لا تلوم نظام إدارة المحتوى ، إلقاء اللوم على مصمم السمات

CMS - نظام إدارة المحتوى

لقد أجريت هذا الصباح مكالمة رائعة مع أحد العملاء المحتملين بشأن استراتيجيات التسويق الداخلي. ذكروا أنهم كانوا يجتمعون مع شركة لتطوير موقعهم على الإنترنت. لقد لاحظت قبل المكالمة أنهم كانوا بالفعل قيد التشغيل WordPress وسألهم عما إذا كانوا سيستمرون في استخدامه. قالت بالطبع لا وقالت إن الأمر فظيع ... لم تستطع فعل أي شيء مع موقعها الذي تريده. اليوم تتحدث مع شركة ستتطور على Expression Engine.

كان علي أن أوضح أننا عملنا معها محرك التعبير على نطاق واسع جدًا أيضًا. لقد عملنا أيضًا مع جملة ، دروبال, مسار السوق, Imavex ومجموعة من أنظمة إدارة المحتوى الأخرى. بينما احتاجت بعض أنظمة CMS إلى بعض الرعاية المحببة للاستفادة من جميع مزايا البحث والخدمات الاجتماعية ، وجدنا أن معظم أنظمة CMS يتم إنشاؤها على قدم المساواة إلى حد ما ... ولا يتم فصلها إلا عن طريق الوظائف الإدارية وسهولة الاستخدام.

سأكون على استعداد للمراهنة على أن هذا العميل يمكنه تحقيق أي شيء تريده في WordPress. المشكلة ليست WordPress ، على الرغم من أنها الطريقة التي تم تطوير موضوعها. أحد العملاء الذين بدأنا العمل معهم مؤخرًا هو شركة VA Loan Refinance. إنها شركة رائعة - تعيد الأموال للجمعيات الخيرية المخضرمة في كل مرة يقومون فيها بجمع إحالة. على الرغم من أننا نقوم بالكثير من عمليات التخصيص في WordPress ، إلا أننا لا ندرك أن العميل يمكن أن يكون لديه موقع جميل ومحسّن وقابل للاستخدام على أي نظام إدارة محتوى تقريبًا كما هو ممكن على WordPress. أصبح WordPress شائعًا جدًا في الوقت الحالي ، لذلك نجد أنفسنا نعمل على هذه المنصة أكثر من غيرها.

اشترت VA Loan موضوعًا مخصصًا ثم وظفتنا لتطوير استراتيجيات البحث والتواصل الاجتماعي. كان الموضوع عبارة عن كارثة ... عدم استخدام الأشرطة الجانبية أو القوائم أو الأدوات. تم ترميز كل عنصر في القالب الخاص بهم دون استخدام أي من الميزات الرائعة التي يوفرها WordPress. لقد أمضينا الشهرين المقبلين في إعادة تطوير الموضوع ، والدمج أشكال الجاذبية مع Leads360 ، بل إنهم يطورون أداة تسترجع أحدث معدلات الرهن العقاري لعرضها على موقعهم من البنوك.

هذه مشكلة منهجية مع مصممي السمات والوكالات. إنهم يفهمون كيفية جعل الموقع يبدو جيدًا ، ولكن ليس كيفية الاستفادة الكاملة من نظام إدارة المحتوى لدمج جميع الميزات المختلفة التي قد يريدها العميل لاحقًا. رأيت دروبال ، محرك التعبير ، حرية Accrisoft، ومواقع MarketPath التي كانت جميلة وقابلة للاستخدام ... ليس بسبب CMS ، ولكن لأن الشركة التي طورت الموضوع كانت تتمتع بالخبرة الكافية لدمج جميع ميزات CMS التي تعزز البحث ، والاجتماعية ، والصفحات المقصودة ، والنماذج ، وما إلى ذلك التي قد تكون بحاجة.

يمكن لمصمم المظهر الجيد تطوير موضوع جميل. سيطور مصمم السمات الرائع موضوعًا يمكنك استخدامه لسنوات قادمة (والترحيل بسهولة في المستقبل). لا تلوم نظام إدارة المحتوى بلوم مصمم السمات!

9 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مسمار على الرأس. نقوم بتطوير 90٪ من مشاريعنا باستخدام WordPress وهناك أوقات ستسمع فيها تعليقات مثل هذه وأشياء مثل "حسنًا ، لا يمكنه فعل __________". وهو بالطبع الرد الصحيح ، "إذا لم يكن هناك بالفعل شيء يناسب احتياجاتك (السمة و / أو المكونات الإضافية) ، وإذا كان المطور لديك يعرف كيفية استخدام واجهة برمجة التطبيقات ، فيمكنك فعل أي شيء تريد القيام به إلى حد كبير طالما الوقت والميزانية هناك. "

    لكن في بعض الأحيان يكون لدى العميل عقله على شيء "جديد" ، لذلك إما أن تتعامل معه أو ترفضه.

  2. 2

    ذلك مثير للاهتمام. بعد بدء العمل في Reusser Design ، تحولت بشكل رئيسي إلى العمل داخل EE ، نظام إدارة المحتوى الذي نختاره ، من WordPress ، والذي عملت معه في الغالب عندما كنت وحدي. أنا أتفق معك في موضوعات WP الخاصة بي التي أحدثت كل الفرق. شيء مثل موضوع WooTheme Canvas ، على سبيل المثال ، كان رائعًا جدًا للعمل بداخله ، في حين أن هناك بعض السمات الأخرى "المميزة" والمخصصة هناك ...

    ومع ذلك ، فإنني أحب حقًا EE لإدارة محتوى موقع الويب ، في الحالات التي لا يكون فيها "التدوين" أولوية. إنه بسيط وأنيق ، وأعتقد أنه أكثر قوة من الفسفور الأبيض. ومع ذلك ، عندما تقوم بالكثير من الكتابة أو التدوين داخل نظام إدارة المحتوى الخاص بك ، فلا شيء يتفوق على تجربة مستخدم WP لهذا الكاتب.

    شكرا لمشاركتك!

    • 3

      awelfle: disqus أنا أخرق بعض الشيء عندما يتعلق الأمر بـ EE ، إنه بالتأكيد مكتوب أكثر لمطوري MVC. مع أخذ ذلك في الاعتبار ، أفهم أن التطوير أكثر ودية وقابلية للتوسع وليست مشكلة كبيرة. نظرًا لأنني لا أفكر في نفسي كمطور رسمي ، فأنا أميل إلى التمسك بالأشياء السهلة التي لا تتطلب الكثير من التفكير (ولكن يمكن أن تسبب بصراحة المزيد من الضرر!).

  3. 4

    يبدو أن هذا الموقع نسخة معدلة من TwentyEleven. هل هذا هو الحال؟ في كلتا الحالتين ، أنت محق. الأمر كله يتعلق بالموضوع وليس نظام إدارة المحتوى. لكن WordPress ، IMHO ، هو أفضل منصة للعمل معها في هذه اللحظة.

    • 5

      عين جيدة ،jonschr: disqus! إنها سمة TwentyEleven المعدلة للغاية ... لقد مزقناها حقًا! نحن فقط لم نتمكن من إخفاء جميع أسماء السمات. ونحب حقيقة أننا نعطي الأشخاص الجيدين فيWordpress: disqus الاهتمام الذي يستحقونه.

      • 6

        بدافع الفضول: لقد وصلت إلى هنا عبر صفحة مقصودة بتنسيق HTML مباشرة تم سحبها في هذا الموجز. لماذا لا تدمجهم بشكل مباشر؟ هذا واحد من أكبر سحوبات WordPress بالنسبة لي ؛ قوالب صفحات مختلفة إلى أي درجة تختارها.

        • 7

          مرحبًاjonschr: disqus - أين كانت الصفحة المقصودة؟ ننشر روابط إلى مواقع مثل http://www.corporatebloggingtips.com ولكنهم يريدون تركيز حركة المرور على مصدر واحد. أنا أفضل الحصول على كل حركة المرور هنا ، ودفع سلطة هذا المجال ، والتأكد من أن أي روابط تدفع هذا المجال إلى الأعلى باستخدام محركات البحث. أتمنى أن يكون هذا ما تعنيه! إذا نشرت على مجالات متعددة ، فأنا أقوم بتقسيم هذه السلطة ... أفضل أن يكون لدي موقع واحد قوي بدلاً من موقعين أضعف.

          • 8

            نعم ، هذا هو واحد! همم. من المنطقي ... على الرغم من أنه ، إذن ، لماذا لا تجعل "الصفحة المقصودة" مجرد صفحة فهرس لهذا الموقع؟ لا جريمة على الإطلاق ؛ فقط تساءلت ما هي الميزة. أنا أحب الصفحة المقصودة ، راجع للشغل. لطيف جدا.

          • 9

            jonschr: disqus لا جرم على الإطلاق! قد تتفاجأ عندما تدرك أن هذا موقع WordPress أيضًا. وهناك الكثير من الصفحات الداخلية المرئية لمحركات البحث. في الوقت الذي تم فيه إصدار الكتاب ، كان من الشائع جدًا وجود موقع للصفحة المقصودة مخصص للكتاب. كنت أرغب في الحصول على مجال تم تحسينه فقط من أجل "تدوين الشركات" وكان يعمل جيدًا. كنت أرغب في تحديث المحتوى بشكل متكرر على الموقع ، لكنني لم أرغب في كتابة مدونة أخرى تمامًا - لذا فإن سحب الخلاصة والتواصل الاجتماعي واستخدامه كتقويم أحداث يجعله يتغير باستمرار. إنه يحتل مرتبة جيدة جدًا في عدد من المصطلحات ، لذا قام بالمهمة واستمر في بيع الكتب لنا!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing, , WordPress

Don’t Blame the CMS, Blame the Theme Designer

This morning I had a great call with a potential client about their inbound marketing strategies. They mentioned that they were meeting with a firm to develop their website. I had noticed prior to the call that they were already on WordPress and asked if they would continue using it. She said absolutely not and said that it was terrible… she couldn’t do anything with her site that she wanted to. Today she’s speaking with a firm that will develop on Expression Engine.

I had to explain that we’ve worked with Expression Engine quite extensively, too. We’ve also worked with Joomla, Drupal, Compendium, MarketPath, Imavex and a host of other content management systems. While some CMS system have needed some tender loving care to leverage all the benefits of search and social, we’ve found that most CMS systems are created fairly equal… and really are only separated by the administrative functionality and ease of use.

I would be willing to bet that this client could accomplish anything she would like to in WordPress. The problem isn’t WordPress, though, it’s the way her theme was developed. One client we’ve started working with recently is a VA Loan Refinance company, VA Loan Captain. They’re a great company – giving money back to veteran’s charities every time they collect a referral. Although we do a ton of WordPress customization, we’re fairly agnostic that a client can have as beautiful, optimized and usable a site on virtually any CMS as they can on WordPress. WordPress is simply very popular right now so we find ourselves working much more on that platform than others.

VA Loan purchased a custom theme and then hired us to develop their search and social strategies. The theme was a disaster… no use of sidebars, menus, or widgets. Every element was hard-coded in their template without using any of the great features that WordPress accommodates. We spent the next couple months redeveloping the theme, integrating Gravity Forms with Leads360, and are even developing a widget that retrieves the latest mortgage rates to display on their site from their bank.

This is a systemic problem with theme designers and agencies. They understand how to make a site look good, but not how to fully leverage the CMS to incorporate all the different features that the client may want later. I’ve seen Drupal, Expression Engine, Accrisoft Freedom, MarketPath and Compendium sites that were both beautiful and usable… not because of the CMS, but because the firm that developed the theme was experienced enough to incorporate all the CMS features that leverage search, social, landing pages, forms, etc. that might be needed.

A good theme designer can develop a beautiful theme. A great theme designer will develop a theme that you can use for years to come (and migrate easily in the future). Don’t blame the CMS, blame the theme designer!

9 Comments

  1. 1

    Nail on the head. We develop a good 90% of our projects with WordPress and there are times you’ll hear comments like this and things such as “Well, it can’t do __________”. Which of course the correct response is, “If there’s not already something out there that suits your needs (theme and/or plugins), and if your developer knows how to use the API, you can do pretty much anything you want to do as long as the time and budget it there.”

    But sometimes the client has their mind set on something “new”, so you either roll with it or turn it down.

  2. 2

    That’s interesting. After starting work at Reusser Design, I’ve switched majorly to working within EE, our CMS of choice, from WordPress, which I worked with mostly when I was on my own. I would agree with you in my WP themes made all the difference. Something like WooTheme’s Canvas theme, for example, was so great to work within, while there are some other “premium” and custom themes out there that are just… icky.

    That being said, I do really like EE for website content management, in cases where “blogging” isn’t a priority. It’s simple, it’s elegant, and it’s way more robust than WP, I think. Still, when you do a lot of writing or blogging within your CMS, nothing beats the user experience of WP for that writer.

    Thanks for your post!

    • 3

      @awelfle:disqus I’m a bit clumsy when it comes to EE, it’s definitely written more for MVC developers. With that in mind, I understand that development is a bit more friendly and scalability and isn’t as much of an issue. Since I don’t think of myself as a formal developer, I tend to stick with the easy stuff that doesn’t require as much thought (but could honestly cause much more damage!).

  3. 4

    This site appears to be a modified version of TwentyEleven. Is that the case? Either way, you’re correct; it’s all about the theme, not the CMS. But WordPress, IMHO, is the best platform to work with at this moment.

    • 5

      Good eye, @jonschr:disqus ! It’s a highly modified TwentyEleven theme… we really tore it up!  We just haven’t got around to masking all the theme names.  And we like the fact that we’re giving the good folks at @Wordpress:disqus the attention they deserve.

      • 6

        Out of curiosity: I got here via a straight HTML landing page which pulled in this feed. Why not integrate them directly? That’s one of WordPress’ biggest draws for me; different page templates to whatever degree you choose.

        • 7

          Hi @jonschr:disqus  – where was the landing page? We publish links out to sites like http://www.corporatebloggingtips.com but want to focus the traffic back to a single source.  I’d rather have all the traffic here, push the authority up of this domain, and ensure any links back push this domain up with search engines.  Hope that’s what you mean!  If I publish on multiple domains, I’m splitting up that authority… I’d rather have 1 strong site rather than 2 weaker ones.

          • 8

            Yep, that’s the one! Hmm. Makes sense… Although, then, why not simply make the “landing page” the index page of this site? No offense at all intended; just wondered what the advantage is. I like the landing page, BTW. Very nice.

          • 9

            @jonschr:disqus no offense taken at all! You may be surprised to realize that’s a WordPress site, too. And there are a ton of internal pages that are visible to search engines. At the time the book was released, it was pretty common to have a landing page site specifically for the book. I wanted to have a domain that was optimized just for “corporate blogging” and it worked quite well. I wanted the content to frequently update on the site but I didn’t want to have to write another blog altogether – so pulling in the feed, the social communication, and using it as an events calendar keep it constantly changing. It ranks very well for a number of terms so it did the job and continues to sell books for us!

Leave a Reply