إنها آخر 10 في المائة

في الأشهر القليلة الماضية ، كان لدينا ما لا يقل عن عشرة إصدارات من الوظائف الجديدة في تطبيقنا وعمليات التكامل الخاصة بنا. لسوء الحظ ، لدينا أيضًا بعض المشاريع التي بدأت منذ عدة أشهر قبل وصولي والتي لا تزال غير جاهزة للإنتاج. ليس خطأ الفريق ، لكن مسؤوليتي الآن هي الوصول إلى الإنتاج.

ليس هناك شك في أن لدي الفريق المناسب والتكنولوجيا المناسبة. لكن 90٪ من العمل تم إنجازه لفترة طويلة جدًا.

هذه هي الخطة التي ستساعدك على تجاوز الـ 10٪ الماضية:

مقدم عصبي

  1. اطلب من مطوريك إظهار الوظيفة.
  2. تغييرات طلب المستندات بتفاصيل كبيرة والحصول على قبول من الفريق حول سبب الحاجة إلى إجراء هذه التغييرات.
  3. احصل على اتفاق بشأن موعد استكمال التغييرات بحلول.
  4. حدد موعد العرض التالي.
  5. انتقل إلى الخطوة 1.

بمجرد أن يتأخر المشروع ، تزيد المخاطر في الواقع أنه سيتأخر مرة أخرى. في الوظائف السابقة ، سمعت في الواقع تنهدات ارتياح عندما تم كسر الموعد النهائي ... لأنه يشتري المزيد من الوقت لإكماله. يريد الموظفون دائمًا القيام بعمل رائع ويحب المطورون بشكل خاص إظهار مواهبهم.

كان لدينا عرض توضيحي منذ أسبوع أو نحو ذلك لم يكن جيدًا. ظهر المطورون في وقت متأخر ، وبدأوا طلبًا يدويًا مع تطبيقهم (نوع من الاختراق) ، ثم فشلت المعاملة. عندما فشلت ، ساد الصمت. ومزيد من الصمت. وبعض أكثر. تحدثنا من خلال بعض الحلول الممكنة ثم أغلقنا العرض بأدب.

بعد العرض ، تحدثت إلى مدير التطوير وأكد لي أن المشروع قد اكتمل بنسبة 90٪.

شرحت له أن 90٪ تعني 0٪ في المبيعات. 90٪ تعني أن الأهداف لم تتحقق. 90٪ تعني أن التوقعات الموضوعة مع العملاء المحتملين والعملاء لم تتحقق. بينما أوافق على أن 90٪ هي غالبية العمل ، إلا أنه لن ينجح حتى اكتمال آخر 10٪. هذا يضيف ما يصل إلى 100٪ بالمناسبة ؛).

هذا الأسبوع ، رأينا العرض التوضيحي مرة أخرى وكان شيئًا جميلًا. نحن الآن بصدد تعديل المنتج النهائي وأنا واثق من أننا سنصدره في الأسابيع القادمة عندما نلتزم بعملائنا. لقد سمحت للفرق بمعرفة مدى روعة العمل الذي قاموا به ومدى تقديرنا للعمل. انها ليست homerun… هذا سيكون عندما نكون جاهزين للإنتاج ولكن القواعد محملة بالتأكيد.

بعض النصائح الإضافية:

  • اتفقنا دائما على المواعيد النهائية.
  • بعد كل تغيير في المتطلبات ، أعد تقييم الجدول الزمني وتوصل إلى اتفاق مرة أخرى.
  • حدد موعدًا للمظاهرة مع تخصيص الكثير من الوقت للفريق للتحضير.
  • ضع التوقعات للمظاهرة. دع الفريق يعرف أنك متحمس!
  • اجعل الفريق يشعر بالراحة لأنك تعلم أن المشاكل قد تنشأ ، فأنت ببساطة تأمل ألا يحدث ذلك.
  • كن داعمًا ، لا تنتظر الفشل ثم هاجم.
  • المديح في الأماكن العامة ، كن نقديًا في السر.
  • لا تستخدم العرض التوضيحي ، تحت أي ظرف من الظروف ، كفرصة للتحفيز بالإحراج. ستحفز المبرمجين على البحث عن وظيفة فقط!
  • احتفل بالنجاح.

تذكر أن آخر 10٪ هي الأصعب. إنها الـ 10٪ الأخيرة التي تصنع الأعمال وتكسرها. التخطيط والإعداد والتنفيذ في آخر 10٪ سيحدث فرقًا كبيرًا.

تعليق واحد

  1. 1

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

It’s the Last 10 Percent

In the last few months, we’ve had at least a dozen releases of new functionality in our application and our integrations. Unfortunately, we also have a few projects that were started many, many months ago prior to my arrival that still aren’t ready for production. It’s not the team’s fault, but it’s now my responsibility to get to production.

There’s no question that I have the right team and the right technology. But 90% of the work has been done for too long.

Here’s the plan to get us over the last 10%:

Nervous Presenter

  1. Have your developers demonstrate the functionality.
  2. Document request changes with great detail and gain acceptance from the team on why those changes need to be made.
  3. Gain agreement on when the changes will be completed by.
  4. Schedule the next demonstration.
  5. Go to step 1.

Once a project gets delayed, the risk actually increases that it will get delayed again. In past jobs, I’ve actually heard sighs of relief when a deadline was broken… because it buys more time for completion. Employees always want to do a great job and developers especially love to show off their talent.

We had a demo a week or so ago that didn’t go over too well. The developers showed up late, they initiated a request manually with their application (a bit of a hack), and then the transaction failed. When it failed, there was silence. And more silence. And some more. We talked through some possible solutions and then politely closed the demo.

After the demo, I spoke to the development director and he assured me that the project is 90% complete.

I explained to him that 90% means 0% in sales. 90% means that the goals were not met. 90% means that the expectations set with prospects and customers have not been met. While I agree that 90% is the majority of the work, it’s not a success until that last 10% is completed. That adds up to 100% by the way ;).

This week, we saw the demo again and it was a thing of beauty. We’re now tweaking the final product and I’m confident we’ll release in upcoming weeks when we’ve committed to our clients. I let the teams know how great a job they did and how much we appreciated the work. It’s not a homerun… that will be when we’re production ready but the bases are definitely loaded.

Some additional advice:

  • Always have agreed upon deadlines.
  • After every change in requirements, re-assess the timeline and come to agreement again.
  • Schedule the demonstration with lots of time for the team to prepare.
  • Set the expectations for the demonstration. Let the team know that you’re excited!
  • Put the team at ease that you know that problems may arise, you simply hope they won’t.
  • Be supportive, don’t wait for failure then attack.
  • Praise in public, be critical in private.
  • Do not, under any circumstances, use the demonstration as an opportunity to motivate with embarrassment. You’ll only motivate your programmers to look for a job!
  • Celebrate success.

Remember that the last 10% is the toughest. It’s the last 10% that makes and breaks business. Planning, preparation and execution on the last 10% will make all the difference.

One comment

  1. 1

Leave a Reply