كيف قام فريق إبداعي ببناء بطاقة أداء تنفيذية لإثبات قيمتها في C-Suite

بطاقة الأداء التنفيذي للتسويق أداء الفريق الإبداعي

المحتوى الإبداعي عالي الجودة أمر بالغ الأهمية للتسويق الرقمي. إنها وقود أتمتة التسويق والإعلان الرقمي ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ومع ذلك ، على الرغم من الدور الضخم الذي يلعبه المحتوى الإبداعي ، إلا أن الحصول على اهتمام كبير من المسؤولين التنفيذيين بالعمل الجاري إلى وهو التحدي. يرى بعض القادة الملخص الأولي ، ويرى معظمهم النتيجة ، لكن قلة قليلة منهم يعرفون ما الذي يحدث في المنتصف.

هناك الكثير من الأمور التي تجري خلف الكواليس: تحديد أولويات المشاريع ، وموازنة موارد التصميم ، ورسائل البريد الإلكتروني ذهابًا وإيابًا ، والأولويات المتضاربة ، والتغييرات في التصميم ، والتعديلات على النسخ ، ومطاردة التعليقات ، والعديد من المهام الأخرى. سنوي مسح على مستوى الصناعة في مجالات موشن ناو يظهر باستمرار أن المبدعين يقضون حوالي 20 بالمائة من وقتهم في المهام الإدارية.

عندما تنشغل التصميمات بالمهام الإدارية ، فليس لديهم المساحة التي يحتاجونها للتركيز على الوقود الذي يتطلبه محرك التسويق. وبالتالي ، يتراكم العمل ويزداد الضغط. في الواقع ، ظل حجم المشاريع وسرعة المواعيد النهائية ومجموعة متنوعة من التنسيقات الرقمية في أهم خمسة تحديات تواجه المبدعين على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية.

لتخفيف الضغط ، يطلب القادة المبدعون المزيد من الميزانية أو الموارد ويقابلون دائمًا بالمقاومة. المشكلة ذات شقين: نعلم أن كبار القادة ليس لديهم رؤية للعمل المطلوب لإنتاج إبداعات عالية الجودة - لكن المبدعين أيضًا يكافحون لإظهار القيمة بلغة يفهمها العمل. 

لهذا النهج شيريز أوليسون، المدير الإبداعي الأول في فرانكلين للطاقة، التي اتخذت فعالة جدا. سألت فريقها التنفيذي عن المقاييس ظنوا كانت مفيدة. ثم وجدت طريقة لسحب تلك البيانات من نظام إدارة مشروع الفريق وصياغة بطاقة أداء إبداعية. 

هيكل الفريق الإبداعي

كنا نعلم أنه إذا حصلنا على دعمهم ، فسيكونون مهتمين برؤية هذه المقاييس عندما قدمناها. من السهل حقًا فهم المعلومات وهضمها بهذه الطريقة المرئية.

شيريز أوليسون ، مؤتمر Adobe MAX

المقاييس الستة الإبداعية التي يهتم بها C-Suite

يتم تحديث بطاقة الأداء كل ثلاثة أشهر وتحتوي على ستة مقاييس رئيسية. توضح هذه المقاييس بيانياً حالة ما يقرب من 1,600 مشروع إبداعي يكملها فريقها كل عام. هذه المقاييس الستة تتبع أدناه. 

لوحة تحكم تسويق الفريق الإبداعي

المقياس 1: عدد المشاريع قيد التنفيذ حاليًا

من الأفضل عرض هذا المقياس كمخطط دائري يعرض كلاً من عدد المشاريع المفتوحة والحالة الحالية للمشروع. على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون المشروع قيد الانطلاق معلقًا ، أو للمراجعة أو مع مصمم لإكماله وإغلاقه. يوضح الرقم كلاً من حجم العمل والحالة التي تحدد الاختناقات المحتملة. 

المقياس 2: إجمالي عدد المشاريع المنجزة حتى تاريخه (منذ بداية العام)

هنا يقسم الفريق إجمالي عدد المشاريع المنجزة إلى واحدة من ثلاث فئات: 

  • تلك التي اكتملت في معيار فترة من الزمن
  • أولئك الذين كانوا المسار السريع
  • تلك التي طلب أن تكون وهرع

المسار السريع المشاريع هي تغييرات سريعة للمشاريع الحالية التي لا تتطلب الكثير من أعمال التصميم. على سبيل المثال ، إعادة تحجيم رسم أو تبديل الشعارات على لافتة هي مشاريع بسيطة يمكن قلبها بسرعة. 

هرع المشاريع هي طلبات ذات موعد نهائي معجل. إليك الجزء المهم: حدد فريق Cherise المتوسط ​​أو معيار يستغرق المشروع الإبداعي 30 يومًا ليكتمل من البداية إلى النهاية. لذلك ، كان قرار تصنيف المشروع على أنه "مستعجل" يعتمد على البيانات.

المقياس 3: المشاريع ذات أعلى عدد من المراجعات حتى تاريخه

هذه قائمة من أفضل 10 لا يرغب أي شخص في الشركة في الظهور عليها. يظهر أي المشاريع تتطلب معظم جولات المراجعة. توفر اتفاقية مستوى الخدمة (SLA) التي عقدها الفريق الإبداعي مع أصحاب المصلحة ثلاث جولات من المراجعة. كمعيار ، وجد تقرير الإدارة الإبداعية الداخلية لعام 2020 أن 83 بالمائة من المشاريع الإبداعية تتطلب خمس جولات أو أقل من المراجعة. 

كيف يكون هذا المقياس مفيدًا للقيادة؟ إليك مثال جيد: مشروع واحد في القائمة تطلب 28 جولة مذهلة من المراجعة ، وهي كثيرة جدًا. هذا يهيمن على وقت الفريق الإبداعي - على حساب أصحاب المصلحة الآخرين. تعزل البيانات المشكلة - لا سيما إذا كانت مشكلة متكررة مع أي قسم أو صاحب مصلحة - ويمكن للقيادة رؤيتها وفرزها وحلها. 

متري 4: متوسط ​​وقت التصميم العملي الذي تتطلبه المشاريع

كما يوحي العنوان ، يوضح هذا مقدار الوقت - المقاس بالأيام - الذي يقضيه المصممون في المشروعات الإبداعية في المتوسط. إنه رقم جيد أن يكون لديك الآن ، ولكن من المفيد بشكل خاص تتبعه بمرور الوقت. على سبيل المثال ، عندما تقارن Franklin Energy هذا المقياس على أساس سنوي ، يمكن أن تثبت أنها قللت من مقدار وقت التصميم العملي المطلوب. 

المقياس 5: متوسط ​​عدد المشاريع لكل عضو في الفريق

يوضح هذا العدد الإجمالي للمشاريع المنجزة مقسومًا على عدد المساهمين في الفريق الإبداعي. مرة أخرى ، تظهر القيمة حقًا في مقارنات متعددة السنوات. تمكنت Franklin Energy من إظهار أن الفريق الإبداعي يكمل حوالي نفس العدد من المشاريع - حتى مع مرور وقت التصميم العملي. 

متري 6: متوسط ​​الوقت المستغرق لإكمال مشروع إبداعي.

المقياس الأخير هو متوسط ​​الوقت المستغرق لإكمال المشروع. هذا هو نفس المقياس الذي يدفع الاختراق بينهما معيارسريع التتبع ، و وهرع المشاريع. ثم يأخذ الأمور خطوة إلى الأمام ويقارن متوسط ​​الوقت لإكمال كل فئة من هذه الفئات مع الوقت الذي تقضيه هذه المشاريع في المراجعة. 

ما يوضحه هذا للمديرين التنفيذيين هو أن معظم الوقت الذي يستغرقه المشروع الإبداعي لإكماله يعتمد على الوقت الذي يستغرقه أصحاب المصلحة في المراجعة. هذا يجعل القيادة تؤكد على أهمية قيام الشركة بمراجعة المشاريع على الفور والحفاظ على سير الأمور. 

بناء الثقة والمصداقية بالبيانات

يقبل معظم قادة التسويق أن التسويق يعتمد على الإبداع. ومع ذلك ، فإن فهم ما يتطلبه الأمر لإحياء الإبداع يبدو أحيانًا أثيريًا. تزيل بطاقة النتائج الإبداعية الغموض الذي يكتنف العمل الجاد الذي يصب في المشاريع. وهذا بدوره يبني الثقة والمصداقية ويقوي العلاقة بين الإبداع والتسويق - وهذا يؤدي إلى نتائج أعمال أفضل.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

How A Creative Team Built an Executive Scorecard To Demonstrate Their Value To The C-Suite

Executive Scorecard for Marketing Creative Team Performance
Reading Time: 4 minutes

High quality creative content is crucial to digital marketing. It’s the fuel for marketing automation, digital advertising, and social media. Yet, despite the outsized role creative content plays, getting the c-suite interested in the work that goes into it is a challenge. Some leaders see the initial brief, and most see the outcome, but very few know what goes on in-between.

There’s a lot that goes on behind the scenes: prioritization of projects, balancing of design resources, back-and-forth emails, conflicting priorities, changes to design, edits to copy, feedback-chasing, and many other tasks. An annual industry-wide survey inMotionNow fields consistently shows creatives spend about 20 percent of their time on administrative tasks.

When creatives are busy with administrative tasks, they don’t have the space they need to focus on the fuel the marketing engine requires. Consequently, the work piles up and the pressure grows. Indeed, the volume of projects, velocity of deadlines, and variety of digital formats have remained on the top five challenges facing creatives for the last three years.

To alleviate the pressure, creative leaders request more budget or resources and are invariably met with resistance. The problem is two-fold: we know senior leaders don’t have visibility into the work required to produce quality creative – but creatives also struggle to demonstrate value in a language the business understands. 

That’s why the approach Cherise Oleson, the senior creative director at Franklin Energy, took is so effective. She asked her executive team what metrics they thought were useful. Then she found a way to pull that data from the team’s project management system and model a creative scorecard. 

Creative Team Structure

We knew if we got their buy-in that they would be interested in seeing those metrics when we presented them. It’s really easy to understand and to digest information in this visual way.

Cherise Oleson, Adobe MAX Conference

The Six Creative Metrics the C-Suite Cares About

The scorecard is updated quarterly and contains six key metrics. These metrics graphically illustrate the status of the roughly 1,600 creative projects her team completes every year. Those six metrics follow below. 

Creative Team Marketing Dashboard

Metric 1: The Number Of Projects Currently In Progress

This metric is best displayed as a pie chart that shows both the number of open projects and the current status of the project. For example, a project could be pending kickoff, out for review or with a designer to complete and close. The number shows both the volume of work and the status which identifies possible bottlenecks. 

Metric 2: The Total Number Of Projects Completed Tear-To-Date (YTD)

Here the team breaks out the total number of projects completed into one of three categories: 

  • those completed in the standard period of time
  • those that were fast-tracked
  • those that were requested to be rushed

Fast-tracked projects are quick changes to existing projects that don’t require a lot of design work. For example, re-sizing a graphic or swapping out logos on a banner are simple projects that can be turned around quickly. 

Rushed projects are requests with an accelerated deadline. Here’s the important part: Cherise’s team determined the average or standard creative project takes 30 days to complete from start-to-finish. So, the decision to classify a project as “rushed” was data-driven.

Metric 3: The Projects With The Highest Rounds Of Reviews YTD

This is a top 10 list that no one in the company wants to appear on. It shows which projects required the most rounds of review. The service level agreement (SLA) the creative team has with stakeholders affords three rounds of review. As a benchmark, the 2020 In-House Creative Management Report found 83 percent of creative projects require five or fewer rounds of review. 

How is this metric helpful for the leadership? Here’s a good example: one project on the list required an astonishing 28 rounds of review, which is far too many. That dominates the creative team’s time – at the expense of other stakeholders. The data isolates the issue – particularly if it’s a recurring issue with any one department or stakeholder – and the leadership can see it, triage it, and resolve it. 

Metric 4: The Average Hands-On Design Time Projects Require

As the title suggests, this shows how much time – measured in days – that designers spend with creative projects on average. It’s a good number to have now, but it’s especially helpful to track over time. For example, when Franklin Energy compares this metric year-over-year, it can demonstrate that it has reduced the amount of hands-on design time required. 

Metric 5: The Average Number Of Projects Per Team Member

This shows the total number of projects completed divided by the number of contributors on the creative team. Here again, the value really shows up in multi-year comparisons. Franklin Energy was able to show that the creative team is completing about the same number of projects – even as the hands-on design time has gone down. 

Metric 6: The Average Time It Takes To Complete A Creative Project.

The last metric is the average time it takes to complete a project. This is the same metric that drives the breakout between standardfast-tracked, and rushed projects. It then takes things a step further and compares the average time to complete each of those categories with the time these projects spent in review. 

What this shows executives is much of the time a creative project takes to complete is dependent on the time stakeholders take up in review. This gets the leadership to emphasize the importance for the company to review projects promptly and keep things moving. 

Building Trust And Credibility With Data

Most marketing leaders accept that marketing is dependent on creative. However, understanding what it takes to bring creative to life sometimes feels ethereal. A creative scorecard demystifies the hard work creatives pour into projects. In turn, that builds trust, credibility, and strengthens the relationship between creative and marketing – and that drives better business results.

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.