خائفة شديدة: تزوير الهوية والإنترنت

لوكوتوسحصل جون ستوسل من برنامج 20/20 من ABC على ملف عرض رائع الأسبوع الماضي ، خائفة قاسية: تقلق في أمريكا. قدم بيانات قوية تتحدث عن تأثير وسائل الإعلام في حياتنا وكيف تؤثر على الجمهور وخوفه.

(كان لديه أيضا ستيفن دوبنر من Freakonomics في العرض ، لذلك كان عليّ مشاهدته!)

المشكلة التي حددها هي أن معظم الأشياء التي نقلق بشأنها ليست في الحقيقة مخاطر على الإطلاق. أحد الأمثلة المذهلة هو مقارنة وجود مسدس محشو أو حوض سباحة ... تقتل حمامات السباحة عددًا أكبر من الأطفال مقارنة بالبنادق المحملة. لسبب ما ، نحن لسنا خائفين من إرسال أطفالنا إلى منزل به حمام سباحة ... لكننا لن نرسلهم إلى منزل بمسدس محشو.

هذا الأسبوع ، ضربني الخوف. سأحفظ التفاصيل الدامية ، لكنني انضممت إلى موقع للتواصل الاجتماعي يحتوي على بعض الأدوات الرائعة لبناء علاقات أسرية وتنطلق وتنمو "شبكتك" بنفسك. كانت الحيلة على الموقع هي إدخال جميع أفراد عائلتك وعلاقاتهم بك ... يقوم التطبيق بالباقي ... الاتصال بكل واحد منهم لتسجيل الدخول ومواصلة بناء الأسرة. إنه تطبيق رائع يحتوي على جميع الميزات الصحيحة ... مكون سريع الانتشار ، أداة ، قاعدة بيانات جهات اتصال ، كل ذلك في حزمة Web 2.0 الصغيرة الأنيقة.

هنا تكمن المشكلة… تدخل معلومات عائلتك. لقد قمت بالخطوة الغبية بجنون بركل الحفلة بأكملها ووضع بيانات عائلتي هناك. ثم اتصل التطبيق بكل فرد من أفراد عائلتي. بدأ الشباب في العمل مباشرة وبدأوا في بناء شبكاتهم. كانت قصة مختلفة مع كبار السن. كنت تعتقد أنني أرسلت جوازات سفر عائلتي وبطاقات الائتمان الخاصة بي عبر الإنترنت لأخذها! لقد شعروا بالرعب الشديد لأنني سأفعل مثل هذا الشيء. مرعوب!

سرقة الهوية ، سرقة الهوية !!! لقد تم التشكيك على الفور في سلامة عقلي وذكائي - والأهم من ذلك كله ثقتي. تبعت رسائل البريد الإلكتروني المشتعلة رسائل بريد إلكتروني ملتهبة ... تثقيفي بشأن هذا التهديد المذهل ومدى إهمالي في تعريض أسرتي للخطر. على الرغم من أنني لم أكن مهتمًا بسرقة الهوية ، فقد قمت بسرعة بعمل مسارات للشركة للحصول على البيانات المعنية ... وأي بيانات ذات صلة ... تم حذفها على الفور. هذا لم يوقف التوبيخ. يجب أن أخبرك ... بعمر 38 عامًا وبعد عقد من العمل خلفي في الصناعة ، كنت ستعتقد أنني كنت أسوأ شيء يحدث للشبكة منذ الرسائل الاقتحامية.

سأواجه مشكلة في هذا المنشور أيضًا ... لم ينته الأمر قريبًا. إذا تم الفصل في القضية وانتهت بجلد علني ، فلن ينقذني ذلك. أعتقد أنني خارج كل الإرادة.

جون ستوسل على حق. هذا الخوف من قبل الشركات ووسائل الإعلام هو خارج عن السيطرة تماما. الحقيقة هي أن عمل من سرقة الهوية سيتبادل أموالًا أكثر بلا حدود من سرقة الهوية الفعلية. لكنها حظيت باهتمام الدائنين والحكومة ووسائل الإعلام ، لذا ستكون في دائرة الضوء لفترة من الوقت. تم الكشف عن جميع بياناتنا في هذا شر الإنترنت وسرعان ما سيتم استيعابنا جميعًا. ليس هناك ما يوقفه. لقد انتهينا. العالم ينتهي.

أو هو؟

وفقًا إحصائيات، 69.4٪ من جميع الأسر الأمريكية تستخدم الآن الإنترنت. يوجد 210,000,000 مليون أمريكي على الإنترنت الآن. وكذلك معلومات بطاقة الائتمان الخاصة بهم ، وتاريخهم الائتماني ، وخرائط أحيائهم ، ومعلومات الضمان الاجتماعي الخاصة بهم ، ومزايا شركاتهم ، واستثماراتهم وحتى تاريخهم الطبي (الخاضع لحراسة مشددة).

واو ... مع هذه الأنواع من الأرقام ، يجب أن يكون هناك ملايين الأشخاص المتضررين من سرقة الهوية ، أليس كذلك؟ حسنا ... كلا.

وفقًا FTC، تم الإبلاغ عن 246,000 حالة شكاوى سرقة الهوية في عام 2006 (انخفض من 255,000 في عام 2005). حسنًا ، هذا واحد من كل 1 مستخدم للإنترنت ، أليس كذلك؟

كلا.

وفقًا لـ FTC ، تم تقديم 1.9 ٪ فقط من جميع شكاوى سرقة الهوية ضد الإنترنت. 4,674 شخصا. لذا فإن 98.1٪ من جميع شكاوى سرقة الهوية لم تكن مرتبطة بالإنترنت. لنقم ببعض الرياضيات…. هذه فرصة بنسبة 0.0022٪ لسرقة هويتك من الإنترنت. أو 1 من كل 45,000 شخص. 3 إلى 6٪ من سرقة الهوية حدثت بسبب خروقات للبيانات من المصدر، مع حدوث الغالبية العظمى في المؤسسات المالية كما يتم سرقتها جسديًا ، وليس إلكترونيًا.

لم أتمكن من العثور على شكوى واحدة في جميع البيانات التي راجعتها حيث تم اختراق بيانات الضحية إلكترونيًا من موقع ويب تابع لجهة خارجية. لا شكوى واحدة.

مازلت خائفة؟ الخاص بك خلاف إن التعرض للقتل أو الموت من السقوط أو الموت من حادث سيارة أو حتى من جرح من صنع نفسك أكبر من احتمالات أن تكون ضحية للاحتيال على الهوية على الإنترنت. في الواقع ، فإن فرص اصطدام كويكب بالأرض في القرن المقبل أكبر من كونك ضحية للاحتيال على الهوية على الإنترنت.

مع وضع ذلك في الاعتبار ، أود أن أضيف أن جميع حالات الاحتيال على هوية الإنترنت ، إن لم يكن معظمها ، حدثت بسبب مخطط تصيد ... حيث قام المستخدم بتسجيل الدخول إلى موقع مزيف تم وضعه هناك لغرض وحيد هو سرقة هويتك. لم يأتوا من مواقع شرعية حيث سُرقت هويات الأشخاص.

لما لا؟ هناك عدة أسباب ، ولكن السبب الرئيسي هو أن الإنترنت جيد في التوفير معلوماتك، إنه رائع أيضًا في تسجيل كل حزمة من المعلومات التي تمر عبرها. هل سبق لك أن لاحظت مدى سرعة تعقب الأشخاص بعد تقرير عن المواد الإباحية للأطفال؟ من السهل جدًا على شخص ما سرقة بعض الأوراق من مؤسستك المالية المحلية أكثر من محاولة استردادها من الويب.

في الختام ... توقف عن القلق. إلى الشركات الأمنية والإعلامية .. أوقفوا كل تجارة الخوف! بالطبع لا أنصحك باستخدام اسمك الأول ككلمة مرور وترك معلومات بطاقتك الائتمانية في ملفات التعريف الخاصة بك ، ولكن لا داعي للخوف من تسجيل الدخول إلى موقع شرعي والعثور على حساباتك المصرفية فارغة في اليوم التالي. الأمر لا يحدث بهذه الطريقة. هناك أشياء أكثر أهمية تقلق بشأنها (مثل وجود علاقة صحية قائمة على الثقة مع عائلتك).

وإذا كنت ضحية أي عملية احتيال تتعلق بالهوية، إليكم بعضًا نصيحة.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    ملصق ممتاز. لا أفهم لماذا يشعر الناس بجنون العظمة من وضع المعلومات الأساسية عن أنفسهم على الإنترنت ، خاصة وأن الكثير من ذلك يمكن العثور عليه من خلال وسائل غير إلكترونية. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، يمكنني الحصول على عناوين الأشخاص ، وأرقام الهواتف ، وتواريخ الزفاف ، وأعياد ميلاد الأطفال ، وفي بعض الحالات رواتبهم - كل ذلك دون الوصول إلى جهاز كمبيوتر (على الرغم من أنه قد يتطلب القليل من العمل الشاق). إن نشر صورة لك على الإنترنت لا يشبه بث رقم الضمان الاجتماعي الخاص بك.

    أعتقد أن جنون العظمة ينتقل إلى كيفية إعطاء الشركات الأولوية للأمن (أو ربما تكون الإحصائيات بهذه الطريقة بسبب ذلك). ستنفق الشركات الأموال على شهادة SSL وجدار الحماية ، لكن المعلومات التي تلتقطها تُطبع وتُودع في خزانة غير مقفلة في مكان ما يمكن لأي شخص الوصول إليه. بالطبع ، هناك الكثير من الشركات التي تتعامل حتى مع أمن الإنترنت بشكل سيء ، لكنني أراهن أن متوسط ​​الأعمال الصغيرة لديها أمان أسوأ نسبيًا من البنوك ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بمكتبها الفعلي من موقع الويب الخاص بها.

  2. 2

    يظهر قد يثبت TJX لي خطأ... لم يتبعوا نصائح شركات بطاقات الائتمان بشأن كيفية حماية البيانات ، لذلك تم اختراق نظامهم وسرقت بيانات بطاقة الائتمان. لا توجد فكرة عن تأثير هذه السرقة حتى الآن ، ولكنها قد تكون أكبر اختراق لبيانات بطاقة الائتمان في تاريخ الإنترنت لدينا!

  3. 3

    مرحبًا دوغ ، شكرًا على المقالة المفيدة. لم أكن أدرك مدى المبالغة في تضخيم الحقائق حتى تضع إحصاءاتك كل شيء في نصابها. أعتقد أنه لا يزال من المفيد أن يكون الناس حريصين على معلوماتهم بغض النظر. يمكن لأشياء صغيرة مثل النظر إلى عنوان الويب أن تساعد في ردع التصيد الاحتيالي (مثل رسالة بريد إلكتروني على Paypal تخبرك بمنحهم معلومات بطاقة الائتمان الخاصة بك ، ولكن العنوان أعلاه لا يحتوي على "paypal" في أي مكان من الاسم). القليل من الحس السليم والحذر يقطع شوطًا طويلاً.

    VPN على الصعيد الوطني

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing

Scared Stiff: Identity Fraud and the Internet

LocutusJohn Stossel of ABC’s 20/20 had a fantastic show last week, Scared Stiff: Worry in America. He provided solid data speaking to the media’s impact in our lives and how it affects the public and its fear.

(He also had Stephen Dubner from Freakonomics on the show, so I had to watch it!)

The problem he identified is that most of the things we worry about aren’t really risks at all. One startling example is a comparison of having a loaded gun or a swimming pool… pools kill many more children than loaded guns. For some reason, we’re not afraid of sending our kids off to a home with a pool… but we’d never send them to a home with a loaded gun.

This week, the fear hit home with me. I’ll spare the gory details, but I joined a social networking site that had some fantastic tools for building your family relationships and having your ‘network’ take off and grow on your own. The trick to the site was that you enter all of your family and their relations to you… the application does the rest… contacting each of them to login and continue building the family. It’s an awesome application with all the right features… a viral component, a tool, a contact database, all in one spiffy little Web 2.0 package.

Here’s the rub… you enter your family’s information. I made the insanely dumb move of kicking the whole party off and putting my family’s data in there. The application then contacted each member of my family. The young folks caught right on and started building their networks. It was a different story with the older folks. You would have thought I posted my family’s passports and credit cards online for the taking! They were absolutely horrified that I would do such a thing. Horrified!

Identity theft, identity theft!!! My sanity, intelligence, and – most of all my trust – were immediately put into question. Flaming emails followed flaming emails… educating me on this incredible threat and how careless I was to put my family at risk. Though I wasn’t concerned with Identity Theft, I quickly made tracks to the company to get the data in question… and any related data… taken down immediately. That didn’t stop the scolding. I have to tell you… at 38 years old and having a decade behind me in the Industry, you would have thought I was the worst thing to happen to the net since SPAM.

I’ll be in trouble for this post as well… it’s not over anytime soon. If the case were adjudicated and ended in a public flogging, it still wouldn’t save me. I think I’m off all the wills.

John Stossel is right. This fear-mongering by business and the media is absolutely out of control. The fact is that the business of identity theft will exchange infinitely more money than actual identity theft. But it’s got the attention of creditors, government, and media so it’s going to be in the spotlight for a while. All of our data has been exposed in this evil Internet and we’re soon all to be assimilated. There’s no stopping it. We’re done. The world is ending.

Or is it?

According to statistics, 69.4% of all American households are now using the Internet. A startling 210,000,000 Americans are on the Internet now. And so is their credit card information, their credit history, maps of their neighborhoods, their social security information, their company benefits, their investments and even their (closely guarded) medical histories.

Wow… with those kinds of numbers, there must be millions of people affected by Identity Theft, right? Well… nope.

According to the FTC, there were a 246,000 cases of identity theft complaints were reported in 2006 (DOWN from 255,000 in 2005). Well that’s 1 in every 1,000 Internet Users, right?

Nope.

According to the FTC, only 1.9% of all Identity Theft complaints were made against the Internet. 4,674 people. So 98.1% of all Identity Theft complaints were not related to the Internet. Let’s do some math…. that’s 0.0022% chance of getting your Identity stolen from the Internet. Or 1 in every 45,000 people. 3 to 6% of Identity Theft happened due to data breaches at the source, with the large majority happening at financial institutions and also being stolen physically, not electronically.

I could not find a single complaint in all of the data I reviewed where the victim’s data was hacked electronically from a third party web site. Not one single complaint.

Still scared? Your odds of getting murdered or dying from a fall or dying from a car crash or even from a self-inflicted wound are greater than your odds of being a victim of Identity Fraud on the Internet. In fact, the chances of the Earth getting hit by an asteroid in the next century is greater than you being a victim of Identity Fraud on the Internet.

With that in mind, I would add that all, if not most, of those Internet Identity Fraud cases happened because of a phishing scheme… where a user logged into a fake site that was put there for the sole purpose of stealing your identity. They didn’t come from legitimate sites where people’s identities were stolen.

Why not? There are a few reasons, but the key one is that as good as the Internet is at saving your data, it’s also great at recording every single packet of information that runs through it. Have you ever noticed how quickly people get tracked down after a child pornography roundup? It’s a lot easier for someone to steal some paperwork from your local financial institution than it ever would be to try to retrieve it from the web.

To conclude… stop worrying. To the security and media companies… stop all the fear mongering! Of course I’m not advising you to use your first name as a password and leave your credit card info in your profiles, but you also don’t have to fear logging into a legitimate site and finding your bank accounts emptied the next day. It just doesn’t happen that way. There’s more important things to worry about (like having a healthy, trusting relationship with your family).

And if you happen to be a victim of any Identity Fraud, here’s some advice.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    Great post. I don’t understand why people are paranoid about putting basic information about themselves on the Internet, especially since much of that can be found through non-electronic means. For the most part, I can get people’s addresses, phone numbers, wedding dates, children’s birthdays, and in some cases their salaries — all without accessing a computer (although it could require a bit of legwork). Posting a picture of yourself online is nothing like broadcasting your SSN.

    I think the paranoia carries over into how businesses prioritize security (or maybe the statistics are that way because of it). Businesses will spend the money on an SSL certificate and firewall, but the information they capture is printed out and filed in an unlocked cabinet somewhere that anyone can access. Of course, there are a lot of businesses that handle even Internet security poorly, but I’d wager that the average small business has relatively worse security than say, a bank, when it comes to their physical office than their website.

  2. 2

    It appears TJX may prove me wrong… they did not follow credit card companies’ advise on how to protect data so their system was hacked and the credit card data was stolen. No idea as to the impact of this theft yet, but it could be the largest hack of credit card data in our Internet history!

  3. 3

    Hey Doug, thanks for the informative article. I had no realized how over-inflated the facts were until your statistics put it all in perspective. I think it still helps that people are careful with their information regardless. Little things like looking at the web address can help deter phishing (like a paypal email telling you to give them your credit card information, but the address above doesn’t have “paypal” anywhere in the name). A little common sense and caution goes a long way still.

    Nationwide VPN

Leave a Reply