رائحة شيء ما مع تقييمات ومراجعات البرنامج المساعد WordPress

الروائح

يمكن أن تكون المساهمة في حركة المصادر المفتوحة أمرًا مذهلاً ، لكن هذا الأسبوع لم يكن أحد تلك الأوقات. لقد كنا نساهم في مجتمع WordPress منذ عقد من الزمان حتى الآن. لقد بنينا عددًا لا يحصى من المكونات الإضافية. لقد تقاعد البعض ، والبعض الآخر تعرض بشكل لا يصدق. لنا أداة تدوير الصورة المكون الإضافي ، على سبيل المثال ، تم تنزيله أكثر من 120,000 مرة وهو نشط على أكثر من 10,000 موقع WordPress.

أحد المكونات الإضافية التي استثمرنا مئات الساعات فيها هو CircuPress، المكون الإضافي للرسائل الإخبارية عبر البريد الإلكتروني الذي قمنا بتطويره لبرنامج WordPress. يعد المكون الإضافي بارعًا جدًا ، حيث يسمح للوكالات بإنشاء بريد إلكتروني تمامًا كما تفعل بصفحة موضوع ... ولكن إرسال البريد الإلكتروني عبر خدمتنا حتى نتمكن من إدارة تتبع النقرات وإدارة الارتداد والمشتركين والاشتراكات. لقد تطلب الأمر قدرًا كبيرًا من أعمال البنية التحتية لبدء هذا الأمر ، لكننا نعمل فيه على المدى الطويل. نعتقد أن مستخدمي WordPress يجب أن يكون لديهم نظام أساسي للبريد الإلكتروني سهل الاستخدام.

أثناء قيامنا بتكثيف النظام الأساسي ، لم نفرض رسومًا على شخص واحد لاستخدامه - رائع إذا سألتني. يقدم التسجيل إصدارًا مجانيًا إذا كنت ترسل أقل من 100 بريد إلكتروني شهريًا ، لكننا قمنا بتمديد ذلك بينما نقوم بتحويل نظام الفوترة إلى كتب مريم الدخيل لاكاديمية الثراء والعمل على إعداد النظام الأساسي لتسهيل الأمر على المستخدمين.

لدهشتي ، كان لدينا نافذة منبثقة مراجعة بنجمة واحدة على موقع البرنامج المساعد. جاهدت على الفور لمعرفة الخطأ:

مراجعة سيئة البرنامج المساعد

لذلك ... لم يسجل هذا المستخدم مطلقًا ولكنه قال إن ذلك كان موضع شك في عملية التسجيل لدينا. لقد فوجئت منذ ذلك الحين لا تطلب بالفعل معلومات بطاقة الائتمان. كان سيكتشف ذلك لو أنه أكمل عملية التسجيل ، لكنه لم يفعل.

اعتقدت أن هذا كان غير عادل بما يكفي للفت انتباه أوتوماتيك، كتابة شخص دعم البرنامج المساعد الخاص بهم:

طلب وورد

كان الرد الذي تلقيته أكثر صدمة من المراجعة نفسها. ذهبت ذهابًا وإيابًا مع الشخص في Automattic قائلاً إن موقعنا يبدو بالفعل شادي لأنه لم يتم إدراج أسعار بشكل عام. ظليلة؟

ذكرته بأننا لا تسأل عن أي بطاقة ائتمان المعلومات قبل عرض الأسعار على الشخص. وحتى مع ذلك ، لم نتحمل مطلقًا في الواقع أي رسوم على المستخدمين الأوائل. هل سبق لك التسجيل في خدمة لا تكلف شيئًا؟ أنا متأكد من أن لديك ... WordPress طلبات التسجيل دون أي معلومات عن أسعار الخدمات الإضافية. ظليلة؟

ناهيك عن أن ملف تمت الإشارة إلى صفحة التسعير في الأسئلة الشائعة من المكون الإضافي الخاص بنا. في غضون ذلك ، قمت بنشر صفحة التسعير في قائمتنا حتى لا يكون هناك أي لبس من قبل أي شخص ، ولكن لا يزال يطلب إزالة المراجعة. الإجابة:

مايك ابشتاين

لذلك ، بعبارة أخرى ، شخص اعترف به لم تستخدم خدمتنا في الواقع يُسمح بتقييم خدمتنا بتقييم بنجمة واحدة. نظرًا لأننا نعمل على مساعدة مجتمع المصادر المفتوحة وتقديم حل ميسور التكلفة ، فأنا لست متأكدًا من كيفية مساعدة هذا لأي شخص. هذه في الأساس مراجعة زائفة - يعترف المؤلف تمامًا بعدم الاشتراك أو استخدام خدمتنا.

سأشعر بشكل مختلف لو قام المراجع بالتسجيل وتقييمنا بناءً على إمكانيات المكون الإضافي - حتى إضافة أنه تمنى أن يكون السعر على الموقع سيكون أمرًا رائعًا. لكن التقييم بنجمة واحدة لشيء لم يستخدمه من قبل لا يغتفر.

أوبديت شنومكس / شنومكس: الان انا غاضب و / أو شخص متهور, غير منطقى و / أو رعشة, مجنونو غير منطقي لأنني منزعج من أن شخصًا لم يستخدم المكون الإضافي أبدًا قد أجرى مراجعة بنجمة واحدة ، واستعصى على أن خدمتنا كانت غير شريفة ، وأن أي شخص قام بالتسجيل كان غبي. الخدمة التي لم يشتركوا فيها قط.

كان بريدي الإلكتروني أدناه ، وكان ردهم في الأعلى.

Otto من WordPress

ربما حان الوقت لأن أفعل ما يفعله مطورو الإضافات الآخرون ماتي والفريق في WordPress لا يقدرون ، وتجاوز التبرع بأي وقت وجهد للعودة إلى WordPress وابدأ فقط في بيع المكونات الإضافية على موقعي الخاص. من الواضح أنهم لا يهتمون بالأشخاص الذين يدعمون منصتهم.

أوبديت شنومكس / شنومكس: اليوم ، قرر فريق المتطوعين في WordPress أنني بحاجة إلى تعليم في مجال التسويق ونصحني بأن أكون الرجل الأفضل. كان بريدي الإلكتروني أدناه ، وردهم في الأعلى.

كن الرجل الأفضل

4 تعليقات

  1. 1

    أنا أتفق معك وسير نظام المراجعة مثل مستشار الرحلة. لا توجد سياسة لضمان الجودة حول نظام المراجعات ولكن يتم استخدام المراجعات كنقطة بيع حتى للمنتجات / الخدمات التي لا تعمل كما يقولون أو تخالف سياسة الترخيص هذا غير عادل وغير احترافي. هناك أيضًا الكثير من أنظمة المراجعات / التصنيف الخارجية ولكن يمكنك رفض التقييمات المنخفضة.
    لا أؤمن بالتقييمات / المراجعات لأنها لا تدار من قبل طرف ثالث مستقل وليس لديهم أي شهادات نظام (مثل ISO أو ما شابه).
    كما أنني لا أؤمن كثيرًا بأسواق مثل إنفاتو أو ما شابه ذلك. في الماضي قدمت بعض المقطوعات (أنا موسيقي أيضًا) ولم يتم قبولها مطلقًا. الآن أنا أكتب الموسيقى لبعض شركات الأفلام.

    • 2

      هناك بعض الأنظمة التي تقوم بعمل جيد للوساطة. قائمة Angie ، على سبيل المثال ، توفر للمقاول فرصة لتصحيح الأمور وعندما يتم الاتفاق بشكل متبادل على أنه مرض ، يمكن تعديل المراجعة السيئة. من المؤسف أن تظل هذه المراجعة قائمة - فهي لا تقدم أي قيمة للمجتمع ويمكن أن تضر فقط بتبني المكون الإضافي الخاص بنا.

  2. 3

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

Something Smells with WordPress Plugin Ratings & Reviews

Contributing to the open source movement can be amazing, but this week wasn’t one of those times. We’ve been contributing to the WordPress community for a decade now. We’ve built countless plugins. Some have been retired, and others have incredible exposure. Our Image Rotator Widget plugin, for example, has been downloaded over 120,000 times and is active on over 10,000 WordPress sites. We’ve also built Teleport – a simple login menu, and most recently TweetThis Shortcode.

One plugin that we’ve invested hundreds of hours on is CircuPress, the email newsletter plugin we developed for WordPress. The plugin is pretty ingenious, allowing agencies to build an email just as they would a theme page… but sending the email via our service so we can manage click tracking, bounce management, subscribers, and subscriptions. It’s taken quite a bit of infrastructure work to get this going, but we’re in it for the long-haul. We believe WordPress users should have a native email platform that’s easy to use.

While we’re ramping up the platform, we’ve not charged a single person for using it – cool if you ask me. The registration does offer a free version if you send less than 100 emails per month, but we’ve extended that while we convert the billing system to WooCommerce and work on the setup of the platform to make it easier for users.

To my surprise, we had a 1-star review popup on the Plugin site. I immediately scrambled to see what was wrong:

bad-plugin-review

So… this user never actually signed up but said that were suspect in our registration process. I was taken aback since we don’t actually request credit card information. He would have found that out had he completed the registration process, but he didn’t.

I thought this was unfair enough to bring it to the attention of Automattic, writing their Plugin Support person:

request-wordpress

The response I received was more shocking than the review itself. I went back and forth with the person at Automattic saying that our site did seem shady because no pricing was listed publicly. Shady?

I reminded him that we DO NOT ASK FOR ANY CREDIT CARD information before presenting pricing to the person. And even then we’ve NEVER ACTUALLY charged our early adopters. Have you ever registered for a service that cost nothing? I’m pretty sure you have… WordPress requests registration without any pricing information on additional services. Shady?

Not to mention that the Pricing page was referred to in the FAQs of our plugin. In the meantime, I published the pricing page in our menu so that there was no confusion by anyone, but still requested the review be removed. The response:

mike epstein

So, in other words, someone who admittedly never actually used our service is allowed to rate our service with a 1-star review. As we’re working to help the open source community and provide a more affordable solution, I’m not sure how this helps anyone. This is basically a phony review – the author fully admits never signing up nor used our service.

I’d feel differently had the reviewer registered and rated us on the plugin’s capabilities – even adding that he wished pricing was on the site would have been nice. But a 1-star review for something he never used is inexcusable.

UPDATE 11/2: Now I’m angry, a hothead, unreasonable, a jerk, insane, and irrational because I’m upset that someone who never used the plugin gave a 1-star review, eluded that our service was dishonest, and that anyone that registered was stupid. The service they never signed up for.

My email was below, their response is on top.

Otto from WordPress

Maybe it’s time that I just do what other plugin developers are doing that Matt and the team at WordPress don’t appreciate, and bypass donating any time and effort back to WordPress and just start selling plugins on my own site. It’s obvious they don’t care about the people that are supporting their platform.

UPDATE 11/3: Today, the volunteer team at WordPress decided I needed an education in marketing and advised me to be the better man. My email was below, their response is on top.

Be the better man

4 Comments

  1. 1

    I agree with you and the review system is going like trip advisor. There is no quality assurance policy about reviews system but reviews are used as sell point even for products/services that don’t works as they say or that break licensing policy. This is unfair and not professional. There are also a lot of external reviews/rating systems but you can refuse low ratings.
    I don’t believe in ratings/reviews because they are not managed by an indipendent third party and they don’t have any system certificates (like iso or similar).
    I also don’t believe much in markets like envato or similar. In the past i submitted some tracks (i am a musician too) and they have never been accepted. Now I am writing music for some movie companies.

    • 2

      There are some systems that actually do a good job of mediation. Angie’s List, for example, provides the contractor an opportunity to make things right and when it’s mutually agreed upon as satisfactory, the bad review can be modified. It is unfortunate that this review stands – it provides no value to the community and can only hurt our plugin’s adoption.

  2. 3

Leave a Reply