أنت لا تعرف ما هو التسويق

هل فكرت كثيرا في الكلمة التسويق؟ كما هو الحال مع العديد من الكلمات ، تم تشويه التعريف وإعادة تعريفه بمرور الوقت. تقدم ويكيبيديا التعريف التالي:

التسويق هو عملية مستمرة لتخطيط وتنفيذ المزيج التسويقي (المنتج ، السعر ، المكان ، الترويج الذي يشار إليه غالبًا باسم 4 Ps) للمنتجات أو الخدمات أو الأفكار لخلق تبادل بين الأفراد والمؤسسات. ويكيبيديا

ايلافيت 1900تبدو شخصية ، أليس كذلك؟ تغير التسويق بسبب الأسواق تغير. مع نمو الأسواق واتصالها عن بعد بالمستهلكين ، كان على المسوقين تعديل كيفية بيع منتجاتهم.

باستخدام الكتالوجات وإعلانات الجرائد ... والتخرج إلى الإعلانات التلفزيونية السوق in السوقجي فقدت.

دوك سيرلز يسمى ما نفعله الفأس في رئيس التسويق في فصله المكتوب بجدارة ، الأسواق هي محادثات في بيان Cluetrain.

كانت مشكلة السوق الجديدة هي أنها كانت في اتجاه واحد فقط ، من "المنظمة إلى الفرد". لقد نسينا حقيقة ما كان عليه السوق.
سوق المزارعين

الأسواق أناس ، والأسواق ليست وسيطة. التسويق هو قدرتك على التواصل مع الناس ، وليس الوسيلة التي تستخدمها للتواصل معهم. المسوقون هم أشخاص أيضًا ، ويجب عليهم استخدام أي وسيلة أو وسيلة يمكنهم استخدامها للتواصل مع السوق.

الصورة أعلاه رائعة جدا. لا توجد لافتات ، ولا نشرات ، ولا إعلانات تشويقية ... ولا حتى لون خيمة مميز لتمييز منتجك. فقط الناس. يتحدث الناس مع بعضهم البعض. الناس يتجولون حاملين المنتج في متناول اليد. الناس يتحدثون إلى رجال الأعمال. لا عجب لماذا تنمو أسواق المزارعين في كل مدينة! يريد عملاؤك منتجك أو خدمتك ، لقد سئموا من عدم قدرتهم على التحدث إلى أي شخص! لا يختلف كثيرًا عما كان عليه الحال قبل 100 عام ، أليس كذلك؟

من مدونة صور عمرها 100 عام

الحقيقة هي أنك نسيت ماهية التسويق is. التسويق ليس فريكين 4 أي أكثر من ذلك. التسويق يشارك في السوق. لا يعني التسويق إنشاء موقع ويب ، وإرسال بعض البيانات الصحفية ، وإلقاء ورقة بيضاء وإرسال رسالة إخبارية. التسويق هو لقاء عملائك ، أو العملاء المحتملين ، والتواصل معهم بصدق وإخلاص.

إذا كنت لا تتواصل (هذا ليس مجرد كلام ، وإنما الاستماع والاستجابة) ، فأنت لا تقوم بالتسويق. إذا كنت لا تتبنى وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مثل المدونات والشبكات الاجتماعية والجوال (الاتصالات) والفيديو (الاتصالات) والبريد الإلكتروني (الاتصالات) ابتدائي الوسطاء ، فأنت لا تقوم بالتسويق.

تدور مدونتي حول الاستفادة من التكنولوجيا لتحسين قدرتك على التواصل مع السوق الخاص بك. لهذا السبب لدي مجموعة كبيرة من الموضوعات والروابط - هناك موجة من التكنولوجيا الجديدة لمساعدتك. اجلس وفكر في الكلمة التسويق وكيف تم اشتقاقه ، وليس ما أصبح عليه.

صورة حديثة من موقع سان رافائيل. 1908 صورة السوق من مدونة صور عمرها 100 عام.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1

    أنا سعيد جدًا لأنك كتبت هذا دوغلاس! أنا أعمل في مجال التسويق ولكني أجد نفسي أكثر فأكثر على خلاف مع الطريقة التي يتم التعامل معها والطريقة التي أعتقد أنها يجب أن تكون.
    السبب في أنني أحب وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هو أنها تربطنا وتعيد ربطنا باحتياجاتنا الاجتماعية.
    لم يعد التسويق (عرض 4 p) يعمل كما كان في الماضي. لم يعد الناس على استعداد لأن يتم إخبارهم وسلبيون بعد الآن ، ولم يكن من المفترض أبدًا أن نعيش بهذه الطريقة - نحن حيوانات اجتماعية!
    قد يجادل البعض بأن التنسيقات الرقمية ليست شخصية ولا تدعو إلى مشاركة "العالم الحقيقي" لكنني أعتقد أن العكس هو الصحيح.
    كلما تعلمت وتعاونت وشاركت في العالم الرقمي ، زادت رغبتك في فعل ذلك مع "أناس حقيقيين".
    شكرا لهذا.

    • 2

      شكرا لين! أنا حقا أقدر ردود الفعل وأشكركم على الإطراء. حان الوقت لكي يبدأ الناس في الإيمان حقًا بمنتجاتهم وخدماتهم - ومن ثم يصبح البيع أسهل ولا تحتاج إلى المبالغة.

  2. 3

    لا يمكن أن أتفق معك أكثر دوغ.

    في مكان ما على طول الطريق ، انتقل التسويق من "Big M" إلى "Little M" في أذهان الناس. إنه يعني حقًا الجانب الترويجي فقط مع التركيز على الدوران. حتى أننا ما زلنا نرى هذا اليوم في المشهد السياسي حيث تتمثل المهمة في إبقاء المرشحين "على علم بالرسالة". يبدو أن كل ذلك أدى إلى ظهور جيل من المسوقين الذين يفكرون من الداخل إلى الخارج ويركزون فقط على مستوى إبداعهم لاختراق الفوضى في الاتصالات. وقد أدى ذلك إلى بعض الإحباطات الكبيرة مع قادة الأعمال الذين قابلناهم من أجل كتابنا على هذه الجبهة ... فهم ينظرون إلى التسويق على أنه مجرد مركز تكلفة جامح لا يساهم كثيرًا في العمل ويحتاج إلى التحكم فيه.

    أنت تعالج المشكلة مباشرة هنا. هذا التعريف للتسويق لم يكن أبدًا ما تعلمت أنه يجب أن يكون الانضباط. في جوهرها ، تعد الوظيفة أكثر أهمية وأهمية مما يقوم به معظم الأشخاص ... إنها وظيفة "بناء روابط حقيقية وعميقة لما يقدره المشترون أكثر". يبدأ الأمر بفهم احتياجاتهم وتفضيلاتهم تمامًا بحيث تعمل شركتك بالفعل على بناء المنتجات التي يرغب الأشخاص في شرائها ، ثم تركز على طرق حقيقية للتواصل بشأن سبب اهتمام العملاء. إن الصراخ "اشترِ منتجي" عديم الفائدة (لم يعد أحد يستمع على أي حال) ... استخدام وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وأشكال أخرى من نشر المحتوى لتكوين روابط أكثر فاعلية.

    أنا مفتون بعدد المجتمعات التي تتطور بحرية حول هذه الأنواع من الأشياء ... في أوقات وأماكن لم نفكر بها من قبل في سياق تسويقي. شكرا لأفكارك وعملك هنا.

    • 4

      أشعر حقًا أننا نتحرك إلى الوراء في الوقت المناسب ، أليس كذلك؟ أخيرًا ، هناك تداعيات على الناس الذين ينشرون دورهم!

      شكرا على الادخال!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, WordPress

You Don’t Know what Marketing is

Have you given much thought to the word Marketing? As with many words, the definition has been distorted and redefined over time. Wikipedia provides the following definition:

Marketing is an ongoing process of planning and executing the marketing mix (Product, Price, Place, Promotion often referred to as the 4 Ps) for products, services or ideas to create exchange between individuals and organizations. Wikipedia

Sounds personal, huh? Marketing changed because markets changed. As markets grew and were remotely connected to consumers, marketers had to modify how they sold their product.

Using catalogs and newspaper advertisements… and graduating to television commercials, the market in marketing was lost.

Doc Searls called what we’re doing Axe in the Head Marketing in his aptly written chapter, Markets are Conversations in the Cluetrain Manifesto.

The problem with the new market was that it was only one-way, from the “organization to the individual”. We forgot what a market really was.

Markets are people, markets aren’t mediums. Marketing is your ability to communicate with people, not what medium you utilize to communicate with them. Marketers are people, too, and must utilize any medium or method they can to communicate with the market.

The photo above is pretty cool. No signage, no flyers, no teasers… not even a differentiating tent color to distinguish your product. Just people. People speaking to one another. People walking around with product in hand. People talking to the business. No wonder why farmers markets are growing in every city! Your customers want your product or service, they’re just tired of not being able to speak to anyone! Not very different from 100 years ago, is it?

From the 100-Year-Old Photo Blog

The truth is that you’ve forgotten what marketing is. Marketing is not the 4 freakin P’s anymore. Marketing is participating in the Market. Marketing is not putting up a website, sending out a few press releases, throwing up a whitepaper and sending a newsletter. Marketing is meeting with your customers, or perspective customers, and communicating with them honestly and sincerely.

If you’re not communicating (that’s not just talking, that’s listening and responding), you’re not marketing. If you’re not embracing social media like blogs, social networks, mobile (communication), video (communication) and email (communication) as your primary mediums, you’re not marketing.

My blog is about leveraging technology to improve your ability to communicate with your market. That’s why I have such a wide array of topics and links – there’s a wave of new technology to assist you. Sit back and think about the word Marketing and how it was derived, not what it’s become.

Modern photo from San Rafael website. 1908 Market photo from the 100-Year-Old Photo Blog.

4 Comments

  1. 1

    I’m so happy you wrote this Douglas! I work in marketing but have been finding myself more and more at odds with the way it’s being approached and the way I think it should be.
    The reason I love social media is because it connects and re-connects us to our social needs.
    Marketing (the 4 p’s view) no longer works as it has in the past. People just aren’t willing to be told and passive anymore, we were never meant to live this way – we are social animals!
    Some might argue that digital formats are not personal and don’t invite ‘real-world’ participation but I believe the opposite is true.
    The more you learn, collaborate, participate in the digital world, the stronger your desire to do so with ‘real people.
    Thanks for this.

    • 2

      Thanks Lynn! I really appreciate the feedback and thank you for the compliments. It’s time that people started to really believe in their products and services – then it’s easier to sell and you need not exaggerate.

  2. 3

    Couldn’t agree with you more Doug.

    Somewhere along the way, marketing went from ‘Big M’ to ‘Little M’ in peoples minds. It equates really only to the promotional aspect with an emphasis on spin. We even still see this today in the political landscape where the job is to keep candidates ‘on message’. All of which has seemed to have led to a generation of marketers that think inside-out and focus only on the level of their creativity to break through the clutter in communications. This has led to some huge frustrations with the business leaders we interviewed for our book on this front … they view marketing as just a runaway cost center that doesn’t contribute to the business very much and needs to be controlled.

    You’re hitting the problem straight on here. This definition of marketing was never what I learned the discipline ought to be. At it’s essence, the job is more fundamental and important than most are making it … it’s a job of ‘building real and deep connections to what buyers value most’. It starts with understanding their needs and preferences completely so that your company is actually working on building products people want to buy and then focuses on authentic ways of communicating why customers might be interested. Shouting ‘buy my product’ is useless (noone is listening anymore anyway) … using social media and other forms of publishing content to establish connections is far more effective.

    I’m fascinated by the number of communities that are developing freely around these kinds of things … at times and places that we would have never thought of before in a marketing context. Thanks for your thoughts and your work here.

Leave a Reply