الحية، والحب، واضحك

تأمللقد كنت أفكر كثيرًا مؤخرًا وأقوم بإلقاء نظرة شعرية مع ابني على الحياة ، وتربية الأطفال ، والعمل ، والعلاقات ، وما إلى ذلك. تأتي الحياة إليك على مراحل وتضطر إلى اتخاذ قرارات لم تكن تريدها أبدًا.

المرحلة 1: الزواج

منذ حوالي 8 سنوات كان طلاقي. كان علي أن أعرف ما إذا كان بإمكاني التعامل مع كونني أبًا في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع أو أبًا واحدًا. اخترت هذا الأخير لأنني لا أستطيع العيش بدون أطفالي.

أثناء الطلاق ، كان علي أن أعرف أي نوع من الرجال سأكون. هل سأكون زوجًا سابقًا غاضبًا جرّ زوجته السابقة إلى المحكمة وخارجها ، أو أصفت زوجته السابقة بأطفاله ، أم كنت سأقبل مباركة إنجاب أطفالي وأخذ الطريق السريع. أعتقد أنني سلكت الطريق السريع. ما زلت أتحدث مع زوجتي السابقة كثيرًا وحتى أصلي من أجل أسرتها في بعض الأحيان أعرف أنهم يكافحون. الحقيقة هي أن الأمر يتطلب طاقة أقل بكثير بهذه الطريقة ويكون أطفالي أفضل حالًا.

المرحلة الثانية: العمل

في العمل ، كان علي أن أتخذ قرارات أيضًا. لقد تركت أكثر من بضع وظائف رائعة في العقد الماضي. تركت واحدة لأنني كنت أعرف أنني لن أكون ما يريده مديري أبدًا. تركت واحدة أخرى مؤخرًا لأنني لم أكن راضيًا شخصيًا. أنا في عمل رائع الآن هذا يمثل تحديًا لي كل يوم ... لكنني واقعي أنني ربما لن أكون هنا بعد عقد من الآن ، أيضًا.

لا يعني ذلك أن لدي شكوكًا ، إنه فقط لأنني أشعر براحة أكبر مع "مكاني" في التسويق والتكنولوجيا. أحب التحرك بسرعة في العمل. عندما تتباطأ الأمور وتحتاج الشركات إلى تلك المهارات التي لا تهمني ، أدرك أن الوقت قد حان للمضي قدمًا (في الداخل أو الخارج). لقد اكتشفت أنه عندما أعمل على نقاط قوتي ، فأنا أكثر سعادة مما كنت عليه عندما أشعر بالقلق بشأن نقاط ضعفي.

المرحلة 3: الأسرة

أنا الآن أقترب من سن الأربعين وقد وصلت إلى مرحلة في حياتي حيث يتعين علي اتخاذ قرارات بشأن علاقاتي أيضًا. في الماضي ، بذلت الكثير من الطاقة لتكوين عائلة "فخورة بي". من نواح كثيرة ، كان رأيهم أكثر أهمية من رأيي. بمرور الوقت ، أدركت أنهم يقيسون النجاح بشكل مختلف كثيرًا عما فعلت في أي وقت مضى.

يقاس نجاحي بسعادة أطفالي ، ونوعية وكمية الصداقات القوية ، وشبكة زملائي ، والاحترام الذي أحصل عليه في العمل ، والمنتجات والخدمات التي أقدمها كل يوم. قد تلاحظ أن اللقب أو الشهرة أو الثروة لم تكن موجودة. لم يكونوا ولن يكونوا كذلك أبدًا.

نتيجة لذلك ، كان قراري هو ترك الأشخاص الذين يحاولون جرّي إلى أسفل بدلاً من رفعي. أنا أحترمهم وأحبهم وأدعوهم ، لكنني لن أبذل جهدي في محاولة إسعادهم بعد الآن. إذا لم أكن ناجحًا في رأيهم ، فيمكنهم الاحتفاظ بآرائهم. انا مسؤول عن سعادتي وعليهم تحمل المسؤولية عن مسؤوليتهم.

بصفتي أبًا ، أشعر بسعادة غامرة تجاه من هم أطفالي حاليًا ، وأحبهم دون قيد أو شرط. تدور محادثاتنا اليومية حول ما نجحوا في القيام به ، وليس حول إخفاقاتهم. ومع ذلك ، فأنا قاسٍ على أطفالي إذا لم يكونوا على قدر إمكاناتهم.

انخفضت درجات ابنتي بشكل كبير الأسبوع الماضي. أعتقد أن الغالبية العظمى من ذلك كانت أن حياتها الاجتماعية أصبحت أكثر أهمية من عملها المدرسي. مع ذلك ، شعرت بألم عندما حصلت على درجاتها. بكت طوال اليوم لأنها عادة طالبة أ / ب. لم تكن خيبة أملي واضحة ، بل كانت خيبة أملها.

كاتي تحب الريادة في الفصل وتكره أن تكون في الحضيض. لقد أجرينا بعض التغييرات - لا أصدقاء زائرون في ليالي الأسبوع ولا مكياج. كان المكياج هو الأصعب ... لقد اعتقدت حقًا أنها ستحرق ثقوبًا بداخلي مع مقل عينيها. لكن في غضون الأسبوع ، بدأت علاماتها في العودة. لم تعد تحرق ثقوبًا في داخلي ، بل إنها ضحكت مني في ذلك اليوم في السيارة.

إنه عمل صعب للغاية ، لكنني أبذل قصارى جهدي لإبراز الإيجابية ، وليس السلبية. أحاول توجيههم في اتجاه البحر الجميل ، ولا أذكرهم دائمًا بالعاصفة من خلفهم.

بينما ينمو أطفالي بالراحة مع من هم ، فأنا أكثر ولعًا بما سيصبحون عليه. إنهم يدهشونني كل يوم. لدي أطفال رائعون ... لكن ليس لدي أي مفاهيم خاطئة حول من "أعتقد أنهم يجب أن يكونوا" أو "كيف يجب أن يتصرفوا". هذا بالنسبة لهم لمعرفة ذلك. إذا كانوا سعداء بأنفسهم ، واتجاههم في الحياة ، ومعني ... فأنا سعيد من أجلهم. أفضل طريقة لتعليمهم هي أن أريهم كيف أتصرف قال بوذا ، "من يراني يرى تعليمي." لا يمكن اقبل المزيد.

المرحلة 4: الفرح

أتذكر أ التعليق بعد فترة من "صديق افتراضي" جيد ، وليام الذي سأل ، "لماذا يجب على المسيحيين دائمًا تعريف أنفسهم؟". لم أجب على السؤال أبدًا لأنه كان عليّ التفكير كثيرًا في الأمر. لقد كان محقا. يعلن العديد من المسيحيين من هم بموقف "أقدس منك". وليام لديه كل الحق في تحدي الناس في هذا الشأن. إذا وضعت نفسك على قاعدة ، فكن مستعدًا للإجابة عن سبب وجودك هناك!

أريد أن يعرف الناس أنني مسيحي - ليس لأنه من أنا ولكن لأنه ما أتمنى أن أكون يومًا ما. أحتاج مساعدة في حياتي. اريد ان اكون شخص طيب. أريد لأصدقائي أن يتعرفوا علي كشخص يهتم أو يرسم ابتسامة على وجوههم أو يلهمهم للقيام بشيء مختلف في حياتهم. نظرًا لأنني أجلس في العمل مع بائع عنيد أو خطأ أقوم باستكشاف الأخطاء فيه وإصلاحها في الدوائر ، فمن السهل بالنسبة لي أن أنسى الصورة الكبيرة وأنطق بضع كلمات. من السهل عليّ أن أغضب من الأشخاص في الشركة الذين يواجهون صعوبة في ذلك.

تخبرني وجهة نظري (المحدودة) عن التعاليم التي أؤمن بها أن هؤلاء الأشخاص في تلك الشركة الأخرى ربما يعملون بجد ، ولديهم تحديات يحاولون التغلب عليها ، وهم يستحقون صبري واحترامي. إذا قلت لك إنني مسيحي ، فهذا يفتح لي النقد عندما أكون منافقًا. غالبًا ما أكون منافقًا (في كثير من الأحيان) لذا لا تتردد في إخباري بأني لست مسيحيًا صالحًا ، حتى لو لم يكن لديك نفس المعتقدات مثلي.

إذا تمكنت من تحديد المرحلة الرابعة ، فسأغادر هذا العالم على أنه شخص سعيد للغاية. أعلم أنني سأشعر بفرح حقيقي ... لقد رأيت هذا النوع من الفرح في أشخاص آخرين وأريده لنفسي. إيماني يخبرني أن هذا شيء الله يريد لي. أعلم أن هذا شيء موجود لأخذها ، لكن من الصعب رفض العادات السيئة وتغيير قلوبنا. سأستمر في العمل عليها ، رغم ذلك

آمل أن يكون هذا المنشور غير جيد جدًا بالنسبة لك. كنت بحاجة للتنفيس قليلاً عن قضايا عائلتي والكتابة بشفافية تساعدني كثيرًا. ربما سيساعدك أيضًا!

13 تعليقات

  1. 1

    ملصق ممتاز! وأنا أحب أن أعرف أنني لست الوالد الوحيد الذي يعاقب بإزالة الماكياج. تعتقد ابنتي أن الآيلاينر هو أفضل صديق لها. إنه لأمر مدهش مدى سرعة "فهمها" عندما لا يُسمح لها بالحصول عليها. 🙂

    • 2

      Eyeliner is the father-of-a-13-year-old’s enemy. 🙂

      I think make-up is a slippery slope. I’ve never been a fan of a lot of make-up and my theory is that women use more and more because they get desensitized to how beautiful they really are. So… if you’re 13, you wind up looking like a Picasso by the time you’re 30.

      مع استراحة للمكياج ، آمل أن ترى كاتي كم هي جميلة ثم تستخدم أقل لاحقًا.

      • 3

        أنا موافق. على الرغم من أن مهارات تحديد عيون ابنتي كانت مفيدة للغاية الليلة حيث كنت أستعد لحفل جوائز القلب الكريستالية لمهرجان هارتلاند السينمائي. أعلنت أنني "أفعل ذلك بشكل خاطئ" وشرعت في تكوين عيني بذوق شديد. نعم ، أنا لست من أشد المعجبين بالماكياج ، في الغالب ب / ج لا أحب قضاء الوقت في ذلك. يجب أن تتوقف العديد من النساء اللواتي يرتدين مجرفة ب / ج ، فهم في الواقع جميلات جدًا تحته. أنت أب جيد لمحاولتك تعليم ابنتك ما هو الجمال حقًا.

  2. 4

    واو ، ما بعد دوغ! أنا حقا أحب موقفك.

    كما تعلم ، هناك تداخل كبير بين المسيحية والإسلام عندما يتعلق الأمر بالعائلة والقيم الاجتماعية. الكثير مما قلته أنك تؤمن به يجسد الكثير من تعاليم الإسلام. من المضحك أنه في بعض الأحيان يقوم غير المسلمين مثلك بعمل أفضل في إظهار القيم الإسلامية أكثر من بعض المسلمين.

    لذلك ، أحييكم! حافظ على السلوك الإيجابي. أنت مدون رائع ، وأنت متأكد من صوت الجحيم مثل جحيم الأب.

    • 5

      شكرا AL ،

      It’s funny you say that. I have read the Qur’an and have some friends that are Islamic. Every time we get together we find so much in common between our religions. Thanks for your compliments as well – I don’t think I’m as a good a parent as I could be, but I am trying!

  3. 6

    آسف لقول ذلك ، ولكن هذا المنشور جعلني أتناقش حول ما إذا كان يجب إلغاء الاشتراك أم لا - لعدة أسباب:

    1. هذه مدونة عن التسويق (أو هذا انطباعي). في حين أنه من الجيد إضافة شخصية وجيدة لذكر معتقداتك ، إلا أن منشورًا طويلاً عن الدين أوقفني.

    لا تفهموني خطأ الدين بخير وأنا أحترم معتقداتك. لكن الدين شخصي ، ولا أعتقد حقًا أن له مكانًا في مدونة الأعمال. إذا كنت أرغب في القراءة عن الدين ، فقد اشتركت في المدونات ذات الآراء الدينية.

    2. الكتابة عن فتاة مراهقة تبكي طوال اليوم على درجات سيئة تجعلني أشعر بالغثيان في معدتي. الطفلة ليست بخيبة أمل ، فهي على الأرجح خائفة من رد فعلك!

    3. الكتابة عن معاقبة طفل بسبب درجاته السيئة بعد أن بكت طوال اليوم (وهو ليس في الحقيقة رد فعل فتاة مراهقة طبيعية) يجعلني أشعر بالمرض. عاقب شخصًا ما عندما يرتكب خطأ ولا تندم عليه بالتأكيد. ولكن عندما يتخذ شخص ما خيارًا سيئًا ، وأدرك ذلك ، وتعلم منه ، وكان مستعدًا للقيام بعمل أفضل في المرة القادمة ، اتركه عند هذا الحد. دع الفتاة تبني الثقة. دعها تفعل ما هو أفضل لأنها تريد - ليس لأنها تخاف من العقاب.

    أنا أحترم أنك قد توافقني أو لا تتفق معي. لقد اعتقدت للتو أنك قد ترغب في معرفة سبب إغفال هذه المدونة للعلامة تمامًا معي.

    • 7

      مرحبا جيمس،

      Thanks for taking the time to write. If you feel compelled to unsubscribe, I’d be sorry to see you go but I’m okay with that. This is not a corporate blog, it’s a personal one. As such, I advise my readers on my craft but I’m also transparent in relaying my beliefs with my readers.

      Over time, I’ve become great friends with readers of my blog – mostly in part to the fact that I share both my work and my life with my readers. I do; however, keep my personal posts in my “Homefront” category so that you can avoid reading them if you’d like.

      I respect your opinion on what happened with my daughter as well. My daughter isn’t locked up anywhere :), she has quite a setup… cell phone, mp3 player, computer, television, etc. so she’s hardly ‘punished’ although taking away makeup was what gave her a hard time. I can guarantee you that she is not afraid of me. She may get upset if she thinks she disappointed me, but I’ve never given Katie a reason to be ‘scared’.

      I’m not so sure, at 13, I should have ever allowed her to put on makeup but she’s a good girl with good grades and a great attitude – so I try to give her the freedom she wants. When she shows me she can handle it, I never put boundaries on her. If you’re a parent, you know how difficult these situations are.

      I hope you stick around and get to know me! There’s good info on this blog and I love to share what I learn in the industry.

      هتاف،
      دوغ

  4. 8

    عادل بما فيه الكفاية ، دوج. لدي مدونة أعمال أيضًا تحمل فئة تسمى "رحلات شخصية" لنفس النوع من الأشياء. لقد منحني تخطيط الموقع وتغطيته حتى الآن الانطباع بأنه مدونة أعمال بحتة.

    أجد نفسي في موقف غريب جدًا على الإنترنت. أنا كندي ، وثقافتنا تميل إلى الهدوء فيما يتعلق بالدين أكثر من جيراننا الأمريكيين ، وكثير منهم يميلون إلى التطرف (في رأيي ، وأنا لا أقول إنك متطرف). أنا أحترم معتقدات الناس ولديّ معتقداتي أيضًا ، فأنا لا أحب إطعامهم قسريًا.

    لسوء الحظ ، هذا التطرف جعلني أشعر بالقلق الشديد من التعرض للضربات الكتابية ، ويبدو أن الرادار الخاص بي للضربات القادمة تم ضبطه على حساسية عالية. لذا إذا لم أتعرض للضرب هنا ، فسأبقى. صفقة عادلة؟

    بالنسبة للبنات ... من الجيد أن تسمع أنك تدرك أن المراهقين بحاجة إلى تلك الحرية ، وشكرًا لتوضيح ذلك. أعتقد اعتقادًا راسخًا أنه كلما كان المقود أكثر إحكامًا ، زاد عدد المشاكل التي يضع الآباء أنفسهم عليها. كما أنني لا "أحصل" على آباء يمارسون عبئًا ثقيلًا مع أطفالهم. ليس فقط الجواب.

    و ... لديّ 14 عامًا وطفل صغير ، لذا يمكنني أن أتحدث عن تحديات الأبوة والأمومة وقوة الماكياج.

    Thanks again for your response. I had a bit (okay a lot) of a knee-jerk reaction to the post, so to share a little about me so you don’t think I’m a complete ass, read up on my post about knee-jerk reactions.

    • 9

      We Americans like to shove everything in everyone’s face – war, wealth, technology, music, religion… you name it and we’re proud of how bad we mess it up! When one of us is sincere, it’s difficult to take us serious.

      I lived in Vancouver for 6 years, graduating from High School there. In fact, my Mom’s side of the family are all Canadian. My grandfather is a retired officer from the Canadian forces. I’m a huge fan of Canada and can still sing the anthem (in English, I forgot the French version). My mother is Quebecois, born and raised in Montreal.

      أمزح مع رفاقي في المدرسة الثانوية أن أمريكا لا يمكنها أن تطلب توك أفضل من كندا!

      شكرًا لاستجابتك المدروسة ... لم أقم بذلك مطلقًا.

  5. 10
  6. 12

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management

Live, Love, Laugh

PonderingI’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately and waxing poetic with my son on life, parenting, work, relationships, etc. Life comes at you in stages and you’re forced to make decisions that you never wanted to.

Stage 1: Marriage

About 8 years ago it was my divorce. I had to figure out whether or not I could handle being a ‘weekend’ father or a single one. I chose the latter because I couldn’t possibly live without my kids.

During the divorce, I had to figure out what kind of man I was going to be. Was I going to be an angry ex-husband that dragged his ex in and out of court, bad-mouthed his ex to his kids, or was I going to take the blessing of having my kids and take the high road. I believe I took the high road. I still talk to my ex-wife often and even pray for her family at times I know they’re struggling. The truth is, it takes much less energy this way and my kids are much better off for it.

Stage 2: Work

At work, I’ve had to make decisions as well. I’ve left more than a few great jobs in the past decade. I left one because I knew I was never going to be what my boss wanted me to be. I left another one recently because I wasn’t personally fulfilled. I’m in a fantastic job now that’s challenging me every single day… but I’m realistic that I probably won’t be here a decade from now, either.

It’s not that I have doubts, it’s just that I am more comfortable with my ‘niche’ in Marketing and Technology. I like moving quickly at work. When things slow down and companies need those skills that don’t interest me, I realize it’s time to move on (inside or outside). I have figured out that when I work on my strengths, I’m a much happier person than when I’m worrying about my weaknesses.

Stage 3: Family

I’m approaching 40 now and have come to a point in my life where I have to make decisions with my relationships as well. In the past, I’ve expended a lot of energy on having a family that’s ‘proud of me’. In many ways, their opinion was more important than my own. In time, I realized that they measured success much different than I ever did.

My success is measured by my children’s happiness, the quality and quantity of solid friendships, my network of associates, the respect I get at work, and the products and services I deliver every day. You might notice that title, fame or fortune weren’t in there. They were not, and won’t ever be.

As a result, my decision has been to leave people behind that are trying to drag me down instead of lift me up. I respect, love and pray for them, but I’m just not going to expend energy on trying to make them happy anymore. If I’m not successful in their opinion, they can keep their opinion. I’m responsible for my happiness and they should accept responsibility for theirs.

As a father, I’m thrilled with who my kids currently are, and I love them unconditionally. Our conversations on a daily basis are about what they succeeded at doing, not on their failures. That said, I am tough on my kids if they aren’t living up to their potential, though.

My daughter’s grades dropped significantly last week. I think the majority of it was that her social life had become more important than her school work. It pained her when she got her grades, though. She cried all day because she’s typically an A/B student. It wasn’t how disappointed I was that was apparent, it was how disappointed she was.

Katie loves leading in class and hates to be at the bottom. We made some changes – no visiting friends on weeknights and no make-up. Make-up was the tough one… I really thought she was going to burn holes in me with her eyeballs. Within the week, though, her grades started to come back. She’s not burning holes in me anymore, and even laughed at me the other day in the car.

It’s a tough high wire act, but I’m doing my best to accentuate the positive, not the negative. I’m trying to steer them in the direction of the beautiful sea, not always reminding them of the storm behind them.

As my kids grow comfortable with who they are, I grow more fond of who they are becoming. They amaze me every day. I have incredible kids… but I don’t have any misconceptions of who ‘I think they should be’ or ‘how they should act’. That’s for them to figure out. If they’re happy with themselves, their direction in life, and with me… then I’m happy for them. The best way I can teach them is by showing them how I am acting. Buddha said, “Whomever sees me sees my teaching.” I couldn’t agree more.

Stage 4: Joy

I remember a comment a while back from good ‘virtual friend’, William who asked, “Why do Christians always have to identify themselves?”. I never answered the question because I had to think a lot about it. He was right. Many Christians announce who they are with a ‘holier than thou’ attitude. William has every right to challenge folks on this. If you put yourself on a pedestal, be prepared to answer why you’re there!

I want people to know I’m Christian – not because it’s who I am but because it’s who I hope to be one day. I need help with my life. I want to be a kind person. I want my friends to recognize me as one who cared, put a smile on their face, or inspired them to do something different with their lives. As I sit at work working with a stubborn vendor or a bug that I’m troubleshooting in circles, it’s easy for me to forget the big picture and utter a few words. It’s easy for me to get angry at the people at the company that are giving me a hard time.

My (limited) view of the teachings I believe in tell me that those people at that other company are probably working hard, have challenges they’re trying to overcome, and they deserve my patience and respect. If I tell you I’m a Christian, it opens me up for criticism when I’m being a hypocrite. I am often a hypocrite (too often) so feel free to let me know that I’m not being a good Christian, even if you don’t have the same beliefs as me.

If I can figure stage 4 out, I’ll leave this world a very, very happy person. I know that I’ll experience true joy… I’ve seen that kind of joy in other people and I want it for myself. My faith tells me that this is something that God wants me to have. I know that it’s something that is there for the taking, but it’s difficult to spurn bad habits and change our heart. I’ll keep working on it, though.

I hope this wasn’t too gushy a post for you. I needed to vent a little about my family issues and writing transparently helps me a lot. Perhaps it will help you, too!

13 Comments

  1. 1

    GREAT post! And I love knowing that I’m not the only parent that punishes by taking away the makeup. My daughter thinks eyeliner is her best friend. It’s amazing how quickly she “gets it” when she’s not allowed to have it. 🙂

    • 2

      Eyeliner is the father-of-a-13-year-old’s enemy. 🙂

      I think make-up is a slippery slope. I’ve never been a fan of a lot of make-up and my theory is that women use more and more because they get desensitized to how beautiful they really are. So… if you’re 13, you wind up looking like a Picasso by the time you’re 30.

      With a make-up break, I’m hoping Katie can see how beautiful she is and then use less later.

      • 3

        I agree. Although my daughter’s eyeliner skills came in very handy tonight as I was getting ready for the Heartland Film Festival Crystal Heart Awards gala. She proclaimed that I was “doing it wrong” and proceeded to very tastefully make up my eyes. Yeah, I’m not a big fan of makeup, mostly b/c I don’t like spending the time on it. Many women that put it on with a trowel should stop b/c they are actually very beautiful underneath. You’re a good father for trying to teach your daughter what beauty really is.

  2. 4

    Wow, what a post Doug! I really like your attitude.

    You know, there’s a great overlap between Christianity and Islam when it comes to family and social values. A lot of what you said you believe in exemplify many of Islam’s teachings. It’s funny that sometimes non-Mulsims like you do a better job of demonstrating Islamic values than some Muslims themeselves.

    So for this, I salute you! Keep up the positive attitude. You’re a great blogger, and you sure as hell sound like a hell of a dad.

    • 5

      Thanks AL,

      It’s funny you say that. I have read the Qur’an and have some friends that are Islamic. Every time we get together we find so much in common between our religions. Thanks for your compliments as well – I don’t think I’m as a good a parent as I could be, but I am trying!

  3. 6

    Sorry to say it, but this post has me debating whether to unsubscribe or not – for a few reasons:

    1. This is a blog about marketing (or that is my impression). While it’s fine to add personality and fine to mention your beliefs, a long post about religion turned me off.

    Don’t get me wrong; religion is fine and I respect your beliefs. But religion is personal, and I don’t really think it has a place on a business blog. If I wanted to read about religion, I’d subscribe to blogs with religious views.

    2. Writing about a teenage girl crying all day over bad grades makes me feel sick to my stomach. The kid isn’t disappointed, she’s most likely scared of your reaction!

    3. Writing about punishing a kid for bad grades after she cried all day (which isn’t really a normal teenage girl reaction) makes me feel even sicker. Punish someone when they’ve done something wrong and don’t regret it, sure. But when someone has made a bad choice, realized it, learned from it and is ready to do better next time, leave it at that. Let the girl build confidence. Let her do better because she wants to – not because she’s scared of punishment.

    I respect that you may or may not agree with me. I just thought you might like to know why this blog post missed the mark completely with me.

    • 7

      Hi James,

      Thanks for taking the time to write. If you feel compelled to unsubscribe, I’d be sorry to see you go but I’m okay with that. This is not a corporate blog, it’s a personal one. As such, I advise my readers on my craft but I’m also transparent in relaying my beliefs with my readers.

      Over time, I’ve become great friends with readers of my blog – mostly in part to the fact that I share both my work and my life with my readers. I do; however, keep my personal posts in my “Homefront” category so that you can avoid reading them if you’d like.

      I respect your opinion on what happened with my daughter as well. My daughter isn’t locked up anywhere :), she has quite a setup… cell phone, mp3 player, computer, television, etc. so she’s hardly ‘punished’ although taking away makeup was what gave her a hard time. I can guarantee you that she is not afraid of me. She may get upset if she thinks she disappointed me, but I’ve never given Katie a reason to be ‘scared’.

      I’m not so sure, at 13, I should have ever allowed her to put on makeup but she’s a good girl with good grades and a great attitude – so I try to give her the freedom she wants. When she shows me she can handle it, I never put boundaries on her. If you’re a parent, you know how difficult these situations are.

      I hope you stick around and get to know me! There’s good info on this blog and I love to share what I learn in the industry.

      Cheers,
      Doug

  4. 8

    Fair enough, Doug. I have a business blog as well with a category called “Personal Ramblings” for the same kind of stuff. The site’s layout and coverage so far had given me the impression it was a strictly business blog.

    I find myself in a very odd position on the Internet. I’m Canadian, and our culture tends to be far more quiet about religion than our American neighbors, many of which who tend to be quite extremist (in my opinion, and I’m not saying you’re extremist). I respect people’s beliefs and have my own as well, I just don’t like being force-fed.

    Unfortunately, that extremism has left me very wary of being bible-thumped, and my radar for the incoming thumping seems to be set on high sensitivity. So if I won’t get thumped here, I’ll stick around. Fair deal?

    As for daughters… It’s good to hear that you recognize teens need that freedom, and thanks for clearing that up. I firmly believe the tighter the leash, the more trouble parents set themselves up for. I also don’t “get” parents who wield a heavy hand with their kids. It just isn’t the answer.

    And…Got a 14-year-old and a toddler myself, so I can relate to the challenges of parenting and the power of makeup.

    Thanks again for your response. I had a bit (okay a lot) of a knee-jerk reaction to the post, so to share a little about me so you don’t think I’m a complete ass, read up on my post about knee-jerk reactions.

    • 9

      We Americans like to shove everything in everyone’s face – war, wealth, technology, music, religion… you name it and we’re proud of how bad we mess it up! When one of us is sincere, it’s difficult to take us serious.

      I lived in Vancouver for 6 years, graduating from High School there. In fact, my Mom’s side of the family are all Canadian. My grandfather is a retired officer from the Canadian forces. I’m a huge fan of Canada and can still sing the anthem (in English, I forgot the French version). My mother is Quebecois, born and raised in Montreal.

      I joke with my high school buddies that America couldn’t ask for a better toque than Canada!

      Thanks for your thoughtful response… I never took it that way at all.

  5. 10
  6. 12

Leave a Reply