حرية المدونة

مطبعة

عندما نفكر في الصحافة الحديثة ، فإننا نفكر في المؤسسات الإعلامية الوحشية التي أرست الأخلاق والمعايير والممارسات. نجد فيها مدققي الحقائق والصحفيين الجامعيين والمحررين المخضرمين والناشرين الأقوياء. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، ما زلنا ننظر إلى الصحفيين على أنهم حفظة الحقيقة. نحن على ثقة من أنهم قد حققوا العناية الواجبة عند التحقيق في القصص والإبلاغ عنها.

الآن بعد أن تغلغلت المدونات على الإنترنت وأصبح لأي شخص حرية نشر أفكاره ، يتساءل بعض السياسيين الأمريكيين عما إذا كان حرية الصحافة يجب أن تنطبق على المدونات. يرون الفرق بين الصحافة و على بلوق. من المؤسف للغاية أن سياسيينا لا يدرسون التاريخ ، رغم ذلك. تم اعتماد التعديل الأول في 15 ديسمبر 1791 ، كواحد من التعديلات العشرة التي تشكل وثيقة الحقوق.

لا يجوز للكونغرس أن يضع أي قانون يحترم إنشاء ديانة أو يحظر ممارستها بحرية ؛ أو تقييد حرية الكلام أو حرية الصحافة ؛ أو حق الشعب في التجمع السلمي ، والتماس الحكومة من أجل إنصاف المظالم.

أول صحيفة في العالم الجديد كانت Publick Occurences ، 3 صفحات من الكتابة تم إغلاقها بسرعة نظرًا لعدم الموافقة عليها من قبل أي سلطة. هذا ما بدت عليه تلك الصحيفة.

publick- الحدوث

بحلول نهاية الحرب عام 1783 ، كان هناك 43 صحيفة مطبوعة. كانت معظم هذه الصحف تنشر الدعاية ، ولم تكن صادقة ، وكتبت لإثارة حفيظة المستعمرين. كانت الثورة قادمة والمدونة ... سرعان ما أصبحت الصحافة مفتاحًا لنشر الكلمة. بعد مائة عام ، كان هناك 11,314 ورقة مختلفة مسجلة في تعداد 1880. وبحلول تسعينيات القرن التاسع عشر ظهرت أول صحيفة تصل إلى مليون نسخة. تم طباعة العديد منها من الحظائر وبيعها بنس واحد في اليوم.

وبعبارة أخرى، فإن الصحف الأصلية كانت مشابهة جدًا للمدونات التي نقرأها اليوم. شراء مطبعة وكتابة جريدتك لا يتطلب تعليمًا محددًا ولا تصريحًا. مع تطور وسائل الإعلام والصحافة ، لا يوجد دليل على أن الكتابة كانت أفضل ولا حتى على صدقها.

الصحافة الصفراء استقر في الولايات المتحدة ويستمر حتى اليوم. غالبًا ما تكون وسائل الإعلام متحيزة سياسيًا وتستخدم وسائطها لمواصلة نشر هذا التحيز. وبغض النظر عن التحيز ، فجميعهم محميون بموجب التعديل الأول.

هذا لا يعني أنني لا أحترم الصحافة. وأريد أن تستمر الصحافة. أعتقد أن تثقيف الصحفيين للتحقيق ومراقبة حكومتنا وشركاتنا ومجتمعنا أصبح أكثر أهمية من أي وقت مضى. لا يقوم المدونون في كثير من الأحيان بالبحث العميق (على الرغم من أن هذا يتغير). غالبًا ما نلغي فقط سطح الموضوعات بينما يُمنح الصحفيون المحترفون المزيد من الوقت والموارد للتعمق أكثر.

ومع ذلك ، لا أميز حماية الصحافة عن حماية المدونين. لا أحد يستطيع أن يظهر السطر الذي تنتهي عنده الصحافة ويبدأ التدوين. هناك بعض المدونات الرائعة التي تحتوي على مواد يمكن القول إنها مكتوبة بشكل أفضل ويتم التحقيق فيها بشكل أعمق من بعض المقالات التي نراها من منافذ الأخبار الحديثة. وليس هناك ما يميز الوسيط. تُقرأ الصحف الآن على الإنترنت أكثر مما تقرأ بالحبر والورق.

يجب أن يدرك سياسيونا المعاصرون أن المدون الحديث يشبه إلى حد كبير الصحفيين الذين حصلوا على الحماية في عام 1791 عندما تم تمرير التعديل الأول. لم تكن تلك الحرية تتعلق بدور الشخص الذي يكتب الكلمات بقدر ما كانت تتعلق بالكلمات نفسها. هل صحافة الناس أم الوسيط؟ أسلم أنه أحدهما أو كليهما. كان الهدف من الحماية هو ضمان أن يتمكن أي شخص من مشاركة أفكاره وأفكاره وحتى آرائه في مجتمع حر ... ولم تقيد الحماية بالحقيقة فقط.

أنا أؤيد حرية الصحافة ، وضد كل انتهاكات الدستور من أجل إسكات بالقوة وليس بسبب شكاوى أو انتقادات ، عادلة أو غير عادلة ، من مواطنينا ضد سلوك وكلائهم. توماس جيفرسون

يشكك سياسيونا المعاصرون في حرية المدونة للأسباب ذاتها التي سعى بها أجدادنا إلى حماية الصحافة من خلال التعديل الأول.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing, Technology

Freedom of the Blog

When we think about the modern press, we think about monstrous media corporations that have established ethics, standards and practices. In them we find fact-checkers, University-educated journalists, seasoned editors and powerful publishers. For the most part, we still look up to journalists as keepers of the truth. We trust that they have accomplished their due diligence when investigating and reporting on stories.

Now that blogs have permeated the Internet and anyone is free to publish their thoughts, some American politicians are questioning whether or not freedom of the press should apply to blogs. They see a difference between the press and the blog. It’s too bad that our politicians don’t study history, though. The First Amendment was adopted on December 15, 1791, as one of the ten amendments that comprise the Bill of Rights.

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

The first newspaper in the New World was Publick Occurences, 3 pages of writing that was quickly shut down since it wasn’t approved by any authority. Here’s what that newspaper looked like.

publick-occurence

By the end of the war in 1783 there were 43 newspapers in print. Most of these were newspapers that spread propaganda, were hardly honest, and were written to raise the ire of the colonialists. The revolution was coming and the blog… er the press was quickly becoming key in spreading the word. One hundred years later, there were 11,314 different papers recorded in the 1880 census. By the 1890’s the first newspaper to hit one million copies surfaced. Many of which were printed out of barns and sold for a penny a day.

In other words, the original newspapers were very similar to the blogs we are reading today. Buying a press and writing your newspaper required no specific education and no permit. As the media and the press evolved, there’s no evidence that the writing was any better nor that it was even honest.

Yellow Journalism took hold in the United States and continues today. Media outlets are often biased politically and utilize their mediums to continue to spread that bias. And regardless of the bias, they’re all protected under the First Amendment.

That’s not to say that I don’t respect journalism. And I do want journalism to survive. I believe that educating journalists to investigate, keep tabs on our government, our corporations and our society is more critical than ever. Bloggers don’t often do the deep digging (although that’s changing). We’re often just scraping the surface of topics while professional journalists are afforded more time and resources to dig deeper.

I don’t distinguish the protections of the press with that of bloggers, though. No one can show the line where journalism ends and blogging begins. There are some incredible blogs with materials that are arguably better written and more deeply investigated than some of the articles we see from modern news outlets. And there’s no distinguishing the medium. Newspapers are now read online more than they are in ink and paper.

Our modern politicians should recognize that the modern blogger is very much like the journalists that received protection in 1791 when the First Amendment was passed. That freedom wasn’t about the role of the person writing the words in as much as it was the words themselves. Is the press the people or the medium? I submit that it’s either or both. The goal of the protection was to ensure any person could share their thoughts, ideas and even opinions in a free society… and didn’t constrain the protection to only the truth.

I am for for freedom of the press, and against all violations of the Constitution to silence by force and not by reason the complaints or criticisms, just or unjust, of our citizens against the conduct of their agents. Thomas Jefferson

Our modern politicians are questioning freedom of the blog for the very reasons our forefathers sought to protect the press with the First Amendment.

Leave a Reply