من يملك نفطك يستطيع؟

قطار بخاري

طوال اليوم - كل يوم - يقوم الأشخاص بإرسال بريد إلكتروني إليّ ، وإرسال رسائل نصية إلي ، وتويتر ، وزيارتي ، والاتصال بي وإرسال رسائل فورية إليّ بأسئلة تتعلق بالمجالات ، والإمكانيات ، و CSS ، والمنافسة ، واستراتيجيات الكلمات الرئيسية ، ومشكلات العملاء ، وتحديد مواقع المبيعات ، واستراتيجيات التسويق ، والتدوين وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، إلخ. أتلقى دعوات للتحدث ، والكتابة ، والمساعدة ، واللقاء ... سمها ما شئت. أيامي مشغولة ومرضية بشكل لا يصدق. أنا لست عبقريًا ولكن لدي الكثير من الخبرة والناس يتعرفون عليها. أنا أيضا أحب المساعدة.

التحدي هو كيفية تطبيق قيمة على كل واحدة من تلك القضايا والفرص الصغيرة. وجهة نظري هي أنه يشبه إلى حد ما الأيام القديمة حيث يحافظ المزيتة على عجلات القطار بالزيت بحيث يمكن أن تتحرك بشكل أسرع وأسهل على المسار. خذ المزيتة وتوقف القطار. يعرف المزيت أين ومتى ولماذا وكم. أشعر أنني مزيت - لكن على نطاق أوسع بكثير. الأسئلة المطروحة علي تتطلب الخبرة والتجربة التي بنيتها على مدى العقدين الماضيين.

من الصعب تقدير أو تذكر عامل المزيتة عندما يكون لديك قطار يتدحرج على القضبان. القطار والفحم والموصل والمسارات ... كلها نفقات "كبيرة" وحلول "كبيرة" يمكن قياسها بدقة. كونك مزيتًا ليس بهذه البساطة. أعلم أن القطار يتحرك أسرع بكثير مما كان يمكن أن يكون لو لم أقم بتزييت المسارات - لكن لا توجد طريقة مؤكدة لقياس التأثير على مثل هذا المقياس الحبيبي.

ليس لديك مزيتة؟ يمكنك شراء هذه الموارد في مكان آخر أو إجراء التحقيق بنفسك. إنه يضيف الوقت والنفقات والمخاطر وقد يقلل من جودة الخدمة التي تقدمها لعملائك. يجب أن يكون لديك مزيت - يجب على كل منظمة.

هذا لا صوت متواضع ولكن في بلدي متواضع الرأي ، أعتقد أن القادة العظماء هم في كثير من الأحيان المزيتون. إنهم يعملون بجد كل يوم لإزالة العقبات حتى يتمكن من حولهم من الدفع بقوة أكبر ، والركض بشكل أسرع ، وتحقيق المزيد من النجاح. تحب الفرق عامل التزييت لأنه يمكنهم الاستفادة منها لتحقيق المزيد من النجاح. السؤال هو ما إذا كان المزيت يحصل على التقدير الذي يستحقه أو أنه مفهوم للقيمة المقدمة أم لا.

ماذا يحدث عندما يتم التشكيك في القيمة الخاصة بك؟

هل تتوقف عن التزييت وتعريض القطار للخطر وكذلك تثير الاستياء من الموظفين الآخرين الذين يعتمدون عليك؟ هل تسعى بدلاً من ذلك إلى مشاريع وفرص أعظم حيث يتم قياس وفهم قيمتك بشكل مطلق؟

أو ... هل تتمسك بما أنت رائع فيه؟ قد تكون الدافع وراء نجاح شركتك - ولكن الخطر يكمن في أن البعض لن يدركها ، ويعرف كيف يقيسها ، ويقدرها ... وغالبًا ما يتساءل عنها. في عالم البيانات والتحليل هذا ، إذا لم تتمكن من الإجابة عن القيمة التي تقدمها لمنظمة ما ، فقد تكون في ورطة.

هل أنت مزيت؟ هل لديك مزيتة في العمل؟ من يحتفظ بعلبة الزيت الخاصة بك؟

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    دوغ:
    نهج مثير للغاية مع مفهوم "Oiler" و IMHO ، أنت على حق في الهدف. في أيام عملي التنفيذية ، اتبعت نهجًا مختلفًا بعض الشيء في تقديم المشورة لمديري حول الإدارة واليوم في فصول الإدارة الخاصة بي أخبر طلابي أن وظيفة المدير: "هي توفير بيئة يمكن للموظفين النجاح فيها" هذه مجرد طريقة أخرى يخبرونهم أنهم مسؤولون عن كونهم عمال التزيت لـ "التينمين" أو موظفيهم وليس بالضرورة إلى القطار أو المنظمة.

    أنا حقًا أحب الاستعارة وسأستخدمها في المستقبل. شكرا على المنشور

  2. 3
  3. 4

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, , Sales Enablement,

Who’s Holding Your Oil Can?

All day – every day – folks email me, text me, twitter me, visit me, call me and instant message me with questions regarding domains, capabilities, CSS, competition, keyword strategies, client issues, sales positioning, marketing strategies, blogging, social media, etc. I get invitations to speak, to write, to help, to meet… you name it. My days are busy and incredibly fulfilling. I’m no genius but I have a lot of experience and people recognize it. I also love helping out.

The challenge is how to apply value to every one of those small issues and opportunities. My view is that it’s sort of like the days of old where the oiler would keep the train wheels oiled so it could move faster and easier down the track. Take away the oiler and the train stops. The oiler knows where, when, why and how much. I feel like the oiler – but on a much broader scale. The questions posed to me require the expertise and experience I’ve built over the last 2 decades.

It’s difficult to value or remember the oiler when you have a train rolling down the tracks, though. The train, the coal, the conductor, the tracks… they’re all ‘big’ expenses and ‘big’ solutions that can be accurately measured. Being an oiler isn’t as simple. I know the train is moving much faster than it would have been had I not been oiling the tracks – but there’s really no sure way of measuring the impact on such a granular scale.

Don’t have an oiler? You can buy those resources elsewhere or do the investigation yourself. It just adds time, expense, risk and may reduce the quality of service you’re providing your customers. You should have an oiler – every organization should.

This doesn’t sound humble, but in my humble opinion, I believe great leaders are often oilers. They work hard every day to remove obstacles so that those around them can push harder, run faster, and be more successful. Teams love the oiler because they can utilize them to be more successful. The question is whether or not the oiler gets the recognition deserved or is understood for the value provided.

What happens when your value is questioned?

Do you stop oiling and put the train at risk as well as build resentment with the other employees that rely on you? Do you, instead, pursue grander projects and opportunities where your value is absolutely measured and understood?

Or… do you stick at what you’re great at? You may be driving your company’s success – but the risk is that some won’t recognize it, know how to measure it, appreciate it… and will often question it. In this world of data and analysis, if you can’t answer what your value is to an organization you might be in trouble.

Are you an oiler? Do you have an oiler at work? Who’s holding your oil can?

Download a Sponsored Marketing Whitepaper:
Getting Started with Content Marketing For Dummies

Getting Started with Content Marketing For Dummies

Discover how content marketing can benefit your overall marketing strategy Download Now

5 Comments

  1. 1

    Doug:
    Very interesting approach with the “Oiler” concept and IMHO, you’re right on target. In my executive days, I took a slightly different approach in advising my managers about managing and today in my management classes I tell my students that a manager’s job:”is to provide an environment where the employees can succeed” This is just another way of telling them that they are responsible for being the oilers to the “tinmen” or their employees and not necessarily to the train or the organization.

    I really like the metaphor and will use it in the future. Thanks for the post

  2. 3
  3. 4

Leave a Reply