اضرب واهرب السبت!

قدت ابنتي إلى والدتها اليوم لقضاء عطلة نهاية الأسبوع بين الأم وابنتها. ذهابًا وإيابًا ، تستغرق الرحلة حوالي ساعتين. كنت على بعد ميل واحد من العودة إلى منزلي عندما شاهدت شاحنة بيك آب خفيفة أمامي تصطدم بالسيارة التي أمامها ... ثم أقلعت! كنت مندهشًا وغاضبًا حقًا ، لذا أقلعت من بعدها واتصلت برقم 2 على هاتفي الخلوي. سافرنا على بعد حوالي 911 أميال شمالًا ولاحظت أنني كنت أتبعها وتوقفت في محطة وقود.

سار السائق والرجل الذي كانت برفقته إلى نافذتي وسألوني عما إذا كنت أتبعهم. قلت ... "آه ، نعم" ... تقول ، "لماذا ، لم أضربك !؟"

لم أصدق ذلك !!! لذلك أخبرتها أن تجلس بلا حراك وأنني كنت على الهاتف مع الشرطة (كنت أعطيهم الاتجاهات طوال الوقت). كانت متوترة قليلاً وقالت "سأخرج من هنا" وعدت إلى شاحنتها. رأيت الرجل الذي كانت معه يتوسل إليها ، كان يعلم أنهم في ورطة. أخبرتها أنني سأكون خلفها مباشرة :).

لذلك عادوا إلى الشاحنة وأعتقد أنهم كانوا متجهين نحو الحادث ولكن بعد فوات الأوان. على بعد بضعة أميال من الطريق ، أغلقت الشرطة الشارع. في الواقع ، كان بإمكاني سماع الشرطي الذي كان يقف في الشارع يلوح بها للأسفل وكان يسمعني أقول ، "مرحبًا ... هؤلاء هم!"

لسوء الحظ ، تم القبض على طفل فقير يقود سيارة موستانج جديدة تمامًا في منتصف كل هذا وقام بتسجيل سيارة الشرطة قبل إيقاف السيدة مباشرة (نعم ، حادث ثان!). توقفت وأعطيت كل معلوماتي.

بعد ذلك ، عدت إلى الحادث الأصلي حيث أصيبت الفتاة المسكينة. لقد اهتزت حقًا لكن عائلتها أعطتني هتافًا لطيفًا لتعقب السائق.

لا أستطيع أن أخبرك لماذا فعلت ذلك ... لكنني فوجئت أنني كنت الوحيد. هذه ، للأسف ، هي المرة الثانية التي أشاهد فيها جريمة ولم أشاهد أي شخص آخر يتقدم إلى الأمام. هذا فظيع حقًا. إذا فعل الجميع شيئًا ما عند ارتكاب جريمة ، فأنا متأكد من أن معدلات الجريمة ستنخفض بشكل كبير. أثر هذا الحادث على الكثير من الناس! الفتاة المسكينة التي تعرضت للضرب ، والطفل الذي اصطدم بسيارة الشرطة ، والسيدة التي ستسجن ، وصديقةها التي قالت لي إنه طلب منها التوقف ... يا له من يوم سبت للجميع.

لا يتطلب الأمر الكثير للتصعيد عند حدوث شيء كهذا. قال لي أحدهم ذات مرة أن الأمر يتطلب شخصًا مميزًا ... لا أوافق. أنا من أشد المعجبين بالكارما ... إذا نظرت في الاتجاه الآخر ، فمن المحتمل أن ينظر شخص ما بعيدًا عندما تكون الشخص الذي يحتاج إلى المساعدة.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    شكرًا لك ، شون ... أنا لست بطلًا ، وليس مديرًا للتسويق ... لكنني حقًا جعلني أشعر بالجنون لرؤية شخص يؤذي شخصًا آخر ثم ينطلق. لحسن الحظ كان الجميع بخير ، أنا متأكد من أن النتيجة كان يمكن أن تكون أسوأ بكثير.

  2. 2

    دوغ ، رؤى تسويقية رائعة ، لكن قصة بطلك كانت مقنعة للغاية وتتطلب شجاعة. أنا سعيد للغاية لأنك لم تصاب بالرصاص ، أنا أعيش في مقاطعة كوك ، إلينوي. الكثير من الناس لا يهتمون بعد الآن ، أنا فخور بمعرفة شخص ما.
    JD

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management

Hit and Run Saturday!

I drove my daughter to her Mom’s today for a Mommy-Daughter weekend. Round-trip, the drive is about 2 hours. I was about a mile from returning to my home when I witnessed a light pick-up truck in front of me smash into the car in front of her… and then she took off! I was both amazed and really angry so I took off after her and called 911 on my cell phone. We drove about 8 miles North and she noticed I was following her and pulled over in a gas station.

The driver and the guy she was with walked up to my window and asked if I was following them. I said… “Uh, yea”… she says, “Why, I didn’t hit you!?”

I couldn’t believe it!!! So I told her to sit still and that I was on the phone with the police (I had been giving them directions the entire time). She was a little ticked and said “I’m outta here” and got back into her truck. I saw the guy she was with pleading with her, he knew they were in trouble. I let her know I’d be right behind her :).

So they got back in the truck and I think they were heading back towards the accident but it was just a little too late. A couple miles down the road the police had the street blocked off. I actually could hear the policeman that was standing in the street waving her down and he could hear me saying, “Hey… that’s them!”

Unfortunately, a poor kid driving a brand new Mustang got caught in the middle of all of this and clocked the police car right before the lady was stopped (yup, a second accident!). I pulled over and gave all my info.

After that, I headed back to the original accident where the poor girl was that got hit. She was really shaken up but her family gave me a nice cheer for tracking the driver down.

I can’t tell you why I did it… but I was surprised that I was the only one. This is, unfortunately, the second time I’ve witnessed a crime and not watched anyone else step forward. That’s really terrible. If EVERYONE did something when a crime was committed, I’m sure that crime rates would go down significantly. This accident affected so many people! The poor girl that got hit, the kid that hit the police car, the lady that’s going to jail, the friend of hers that told me he told her to stop… what a Saturday for everyone.

It doesn’t take much to step up when something like this occurs. Someone told me once that it takes a special person… I don’t agree. I’m a big fan of karma… if you look the other way, chances are that someone will look away when you’re the one that needs help.

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Thanks, Sean… I’m no hero, no marketing mogal… but it really made me mad to see someone hurt someone else and then take off. Thankfully everyone was okay, I’m sure the outcome could have been much worse.

  2. 2

    Doug, great marketing insights, but your hero story was very compelling and took courage. I am so glad you did not get shot, I live in Cook County,IL. So many people do not care any more, I am proud to know someone who does.
    JD

Leave a Reply