ارقد بسلام يا صديقي مايك

عندما انتقلت لأول مرة من فيرجينيا بيتش إلى دنفر ، كنت أنا وطفليَّ فقط. كان الأمر مرعبًا جدًا ... وظيفة جديدة ، مدينة جديدة ، انتهى زواجي ، وذهبت مدخراتي. لتوفير المال ، كنت أستقل القطار الخفيف للعمل كل يوم. بعد بضعة أسابيع ، أجريت محادثة قصيرة مع رجل على القطار الخفيف يدعى مايك.

هذه صورة وجدتها في موقع ابن مايك.

هذه صورة وجدتها في موقع ابن مايك.

كان مايك رجلاً شاملاً. أنا رجل كبير جدًا ، لذا ربما هذا هو سبب نجاحنا. بعد التعرف على مايك ، وجدت أنه يعمل كمارشال يحمي القضاة الفيدراليين في وسط المدينة. مع أحداث 9 سبتمبر ، كان لدى مايك وظيفة جادة وكان يحب المسؤولية. لم تنته روحه الوقائية عند خطوات المحكمة أيضًا. غالبًا ما وجدت مايك يجد مقعدًا على سكة حديد خفيفة بين مخمور وبقية الركاب. في منتصف محادثاتنا ، كنت أرى أنني فقدت انتباهه بينما كان يراقب الآخرين. لم يعرفوا حتى أنه كان هناك لحمايتهم.

كان هذا وقتًا في حياتي كان لدي فيه الكثير من الأسئلة ولم يكن لدي الكثير من الإجابات. بدأت بالذهاب إلى الكنيسة وفي أحد أيامي الأولى نظرت عبر الكنيسة وكان هناك مايك وكاثي. لا أعتقد أنها كانت مصادفة.

أخذني مايك تحت جناحه وفتح منزله لي ولأولادي. لقد أمضينا عددًا قليلاً من الإجازات مع مايك وكاثي وأطفالهم (الكبار). كانت محادثاتنا في القطار رائعة وكانت من أعز ذكرياتي عن دنفر. أحب مايك عائلته أكثر من أي شيء آخر في العالم. في كثير من الأحيان لا ترى رجلاً في مكانته تمزق ، لكن كل ما عليك فعله هو البدء في الحديث عن عائلته.

بالإضافة إلى عائلته ، كان لدى مايك أيضًا علاقة قوية مع يسوع المسيح. لم يكن شيئًا كان يرتديه على جعبته ، لكنه أيضًا لم يكن بعيدًا عن المحادثة. كان مايك واحدًا من هؤلاء المسيحيين الذين كان حقًا ممتنًا لكل ما أعطي له. لقد رأيت فرحًا وثقة في مايك لم تجدها في كثير من البالغين ، ويرجع ذلك إلى حد كبير إلى إيمانه وعائلته. لم يعظ مايك ، لقد حاول حقًا أن يعيش حياته وفقًا للطريقة التي كان يعتقد أن الله يريده أن يفعلها. شارك مايك سعادته وخبراته في حبه لله معك. لم يكن أبدًا انتهازيًا ، ولم يكن مطلقًا قضائيًا

تلقيت رسالة من كاثي ، زوجة مايك ، الليلة تقول أنه توفي أثناء نومه. أنا في صدمة. أشعر بخيبة أمل لأنني لم أتمكن أبدًا من العودة لزيارة مايك ، وأكثر حزنًا لأنني لم أبق على اتصال عبر الهاتف. يجب أن يعرف كاثي وعائلته أنه كان جزءًا مهمًا من حياتي. ليس لدي أدنى شك في أن الله وضع مايك على نفس القطار بقدر ما كان يساعدني في العثور على طريقي.

أنا ممتن إلى الأبد لمايك ، وحب عائلته ، والذكريات الرائعة التي قدموها لي ولعائلتي. بارك الله فيك يا مايك. ارقد في سلام. نحن نعلم أنك في المنزل.

8 تعليقات

  1. 1

    دوغ ، يا لها من شهادة على حياة صديقك مايك. يبدو وكأنه رجل رائع كان له تأثير كبير على كل شخص تواصل معه. شكرًا لك على مشاركة قصتك الشخصية ومشاركتك قصة شاهد مايك اللطيف. أنا آسف لفقدان صديقك.

  2. 3
  3. 4
    • 5

      مرحبا جيمس،

      العديد من الصلوات تخرج لعائلتك. لقد "استعرت" الصورة الرائعة لمايك التي كانت لديك على موقعك. إنها صورة رائعة وكيف أتذكر مايك بالضبط.

      شكر،
      دوغ

  4. 6

    مرحبا دوغ ،

    قطعة مؤثرة حقًا عن مايك ، آسف جدًا لخسارتك لمثل هذا الصديق الطيب. سعيد لأنك شاركت هذا ، إنها قصة جميلة وأعتقد أنها تذكير مهم لكيفية حدوث الأشياء المدهشة أحيانًا بطرق مفاجئة.

  5. 7

    دوغ،

    شكرًا جزيلاً لك على منشورك عن والدي ، ويسعدني جدًا أن أسمع الكثير من الناس الذين احترموا والدي كثيرًا ، وسنفتقده جميعًا كثيرًا ، لكن تذكر دائمًا أنه في مكان أفضل بكثير الآن وما زلنا نشاهد فوق الجميع ، سعيد لأنه يمكن أن ينتظر لرؤية عائلته وأصدقائه مرة أخرى. ابقينا جميعًا في صلاتك وخاصة أمي.

    مرة أخرى، شكراجزيلا لك!!!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Customer Relationship Management

Rest in Peace, My Friend Mike

When I first moved from Virginia Beach to Denver, it was just me and my two kids. It was pretty terrifying… a new job, a new city, my marriage ended, and my savings gone. To save money, I took the light rail to work each day. After a few weeks, I got to having some small talk with a guy on the light rail named Mike.

This is a photo I found at Mike\'s son\'s site.

This is a photo I found at Mike's son's site.

Mike was a towering man. I’m a pretty big guy, so maybe that’s why we hit it off. After getting to know Mike, I found he worked as a Marshall that protected the federal justices downtown. With 9/11, Mike had a serious job and he loved the responsibility. His protective spirit didn’t end at the court steps, either. I often found Mike finding a seat on the light rail between a drunk and the rest of the passengers. In the middle of our conversations, I would see that I lost his attention while he watched over other people. They didn’t even know he was there protecting them.

This was a time in my life where I had a lot of questions and not a lot of answers. I began going to Church and one of my first days I looked across the Church and there was Mike and Kathy. I don’t believe it was a coincidence.

Mike took me under his wing and opened his home to me and my kids. We spent quite a few holidays with Mike, Kathy and their (grown) kids. Our conversations on the train were fantastic and some of the fondest memories I have of Denver. Mike loved his family more than anything in the world. It’s not often you see a man of his stature tear up, but all you had to do was begin talking about his family.

Beyond his family, Mike also had an intense relationship with Jesus Christ. It wasn’t something he wore on his sleeve, but it was also never far from a conversation. Mike was one of those Christians who truly was thankful for all that he had been given. I saw a joy and confidence in Mike that you don’t find in many adults, largely due to his faith and his family. Mike didn’t preach, he really tried to live his life according to how he thought God would want him to. Mike just shared his happiness and his experiences in his love of God with you. It was never pushy, never judgmental.

I got a note from Kathy, Mike’s wife, tonight that said that he had passed away in his sleep. I’m in shock. I’m disappointed that I never got to go back and visit Mike and even more sad that I hadn’t kept in touch by phone. Kathy and his family should know that he was an important part of my life. I have no doubt that God put Mike on the same train as often as He did to help me find my way.

I’m forever thankful for Mike, his family’s love, and the incredible memories they gave to me and my family. God bless you, Mike. Rest in Peace. We know you’re home.

8 Comments

  1. 1

    Doug, what a testimony to your friend Mike’s life. Sounds like an amazing man who had quite an impact on everyone he came in touch with. Thank you for sharing your personal story and for sharing about Mike’s gentle witness. I am sorry for the loss of your friend.

  2. 3
  3. 4
    • 5

      Hi James,

      Many prayers are going out to your family. I’ve ‘borrowed’ the great photo of Mike that you had on your site. It’s a great picture and exactly how I remember Mike.

      Thanks,
      Doug

  4. 6

    Hi Doug,

    Really touching piece about Mike, so sorry about your loss of such a good friend. Glad you shared this, its such a nice story and I think an important reminder of how sometimes the most amazing things happen in surprising ways.

  5. 7

    doug,

    Thank you so much for your post about my dad, i am so glad to hear from so many poeple that respected my dad so much, we all will miss him greatly, but always remember he is in a much better place now and is still watching over everyone, happy as can be waiting to see his family and friends again. keep us all in your prayers especially mom.

    again thank you so much!!!

Leave a Reply