التعليم بسرعة التكنولوجيا

التعليم

الليلة الماضية أتيحت لي الفرصة للتحدث إلى CIT 499 class at IUPUI لل الدكتور توماس هو. لقد كان فصلًا دراسيًا متفاعلًا ، يتكون من بعض الطلاب الذين لم يدخلوا مكان العمل ، والبعض ممن دخلوا ، والبعض الآخر الذين كانوا يعملون حاليًا في مجال التكنولوجيا.

أثناء حديثي معهم ، شاركت ببساطة تجربتي حول كيفية بدء الشركات في تبني (أو إجبارها على تبني) وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للتسويق. يشمل هذا التسويق كلا من نماذج الاستبقاء والاستحواذ. تحاول الشركات التكيف ، لكننا نعلم مدى بطء تغيير بعض الشركات.

نظامنا التعليمي مجبر على التغيير أيضًا. لقد شاركت هذا الفيديو الرائع ايمي ستارك أرسل لي للفصل:

آمل أن أكون قد تركت انطباعًا لدى الفصل عن بعض العناصر المحددة للغاية:

  • بالنسبة لخريجي CIT الذين يدخلون في البنية التحتية ، فهذه فترة رائعة نعيش فيها - حيث تنتقل قوة الحوسبة من الأجهزة المشتراة إلى السحب البعيدة. إنه يغير الطريقة التي نبني بها البرامج ونقدمها ، وكيف ننشر هذا البرنامج ، وكيف نبدأ أعمالًا تجارية جديدة عبر الإنترنت. لقد ذكرت للمجموعة أنه ينبغي عليهم القيام بجولة في BlueLock الخاصة بإنديانابوليس لزيارة استضافة مُدارة وكذلك البيئة Eastgate Mall من Lifeline يزور مستقبل زراعة البيانات.
  • بالنسبة لخريجي CIT الذين يدخلون البرمجيات ، فإن "البرمجيات كخدمة" هي المستقبل الوحيد. النموذج القديم لبناء ونشر البرامج على الوسائط معيب ومكلف ويفتقر إلى الإمكانات غير المحدودة التي توفرها SaaS. لا يزال العديد من الأشخاص يفضلون النموذج القديم لنشر البرامج - وأنا أزعم أن عمل SaaS هو نموذج استثنائي يسمح للشركات بتمويل النمو بشكل أسرع ، وتحقيق الأرباح في وقت أقرب ، والاستمرار في تعزيز تجربة المستخدم بأقل قدر من الاستثمار.
  • لأي طالب جامعي ، لا أستطيع أن أضغط إدارة السمعة كافية. تثقيف طلابنا حول بناء سمعة عبر الإنترنت - إما عن طريق بناء المشاريع ونشرها على الويب ، والتدوين عنها ، والانضمام إلى الشبكات الاجتماعية ، والانضمام محترف الشبكات لبدء رعاية العلاقات المهنية هي جميع الخطوات اللازمة للخروج من الكلية والدخول في حياة مهنية ناجحة ، وأعتقد أننا جميعًا نتفق على أنه ، في الوقت الحالي ، أيام التوظيف الجماعي من قبل الشركات تجعلك تمشي في سمين ذهب العمل منذ فترة طويلة. من خلال الاتصال بالإنترنت في وقت أقرب ، وتطوير وجود مهني ، والبدء في مقابلة المحترفين الإقليميين والترحيب بهم - قد يكون لديك فرصة في بعض الأبواب المفتوحة.

بفضل الدكتور توماس هو ورئيس CILT ستيفن هوندلي في IUPUI لإتاحة الفرصة لمشاركة ما تعلمته مع الفصل. لا أستطيع أن أقول ما يكفي عن مدى روعة الموظفين والمرافق في IUPUI - وجعلهم منفتحين على رواد الأعمال الإقليميين وأفراد وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مثلي يُظهر مدى تفانيهم في نقل التعليم بسرعة التكنولوجيا!

تتمتع IUPUI أيضًا بمكانة خاصة في قلبي لأنها المكان الذي يذهب إليه ابني حاليًا في المدرسة. بيل هو طالب مع مرتبة الشرف في IUPUI في كل من الرياضيات والفيزياء ، وهو مدرس معمل الرياضيات وقد بدأ في إجراء بعض أبحاث الفيزياء هناك. لقد كانت IUPUI مؤسسة رائعة - تقدم ابني وتشجعه على التوسع في فرص جديدة وصعبة كل يوم. تم ترشيحه مؤخرًا من قبل طاقم العمل لـ منحة باري جولدووتر!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management, Search Marketing, Technology

Education at the Speed of Technology

Last night I was given the opportunity to speak to the CIT 499 class at IUPUI for Dr. Thomas Ho. It was an engaged class, composed of some students that hadn’t entered the workplace, some who had, and some who were currently working in technology.

In speaking to them, I simply shared my experiences on how businesses are beginning to adopt (or being forced to adopt) social media for marketing. This marketing includes both retention and acquisition models. Businesses are trying to adjust, but we know how slow some companies are to change.

Our education system is being forced to change as well. I shared this incredible video that Amy Stark sent to me for the class:

I hope that I left an impression with the class on some very specific items:

  • For our CIT graduates getting into Infrastructure, this is an incredible period we’re living in – where computing power is moving from purchased hardware to remote clouds. It’s changing how we’re building and delivering software, how we’re deploying that software, and how we’re starting new online businesses.I mentioned to the group that they should take a tour of Indianapolis’ own BlueLock to visit a managed hosting environment as well as Lifeline’s Eastgate Mall to visit the future of datafarming.
  • For our CIT graduates getting into software, Software as a Service is the only future. The old model of building and deploying software on media is flawed, expensive, and lacks the unlimited potential that SaaS does.Many people still favor the old model of software deployment – I’d argue that the business of SaaS is an extraordinary model that allows businesses to fund growth quicker, become profitable sooner, and continue to enhance the user experience with minimal investment.
  • For any college student, I can’t stress reputation management enough. Educating our students on building an online reputation – either by building projects and deploying them to the web, blogging about them, joining social networks, and joining professional networks to begin nurturing professional relationships are all steps needed to step out of college and step into a successful career.I think we’d all agree that, for the time being, the days of massive recruitment by companies to have you walk into a fat job are long gone. By getting online sooner, developing a professional presence, and beginning to meet and greet with regional professionals – you may have a shot at some few open doors.

Thanks to Dr. Thomas Ho and CILT Chair Stephen Hundley at IUPUI for the opportunity to share what I’ve learned with the class. I can’t say enough about how incredible the staff and the facilities are at IUPUI – and having them open up to regional entrepreneurs and social media folks like me shows how dedicated they are at moving education at the speed of technology!

IUPUI also has a special place in my heart because it’s where my son is currently going to school. Bill is an honors student at IUPUI in both Math and Physics, a Math lab tutor and he’s beginning to do some Physics research there. IUPUI has been an amazing institution – offering and encouraging my son to expand into new and challenging opportunities every day. He’s recently been nominated by the staff for the Barry Goldwater scholarship!

Leave a Reply