مجالات الاهتمام بالتسويق تتسع ولا تتقلص!

تثاءب

أثناء إدارة قسم التسويق المباشر ، اعتدت أن أخبر العملاء أن الفترة الزمنية التي يتعين عليهم خلالها جذب انتباه العميل المحتمل مرتبطة ارتباطًا مباشرًا بالوقت الذي يستغرقه الانتقال من صندوق البريد إلى سلة المهملات. ما زلت أعتقد أن هذا صحيح. لا أعلم أنني أعتقد أن فترات اهتمام المستهلكين قد تقلصت على مر السنين ، حيث كان المسوقون الفاشلون يتذمرون.

أعتقد أن النمو في الوسائط قد طور العملاء إلى فترات اهتمام أكبر ، وليس أقل. حيث نرى هذا هو الشعبية التي تحظى بها برامج مثل قائمة انجي, الأديانالتدوين أمازون المراجعات ، والمجتمعات عبر الإنترنت ، وما إلى ذلك ، يبذل الأشخاص الكثير من الجهد لمناقشة المنتجات والخدمات التي يحبونها ويكرهونها. هذا النوع من الاهتمام أكثر أهمية من مشاهدة البقعة التي تبلغ مدتها 60 ثانية في Superbowl. هناك عمل مزدهر يلتف حول آراء المستهلكين.

تتمتع منتديات الشكاوى هذه للمستهلكين بحجم كبير من حركة المرور أيضًا. أحد الأمثلة المثيرة للاهتمام هو إدخال مدونة حيث سجل الكاتب محاولته لإلغاء حساب AOL الخاص به ونشرها. لقد تلقى مئات الآلاف من الزيارات. تخيل أي نوع من المال يجب أن تدفعه شركة AOL مقابل هذا النوع من الأموال إيجابي انتباه! ما مقدار الأموال الترويجية التي ضاعت في هذا التسجيل الفردي؟

في مثال آخر ، نشر ديفيد بيرليند تسجيلًا لمكالمة استمرت 13 دقيقة معه تي موبايل، مع من دفع (خارج حسابه العادي) للوصول اللاسلكي في المطار ولم يتمكن من الاتصال. رفضت T-Mobile رد مدفوعاته.

وفقًا لتقرير Pew الجديد ، يحتفظ 8 بالمائة من مستخدمي الإنترنت ، أو حوالي 12 مليون أمريكي بالغ ، بمدونة. تسعة وثلاثون في المائة من مستخدمي الإنترنت ، أو حوالي 57 مليون أمريكي بالغ ، يقرؤون المدونات - وهي زيادة كبيرة منذ خريف عام 2005.

الهدف من ذلك هو أن فترات اهتمام المستهلكين تتوسع ولا تتقلص. ومع ذلك ، فإن اهتمامهم يتحول بعيدًا عن الوسائط الجماهيرية ، والإعلانات السيئة ، والعلاقات العامة ويتجه نحو المجتمع والكلام الشفهي.

بصفتك مسوقًا ، فإن وظيفتك هي أن تتعلم كيفية إشراك المستهلكين من خلال هذه التقنيات والوسائط الجديدة. إذا حاولت محاربتهم ، فلن تفوز. يولي المستهلكون اهتمامًا أكبر بكثير مما اعتادوا عليه ، بمصادر أفضل من أي وقت مضى.

2 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

WordPress

Marketing Attention Spans ARE Expanding, not Shrinking!

While managing a direct marketing department, I used to tell clients that the time span that they had to capture a prospect’s attention was directly related to the amount of time it took to walk from the mailbox to the trash can. I still believe that’s true. I don’t know that I believe that consumers’ attention spans have shrunk over the years, as failed marketers have been whining about, though.

I believe that the growth in mediums has evolved clients into greater attention spans, not less. Where we see this is the popularity of such programs as Angie’s List, Epinions, Blogging, Amazon Reviews, online Communities, etc. People are putting a lot of effort into discussing the products and services that they love and hate. That kind of attention is even more important than viewing the 60-second spot in the Superbowl. There is a thriving business wrapped around consumer feedback.

These complaint forums for consumers have a huge volume of traffic as well. One dramatic example of the attention is a blog entry where the writer recorded and posted his attempt to cancel his AOL account. It’s received hundreds of thousands of hits. Imagine what kind of money AOL would have to pay for that kind of positive attention! How much promotional money was lost on this single recording?

In another example, David Berlind posts a recording of his 13-minute call with T-Mobile, with whom he paid (outside his normal account) for wireless access at the airport and was unable to connect. T-Mobile refused to refund his payment.

According to a new Pew Report, 8 percent of internet users, or about 12 million American adults, keep a blog. Thirty-nine percent of internet users, or about 57 million American adults, read blogs – a significant increase since the fall of 2005.

The point of this is that consumers attention spans are expanding, not contracting. However, their attention is turning away from the mass medium, crappy advertising, and PR and is turning towards community and word-of-mouth.

As a marketer, it’s your job to learn how to engage consumers through these new technologies and mediums. If you try to battle them, you just will not win. Consumers are paying a lot more attention than they used to, with better sources than they’ve ever had.

2 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

Leave a Reply