استثمر في الناس. لن تشعر بخيبة أمل.

الإيداع 8874763 م 2015

لقد مازحت مع عدد غير قليل من الناس أنه منذ طلاقي (وما تلاه من حل لجميع أصولي الدنيوية) ، أمضيت سنواتي الخمسة الأخيرة في الاستثمار في الناس. قد يبدو هذا غريبًا جدًا ، وآمل ألا يكون أنانيًا ، لكنني أشعر أنه من خلال تركيز انتباهي على الموجهين والأصدقاء والعائلة - سأعيش حياة أكثر خصوبة.

سألني صديق لي ، تروي ، الليلة الماضية عما قضيت معظم وقتي أفكر فيه. قبل 5 أو 10 سنوات ، ربما كان العمل أو المال أو "اللعبة" التالية. لكنني أجبته بصراحة أن أطفالي. يقوم ابني بالفعل بمعاينة بعض البرامج في IU وسيكون في سنته الأخيرة. بدأت ابنتي أيضًا في تشكيل أفكارها للمستقبل - بالتفكير في الديكور الداخلي أو الفنون والحرف اليدوية. ليس لدي أدنى شك في أن أطفالي سينجحون في كل ما يفعلونه. أحيانًا يشتكي أطفالي من كل الوقت الذي أقضيه على الكمبيوتر أو في العمل - لكن الحقيقة هي أنه لا يوجد الكثير من الوقت الذي يمر خلال يومي دون التفكير في ما أنا عليه كأب مبارك بشكل لا يصدق.

الناس يعتقدون أن أطفالي رائعين بسببي. هذا يجعلني أضحك ... لا أعتقد أن هذا هو الحال على الإطلاق. لقد كنت محاطًا في السنوات الأخيرة بموجهين رائعين وأصدقاء وعائلة وأحيانًا محترفين لمساعدتي في تربية أطفالي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لديهم أم رائعة شاركت تجاربها معهم بسهولة لمساعدتهم على اكتساب البصيرة حتى لا يخاطروا باتخاذ نفس القرارات في حياتهم. بالنسبة لي ، هذا استثمار سيؤتي ثماره أفضل من أي دولار سأكسبه في حياتي. سأعيش حياة فقيرة بسعادة إذا علمت أن أطفالي وعائلتي وأصدقائي سعداء.

إذن ... تلك هي استثماراتي في الحياة. أعتقد أن لدي حوالي 30 موقعًا الآن أستضيفها للأصدقاء والعائلة. إنه شيء لا أملك الكثير من الوقت لأفعله كما أرغب ، لكني أحاول أن أبذل قصارى جهدي بالموارد المتاحة لدي. إنه استثماري الصغير في سعادتهم.

أطلقت اليوم مدونة لصديق لي ، بات كويل. بات شخصًا كان من دواعي سروري العمل معه لبضعة أشهر. بصيرته في الأسرة ، والله ، والعمل ، والتسويق هي أشياء أعتز بها كصديق. لا أستطيع أن أخبرك كم تعلمت واستمتعت بالعمل مع بات لفترة قصيرة من الوقت. لذلك ... قمت باستثمار في طريقته ... وضعت مدونة على http://www.patcoyle.net. تسمى مدونة بات "حياتي كعميل". ربما كان الأمر أنانيًا بعض الشيء في وضع مدونة بات ولف ذراعه لمواصلة النشر! الحقيقة هي أنني أتطلع فقط للحصول على المزيد من تلك النصائح من بات التي تلقيتها كل يوم عند العمل معه! في كلتا الحالتين - أتمنى أن تتحقق من مدونة بات أيضًا.

استثمر في الناس! لن تشعر بخيبة أمل أبدًا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Invest in People. You won’t be dissappointed.

I’ve joked with quite a few folks that since my divorce (and subsequent dissolution of all of my worldly assets), I have spent my last 5 years investing in people. That may sound very strange, and hopefully not selfish, but I feel that by focusing my attention on mentors, friends, and family – that I will live a much more fruitful life.

A friend of mine, Troy, asked me last night what it was that I spent most of my time thinking about. 5 or 10 years ago, it may have been work, money, or the next ‘toy’. But I honestly answered him that it’s my kids. My son is already previewing some programs at IU and will be in his senior year. My daughter is also beginning to shape her thoughts to the future – thinking about interior decoration or arts & crafts. I’ve no doubt whatever my kids do that they will be successful at it. Sometimes my kids complain about all the time I spend on the computer or at work – but the truth is there’s not too much time that passes through my day without reflecting on what an incredibly blessed father I am.

Folks think that my kids are so great because of me. That really makes me chuckle… I don’t think that’s the case at all. I have been surrounded in recent years by wonderful mentors, friends, family and sometimes professionals to help me raise my kids. As well, they have a terrific mother who has readily shared her experiences with them to help them gain insight so that they don’t risk making the same decisions in their lives. To me, that’s an investment that will pay off better than any dollar that I will ever gain in life. I would happily live a life of poverty if I know that my children, my family, and my friends are happy.

So… those are my investments in life. I think I have about 30 sites now that I host for friends and family. It’s something I really don’t have as much time to do as I would like, but I try to do the best I can with the resources I have. It’s my little investment in their happiness.

Today, I launched a blog for a friend of mine, Pat Coyle. Pat is a person that I had the pleasure of working with for a few months. His insight on family, God, work, and marketing are things that I cherish as a friend. I can’t tell you how much I learned and enjoyed working with Pat for the short time I did. So… I threw an investment his way… putting a blog up at http://www.patcoyle.net. Pat’s blog is called ‘My Life as a Customer’. Perhaps it was a little selfish putting up Pat’s blog and twisting his arm to keep posting! Truth is, I’m just looking to get more of that advise from Pat that I got every day when working with him! Either way – I hope you check Pat’s blog out as well.

Invest in people! You’ll never be dissappointed.

Leave a Reply