الخبرة مجانية ، والموارد ليست ...

معلوماتأنا في المنزل اليوم. لا أشعر أنني على ما يرام - أعتقد أن ساعات عديدة من العمل والتوتر تلاحقني. تقلبت على الأريكة وانقطعت الكهرباء. يمكن أن يزداد الأمر سوءًا إذا كانت السماء تمطر وباردة.

كان لدي بعض الوقت للقراءة والنوم هذا الصباح لمحاولة التخلص من أي خطأ لدي. لاحظت TechZ على جميع الكتب التي أقرأها ... لا تقل في العادة عن 3. أنا أقرأ 3 الآن ولدي 2 آخرين في انتظار بعد ذلك. أحب أن أقرأ. إنه يصفي ذهني ويسليني أكثر من مشاهدة فيلم أو تلفزيون. أخبر أطفالي أن الشيء العظيم في القراءة هو أنك ترسم الصورة أو الفيلم في رأسك. عندما أذهب لمشاهدة فيلم مكتوب عن كتاب ، أشعر بخيبة أمل عادة.

أستطرد ... ولم يتبق لدي سوى 30 دقيقة أو نحو ذلك على الكمبيوتر المحمول. وقد يجدني جاري قريبًا خطف جهاز التوجيه الخاص به (غير مؤمن بالطبع). عندما قرأت بدأت أفكر وأردت أن أكتب عنها.

ها هي نظريتي ... المعلومات لا تساوي ما كانت عليه من قبل. مع الإنترنت ، أصبحت المعرفة أرخص وأرخص في الثانية. أيام الاستعانة بالاستشاريين لتخبرنا بما نقوم به ينبغي ما تفعله وراءنا. بدلاً من ذلك ، نقوم بتعيين مستشارين بسبب ما يفعلونه يستطيع تفعل من أجلنا.

تزداد قيمة الموارد والمعرفة آخذة في التناقص.

لدي ما يكفي من المعرفة لبناء شركة عظيمة. ما أفتقر إليه هو الموارد - الوقت والمال. عندما أقوم بمقابلة مستشارين منظور ، فعادةً لا يكون ذلك بسبب ما يمكنهم أو لا يمكنهم إخباري. في الواقع ، عادةً ما أفهم أكثر قليلاً مما أفهمه بشأن ما أطلبه منهم. إذا شعرت بالراحة معهم ، فأنا أوظفهم للقيام بالمهمة التي في متناول اليد ... لأنهم يستطيعون تركيز انتباههم فقط على القضية. لا أستطيع تحمل القيام بذلك.

منذ سنوات ، كنت أصلح سيارتي بنفسي. لقد فعلت كل شيء كان من المفترض أن أفعله بسيارة. كان لدي الوقت ، لذلك سأذهب لشراء كتاب وأطرحه. مع تقدمي في السن ، لم أعد أستمتع بكشط مفاصلي ، لذا أحضرها إلى المتجر. يستحق الأمر المزيد من وقتي أن أجد شخصًا آخر يصلحه بدلاً من إصلاحه. حتى مع التكلفة الباهظة لصيانة السيارات.

أليس هذا هو الاتجاه الذي يسير فيه كل شيء؟ لنأخذ تحسين محركات البحث (SEO) كمثال. أنا واثق تمامًا من أنه ، بالنظر إلى الوقت ، يمكنني إنشاء بيئات رمل ، والتعديل والتجربة لمعرفة كيف يمكنني الارتقاء إلى قمة كل خوارزميات محرك البحث. لكن ليس لدي الوقت لذلك. بالتأكيد - لا يمكن للجميع قراءة مدونة والبدء في القيام بذلك. أنا أفهم ... لكن الكثير من الناس يمكنهم ذلك.

سيو المعرفة is مجاني - هناك مجموعة كبيرة من مواقع ومدونات تحسين محركات البحث على الإنترنت والتي تنشر باستمرار اختباراتها ونتائجها. (لقد استخدمت بعض التعديلات على موقعي). أنا لا أحاول إهمال مستشاري تحسين محركات البحث ... فهم كذلك قيمة المال. لكنهم لا يستحقون المال بسبب خبرتهم ، فهم يستحقون المال كمورد قيم. يفعلون ذلك كل يوم حتى لا تضطر إلى ذلك!

الأنترنيت is طريق المعلومات الفائق السرعة. أعلم أن هذا قديم ومبتذل ، لكنه صحيح. أصبح توزيع المعرفة أرخص وأرخص. إذا كنت أرغب في معرفة كيفية علاج بشرة Jack Russell الجافة أو أريد إنشاء إطار عمل Ajax ... كل ما في الأمر أن أبحث عنه.

نظرًا لأن الشبكة أصبحت أكثر تنظيماً وأسهل للبحث عن المعلومات ، أعتقد أنه من المهم أن ننظر إلى أنفسنا بشكل أقل "خبراء" وأكثر "موارد". الخبرة منتشرة في كل مكان وهي مجانية للاستخدام. الموارد ليست كذلك.

هل توافق؟

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing

Expertise is free, resources are not…

InformationI’m home today. I’m not feeling well – I think many, many, many hours of work and stress are catching up with me. I rolled up on the couch and the electricity went out. It could only get worse if it was raining and cold.

I had some time to read and sleep this morning to try to shake off whatever bug it is that I have. TechZ remarked on all the books I’m reading… it’s usually never less than 3. I am reading 3 right now and have 2 more waiting after that. I love to read. It clears my head and entertains me more than watching a movie or television. I tell my kids that the great thing about reading is that you get to paint the picture or movie in your head. When I go see a movie that’s written about a book, I’m usually disappointed.

I digress… and I only have a 30 or so minutes left on my laptop. And my neighbor may soon find me hijacking his router (unsecured, of course). As I read I got to thinking, and wanted to write about it.

Here’s my theory… information is not worth as much as it used to be. With the Internet, knowledge is becoming cheaper and cheaper by the second. The days of hiring the consultants to tell us what we should be doing are far behind us. Instead, we hire consultants because of what they can be doing for us.

Resources are increasing in worth and knowledge is decreasing.

I have enough knowledge to build a great company. What I lack is the resources – time and money. When I interview perspective consultants, it’s not usually because of what they can or can’t tell me. In fact, I usually understand a little more than they do about what I’m requesting of them. If I feel comfortable with them, I hire them to do the job at hand… because they can focus their attention solely on the issue. I can’t afford to do that.

Years ago, I used to fix my own car. I had done everything there was to do to a car. I had the time, so I would go buy a book and knock it out. As I get older, I don’t enjoy scraping my knuckles anymore so I just bring it to a shop. It’s worth more of my time to have someone else fix it rather than me fixing it. Even with the exorbitant cost of automobile maintenance.

Isn’t this the direction that everything is moving in? Let’s take Search Engine Optimization (SEO) as an example. I’m fairly confident that, given the time, I could build sandbox environments, tweak and experiment to see how I can rise to the top of each of the Search Engine’s algorithms. But I don’t have the time for that. Sure – not everyone could read a blog and begin to do that. I understand… but many people can.

SEO knowledge is free – there is quite a collection of SEO sites and blog on the Internet that continually post their tests and findings. (I’ve used a few of the tweaks on my site). I’m not trying to put down SEO Consultants… they are worth the money. But they are not worth the money because of their expertise, they are worth the money as a valuable resource. They do it every day so that you don’t have to!

The Internet is the Information Superhighway. I know that’s old and cliche, but it’s true. Distribution of knowledge is getting cheaper and cheaper. If I want to find out how to treat my Jack Russell’s dry skin or I want to create an Ajax framework… it’s all right there for me to look it up.

As the Net becomes more organized and easier to search for information, I think it’s important that we look at ourselves less as ‘experts’ and more as ‘resources’. Expertise is all over the place and is free for the taking. Resources are not.

Would you agree?

One comment

  1. 1

Leave a Reply