أقل = أكثر

إيداع الصور 19300633 ثانية

كنت أرغب في متابعة فتح = النمو آخر لفترة من الوقت. الموصوف في هذا المنشور هو احتمال النجاح عندما يركز الناس على كيفية دمج حلولهم مع الحلول الأخرى. هناك جانب آخر لهذا ، وهو أن الشركات تحد من وظائف حلولها إلى جوهر كيفية استخدامها. يمكن أن تكون إضافة عدد كبير من المنتجات والخدمات والميزات خطيرة.

المبرمجون يسمونها 'زحف".

"الزحف" هو كابوس كل مطور. يحدث ذلك عندما لا يتم الحفاظ على خطة تطوير قوية والالتزام بها. الميزات تستمر في زحف في حتى يصبح المشروع بعيدًا عن نطاق السيطرة بحيث لا يتم الانتهاء منه أبدًا. أو ما هو أسوأ من ذلك ، يتم الانتهاء منه ويحتوي على كمية لا يمكن التغلب عليها من الأخطاء.

أود أن أؤكد أن الشركات ومنتجاتها وخدماتها يمكن أن تعاني أيضًا منزحف". من خلال عدم تقييد شركتك ومنتجات وخدمات عملك الأساسي ، تبدأ في مطاردة أقواس قزح ، معتقدًا أن هناك ربحًا يمكنك الحصول عليه هنا أو هناك. ومع ذلك ، فإنك تتجاهل رؤية الضرر الذي يلحقه بتركيز عملك ، وتركيز موظفيك ومعرفتهم ، بالإضافة إلى الضغط الإضافي الذي يفرضه على الإنتاج والدعم والتسليم وما إلى ذلك.

عندما تقرر النظر في منتجات أو خدمات أو ميزات إضافية ، تحقق مما إذا كانت هناك شركة بالفعل توفرها كجزء من جوهر أعمالها. هل يمكنك أن تفعل ذلك أفضل منهم؟ هل يمكن لشركتك دعم ذلك والاستمرار في الحفاظ على الخبرة في جوهر عملك؟ هل سيرغب موظفوك في دعمها؟

في النهاية ، قد تؤدي مطاردة قوس قزح إلى تحطيمك.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Technology

Less = More

I’ve been wanting to follow up my Open = Growth post for a while. Described in that post is the likelihood of success when folks concentrate on how their solutions can be integrated with other solutions. There’s a flip side to this, and that’s for companies to limit the functionality of their solutions to the core of how they are used. Adding a plethora of products, services, and features can be dangerous.

Programmers call it ‘creep‘.

‘Creep’ is the nightmare of every developer. It happens when a solid development plan is not maintained and adhered to. Features continue to creep in until the project is so far out of control that it never gets finished. Or worse, it gets finished and has an insurmountable amount of bugs.

I would submit that companies, and their products and services can also suffer from ‘creep‘. By not limiting your company and the products and services of your core business, you begin to chase rainbows, thinking there is a buck to be had here or there. However, you neglect to see the damage it has on your business’ focus, your employees’ focus and knowledge, as well as the added strain it puts on production, support, delivery, etc.

Whenever you decide to look at additional products, services, or features, see if there is a company out there already that provides it as part of the core of their business. Can you do it better than them? Can your company support that AND continue to sustain the expertise in your core? Will your employees want to support it?

In the end, chasing the rainbow may just break you.

Leave a Reply