أنا أترك وظيفة رائعة وأتوجه إلى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

التسويق والتجارة الإلكترونية للمطاعمالعام الماضي الذي قضيته معه باترونباث لقد كان ركوب السفينة الدوارة لا يصدق. الشركة في طفرة نمو هائلة وناجحة بشكل كبير!

  1. فزنا في جائزة Techpoint Mira.
  2. أكملنا تطوير 4 أنظمة الكاشير عمليات الدمج - Micros و POSitouch و Comtrex و Aloha.
  3. لقد قمنا بإعادة تطوير واجهة المستخدم لزيادة التحويلات لعملائنا. أضفنا ميزات التكرار والأمان إلى التطبيق.
  4. حتى أننا ألقينا في موقع موقع مطعم لسلاسلنا متعددة الوحدات.

كان يوم الجمعة آخر يوم لي في باترونباث. كان من الصعب أن أترك شركة ضخت فيها قلبي وروحي ولديها دعم مالي من بعض أكثر الشركات ناجح الإنترنت الشركات in إنديانابوليس.

على مغادرة ممر شفيع

ليس لدي أي شك في أنني تركت الشركة بحالة جيدة. قلقي الوحيد هو ما إذا كان المستثمرون على ما يرام أم لا. كان أحد الأسباب الرئيسية لذهابي إلى Patronpath هو التعرف على فريق الاستثمار - المكون من بعض أفضل رواد الأعمال عبر الإنترنت في المنطقة. آخر شيء أردت القيام به هو تركهم بعد نجاح كبير. سأستمر في تقديم المشورة والمساعدة إلى Patronpath متى احتاجوا إليّ ، للتأكد من أن مغادرتي لن تؤثر على نجاحهم.

كان النمو والنتائج بالتأكيد النقاط البارزة في Patronpath. لقد أتيحت لي الفرصة للعمل مع بعض الأشخاص الرائعين. لقد صنعنا بعض المعجزات خلال العام الماضي بموارد قليلة. أنا فخور بما حققناه.

العمل مع أشخاص من الطراز العالمي

خلال الأشهر الستة الماضية أو نحو ذلك ، كان من دواعي سروري العمل مع مارتي بيرد - شخص كنت أعرفه منذ أيامي الأولى في الهدف الدقيق ولكن لم تتح له الفرصة للعمل معه بشكل مباشر. مارتي هو مسوق رائع ولديه موهبة لبناء برامج تسويق عالمية المستوى من البداية.

ذهب مارتي إلى باترونباث ليفترض برنامج بريد إلكتروني وطنيًا ناشئًا وقعناه للتو لشركة بمليارات الدولارات. في غضون يومين ، تولى المشروع. في غضون أسبوعين ، بنى برنامجًا وعملية حول المشروع. الآن يستمر البرنامج في النمو والازدهار تحت قيادته. يا له من رجل عظيم! حقيقة غير معروفة ، مارتي هو أيضًا ميكانيكي رئيسي مع شغف لأودي تي تي.

كان باقي أعضاء الفريق رائعين أيضًا. كان مارك جالو وتشاد هانكينسون رائعين في العمل مع كل من المهنيين والشخصيين. كلاهما مسيحيان عظيمان ساعدا في إرشادي خلال بعض التحديات. أنا مدين لكليهما. لديهم أيضًا فريق إدارة الحساب الذين هم مقاتلون عنيدون مكرسون لمساعدة عملائهم على النجاح. عملت مع تامي هيث معظم العام وكانت رائعة ، حيث كانت تتلاعب بالعشرات من العملاء كل ساعة وما زالت قادرة على الإنتاج.

على الجانب الصعب هذا العام كانت متطلبات الوظيفة وكيف جذبت انتباهي الكامل. عانت هذه المدونة كما عانى الاهتمام الذي تمكنت من تقديم بعض منه حيوان اليف مشاريع. لقد دفعني الاتصال بعيدًا عن أحداث الشبكات الإقليمية أيضًا. في الأوقات النادرة التي حضرت فيها ، كان الناس في حالة صدمة!

كانت القيادة من الجانب الشمالي من إندي شيئًا عزيزًا في البداية ، ولكن مع ارتفاع أسعار الغاز بشكل كبير واحتاجت ابنتي إلى المنزل أكثر ، بدأت بضع ساعات في اليوم على الطريق تؤلمني حقًا. أنا ممتن ل ابني - أثناء شعوذة حمولة كاملة عند IUPUI بالإضافة إلى التدريس بشكل خاص وفي مركز مساعدة الرياضيات ، لا يزال يجد الوقت لأخذ كاتي من وإلى الأحداث وإطعامها. أنا ممتن لأطفالي الرائعين!

التوجه إلى الخلاصة المدونة

هكذا… عندما اتصل كريس باجوت من خلاصة مدونة وقال أنه قد تكون هناك فرصة للعمل معهم ، كنت منتشية! خلاصة وافية بدأت مع كريس وأنا نعمل في عطلات نهاية الأسبوع في عام 2006.

بقيت مع ExactTarget وانضمت علي سيلز. أدت قيادة علي بشغف كريس إلى الارتقاء بالشركة إلى مستوى لا يصدق منصة التدوين للشركات. لقد حافظت على علاقة وثيقة مع الشركة خلال العام الماضي وقمت بنشر المنصة. لقد جلبنا للتو شركة المحاماة Bose McKinney منذ حوالي شهر وقد قالوا بالفعل إنهم أبلغوا بالفعل عن عملاء محتملين رائعين في محرك البحث!

شعار blogware أبيض 150يوم الاثنين ، أتولى واجبات مثل نائب رئيس التدوين الكرازة في الخلاصة. سأقدم تقارير إلى علي وأساعد جميع فرقنا وعملائنا في التثقيف والتبشير والأتمتة والدمج وما إلى ذلك. وظيفتي هي المساعدة في رفع مستوى العملاء بسرعة ومساعدتهم على الاستفادة الكاملة من النظام الأساسي لتعظيم تأثيره في جميع جهود التسويق. هذا موقف صعب لرفضه نظرًا لعملي في السنوات القليلة الماضية. سأقوم أيضًا بالعمل على الدائرة في إندي مرة أخرى ، لذلك أنا متأكد من أنني سألتقي بالعديد من الزملاء القدامى!

أعتقد أن كل شيء بدأ مع بات كويل و أنا أقرأ أحاديث عارية منذ بضع سنوات كان رائعًا جدًا.

مع ذلك ، أنا مدين بالشكر روبرت سكوبل و شيل اسرائيل لكتابة كتاب ألهمني لبدء مدونتي الخاصة وغيرت الاتجاه الذي كنت أرغب في اتباعه في عالم التسويق! إن تولي منصبي في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي خلال واحدة من أسوأ فترات الانكماش الاقتصادي في تاريخ البلاد يدل على قوة هذه الوسيلة ، أليس كذلك؟

19 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

    دوغ - واو! شكرا ل كلماتك اللطيفة. موهبتك وشغفك وحماسك ستخدمك جيدًا في الخلاصة - تهانينا. لقد أوجدت مساهماتك الكبيرة في Patronpath أساسًا سنواصل البناء عليه. سأفتقد وجودك في المكتب ، وسلوكك المتواضع ، وذوقك المجنون في الموسيقى (!) والضحك المبهج. إن متابعتك على Twitter لن تحل محل محادثات ساعة الغداء الرائعة التي أجريناها! اعتن بنفسك دوغ.

  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10

    حظ موفق دوج!

    يبدو وكأنه مناسب تمامًا لك. لقد استمتعت بالعمل الذي تقوم به في أوقات فراغك على هذه المدونة. سيكون من الممتع رؤية كيف سيكون الأمر عندما يحظى بكل انتباهك.

  11. 11
  12. 12

    أطيب التمنيات لك ، دوغ. أنا متأكد من أنك ستبلي بلاءً رائعًا مع الحفلة الجديدة وأنا أحب العنوان الجديد! (إنها تلتقط ما كنت تفعله بالفعل).

  13. 13
  14. 14

    تهانينا دوج ، لقد رأيت للتو الأخبار اليوم! أتمنى لك حظًا سعيدًا في دورك الجديد ، يبدو أنك أنت والخلاصة الوافية مناسبة تمامًا.

  15. 15

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management, Search Marketing, WordPress

I’m Leaving A Great Job and Heading for Social Media

Marketing and e-Commerce for RestaurantsThe last year that I’ve spent with Patronpath has been an incredible roller coaster ride. The company is in a tremendous growth spurt and hugely successful!

  1. We won the Techpoint Mira award.
  2. We completed development of 4 POS integrations – Micros, POSitouch, Comtrex and Aloha.
  3. We redeveloped the user interface to maximize conversions for our clients. We added redundancy and security features to the application.
  4. We even threw in a Restaurant Location site for our multi-unit chains.

Friday was my last day at Patronpath. It was tough to leave a company that I poured my heart and soul into and that has the financial backing of some of the most successful Internet companies in Indianapolis.

On Leaving Patronpath

I don’t have any doubt that I left the company in great shape. My only concern is whether or not the investors are okay with the move. A key reason why I went to Patronpath was to get to know their investment team – composed of some of the finest Internet entrepreneurs in the region. The last thing I wanted to do was leave them after so much success. I’ll continue to advise and assist Patronpath whenever they need me, to ensure my departure doesn’t impact their success.

The growth and results were definitely the highlights at Patronpath. I had an opportunity to work with some incredible people. We worked some miracles over the last year with little resources. I’m proud of what we’ve achieved.

Working with World Class People

For the last 6 months or so, I had the pleasure of working with Marty Bird – someone who I had known from my early days at ExactTarget but never had the chance to work with directly. Marty is an incredible marketer with a knack for building world-class marketing programs from scratch.

Marty walked into Patronpath to assume a fledgling national email program that we just signed for a multi-billion dollar corporation. Within 2 days, he assumed the project. Within a couple weeks, he built a program and process around the project. Now the program continues to grow and blossom under his leadership. What a great guy! Little known fact, Marty is also a master mechanic with a passion for the Audi TT.

The rest of the team were great as well. Mark Gallo and Chad Hankinson were awesome to work with both professionally and personally. They’re both great Christians that helped counsel me through some challenges. I’m indebted to both. They also have an Account Management team who are tenacious fighters dedicated to helping their clients succeed. I got to work with Tammy Heath for most of the year and she was amazing, juggling dozens of clients every hour and still able to produce.

On the tough side this year was the demands of the job and how it pulled my full attention. This blog suffered as did the attention I was able to provide some of my pet projects. Being on call pulled me away from regional networking events, too. The rare times that I did show up, folks were in shock!

The drive from the North side of Indy was something I cherished at first, but as gas prices skyrocketed and my daughter needed me home more, a couple hours a day on the road started to really hurt. I’m thankful for my son – while juggling a full load at IUPUI as well as tutoring privately and in the Math Assistance Center, he still found time to take Katie to and from events and get her fed. I’m thankful for my incredible kids!

Heading to Compendium Blogware

So… when Chris Baggott called from Compendium Blogware and said there might be an opportunity to work with them, I was ecstatic! Compendium started with Chris and I working on weekends back in 2006.

I stayed with ExactTarget and Ali Sales came on board. Ali’s leadership with Chris’ passion have skyrocketed the company into an incredible Corporate Blogging platform. I’ve maintained a close relationship with the company over the last year and evangelized the platform. We just brought on law firm Bose McKinney about a month ago and they’ve already said that they’re reporting great Search Engine leads already!

On Monday, I assume duties as Vice President of Blogging Evangelism at Compendium. I’ll be reporting to Ali and assisting all of our teams and clients to educate, evangelize, automate, integrate, etc. My job is to assist in getting clients up quickly and helping them to fully leverage the platform to maximize its impact throughout their marketing efforts. That’s a tough position to turn down given my work the last few years. I’ll also be working down on the Circle in Indy again, so I’m sure I’ll run into a lot of old colleagues!

To think it all started with Pat Coyle and me reading Naked Conversations a few years ago is pretty amazing.

With that, I owe a thanks to Robert Scoble and Shel Israel for writing a book that inspired me to start my own blog and changed the direction I wanted to take in the marketing world! That I’m assuming a position in Social Media during one of the worst economic downturns in the country’s history speaks volumes to the power of this medium, doesnt’ it?

19 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

    Doug – wow! thank you for the kind words. Your talent, passion and enthusiasm will serve you well at Compendium – congratulations. Your significant contributions to Patronpath created a foundation that we will continue to build upon. I’ll miss your presence in the office, your humble demeanor, your crazy taste in music ( ! ) and joyful laughter. Following you on Twitter just won’t replace those great lunch hour conversations we’ve had! Take care Doug.

  8. 8
  9. 9

    Good deal Doug!

    I remember you mentioning to me your involvement with Compendium and I thought that would be a great platform for you!

    Great to hear that is finally coming true!

  10. 10

    Good luck Doug!

    Sounds like a perfect fit for you. I’ve enjoyed the work you do in your spare time on this blog. Will be fun to see what it’s like when it has all your attention.

  11. 11
  12. 12

    Best wishes to you, Doug. I’m sure you’ll do great with the new gig and I love the new title! (It captures what you have already been doing.)

  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Leave a Reply