5 قطع اتصال البيانات وافتراضات التسويق السيئة

البيانات النزولية

أجرينا مؤخرًا اختبارًا لتجربة المستخدم لموقعنا ، وتم تقسيم النتائج. أحب الجمهور المحتوى الخاص بنا ولكنهم انزعجوا من إعلاناتنا - خاصةً عندما كان ينزلق أو يظهر. بينما أثبت الاختبار صحة تخطيط موقعنا ، وسهولة التصفح وجودة المحتوى الخاص بنا - فقد أشار أيضًا إلى شيء أزعج جمهورنا بشكل عام.

هذا الانفصال هو شيء يجب على كل مسوق أن يوازنه ، وغالبًا ما تعارض دراسة الجدوى رد فعل أو رأي الجمهور. إن عدم الاستماع إلى جمهورك يتعارض ، بالطبع ، مع معظم مستشاري التسويق الذين يعتقدون أن الاستجابة والاستماع واتباع نصائح الجمهور يجب أن تأتي دائمًا أولاً.

في ما يلي 10 مفاصل بيانات وافتراضات تسويقية غالبًا ما تكون سيئة لأعمالنا.

  1. على افتراض أن جميع العملاء متساوون - MarketingSherpa مؤخرًا قدمت التحليل لماذا يتابع العملاء العلامات التجارية على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. يوضح الرسم البياني بوضوح أن الغالبية العظمى من المستهلكين يتابعون العلامات التجارية على مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي للحصول على الخصومات ومسابقات اليانصيب والقسائم وما إلى ذلك. ومع ذلك ، لا يوضح الرسم البياني قيمة رأي كل مستهلك. يمكن للخصم الخالص أن يقلل من قيمة علامتك التجارية ويدفن شركتك. سأكون على استعداد للمراهنة على أن هؤلاء المستهلكين الذين شاهدوا أسلوب حياة مطابقًا ودعموا عملهم الخيري هم أكثر قيمة على المدى الطويل لصحة أعمال الشركة.

مسح تفضيل المستهلك

  1. بافتراض أن جميع الزائرين محتملين - هل تعلم أن حركة مرور Bot تمثل أكثر من 56٪ من تحليلات تتبع حركة المرور إلى موقعك؟ كما تقوم بتفسير الخاص بك تحليلات البيانات ، كيف تؤثر الروبوتات على صفحات الدخول والخروج ، ومعدلات الارتداد ، والوقت المستغرق في الموقع ، وما إلى ذلك؟ من الممكن أن يتسببوا في تحريف الإحصائيات بشكل سيء لدرجة أن لديك الدافع لتغيير موقعك استجابةً ... لكن الاستجابة هي للروبوتات ، وليس الآفاق! أثناء قيامنا بمراجعة موقعنا ، نولي اهتمامًا أكبر للزيارات الجيدة - الأشخاص الذين يزورون صفحات متعددة ويقضون أكثر من دقيقة على موقعنا.
  2. على افتراض أن تعليقات العملاء ستحسن منتجك - لقد عملت لدى موفر SaaS ضخم لديه جدول تطوير قوي يتضمن آلاف التحسينات وعشرات الميزات في كل إصدار. وكانت النتيجة عبارة عن منصة متضخمة كانت معقدة للغاية وصعبة التنفيذ وتسببت في تعارضات تنموية لا نهاية لها وقللت من الاحتفاظ بالعملاء. نتيجة لذلك ، أصبحت المبيعات أكثر قوة ، ووعدنا بمزيد من الميزات ، وبدأت الدورة من جديد. بينما نمت إيرادات الشركة وتم شراؤها بمبلغ كبير جدًا ، إلا أنها لم تحقق ربحًا على الإطلاق وليس من المحتمل أن تحقق ذلك. عندما تسأل أحد العملاء عما يجب عليك تحسينه ، يبحث العميل على الفور عن خطأ ويقدم رد فعله القصصي. بدلاً من ذلك ، يجب أن تراقب سلوك عملائك لتحديد أولويات التحسينات على منتجك.
  3. على افتراض الانقطاعات آفاق مزعجة - لقد اختبرنا مرارًا وتكرارًا ، وبدون اعتذار ، نقوم دائمًا بتطبيق تقنية متقطعة لجذب انتباه الزائر وجعلهم يقررون ما إذا كانوا يريدون التواصل بشكل أكبر مع عملائنا أم لا. اسأل زوارك عما إذا كانوا يحبون الأساليب الترويجية المقاطعة التي تنشرها ، وفي أغلب الأحيان يقولون لا. ولكن بعد ذلك ، قم بنشر الأساليب الترويجية وستجد نفس الزوار الذين قالوا إنهم لا يحبونهم هم الذين ينقرون ويتفاعلون معك.
  4. بافتراض أنك تفهم عميلك - غالبًا ما يضع عملاؤنا افتراضات حول سبب شراء الأشخاص منهم - السعر والتوافر والخصومات وخدمة العملاء وما إلى ذلك وهم دائمًا على خطأ. عندما تسأل أحد العملاء عن سبب شرائه منك ، فقد يخبرك حتى بالسبب الخطأ. عندما تعتمد على إحالة اللمسة الأولى أو الأخيرة ، فأنت تقوم أيضًا بافتراض خاطئ. قد تقدم بيانات الإحالة دليلاً على قيام أحد العملاء المحتملين بإجراء ما ، ولكن ليس سبب قيامه بعملية الشراء بالفعل. أبحاث شخصية أمر بالغ الأهمية للفهم الذي اشترى منك والمقابلات من أطراف ثالثة محايدة يمكن أن تجيب لماذا اشتروا منك. لا تفترض أنك تعلم ، فقد تفاجأ جدًا بالنتائج.

خلاصة القول هنا ، بالطبع ، أنه يكاد يكون من المستحيل التقسيم يؤدي التسويق المؤهلين من بقية الخاص بك تحليلات البيانات. ومع ذلك ، يجب عليك اتخاذ قرارات تسويقية بشأن ما يجذب ويشارك في ذلك القطاع بالذات. موقع الويب الخاص بك ليس موجودًا لإرضاء الجميع ؛ يجب أن يُنظر إليه على أنه مورد مبيعات يجذب ويشرك زواره ، ويقودهم إلى عملية تحويل.

لقد ارتكبت أخطاء مماثلة في عملي. لقد استمعت إلى الكثير من الأشخاص الذين كانوا كذلك أبدا في طريقنا لشراء منتجاتنا أو خدماتنا ، أخبرني كيف يجب أن أغير عروضنا ونفقاتنا. كاد أن يضعنا خارج العمل. لم أعد أستمع إلى هؤلاء الأشخاص - بل أومأت برأسي وأواصل فعل ما أعرف أنه يعمل لصالح عملائنا. ما يصلح لهم ليس ما يناسبك أو يناسبني.

توقف عن وضع افتراضات تسويقية من خلال الاستماع والمشاهدة كل شخص التي تمس علامتك التجارية. ابدأ في تحسين التجربة للجمهور المهم ... الجمهور الذي من المرجح أن يشتري منك.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Analytics & Testing, Customer Relationship Management, Search Marketing,

5 Data Disconnects and Bad Marketing Assumptions

We recently ran a user experience test of our site, and the results were split. The audience loved our content but were irritated by our advertising – especially where it was sliding in or popping up. While the testing validated the layout of our site, ease of navigation, and quality of our content – it also pointed to something that annoyed our overall audience.

This disconnect is something that virtually every marketer has to balance, and the business case often counters the reaction or opinion of the audience. Not listening to your audience is counter, of course, to most marketing guru advisors out there that believe responding, listening and following the advice of the audience should always come first.

Here are 10 Data Disconnects and Marketing Assumptions we often make that are terrible for our business.

  1. Assuming All Customers Are Equal – MarketingSherpa recently provided analysis of why customers follow brands on social media. The chart clearly shows that the vast majority of consumers follow brands on social for discounts, sweepstakes, coupons, etc. However, the chart doesn’t show you the value of each consumers’ opinion. Pure discounting could devalue your brand and bury your company. I would be willing to bet that those consumers who saw a lifestyle match and supported their charitable work are much more valuable long-term to a company’s business health.

consumer-preference-survey

  1. Assuming All Visitors are Prospects – Did you know that Bot traffic accounts for over 56% of analytics tracked traffic to your site  Tweet This!? As you’re interpreting your analytics data, how are bots impacting entrance and exit pages, bounce rates, time on site, etc.? They could be skewing the statistics so bad that you’re motivated to change your site in response… but the response is to bots, not prospects! As we review our site, we pay much more attention to quality visits – people that visit multiple pages and spend more than a minute on our site.
  2. Assuming Customer Feedback Will Improve Your Product – I worked for a gigantic SaaS provider who had an aggressive development schedule that incorporated thousands of improvements and dozens of features into every release. The result was a bloated platform that was overly complex, difficult to implement, caused endless development conflicts, and reduced our customer retention. As a consequence, sales became more aggressive, more features were promised, and the cycle started all over. While the company grew revenue and were purchased for a very large sum, they still haven’t ever made a profit and aren’t likely to. When you ask a customer what you should improve, the customer immediately searches for a fault and provides their own, anecdotal reaction. Instead, you should be monitoring your customers’ behavior to prioritize improvements to your product.
  3. Assuming Interruptions Annoy Prospects – We have tested over and over and, without apology, we almost always implement an interruptive technology to capture a visitor’s attention and have them decide whether or not to engage further with our clients. Ask your visitors if they like the interruptive promotional methods you’re deploying and, more often than not, they say no. But then deploy the promotional methods and you’ll find the same visitors that said they didn’t like them are the ones clicking through and engaging with you.
  4. Assuming You Understand Your Customer – Our clients often make assumptions on why people are buying from them – price, availability, discounts, customer service, etc. and are almost always wrong. When you ask a customer why they bought from you, they may even tell you the wrong reason. When you rely on first or last touch attribution, you’re also making a bad assumption. Attribution data may provide evidence of a prospect taking an action, but not why they actually made the purchase. Persona research is critical to understanding who purchased from you and interviews from unbiased third-parties can answer why they purchased from you. Don’t assume that you know, you may be very surprised by the results.

The bottom line here, of course, is that it’s nearly impossible to segment marketing qualified leads from the rest of your analytics data. You must make marketing decisions on what attracts and engages that very segment, though. Your website isn’t there to please everyone; it should be seen as a sales resource that attracts and engages its visitors, driving them through to a conversion.

I’ve made similar mistakes with my business. I listened to far too many people who were never going to buy our products or services tell me how I should change our offerings and expenditures. It nearly put us out of business. No longer do I listen to these people – I just nod my head and keep doing what I know works for our clients. What works for them isn’t what works for you or me.

Stop making marketing assumptions by listening and watching everyone that touches your brand. Begin improving the experience to the audience that matters… the audience that will likely buy from you.

Leave a Reply