هل يكافأ التسويق المسؤول؟

أخضر

سنين مضت، سيث غودين صاغ العبارة الشهيرة إذن التسويق وكتب عنها كتابا رائعا. لدي نسخة موقعة أعتز بها واشتريت كل كتاب منذ ذلك الحين. يعد التسويق القائم على الإذن أمرًا رائعًا لأن عميلك قد منحك الإذن بالتسويق لهم - اتفاقية جيدة.

لقد التقطت للتو الاقتصاد العميق: ثروة المجتمعات والمستقبل الدائم by مشروع قانون McKibben بناء على طلب من صديقه العزيز بات كويل. لقد قرأت الفصل الأول وأنا مدمن مخدرات. يتجه الكتاب نحو جانب "Save the Earth" من العمل ولكنه يقدم منظورًا مختلفًا حوله أقدره.

أنا ببساطة لست فردًا من النوع "الأخضر بالذنب". أنا حقًا شخص يؤمن بالرأسمالية والحرية. إذا كنت ترغب في قيادة سيارة دفع رباعي تحرق طنًا من الغاز ، فهذا من اختصاصك. إذا كنت تريد أن تكون غير مسؤول وأن تدمر العالم ، فابدأ وحاول. بالطبع أنا أؤمن أيضًا بتوازن القوى والديمقراطية لمحاولة إيقافك. الأهم من ذلك كله ، أنا أؤمن بالمساءلة الشخصية عن أفعال الفرد ... وهو ما يقودني إلى التسويق المسؤول.

هنا في ولاية إنديانا ، سيعطون قرضًا لشراء منزل لأي شخص تقريبًا. على الرغم من أن المنازل ميسورة التكلفة ، إلا أن إنديانا لديها واحدة من أسرع معدلات حبس الرهن نموًا في البلاد. أين هي مسؤولية الأشخاص الذين يبيعون هذه المنازل لأشخاص يعرفون أنهم لا يستطيعون تحمل تكاليفها؟ إذا وصف طبيب لمدمني مسكنات الألم التي تسبب الإدمان ، فسنكون مستعدين لإلقاء القبض عليهم. لكن المسوق غير المسؤول الذي يبيع المنتجات أو الخدمات للأشخاص الذين لا يحتاجون إليها لا يتم تربيتهم فقط ، بل يتم مكافأتهم مالياً. بيع المزيد والمزيد ... هذا هو شعار القيادة!

سأعود إلى ملاحظتي حول المساءلة الشخصية للحظة ... أعتقد أننا مسؤولون عن أفعالنا. أعتقد أيضًا أننا بحاجة إلى ممارسة الضغط على أولئك الذين يحاولون التلاعب أو استخدام احتياجات الناس ورغباتهم. يجب أن يسود التسويق المسؤول. التسويق المسؤول يعني تسويق منتج أو خدمة تعرف أن شخصًا ما يحتاجها إلى شخص يحتاجها. المسوقون المسؤولون يقدمون خدمة للمستهلكين ، مما يوفر لهم الوقت والمال…. لا تبيعهم شيئًا لمجرد بيعه.

في الفصل الأول من الاقتصاد العميق ، يتحدى مفهوم "المزيد هو الأفضل" - ثقافة تدفعها كل من الحكومة والمسوقين. نشجعك باستمرار على شراء اللعبة الجديدة ، السيارة الجديدة ، المنزل الجديد ... استهلك ، استهلك ، استهلك وستكون أكثر سعادة. لكننا لسنا أكثر سعادة. لن أخوض في التفاصيل حول هذا - كل هذا في بلدي بيان السعادة. آمل فقط أثناء قراءتي للكتاب أنه لا يصرخ "أخضر" ولكنه يدفع المجتمعات البسيطة التي تحمّل نفسها المسؤولية بشكل شخصي.

توقف عن بيع المزيد والمزيد. قم ببيع المزيد من خلال إيجاد الأشخاص الذين تعرف أنهم بحاجة إليها! إذا كان الهدف من الاستحواذ هو ببساطة تسريع وتيرة الاحتفاظ بك ، فمن المحتمل أنك لا تبيع سلعك إلى الجمهور المناسب - أو ربما ليس لديك منتج أو خدمة جيدة لتبدأ بها.

3 تعليقات

  1. 1

    لطالما كان تفكيري أنك لا تبيع حقًا ، فأنت تقدم خدمة لشخص يحتاجها. مهما كانت كبيرة أو صغيرة ، ستكون دائمًا أكثر نجاحًا على المدى الطويل (ليس دائمًا على المدى القصير) إذا كنت تضع في اعتبارك عدم "البيع" ، ولكن "الخدمة". ما لم يكن ، بالطبع ، اسمك هو RonCo ولديك بعض مكبس الثوم / مفرمة البصل / ولكن ما زال هناك نوع من الأفكار ، فستنجح مع أشخاص مثلي يحبون الأدوات ولا يمكنهم النوم لذلك شراء أشياء لا يحتاجونها. للخدمة ، هذه حقًا مهمتنا على هذه الأرض ، أليس كذلك؟

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing,

Is Responsible Marketing Rewarded?

Years ago, Seth Godin penned the famous phrase Permission Marketing and wrote a fantastic book on it. I have an autographed copy that I cherish and I’ve bought every book since. Permission-based marketing is fantastic because your customer has given you their permission to market to them – a fine agreement.

I’ve just picked up Deep Economy: The Wealth of Communities and the Durable Future by Bill McKibben at the behest of good friend Pat Coyle. I’ve read the first chapter and I’m hooked. The book edges toward the ‘Save the Earth’ side of the business but provides a different perspective on it that I appreciate.

I’m simply not a ‘green by guilt’ type of individual. I am truly a person who believes in capitalism and freedom. If you want to go drive an SUV that burns a ton of gas, that’s your prerogative. If you want to be irresponsible and destroy the world, then go ahead and try. Of course I also believe in the balance of power and democracy to try to stop you. Most of all, I believe in personal accountability for one’s actions… which brings me to responsible marketing.

Here in Indiana, they’ll give a home loan to practically anyone. Although the homes are affordable, Indiana has one of the fastest growing foreclosure rates in the country. Where is the accountability for people who sell these homes to people who they know can’t afford them? If a Doctor prescribed addictive pain killers to an addict, we’d be ready to throw them in jail. But an irresponsible marketer who sells products or services to people who don’t need them is not only patted on the back, they are financially rewarded. Sell more to more… that’s the driving motto!

I’ll return to my note about personal accountability for a moment… I do believe that we’re responsible for our own actions. I also think we need to apply pressure to those who try to manipulate or use peoples’ needs and wants. Responsible marketing should prevail. Responsible marketing means marketing a product or service you know someone needs to someone who needs it. Responsible marketers do consumers a favor, saving them time or money…. not sold them something just for the sake of selling it.

Within the first chapter of Deep Economy, it challenges the notion of ‘more is better’ – a culture that both government and marketers push. You’re consistently encouraged to buy the new toy, the new car, the new house… consume, consume, consume and you’ll be happier. But we aren’t happier. I won’t go into detail on this – it’s all in my Happiness Manifesto. I just hope as I read the book that it doesn’t scream ‘green’ but does push minimalistic societies that hold themselves personally accountable.

Stop selling more to more. Sell more by finding the people you know need it! If the goal of your acquisition is simply to out pace your retention, you’re probably not selling your goods to the right crowd – or perhaps you don’t have a good product or service to begin with.

3 Comments

  1. 1

    My thought has always been that you aren’t really selling, you are providing a service to someone that needs it. No matter how big or small, you will always be more successful in the long run (not always the short run) if you keep in mind to not “sell”, but “serve”. Unless, of course, your name is RonCo and you’ve got some garlic press/onion chopper/butwaitthere’smore kind of idea, then you’ll be successful with people like me that love gadgets and can’t sleep therefore are lulled into purchasing things they don’t need. To serve, that is really our mandate on this Earth, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply