لماذا أعمل مجانًا وقد يكون ويل ويتون غير صحيح

نمو المحتوى المدفوع مقابل غير المدفوع

هذا المنشور ليس نقاشًا ، وأنا لا أحاول بدء جدال مع ويل ويتون ومنشوره ، لا يمكنك دفع إيجارك من خلال المنصة الفريدة والوصول إلى موقعنا. Wil Wheaton هي علامة تجارية راسخة لها عدد كبير من المتابعين. لقد عمل بجد لتطوير جمهوره ومجتمعه - ومن هنا جاء الاحتجاج والاتفاق مع موقفه.

كان ويل ويتون مهذبًا في رده. كان أيضًا رائعًا في القيام بذلك علنًا ... الشر الرأسمالية الاستغلالية هذه الأيام هي كل الغضب. لكن معظمنا ليس ويل ويتون. يحاول معظمنا زيادة وصولنا وجمهورنا ومستعدون للاستثمار في القيام بذلك. فرص الوصول إلى جمهور مثل HuffPo كانت ، في الواقع، استثمار. بدلاً من الدفع مقابل الإعلان ، فإن التكلفة هي توفير بعض مواهبك.

دعونا أولاً نناقش ذلك الوحش الرأسمالي الضخم المسمى هافينغتون بوست. Martech Zone تستمر في تحقيق نمو مزدوج الرقم عامًا بعد عام. بعد عقد من الزمان عبر الإنترنت ، استمرت المدونة في جذب عملاء رائعين إلى وكالتنا ، DK New Media. نمو الإيرادات المباشر جيد ، لكن Jenn (شريكي في العمل) وأنا أعلم أنه يتعين علينا مواصلة الاستثمار في المدونة لتوفير تدفق الإيرادات الذي يمكن أن يؤدي إلى الربحية للنشر.

عندما يصل المنشور إلى ربحية كبيرة (باستثناء عمل الوكالة) ، قد يستجيب الناس لنا بنفس الطريقة فيما يتعلق بالكتاب الضيوف والمحتوى المقدم. ننشر عددًا غير قليل من المشاركات كل أسبوع من الضيوف عندما نعتقد أن جمهورنا سيستفيد من المحتوى. نحن لا نعوض تلك الشركات أو الأفراد أيضًا.

لماذا؟

نحن لا نعوض المؤلفين الضيوف (حتى الآن) لأننا استثمرنا أكثر من عقد في زيادة جمهورنا. أستثمر ما لا يقل عن ربع وقتي كل أسبوع في قراءة الملاعب ، والتواصل مع الشركات ، وتقييم المنصات ، وعمل البودكاست ، وتكثيف برنامج الفيديو لدينا ، وقراءة الكتب ، وحضور الأحداث ، ودفع ثمن المنصات التي تدعم النشر لدينا. أخشى أن أفكر في قيمة ذلك الوقت ... أقدره بالملايين. لم أستطع دفع إيجاري بهذا الاستثمار أيضًا!

هل كان ويل ويتون قادرًا على دفع الإيجار من خلال منشور مدونته حول هافينغتون بوست؟ لا أصدق ذلك.

جمهورنا ذو قيمة. لقد دفعنا مقابل هذا الوصول في آلاف الساعات وآلاف الدولارات في الاستثمار المباشر والترويج. يأتي الدفع لمؤلفينا الضيوف في فرصة لبناء سلطتهم مع جمهورنا وجذبهم للتفاعل معهم لأسباب تجارية. لقد أدركت الشركات التي استثمرت في كتابة محتوى رائع معنا غير مباشر الإيرادات من تلك الوظائف. لذلك ، بينما لم أدفع لهم مقابل المحتوى ، فقد دفع جمهورنا

بالنسبة لأولئك منا الذين ليسوا مشهورين ويواصلون العمل الجاد لتنمية سلطتنا والوصول إلى الإنترنت ، فإن فرصة الوصول إلى الجمهور الذي يستمر شخص آخر في الاستثمار فيه وجذبهم يعد فرصة ممتازة. لا أعتقد أنه استغلال على الإطلاق ... إنها فرصة مفيدة للطرفين حيث يمكن التفاوض على المزايا.

الحقيقة هي أن محترف العلاقات العامة الذي تواصل مع ويل ويتون قد تم دفع ثمنه. لذا فإن HuffPo ينفق المال لجذب مشاهير مثله. أعتقد أن السيد ويتون ربما كان قادرًا على التفاوض على اتفاقية كان من الممكن أن يستفيد منها - بشكل مباشر وغير مباشر. فيما يلي بعض الطرق:

  • ترويج الكتاب - السيد ويتون مؤلف بارع. ربما كان بإمكانه التفاوض بشأن الترويج المجاني لكتابه عبر جمهور هافينغتون بوست الواسع. كان من الممكن أن يتم ذلك من خلال العبارات ذات الصلة التي تحث المستخدم على اتخاذ إجراء بشأن بعض الفئات أو الموضوعات ، أو حتى مطالبة Huffington Post بمراجعة الكتب في التجارة. يمكن أن يؤدي ذلك إلى مبيعات قليلة من الكتب!
  • الدعوات إلى العمل - ربما يكون السيد ويتون قادرًا على التفاوض بشأن دعوة إلى اتخاذ إجراء في سيرته الذاتية في هافينغتون بوست والتي شجعت الناس على حجز السيد ويتون لفرص التحدث. التحدث هو مصدر دخل مربح لأولئك الذين يتمتعون بمكانة مشهورة مثل السيد ويتون.
  • أحداث هافبو - إلى جانب HuffPost Live ، تروج Huffington Post أيضًا وترعى عددًا من الأحداث الإقليمية والوطنية. ربما كان بإمكان السيد ويتون التفاوض بشأن القدرة على أن يكون متحدثًا باسم المشاهير مدفوع الأجر في تلك الأحداث - وحتى توقيع كتاب مع كل منهما.

خلاصة القول هي أنني أعتقد أن السيد ويتون يمكن أن يفعل بسهولة استغلال منظمة مثل HuffPo لجذب الكثير من الاهتمام والجمهور - وفي النهاية - الإيرادات إليه. وهذه الإيرادات تدفع الإيجار!

لماذا اعمل مجانا

انا اكتب مجاني المحتوى على موقعي ، أكتب مجاني محتوى لمواقع أخرى حيث أرغب في الانخراط مع جمهورها ، وأنا أتحدث عنها مجاني في الأحداث التي لها احتمالات أود التعامل معها. بالطبع أنا أكتب أيضًا مدفوع المحتوى لعملائنا وأنا مدفوع للتحدث في أحداث أخرى. في بعض الأحيان ، ندفع ثمن حدث وطني لمجرد تغطيته في منشوراتنا. بمعنى آخر ، أدفع أحيانًا فقط للوصول إلى الجمهور في تلك الأحداث!

يتم تقييم كل فرصة بناءً على كيفية استفادتنا من التعرض ومن قد نتواصل معه هناك. لنا العمل مجانا كانت الاستراتيجية مربحة للغاية بالنسبة لنا. انتهى الأمر بتكلفة حدث واحد في إبرام عقد لم نكن لنحصل عليه أبدًا مع علامة تجارية وطنية. أدت هذه العلامة التجارية إلى علامات تجارية أخرى. وعلى وعلى.

لذلك ، كان من الممكن أن أحصل على بضع مئات من الدولارات مقابل مشاركة مدونة. أو يمكنني إغلاق بعض الأعمال التجارية مع الجمهور وجني عشرات الآلاف أو حتى مئات الآلاف من الدولارات من العقود. الآن أنت تعرف لماذا أعمل مجاني.

في الواقع ، أنا لا أعمل مجانًا فقط - غالبًا ما أدفع مقابل العمل مجانًا! بالشراكة مع Dittoe PR ، استثمرنا بشكل كبير في إيجاد الجماهير المستهدفة وذات الصلة التي نرغب في الوصول إليها. الفريق الموهوب في كما سبق للعلاقات العامة ينقل موهبتي لتلك المنشورات لتوفير هذه الفرص. نستمر في جني فوائد تلك العلاقة - القيام بعمل لشركات في تلك الجماهير التي لم نكن لنلتقي بها على الإطلاق.

السلطة الأخلاقية

هل أبدا مساعدة الناس دون الحصول على أموال؟ هل سبق لك أن التقطت القمامة وألقيتها في القمامة؟ هل سبق لك أن قدمت لشخص بلا مأوى نقودًا لوجبة؟ لماذا تفعل ذلك؟ ندفع للمسؤولين الحكوميين مبلغًا كبيرًا من المال للحفاظ على نظافة شوارعنا ولمساعدة من هم أقل حظًا. ما زلنا نفعل ذلك ، رغم ذلك ، لأنه رحيم.

لا أريد أن أعيش في عالم لا يفعل فيه الناس شيئًا ما لم يتم تعويضهم عن ذلك. بصفتي صاحب عمل ، يمكنني أن أؤكد لك أنني سأخرج من العمل إذا كان هذا هو الموقف الذي اتخذته. لدي العديد من أصدقائي الذين يعانون من قصر النظر هكذا ، ثم أسمع إحباطهم من أن أعمالهم لا تنمو أبدًا. أعتقد مساعدة الناس أولا كان أعظم وسيلة لتنمية عملي. وإذا ساعدت شخصًا ما مجانًا ، فغالبًا ما يحيل عملي إلى عملاء رائعين يدفعون أجرًا.

أنا لا أشكك في أخلاق السيد ويتون ، لكني أشكك في فكرة أن شركة هادفة للربح تستغل شخصًا ما من خلال مطالبتهم بتقديم موهبتهم في التجارة. هل يستغل السيد ويتون حقيقة أن هافينغتون بوست لديها أموال على الرغم من المخاطر الكبيرة والاستثمار الذي قاموا به في بناء مجتمعهم؟ لقد دفعوا وما زالوا يدفعون مقابل صيانة منشوراتهم والترويج لها - لماذا يتم تجاهل ذلك؟

الحافة الرائدة

انا اقرأ الحافة الطفيفة الآن بواسطة جيف أولسون وتشبيهه بالمزارع. ازرع الجانب ، وزرعه ، ثم جني الفوائد. لا يتقاضى المزارع أجرًا مقابل زرع البذرة ، بل يتقاضى أجرًا فقط عندما تتم زراعة تلك البذرة بعناية وتؤدي إلى ثمار عمله. أود أن أشجع الجميع على زراعة البذور حيثما كان ذلك منطقيًا ... ستحصل على محصول رائع بمجرد القيام بذلك!

انضم إلينا على Blab

كيفن موليت وأنا سوف نتحدث عن هذا الموضوع يوم الخميس Blab في مباراة قفص التسويق التالية! آمل أن تتمكن من الانضمام إلينا.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    متفق عليه. الأمر متروك للمؤلف ليقرر ما إذا كان يشعر أن التعرض سيعوضه عن وقته وجهده. إنه ليس مثل الكتاب المستقلين الشباب الذين يُطلب منهم الكتابة مجانًا (أو بسعر 6 سنتات / كلمة ، قريبًا منها) دون الحصول على ائتمان المؤلف. (وأنا أؤكد أن هؤلاء المؤلفين يتقاضون رواتب منخفضة للغاية!)

    في النهاية هناك مقايضة في القيمة وسيتغير مكان هذا الخط بمرور الوقت وعن طريق النشر. حتى عندما عملت ككاتب مستقل محترف ، أدركت أن هناك تسلسلاً هرميًا: فكلما كان العمل مملًا ، وكلما قل التقدير ، زاد الأجر. لذا فإن كتابة الكتيبات الفنية يمكن أن تدفع بشكل جيد. غالبًا ما ينتهي الأمر بكتابة الروايات دون دفع أي شيء ، ولكنها لا تزال مرضية للغاية للمؤلف.

    • 2

      ما زلت أجادل مع المال باعتباره مقياس القيمة. يعمل المستقلون الشباب مقابل 6 سنتات لكلمة أو رتق قريب منها يبنون سيرة ذاتية ويصقلون حرفتهم. لم أسترد أي أموال عندما كنت شابًا محترفًا أيضًا. عندما تعمل على حرفتك وتصبح أفضل ، تصبح أكثر قيمة. كنت أعمل في إحدى الصحف حيث كان المصممون يعاملون معاملة سيئة ويتقاضون أجورًا رهيبة ، لكن الفرصة علمتهم صقل إبداعهم وإنتاجيتهم وتعلم المنصات التي لم يتعرضوا لها مطلقًا في المدرسة. لقد جعلتهم هذه المهارات أكثر قدرة على المنافسة في مكان العمل وتمكنوا من العثور على وظائف رائعة.

      فقط لأنك لا تحصل على أجر اليوم لا يعني أنك لا تبني قيمة وستدفع مقابل هذه القيمة لاحقًا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Marketing & Sales Videos,

Why I Work for Free and Wil Wheaton May Be Incorrect

This post isn’t a debate, and I’m not trying to start an argument with Wil Wheaton and his post, you can’t pay your rent with the unique platform and reach our site provides. Wil Wheaton is an established brand with a significant following. He’s worked hard to develop his audience and community – hence the outcry and agreement with his stance.

Wil Wheaton was polite in his response. He was also brilliant to do it publicly… taking on evil, exploitative capitalism these days is all the rage. But most of us aren’t Wil Wheaton. Most of us are attempting to grow our reach and audience and willing to invest in doing that. Opportunities to reach an audience like HuffPo has been, in fact, an investment. Instead of paying for advertising, the cost is to supply some of your talents.

Let’s first discuss that mammoth, capitalist beast called the Huffington Post. The MarTech Blog continues to have double-digit growth year after year. After a decade online, the blog continues to attract great clients to our agency, DK New Media. Direct revenue growth is good, but Jenn (my business partner) and I know that we have to continue investing in the blog to provide a revenue stream that can lead to profitability for the publication.

When the publication does reach significant profitability (excluding the agency work), people may respond the same way to us regarding guest writers and submitted content. We publish quite a few posts each week from guests when we believe that our audience will benefit from the content. We don’t compensate those companies or individuals, either.

Why?

We don’t compensate guest authors (yet) because we’ve invested over a decade in growing our audience. I invest at least a quarter of my time every week in reading pitches, communicating with companies, evaluating platforms, doing podcasts, ramping up our video program, reading books, attending events and paying for the platforms that support our publication. I’m afraid to think of what that time is worth… I value it in the millions. I couldn’t pay my rent with that investment, either!

Was Wil Wheaton able to pay the rent with his blog post about Huffington Post? I don’t believe so.

Our audience is of value. We’ve paid for that reach in thousands of hours and thousands of dollars in direct investment and promotion. Payment to our guest authors comes in the opportunity to build their authority with our audience and attract them to engage with them for business reasons. Companies who have invested in writing great content with us have realized indirect revenue from those posts. So, while I haven’t paid them for the content, our audience has

For those of us who aren’t famous and are continuing to work hard to grow our authority and reach online, the opportunity to reach and attract an audience someone else continues to invest in is an excellent opportunity. I don’t believe it’s exploitation at all… it’s a mutually beneficial opportunity where the advantages can be negotiated.

The fact is that the PR professional that reached out to Wil Wheaton was paid for. So HuffPo is spending money to solicit celebrities like him. I believe Mr. Wheaton may have been able to negotiate an agreement where he would have benefitted – both directly and indirectly. Here are a few ways:

  • Book Promotion – Mr. Wheaton is an accomplished author. Perhaps he could have negotiated free promotion of his book across the Huffington Post’s vast audience. It could have been done with relevant calls-to-action on some categories or topics, or even requesting that Huffington Post reviews the books in trade. That could lead to quite a few book sales!
  • Calls-To-Action – Mr. Wheaton may have been able to negotiate a call-to-action within his Huffington Post bio that encouraged people to book Mr. Wheaton for speaking opportunities. Speaking is a lucrative revenue stream for those with celebrity status like Mr. Wheaton.
  • HuffPo Events – Along with HuffPost Live, Huffington Post also promotes and sponsors a number of regional and national events. Perhaps Mr. Wheaton could have negotiated the ability to be a paid celebrity spokesperson at those events – and even had a book signing with each.

The bottom line is that I believe Mr. Wheaton could have easily exploited an organization like HuffPo to drive a lot of attention, audience, and – ultimately – revenue to him. And that revenue does pay the rent!

Why I Work for Free

I write free content on my site, I write free content for other sites where I wish to engage in their audience, and I speak for free at events that have prospects I wish to engage with. Of course I also write paid content for our clients and I am paid to speak at other events. Sometimes, we even pay our way to a national event simply to cover it on our publication. In other words, I sometimes pay just to reach the audience at those events!

Each opportunity is evaluated based on how we may benefit from the exposure and who we might network with there. Our work for free strategy has been extremely profitable for us. The expense of one event wound up in achieving a contract we would have never gotten otherwise with a national brand. That brand led to other brands. And on and on.

So, I could have been paid a few hundred dollars for a blog post. Or, I could close some business with the audience and reap tens of thousands or even hundreds of thousands of dollars in contracts. Now you know why I work for free.

In fact, not only do I work for free – I often pay to work for free! In partnership with Dittoe PR, we’ve invested heavily in finding targeted, relevant audiences we wish to reach. The talented team at Dittoe PR pitches my talent to those publications to provide these opportunities. We continue to reap the benefits of that relationship – doing work for companies in those audiences we would have never met otherwise.

The Moral Authority

Do you ever help people without getting paid? Have you ever picked up litter and thrown it in the garbage? Have you ever provided a homeless person with cash for a meal? Why would you do that? We pay our government officials a significant amount of money to keep our streets clean and to help those less fortunate. We still do it, though, because it’s compassionate.

I don’t want to live in a world where people do nothing unless they’re compensated for it. As a business owner, I can assure you that I’d be out of business if that were the attitude I took. I have several of my friends that are short-sighted like this, and then I hear their frustration that their business never grows. I believe helping people first has been the greatest means of growing my business. And if I help someone for free, they often refer my business to great paying customers.

I’m not questioning Mr. Wheaton’s morals, but I do question the notion that a for-profit company is exploiting someone by asking them to provide their talent in trade. Is Mr. Wheaton exploiting the fact that Huffington Post has money despite the great risk and investment that they’ve made in building their community? They have paid and continue to pay for the maintenance and promotion of their publication – why is that ignored?

The Leading Edge

I’m reading The Slight Edge right now by Jeff Olson and his analogy is that of a farmer. Plant the side, cultivate it, and then reap the benefits. A farmer doesn’t get paid to plant the seed, he only gets paid when that seed is carefully cultivated and results in the fruit of his labor. I’d encourage everyone to plant seeds wherever it makes sense… you’ll yield a great crop once you do!

Join Us on Blab

Kevin Mullett and I are going to talk about this topic this Thursday on Blab in our next Marketing Cage Match! I hope you can join us.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Agreed. It is up to the author to decide whether they feel the exposure will compensate them for their time and effort. It is not the same as young freelance writers being asked to write for free (or at 6 cents/word, darn close to it) without getting author credit. (And I maintain those authors are vastly underpaid!)

    Ultimately there is a tradeoff of value and where that line is will change over time and by publication. Even when I worked as a professional freelance writer, I realized there was a hierarchy: the more boring the work & the less the recognition for it, the higher the pay. So writing technical manuals can pay pretty well. Writing fiction often ends up paying nothing but can still be deeply satisfying for the author.

    • 2

      I would still argue with money being the measurement of value. Young freelancers working at 6/cents a word or darn close to it are building a resume and honing their craft. I didn’t make any money back when I was a young professional either. As you work on your craft and become better, you become more valuable. I used to work at a newspaper where designers were treated terribly and made horrible wages, but the opportunity taught them to hone their creativity, productivity, and learn platforms they never had exposure to in school. Those skills made them much more competitive in the workplace and they were able to find incredible jobs.

      Just because you’re not getting paid today does not mean that you’re not building value and will be paid for that value later.

Leave a Reply