حرية الكلام لا تحمي سمعتك

لقطة شاشة 2012 01 27 في 7.12.23 PM

سام مونتغمري قارئ Martech Zone واتصلوا بي بخصوص قصة موهبة كرة قدم شابة تدعى يوري رايت. تم تجنيد يوري بنشاط من قبل ولاية ميشيغان ... حتى قرأ بعض الناس تغريداته. ال تُعرض التغريدات في Chat Sports وليس آمنًا للعمل (NSFW) ... فقط اعلم أنها مبتذلة جدًا.

كان يوري رايت ، CB من نيو جيرسي ، من فئة 4 نجوم ، متجهًا إلى ميشيغان في فصل 2012. في وقت سابق من هذا الشهر ، ألقى طاقم التدريب في ميشيغان نظرة أعمق على الاحتمال بعد أن أرسل أحد الخريجين المهتمين تغريدات المدرسة الحرفية التي نشرها يوري على حسابه على Twitter والتي كانت غير مقبولة من الناحية العرقية والجنسية.

لقد تحدثت بالفعل في العديد من الجامعات عن هذا وأخبرت الطلاب بذلك كل شىء إنهم يسجلون في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي اليوم شيء سيؤثر على فرص عملهم في المستقبل. يشعر البعض بالصدمة ، ويعتقد الكثيرون أنه غير عادل ... لكن الحقيقة هي ذلك الذي المجندون في ميشيغان هو انعكاس مباشر لجامعتهم.

اختارت ميشيغان الإجراء المناسب بناءً على الموقف. أعتقد أن السيد رايت تعلم درسًا صعبًا أيضًا. أنا متأكد من أنه كان يتحدث للتو ليسجل بعض النقاط مع أتباعه ويضحك قليلاً. إذا كان ممثلًا كوميديًا ، فسيكون بخير ... ولكن بما أنه مجند في جامعة ذات رؤية عالية ، فهذا ما حدث.

كل نشاط تقوم به على الإنترنت له عواقب. هذا هو السبب في عدم وجود شيء مثل شفافية… انها أكثر عتامة. لا أبذل قصارى جهدي للإساءة إلى الأشخاص عبر الإنترنت ، لكن حتى أفقد متابعين من وقت لآخر لا يهتمون بروح الدعابة.

فقد أحد أتباعه

عندما أغرد شيئًا فظيعًا ، فأنا لا أخاطر فقط بأحد المتابعين ، بل أخاطر أيضًا برعاة مدونتي والعملاء من وكالة التسويق الداخلي. لا توجد طريقة يمكنني أن أكون شفافة تمامًا! أنا أحب النكات غير الملونة ... وكلما كانت غير صحيحة سياسياً ، زادت صعوبة ضحكتي. إنه رأيي فقط ، لكن حقيقة أن كل شخص شديد الحساسية هذه الأيام أمر فظيع - خاصة وأن حياتنا تدور عبر الإنترنت.

أستطيع أن أتعايش مع حقيقة أنني فقدت تابعًا ، وربما قارئًا ، لكنها ما زالت تزعجني. لقد أزعجني وجود شخص ما كنت أعتقد أنني لست شخصًا آخر. لكن علي أن أضعها ورائي وأمضي قدمًا. أنا لست مثاليًا ، سوف أخطئ من حين لآخر. و ... بعض الناس ببساطة لن يحبوني. إنها مجرد حقيقة بسيطة.

لكن أنا محظوظ... مسيرتي لم تبدأ. أنا لست المجند أو الموظف لدى أي شخص. لا أستطيع أن أتخيل أين سأكون في الحياة إذا كانت هناك صور على Facebook أو Twitter - أو ما هو أسوأ - Youtube عندما كنت في سن المراهقة. انا كنت تماما خارج السيطرة. ربما كنت أقوم بعمل شاق في مكان ما!

هل كان يستحق فرصة ثانية؟ نعم ... كلنا نفعل. لحسن الحظ ، حصل على واحدة عندما التقطته CU:

قال رايت "لقد ارتكبت خطأً فادحًا". "لقد تعلمت بالتأكيد درسًا قيمًا ، وأعدك بأن لا يحدث شيء مثل هذا مرة أخرى. كل من يعرفني يعرف أن هذه ليست شخصيتي الحقيقية أو من أنا حقًا. لن أجلس هنا وأحاول تقديم الأعذار لما فعلته. سأكون مجرد رجل وأقول إنني كنت مخطئا وتعلمت منه.

من يدري ... يومًا ما قد تحتاج إلى فرصة ثانية أيضًا. دعونا لا نفعل أي شيء مجنون هناك ، يا جماعة! الناس يشاهدون ... والكثير منهم لا يتمتع بروح الدعابة.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Free Speech Doesn’t Protect Your Reputation

Sam Montgomery is a reader of the MarTech Blog and contacted me regarding a story of a young football talent named Yuri Wright. Yuri was actively being recruited by Michigan State… up until some folks read his tweets. The tweets are displayed at Chat Sports and not safe for work (NSFW)… just know that they’re pretty vulgar.

Yuri Wright, the 4-star CB from New Jersey, was once though to be headed to Michigan in the 2012 class. Earlier this month, the Michigan coaching staff took a deeper look into the prospect after a concerned alumnus sent the school verbatim tweets that Yuri had posted on his Twitter account that were both racially and sexually unacceptable.

I’ve actually spoken at several universities about this and told students that everything they’re recording in social media today is something that will impact their job prospects down the road. Some are shocked, many think it’s unfair… but the fact is that who Michigan recruits is a direct reflection of their university.

Michigan chose the appropriate action based on the situation. I believe Mr. Wright learned a tough lesson, too. I’m sure was just mouthing off to score some points with his followers and get a few laughs. If he were a comedian, he’d be okay… but since he’s a recruit of a University with high visibility, this is what happened.

Every activity you take online has consequences. It’s why there’s really no such thing as transparency… it’s more opaqueness. I don’t go out of my way to offend people online, but even I lose followers from time to time that don’t care for my sense of humor.

When I tweet something risque, I’m not just risking a follower, I’m also risking the sponsors of my blog and the clients from my inbound marketing agency. There’s no way I can be totally transparent! I love off-color jokes… the more politically incorrect, the harder I typically laugh. It’s just my opinion, but the fact that everyone is so damn oversensitive these days is terrible – especially as our lives play out online.

I can live with the fact that I lost a follower and, perhaps a reader, but it still bothered me. It bothered me that there was someone out there who I thought I was someone that I wasn’t. But I have to put it behind me and move on. I’m not perfect, I’m going to slip up once in a while. And… some people simply aren’t going to like me. It’s just a simple fact.

But I’m lucky… my career isn’t starting. I’m not the recruit or the employee of anyone. I can’t imagine where I’d be in life if there were Facebook pics, Twitter – or worse – YouTube when I was in my teens. I was completely out of control. I’d probably be doing hard labor somewhere!

Did he deserve a second chance? Yes… we all do. Thankfully he got one when CU picked him up:

I made a huge mistake,” Wright said. “I definitely learned a valuable lesson, and I promise nothing like that will ever happen again. Everyone that knows me knows that’s not my true character or who I really am. I’m not going to sit here and try and make excuses for what I did. I’m just going to be a man and say I was wrong and I learned from it.

Who knows… someday you might need a second chance, too. Let’s not do anything crazy out there, folks! People are watching… and many don’t have a sense of humor.

Leave a Reply