  • Nevermind that the content isn’t optimized
  • Nevermind that the platform isn’t secure, stable, maintenance-free, redundant, etc.
  • Nevermind that the platform isn’t scalable to millions of pageviews and tens of thousands of users.
  • Nevermind that the company who built it spent hundreds of thousands of dollars in research and development to ensure best practices and search engine compliance was incorporated.
  • Nevermind that the user interface is simple for anyone to use, without any need for intensive training.
  • Nevermind that the system is automated so no knowledge of tagging and categorization is needed.
  • Nevermind that our staff monitors our clients’ progress to ensure their success.
  • Nevermind that the platform comes with ongoing coaching to help the bloggers develop their skillsets and increase their return on investment over time.

With SEO, it’s often the same argument. I’ve even been on the opposite side of the SEO argument, telling you that you don’t need an SEO expert. Jeremy reminded me of this post… doh!

My point was that too many companies have NO search engine optimization and are missing out on a lot of relevant traffic. If they just did the minimum, they could at least put that beautiful site they spent $10k on in front of a few visitors. This post was written for the large majority of companies who have no competition and no optimization… it was a plea to at least do the minimum.

For companies in competitive industries, though, 80% optimized isn’t even close. 90% isn’t enough. To get a #1 ranking on a highly competitive term requires the expertise of one of a handful of companies in the world. If you’re in an even moderately competitive search engine results page, your IT department isn’t going to get you to #1. You’ll be lucky if they even get you on the first page of results.

You wouldn’t put your IT department in charge of your sales team, yet you’ll put them in charge of a technology that could prevent your company from getting sales. If you’re going to apply technology practically… make sure you fully investigate the opportunities and advantages before you think you can do it alone!

5 Comments

  1. 1

    There's a world of difference between a blogging platform and an SEO strategy.

    A blogging platform is just a combination of software and hardware, and IT departments are pretty good at putting those together. There are also many vendors who do this work, either because they have proprietary software, or because they already own or lease hardware, or because they have lots of expertise in maintaining this particular IT stack. The question of how you divvy up the management of your blogging platform between in-house folks and outsourced folks is the canonical "buy/build/borrow" IT problem.

    An SEO strategy, however, is almost entirely independent of your blogging platform. You can have great or terrible SEO regardless of the platform. But using an SEO company is not like using a third-party IT company. It's more like hiring copywriters who can translate your ideas into the language of Google.

    Sure, you can use free, open source blogging software. And let's be fair, Doug—WordPress does run on secure, stable, highly redundant infrastructure. Users of WordPress include the Dow Jones, The New York Times, People Magazine, Fox News and CNN—all of which pass your "millions of page views, tens of thousands of users" test. Automattic (the people who make WordPress) have tens of millions in venture funding, which I think constitutes a pretty extensive research and engineering budget. WordPress is not a toy.

    However, WordPress is just a blogging platform. Actually, it's just half a blogging platform—the open-source WordPress software (though there are countless WordPress hosting services, including WordPress.com.) If you are interested in any degree of reliability or scalability, you need to invest in the relevant hardware and expertise.

    So, the IT department is right that a blog is just a blog and they can use free tools to get the blog part going. But most of the work and most of the potential value is not in the software. Almost the entire point of having a blog is made possible through a comprehensive and continuous SEO strategy. And once you realize that is what you need, it's something you should be willing to pay for.

    The challenge is getting IT departments to realize that good SEO is not a handful of silly tricks, that it's hard, that it is always changing, and that it makes all the difference in the world.

    @robbyslaughter

    • 2

      Hi Robby!

      I'm not sure whether or not you're agreeing or disagreeing with me. You and I know that the Dow Jones, The New York Times, People Magazine, Fox News and CNN are not running WordPress 'as is'. They are running it with no additional infrastructure costs, theme development costs, search engine optimization costs, etc.? You don't think they're spending money educating their staff on use of those platforms? Or development to pass content to those platforms? Of course they are! Each of those businesses has invested quite a bit of money to make a 'free' platform work for them.

      A blog is just a blog, but a blogging platform is NOT just a blogging platform. The keyword strength meter, automation of tagging, categorization and content placement in Compendium are huge differentiators. It requires that the user spend less time worrying about 'how' to blog, 'how' to optimize their content, and more time worrying about 'what' to blog. Business bloggers should be concentrating on their message – no their platform.

      I guarantee you that any person can open Compendium and intuitively post and that post will be optimized. This is not the case with WordPress. The majority of people that I've personally taught how to blog effectively with WordPress had no idea how much they were missing with each post.

      Again, the focus of the IT department isn't often the focus of the business. I've always appreciated my IT peers 'reviewing' my software purchases to ensure I'm not putting the company at risk; however, they will never be able to recognize the benefits of the platform or strategy and its impact on the business. That's not what they are educated for, what their experience is in, nor what they should be utilized for.

      Let business people make the business decisions! Let IT be their trusted advisors.

      • 3

        I'm not agreeing or disagreeing with your overall point, I'm just clarifying your comments.

        Nobody said that the big users of WordPress are running the software without additional customization and infrastructure costs. You said "nevermind that the platform isn’t scalable to millions of pageviews and tens of thousands of users", but that's just not true. It's clearly possible to scale WordPress (or Blogger, or Drupal or DotNetNuke or Compendium and so on) to this level, but you have to invest in the hardware, supporting software and technical expertise. The question is not whether it's possible, it's whether you want to do it yourself or if you want someone else to do it for you.

        Yes, a blogging platform is just a blogging platform. It's a combination of software and hardware that produces a blog. Sure, some have different features, and those features might have more value and worth more money. Whether you have an IndyCar, a full-featured BMW or reliable truck, you have an automotive vehicle that can be driven from point to A to point B. Is it true that some of those vehicles are better suited to certain tasks? Absolutely. The question is: what task are you trying to achieve?

        I'm sure that if you put a user side-by-side with Compendium and any open-source blogging platform, the the post on the Compendium blog would drive more traffic—-even if the posts were word-for-word identical. That's a great value for your company! If this use case is representative, it makes for a fantastic selling point for CB.

        But let's examine why that single post would get more traffic. The reason is mostly because Compendium the company has an ongoing strategy operation. You're updating the codebase all the time. You are linking to client posts to help them build reputation. You meet with clients and provide additional training and resources. You maintain highly reliable infrastructure. Much, if not most of the advantage of Compendium over a free tool is the ongoing service and support you provide for your software, your clients, and their content.

        And again, that's a wonderful benefit and many of your customers are very happy. But it's not a fundamental part of your software and hardware "blogging platform." You could achieve the same result by using different software (but it would be more work!) This is in effect what companies like DK New Media do every day. Anyone involved in decision making for corporate blogging needs to understand these nuances.

        The fundamental issue here is where one department's responsibility ends and someone else's begins. There are no easy answers to that question. Even worse, if any part of that line crosses outside the company to a third party vendor, there start to be blurry spaces between entities and it becomes harder to assess risks and benefits. How do you protect your perimeter if outside people have access? Or, from the marketing side: how are you sure that the outsourced platform provider isn't going to screw up and ruin your brand? These risks may be small or large, but they are not zero.

        I'm sure that many decisions regarding technology are made by IT without sufficient respect to business implications. But the problem goes both ways—business people need to understand more about IT and vice versa. Working together instead of against each other will benefit everyone.

        • 4

          Thanks for that clarification, Robby! I'll stand by last comments. I trust my IT resources to be my advisors so I don't do something stupid. However, I won't give them the final decision on platforms and strategies that are in the best interest of moving the business forward. We each have our own strengths and they need to be leveraged appropriately.

Leave a Reply