الإعلام يفشل بسبب عدم الثقة في نفسه

إيداع الصور 20464339 ثانية

بالأمس أجريت محادثة رائعة مع براد شوميكر، خبير إعلامي محلي له تاريخ طويل في محاولة جر الراديو إلى العصر الرقمي. لقد حدث أن صديقًا آخر ، ريتشارد سيكلس، دخل المكتب. كان لريتشارد تاريخ رائع في الراديو أيضًا. تحدثنا كثيرًا عن صناعة الراديو وواصلت التفكير في الأمر الليلة الماضية.

As بيع الهواء تستمر الإمبراطوريات في التدهور وتواصل إمبراطوريات الراديو التجمع والتوحيد ، فهذا يشير حقًا إلى المشكلة الكامنة في صميم الإعلام التقليدي ... إنهم ببساطة لم يعودوا يؤمنون بأنفسهم بعد الآن. أعتقد أنها نفس المشكلة مع الصحف والتلفزيون أيضًا. بدلاً من إضفاء الطابع الشخصي والتجزئة واعتماد التقنيات المحلية والاجتماعية ... تستمر هذه الصناعات في التحرك في الاتجاه المعاكس. هذا يخلق مسافة بين مصدر المعلومات والجمهور الذي يحاول التواصل معها.

يعد التوحيد والمشاركة عبارة عن عبارات رائعة في عالم الأعمال. إنها مرادفة لتوفير التكاليف. إذا ركزت موهبتك ووسعت نطاقها ، فمن المنطقي فقط أن تقلل من تكلفة إنشاء المحتوى. محطات الراديو تجمع النجوم الوطنيين وتترك محطاتهم فارغة. تستمر الصحف في نشر مقالات وكالة Associated Press وتقليل عدد الموظفين المحليين. تواصل محطات التليفزيون تداول المواهب في الأسواق ، كما أن معدل دورانها منتشر.

ذلك لأنهم لم يعودوا يؤمنون بموهبتهم. إذا علمتنا وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي والمدونات أي شيء ، فإن الطلب على المحتوى المتنوع والشخصي والمجزئ والعاطفي آخذ في الازدياد وليس الانخفاض. يبحث الناس عن مزيد من المعلومات ، وليس أقل ، عن حياتهم وهواياتهم وأعمالهم وحكومتهم. لم ترتفع الوسائط الاجتماعية بسبب التكنولوجيا ، بل قفزت بشكل كبير لأنها تؤمن بنفسها.

لا تنظر إلى أبعد من أي موقع وسائط تقليدية وهو نفس الهراء القديم ... مجموعة من المحتوى عالقة في وسط بحر من الإعلانات المشتتة للانتباه. المزيد من الإعلانات يعني المزيد من العائدات ، أليس كذلك؟ ليس صحيحا. إنهم يضعفون المحتوى الذي نقدره أكثر من غيره. والآن تتراجع قيمة متوسط ​​المحتوى الذي يقدمونه. مرة أخرى ... ليس بسبب الوسيط ، ولكن بسبب شغف الصوت الذي يقف وراءه.

تعد محطات الراديو ، على وجه التحديد ، أساتذة في جودة الصوت والترفيه والوصول الشخصي. لماذا يستمرون في التركيز على بيع الهواء بدلا من بيع الصوت خارج عن ارادتي. يجب أن أكون قادرًا على الدخول إلى أي محطة إذاعية ومعرفة أسعارها لمساعدة الشركات على تطوير برامجها الصوتية الخاصة ، وتوزيع تلك البرامج عبر تطبيقات الهاتف والويب ، وزيادة الإيرادات لأعمالهم من خلال تحديد واستهداف والوصول إلى الجمهور المناسب لا تحتاج العروض حتى إلى التشغيل على موجات الأثير! الوسيلة غير مهمة ... إن الإيمان العاطفي بالصوت المسموع هو المهم.

لست متأكدًا من وجود أمل للصحف - البنية التحتية اللازمة لمواصلة الطباعة على الأشجار الميتة وتوزيع هذا المحتوى باهظة الثمن. يجب عليهم التخلص من المطابع واستثمار أموالهم في المواهب المحلية لإعادة ضخ القيمة في صناعتهم الميتة. يبدو أن التلفزيون هو الوحيد الذي لديه أمل ... يحتضن المجتمع ويدفع وسيطه المذهل عبر الشبكات إلى الجمهور الجائع الذي ينتظره. أود أن أراهم يفتحون الأبواب أمام الشركات والمستهلكين الذين يرغبون في استخدام الفيديو ، بدون إشارات الاتصال ، لإنتاج مقاطع الفيديو الخاصة بهم وتوزيعها وتحقيق الدخل منها أيضًا.

أحب الإعلام التقليدي وما زلت أؤمن بقوة الأشخاص الذين يقفون وراء كل من هذه الوسائط. أنا فقط أتمنى أن يؤمنوا بأنفسهم.

ملاحظة: قرأت تأبين لتويتر على تراجع تفاعل تويتر. ومن المفارقات أنني رأيت بيانًا صحفيًا قبل أيام قليلة كان يروج لإعلانات تويتر نمو... 14 مليون مستخدم آخر. أخشى أن تويتر قد يسير على خطى وسائل الإعلام التقليدية ، بالتركيز عليه مقل العيون بدلاً من جودة المعلومات التي يوفرها. آمل ألا ... لكننا سنرى.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Sales Enablement,

Media Is Failing Because a Lack of Faith in Itself

Yesterday I had a great conversation with Brad Shoemaker, a local media expert with a long history trying to drag radio into the digital age. It just so happened that another friend, Richard Sickels, walked into the office. Richard had a great history in radio as well. We talked a ton about the radio industry and I continued to think about it last night.

As selling air continues to decline and radio empires continue to syndicate and consolidate, it truly points to the problem at the core of traditional media… they simply don’t believe in themselves anymore. I believe it’s the identical problem with newspapers and television as well. Instead of personalizing, segmenting, adopting local and social technologies… these industries continue to move in the opposite direction. This creates distance between the source of the information and the audience trying to connect with it.

Consolidation and syndication are great catch phrases in the business world. They’re synonymous with cost savings. If you centralize your talent and expand its reach, it’s only logical that you decrease the expense of the content generation. Radio stations syndicate national stars and leave their stations empty. Newspapers continue to push Associated Press articles and reduce local staff. Television stations continue to trade talent in markets and turnover is rampant.

It’s because they no longer believe in their talent. If social media and blogging have taught us anything, its that the demand for diverse, personalized, segmented, passionate content is on the rise, not declining. People are seeking more information, not less, about their lives, their hobbies, their businesses and their government. Social mediums didn’t skyrocket because of the technology, they skyrocketed because they believed in themselves.

Look no further than any traditional media site and it’s the same old crap… a dash of content stuck in the middle of a sea of distracting advertisements. More advertising means more revenue right? Not right. They’re diluting the very content that we value the most. And now the value of the average content they’re providing is on the decline. Again… not because of the medium, but because of the passion of the voice behind it.

Radio stations, specifically, are masters of audio quality, entertainment, and personal reach. Why they continue to focus on selling air instead of selling voice is beyond me. I should be able to walk into any radio station and see their rates for helping businesses develop their own audio programs, distribute those program via mobile and web applications, and drive revenue to their businesses by identifying, targeting and reaching the right audience. The shows don’t even need to run on the airwaves! The medium doesn’t matter… it’s the passionate belief in the voice that’s heard that matters.

I’m not sure there’s hope for newspapers – the infrastructure necessary to continue printing on dead trees and distributing that content is too expensive. They should dump the presses and invest their money in local talent to re-inject value into their dead industry. Television seems to be the only one with hope… embracing social and pushing their incredible medium through the interwebs to the hungry audience waiting for it. I’d like to see them open up the doors to businesses and consumers who wish to use video, without the call signs, to produce, distribute and monetize their own videos as well.

I love traditional media and continue to believe in the power of the people behind each of these mediums. I just wish they believed in themselves.

Note: I read A Eulogy for Twitter on the decline of Twitter interaction. Ironically, I saw a press release a few days earlier that touted Twitter’s growth… another 14 million users. I’m afraid that Twitter may be following in the footsteps of traditional media, focusing on eyeballs instead of the quality of the information it provides. I hope not… but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply