أعظم روائع بلدي

يفهم أقرب أصدقائي مدى شغفي بمهنتي. يجب أن أخبرك أنه بغض النظر عن مدى صعوبة محاولتي تحسين نفسي في المشروع والتوظيف والوظيفة ... فهي تتضاءل مقارنة بما لدي في المنزل ، يا ابني مشروع قانون وابنته كاتي. إذا قابلت قدري غدًا ، فسأغادر هذا العالم وأنا أعلم أنني تركت شابًا وفتاة مراهقة موهوبين ، وسعيد ، وغير أناني ، ومحب ، وصادق ، ومجتهد.

بيل مان

يذهلني ابني في كل مرة يلتقط فيها جيتارًا أو ميكروفونًا أو يمزج موسيقاه الخاصة على جهاز الكمبيوتر الخاص به. لقد بدأ في IUPUI، حاصل على درجة في الفيزياء وقد يكون ثانويًا في أي عدد من المجالات ، بما في ذلك الفرنسية أو الهندسة الصوتية أو العلوم السياسية. ستحتاج إلى الاستماع إلى بعض موسيقاه على موقعه لسماع موهبته ، لكنني أعتقد أنك ستوافقين.

في نهاية كل أسبوع أو نحو ذلك ، يقضي الأطفال وقتًا ممتعًا مع أمهم. على الرغم من أننا انفصلنا عن أكثر من 5 سنوات ، إلا أنها علاقة جيدة بيننا جميعًا وكل منا يحمل الآخر في الاعتبار. لا يجب على الأطفال أن يسمعوا منا المعركة أبدًا ، لأن هدفنا كله هو أن يكونوا سعداء وأن يفعلوا كل ما في وسعنا لتحقيق ذلك.

على سبيل المثال ، طلبت بعض بطاقات التخرج لبيل لكي يجمع له بعض المال من أجل الكلية. إنه يحتاج إلى سيارة وسيحتاج إلى بعض المال للكتب ، وأعتقد أنه سيكون على ما يرام في الرسوم الدراسية ولكن قد يستغرق الأمر قرضًا. سوف نرى. على أي حال ، أرسلت والدته جميع الإعلانات إلى عائلتها وأصدقائها وعائلتي وأصدقائي. هذا رائع. (لأي من الوالدين المطلقين أو المطلقين ... إنه يتعلق بالأطفال!)

نقضي 45 دقيقة بالسيارة نغني عقولنا. يجب أن يعتقد الأشخاص الذين يقودون السيارة أننا مجانين وأن الضيف النادر في محرك الأقراص عادة ما يقفز في العرض معنا. المفضل لدينا هو Bat out of Hell بواسطة Meatloaf ... لكننا نستمع ونغني لكل شيء. هناك محطتان من السبعينيات والثمانينيات على الطريق ، لذا لا يوجد شيء خارج الحدود.

وعندما نغني ، نضع كل شيء فيه ... كلما زاد عدد النحيب المسرحي والآذان ، كان ذلك أفضل. (نحن نقاطع الغناء من حين لآخر من أجل لعبتي المفضلة ، "تخمين تلك القذيفة"). بحلول الوقت الذي نصل فيه إلى المخرج 50 ب ، فإننا عادة ما نقطع أنفاسنا ونفقد الصوت ونضحك بجنون.

شوقا بوغا

قبل شهرين ، شاركت ابنتي في مسابقة غنائية إنديانا في بلومنجتون. لقد كانت كارثة تقريبًا - سقط المفتاح الأول ونسيت كاتي الأغنية بأكملها. بكت ، وألّفت نفسها ، وبدأت تغني من جديد. لم أساعدها - كنت أعلم أنها يجب أن تتراجع (لكن الصبي عانقناها بعد أن انتهت). انتهيت كاتي من القيام بعمل جميل وحصلت على الميدالية الذهبية.

كانت الليلة حفلة الربيع في مدرسة Greenwood Middle School لجوقات الصف السادس والسابع والثامن. كاتي لديها أغنية منفردة ، "بورتريه باللون الأزرق" وكانت تغنيها لمدة شهر في جميع أنحاء المنزل. أعطيتها نصيحة صغيرة واحدة قبل أن تذهب الليلة - ابحث عن مكان وحدق فيه. كان هناك بضع مئات من الآباء والطلاب في الحفلة الموسيقية الليلة لذلك علمت أنها ستكون متوترة. قبل أن تتابع ، أخبرتني أنها تغني الأغنية من أجلي.

نجاح باهر

لقد كنت أفكر في كاتي طوال اليوم ومدى نجاحها. وصبي ، فعلت! خافت منفردة في صالة الألعاب الرياضية وتحولت رؤوس الناس. ليس لدي كاميرا فيديو جيدة جدًا ولكنني أخرجت هاتف كاميرا المساعد الرقمي الشخصي وسجلت الحدث. أعتذر عن مدى فظاعة الجودة والصوت ليس مرتفعًا جدًا ، لكن يمكنك بالتأكيد سماع كاتي تغني البلوز.

سأكون كاذبًا إذا قلت إنه ليس لدي دموع في عيني. لا يمكنني التعبير بالكلمات عن مدى روعته. استدار الناس من حولي وقالوا ، "أهي ابنتك؟ كانت رائعة! ". نظرة واحدة على كاتي ويمكنني أن أرى مدى سعادتها. أطفالي هم أعظم روائع بلدي.

لن يقترب شيء من أي وقت مضى.

7 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 3

    إنه لأمر مدهش مدى سرعة نمو الأطفال.

    وكما اقتباس اليوم: "الوراثة هي ما يؤمن به آباء الأطفال الأذكياء."

    ويا ، ألم تكن أنت من تدوّن عن استضافة محتوى خاص به؟ ومع ذلك ، فإن آخر مقطعين من مقاطع الفيديو حيث كلا من youTubeGoogled؟

  3. 4

    وظيفة جميلة دوغ. لدي ابن في الطريق ، ولا يسعني إلا أن أتمنى أن أكون والدًا جيدًا له.

    أعتقد أيضًا أنه من الرائع أن تكون قادرًا على الحفاظ على هذه العلاقة الصحية مع زوجتك السابقة. كما تقول ، إنها مخصصة للأطفال ، ولا تساعد حقًا إذا كنت تقاتل طوال الوقت وتلعب الأطفال بعيدًا عن بعضهم البعض مثل نوع من لعبة العقل الملتوية. كان لدي أصدقاء نشأوا مع والدي مثل هذا ، ومن المحزن حقًا رؤيتهم.

    • 5

      مبروك براندون! لقد ارتكبت الكثير من الأخطاء في طريقي ، صدقوني. لقد قلت لأولادي أشياء أعلم أنها تؤذيهم عندما كنت غاضبًا وأحيانًا لا أعطيهم الاهتمام الذي يستحقونه. لكن في كل مرة سنبتعد عن بعضنا البعض ، نقول لبعضنا البعض أننا نحب بعضنا البعض - حتى عندما نكون غاضبين. ونحن نعانق ... كثيرا!

      لقد كنت أيضًا صادقًا مع أطفالي بشأن الأخطاء التي ارتكبتها وأعتذر عندما أخطأت معهم. بقدر ما أستطيع ، أسمح لهم باتخاذ قراراتهم الخاصة ومن ثم نناقش عواقب تلك القرارات.

      ابني يمزح عن مدى قرب صداقتنا. نتسكع كما يفعل أي من أصدقائه. بالنسبة لـ IUPUI ، سيعيش بالفعل في المنزل! ما زلت الرئيس (في الوقت الحالي).

      • 6

        دوغلاس ، كان ذلك لطيفًا جدًا. شكرا لتقاسم معنا جميعا. من المثير للاهتمام كيف تلعبون جميعًا الألعاب في السيارة. أنتم أطفال محظوظون بوجودكم ... بارك الله فيكم !!

        رماد

      • 7

        شكرًا دوغ - أتطلع حقًا لأن أكون والدًا ، لكن أجد نفسي قلقًا بشأن القيام بعمل جيد وعدم إفساد أطفالي.

        أعتقد أن ما تقوله عن الصدق معهم بشأن الأخطاء التي ارتكبتها في حياتك ، والسماح لهم باتخاذ قراراتهم بأنفسهم هو بالتأكيد السبيل للذهاب. هناك بعض الدروس التي عليك تعلمها بنفسك ، حتى لو كان ذلك صعبًا.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management

My Greatest Masterpieces

My closest friends understand how passionate I am about my craft. I have to tell you that no matter how hard I try to better myself in project, employment, career… it pales in comparison to what I have at home, my son Bill and daughter Katie. If I met my fate tomorrow, I would leave this world knowing that I have left a young man and teenage girl that are talented, happy, unselfish, loving, honest, and hard-working.

Bill-Man

My son amazes me every time he picks up a guitar, microphone, or mixes his own music on his PC. He’s starting at IUPUI, taking on a Physics degree and he may minor in any number of areas, including French, Acoustical Engineering, or Political Science. You’ll need to listen to some of his music on his site to hear his talent, but I think you’ll agree.

Each weekend or so, the kids spend cherished time with their Mom. Though we’ve been divorced for over 5 years, it’s a good relationship that we all have and each of us holds the other in high regard. The kids never have to hear us battle, since our entire goal is for them to be happy and do whatever we can to make it so.

One example, I ordered some graduation cards for Bill to raise some money for him for college. He needs a car and will need some money for books, I think he’ll be okay on tuition but it may take a loan still. We’ll see. Anyways, his Mom sent all the announcements out to her family and friends and my family and friends. That’s pretty cool. (To any parents getting divorced or that are divorced… it’s ABOUT THE KIDS!)

We spend the 45 minute drive singing our brains out. People driving by must think we’re crazy and the rare guest on the drive usually jumps right in the show with us. Our favorite is Bat out of Hell by Meatloaf… but we listen and sing to everything. There are a couple 70s and 80s stations on the way so nothing is off limits.

And when we sing, we put everything into it… the more theatrics and ear-piercing wails, the better. (We do interrupt the singing once in a while for my favorite game, “Guess that roadkill”). By the time we get to Exit 50B, we’re usually out of breath, out of voice, and laughing like crazy.

Suga-Buga

A couple months ago, my daughter took part in an Indiana singing contest in Bloomington. It was almost a catastrophe – the first key landed and Katie forgot the entire song. She cried, composed herself, and started singing again. I didn’t help her – I knew she had to pull herself back (but boy did we hug after she was done). Katie wound up doing a beautiful job and landed the Gold.

Tonight was the Spring Concert at Greenwood Middle School for the 6th, 7th, and 8th grade choirs. Katie had a solo, “Portrait in Blue” and has been singing it for a month around the house. I gave her one tiny piece of advise before she went on tonight – find a spot and stare at it. There was a couple hundred parents and students at the concert tonight so I knew she’d be nervous. Before she went on, she told me that she was singing the song for me.

Wow

I’ve been thinking about Katie all day today and how well she would do. And boy, did she! Her solo bellowed in the gym and peoples’ heads turned. I don’t have a very good video camera but I did pull out my PDA camera phone and recorded the event. I apologize for how terrible the quality is and the sound isn’t very loud, but you can sure hear Katie singing the blues.

I would be lying if I said that I didn’t have tears in my eyes. I can’t express in words how incredible it was. People around me turned and said, “Is that your daughter? She was fantastic!”. One look at Katie and I could see how happy she was. My kids are my greatest masterpieces.

Nothing will ever come close.

7 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 3

    It’s just amazing how fast kids grow up.

    And as the quote of the day: “Heredity is what parents of smart children believe in.”

    And, hey, wasn’t it you who blogged about hosting one’s own content? Yet the last two videos where both youTubeGoogled?

  3. 4

    Beautiful post Doug. I have a son on the way, and I can only hope that I’ll be able to be as good a parent to him.

    I also think it’s wonderful that you are able to maintain such a healthy relationship with your ex-wife. As you say, it’s for the kids, and it really doesn’t help if you’re fighting all the time and playing the kids off each other like some sort of twisted mind game. I had friends growing up with parents like that, and it’s really sad to see.

    • 5

      Congratulations Brandon! I’ve made a ton of mistakes on the way, believe me. I’ve said things to my kids that I know hurt them when I was angry and sometimes I don’t give them the attention they deserve. But every time we’re going to be away from each other we tell each other we love one another – even when we’re angry. And we hug… a lot!

      I’ve also been honest with my kids about the mistakes I’ve made and I apologize when I’ve done things wrong with them. As much as I can, I allow them to make their own decisions and then we discuss the consequences of those decisions.

      My son jokes about how close our friendship is. We hang out as much as any of his friends do. For IUPUI, he’s actually going to live at home! I’m still the boss (for now).

      • 6
      • 7

        Thanks Doug – I’m really looking forward to being a parent, but find myself worrying about doing a good job and not screwing my kids up.

        I think what you say about being honest with them about mistakes you’ve made in your own life, and letting them make their own decisions is definitely the way to go. There are some lessons that you just have to learn for yourself, even if it’s the hard way.

Leave a Reply