رجال الأعمال الجشع والخوف والفاشلون

Depositphotos 1189912 م

أكبر فرق لاحظته في جميع الشركات التي أعمل بها لتحقيق النجاح مقابل الفشل هو قدرة رائد الأعمال أو الشركة على التنفيذ الفعلي. إنه لأمر محبط أن أشاهد الأصدقاء وزملائي رواد الأعمال لا يدركون نجاحهم لمجرد أنهم لا ينفذون. الخوف والجشع هما شيئان أراهما يوقفان رواد الأعمال في مساراتهم.

هنا بضعة أمثلة:

رجل الأعمال أ لديه منتج رائع يعمل ولكنه غير مطور ، بدون علامة تجارية وغير جاهز لفترة الذروة. لمدة 3 سنوات حتى الآن ، كان يدور عجلاته. لقد حصل على احتمالات مثيرة ثم هدأوا. كانت لديه فرص لشركاء موهوبين ، لكنه أضاع وقتهم وأوقفهم في النهاية. إنه يدير الأعمال الورقية القانونية ، والتسويق ، وكل ما له علاقة بالشركة لأنه يعتقد أنه يستطيع القيام بكل شيء. 3 سنوات.

  • لنفترض أن هذه الشركة ستكون 500 ألف دولار في السنة. حتى الآن ، هذا يعني أنهم فقدوا أكثر من مليون دولار بسبب تقاعسهم عن العمل.
  • لنفترض أن الشركة تقدر قيمتها بـ 5 ملايين دولار. لا يرغب المالك في التنازل عن أسهم كبيرة في الشركة لأولئك الذين يمكنهم مساعدته في الحصول عليها. يعتقد أنه إذا تخلى عن 10٪ إضافية في الملكية ، فإنه يعطي 500 ألف دولار للشريك. تذكر أن 1 مليون دولار في الإيرادات المفقودة؟ لأنه لم يقدم 500 ألف دولار للشريك ، فقد الآن مليون دولار من العائدات ... مع كون معظم هذه الأموال ملكه. هذا يعني أن عناده في التفاوض على نسبة أقل يكلفه المال بالفعل. اقتصاديات غريبة ، أعلم.
  • بالطبع ، النسب المئوية الفعلية لا تعني شيئًا حتى يكون هناك عائد وراءها. وطالما أنه قادر على الحفاظ على ملكية الأغلبية ، فإنه سيحافظ على غالبية قيمة الشركة. 100٪ من الشركة التي تحقق 100 ألف دولار سنويًا هي 100 ألف دولار. 51 ٪ من الشركة التي تحقق 500 ألف دولار سنويًا تزيد عن 250 ألف دولار في السنة. من يهتم إذا كان شريكك سوف يسحب 10٪ إضافية ... إذا كانت ستزيد أرباحك بنسبة 250٪ ؟! أنت لا تضحي بأي شيء ويتم تقييم شركتك بشكل أفضل وأنت تجني المزيد من المال.

رجل الأعمال أ لا ينفد عمله أبدًا. أو ، إذا فعل ذلك ، فقد تم بناؤه مع أشخاص ليس لديهم حقًا أي استثمار في الشركة ، لذا فهي باهتة ولا تنطلق. بعد 10 سنوات من الآن ، ما زال يخدش رأسه بشأن الخطأ الذي حدث - ربما يلوم الموهبة من حوله ، دون أن يدرك أنه كان اختياره.

رجل الأعمال ب خائف. لقد حصل على منتج جيد له حقوق نشر وعلامات تجارية وبراءات اختراع. لقد أنفق ثروة على المحامين ويقضي وقته في البحث على الإنترنت عن هؤلاء الأشخاص الذين قد يستخدمون علامته التجارية في انتهاك. لن يعمل مع أي شخص خوفًا من أن يسرقوا فكرته. لا يثق بأحد. ولأن كل أمواله مقيدة بالقوانين ويقضي وقته في مشاهدة الناس "يقترضون" فكرته - لم يتقدم منتجه أبدًا.

يأتي شيء أفضل ويدفن رائد الأعمال ب. وهو يتساءل عما حدث حتى يومنا هذا.

لا يدع رواد الأعمال الناجحون الجشع أو الخوف يعيق طريقهم. إنهم يدركون نقاط ضعفهم المهنية ويجدون المواهب للتغلب عليها. إنهم لا يهتمون إذا أصبح كل موظف مليونيرًا بالإضافة إلى ثروته ... في الواقع ، فهم يستمتعون بفرصة تكوين ثروة للآخرين. كما أنهم لا يضيعون الوقت في المنافسة أو الرافضين ... إنهم ينفذون وينفذون وينفذون.

5 تعليقات

  1. 1

    Doug – Great points. I read an article in this months Harvard Biz Review which stressed that strategy should never be separated from execution – they should be one in the same. The common saying is that most businesses fail due to lack of capital. I believe it is due to a failure in the management team. You’ve captured these points well. Thanks.

  2. 2

    التنفيذ والتنفيذ والتنفيذ. الطريق إلى النجاح هو السعي لتحقيقه وعدم انتظار وصوله إليك. نقاط جيدة هنا.

  3. 3

    بدلاً من كتابة هذا المقال غير المجدي ، لماذا لا تخرج في السوق وتصبح رائد أعمال ناجحًا بنفسك إذا كنت تعتقد أن الأمر بهذه السهولة؟

  4. 4

    بدلاً من كتابة هذا المقال غير المجدي ، لماذا لا تخرج في السوق وتصبح رائد أعمال ناجحًا بنفسك إذا كنت تعتقد أن الأمر بهذه السهولة؟

  5. 5

    حسنا! جاء شخص ما يحمل اسمًا مستعارًا مجهولًا للمشاركة برأي حول مقال يختلف معه! طريقة للذهاب إلى الإنترنت!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Greed, Fear and Failed Entrepreneurs

The largest difference I’ve observed in all the companies that I work for on success versus failure is the ability for the entrepreneur or business to actually execute. It frustrates me to watch friends and fellow entrepreneurs not realize their success simply because they don’t execute. Fear and greed are the two things I see that stop entrepreneurs in their tracks.

Here are a couple of examples:

Entrepreneur A has a great product that’s working but undeveloped, unbranded and not ready for primetime. For 3 years now, he’s been spinning his wheels. He’s got prospects hot and then they cooled down. He’s had opportunities for talented partners, but he’s wasted their time and eventually turned them off. He’s micro-managing legal paperwork, marketing, and everything that has to do with the company because he thinks he can do it all. 3 years.

  • Let’s say this company is going to be a $500k company in a year. To date, that means that they’ve lost over $1 million because of their inaction.
  • Let’s say the company is valued at $5 million. The owner doesn’t want to give up significant shares of the company to those that can help him get it off the ground. He thinks if he gives up an additional 10% in ownership, that he’s giving $500k to the partner. Remember that $1 million in lost revenue? Because he didn’t give $500k to the partner, he’s now lost $1 million in revenue… with the majority of that money being his. That means that his stubbornness at negotiating a lower percentage is actually costing him money. Weird economics, I know.
  • Of course, the actual percentages mean nothing until there’s revenue behind it. And as long as he can maintain majority ownership, he gets to keep the majority of the business’ value. 100% of a company making $100k a year is $100k. 51% of a company making $500k a year is over $250k per year. Who cares if your partner is going to pull in an additional 10%… if it’s growing your bottom line 250%?! You’re not sacrificing anything and your company is valued better and you’re making more money.

Entrepreneur A never gets his business off the ground. Or, if he does, it’s built with people that really don’t have anything invested in the company so it’s lackluster and doesn’t take off. 10 years from now, he’s still scratching his head on what went wrong – perhaps blaming the talent around him, not realizing it was his choice.

Entrepreneur B is scared. He’s got an okay product that has copyrights, trademarks, and patents. He’s spent a fortune on attorneys and spends his time scouring the Internet for those people who might be utilizing his trademark in violation. He won’t work with anyone for fear that they’ll steal his idea. He doesn’t trust anyone. And because all his money is tied up in legalities and his time is spent watching for people ‘borrowing’ his idea – his product never progresses.

Something better comes along and buries Entrepreneur B. He wonders what happened to this very day.

Successful entrepreneurs don’t let greed nor fear get in their way. They recognize their professional weaknesses and find talent to overcome those. They don’t care if every employee becomes a millionaire in addition to their wealth… in fact they relish the opportunity to create wealth for others. They also don’t waste time on the competition or the naysayers… they execute, execute, execute.

5 Comments

  1. 1

    Doug – Great points. I read an article in this months Harvard Biz Review which stressed that strategy should never be separated from execution – they should be one in the same. The common saying is that most businesses fail due to lack of capital. I believe it is due to a failure in the management team. You’ve captured these points well. Thanks.

  2. 2

    execute, execute, execute. The way to be successful is to go for it and not wait for it to come to you. Good points here.

  3. 3

    Instead of writing this futile article , why don’t you go out in the marketplace and become a successful entrepreneur yourself if you think it is that easy?

  4. 4

    Instead of writing this futile article , why don’t you go out in the marketplace and become a successful entrepreneur yourself if you think it is that easy?

  5. 5

    Alright! Some guy with an anonymous nickname came to share, an opinion, on an article he disagrees with! Way to go internet!

Leave a Reply