تطوير الشخصية هو النحت وليس الصب

رئيس

رئيسغالبًا ما تكون الشركات والأفراد متحمسين جدًا لحماية علامتهم التجارية أو شخصيتهم على الإنترنت. علمتنا مدرسة التسويق القديمة أن كل شيء يتعلق بعلامتنا التجارية يجب أن يتحدث إلى الكمال ... وأن الكمال هو ما يتم بيعه. كان لدينا شعارات مثالية وتغليف مثالي وشعارات مثالية تتماشى معها. غالبًا ما تكون المدرسة القديمة للتسويق مخيبة للآمال أيضًا. بمجرد تفكيك المنتج واستخدامه ، غالبًا ما نشعر بالإحباط. لا عجب لماذا لا يثق الناس في التسويق.

في مهاجمة تواجدهم على الإنترنت ، لم تموت العادات القديمة. تصاب الشركات بالذعر عندما يكون هناك بكسل في غير محله ... أو ما هو أسوأ من ذلك ، ويكون الموظف في حالة فوضى. أخبرني صاحب وكالة على Facebook منذ حوالي أسبوع إذا قام موظفوه بإهانة شخص ما في تغريدة ، فسوف يقوم بطردهم. هذا يضع المعايير عالية جدا ... في الكمال. آمل أن يتفق كلانا على أن الكمال أمر بعيد المنال. لا أريد التعامل مع تلك الوكالة التي تحدثت عنها عبر الإنترنت لأنه فقد مصداقيتي على الفور. لا يمكنني العمل مع شخص كهذا لأنني أرتكب أخطاء طوال الوقت. الخوف من الفشل هو ما يمنع الناس غالبًا من المضي قدمًا والنجاح في الواقع.

النقص هو إحدى السمات المميزة للشفافية ... وهو ما يواصل الناس على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الوعظ. إذا كان هناك بكسل في غير محله على موقعك ، أفهم ذلك! لدي عدد غير قليل من نفسي - ومع عدد قليل من أنظمة التشغيل وعشرات من المتصفحات ، فإن هدف الكمال ، مرة أخرى ، غير قابل للتحقيق. إذا قلت شيئًا محرجًا - فلا بأس - يجب أن أفعل. إذا أخطأت - الله أعلم أنني أخطأت أيضًا!

لا يتعلق تطوير شخصيتك عبر الإنترنت بإلقاء صورة لنفسك أو لشركتها ثم وضع النسخة المتماثلة المثالية على الإنترنت للعرض. يتعلق الأمر بكون صورتك انعكاسًا حقيقيًا للذات - إلى جانب عيوبها وأخطائها. غالبًا ما أستخدم قواعد القواعد النحوية في هذه المدونة مع أخطاء إملائية في أبسط الكلمات. عندما يتم لفت انتباهي ، أعود ببساطة وأصححها. هذا هو الشيء الرائع في هذه الأشياء ... يمكننا تشكيلها بالشكل الذي نريده أن يكون.

إذا كنت تقود مصممي الجرافيك والمطورين والمسوقين وأفراد العلاقات العامة الذين يحاولون الحصول على كل شيء بشكل مثالي ، فأنت تسبب ضررًا أكثر مما تنفع. بادئ ذي بدء ، يريد الناس العمل مع الأشخاص الذين يحبونهم. لا أحد الإعجابات الكمال. ثانيًا ، التأخير الذي تقوم بحقنه يضر بتقدمك أكثر مما تدفعه إلى الأمام مع وجود عيوب كثيرة. الاستثناء بالطبع هو الزلة العملاقة التي ستلحق ضررًا دائمًا بسمعتك. حتى تلك الحالات نادرة.

عندما تخطو خطوة أمام الآخرين ، فليس هناك الكثير من المنافسة. للاستفادة من اقتصاد اليوم ، وثقافة اليوم ، والسرعة التي نتقدم بها ، عليك ببساطة أن تبتعد عن نفسك وتتقدم إلى الأمام. بين الثور ومتجر الصين ، سيفوز الثور في كل مرة.

لا تحاول ألقى شخصيتك المثالية عبر الإنترنت. بدلاً من ذلك ، قم برمي بعض الطين هناك وابدأ في تشكيله بالشكل الذي تريده. بمرور الوقت ، سيصبح الشكل أكثر وضوحًا. بمرور الوقت ، سيتعلم الناس أن يعرفوك ويثقوا بك. بمرور الوقت ، سيشتري الناس منك. بمرور الوقت ، سيكون لديك متابعون رائعون. لقد اكتشف البعض منا ذلك. تلك التي لم تُترك في التراب.

كن شجاعا. كن سريعا. كن رشيقًا بما يكفي لإصلاحه كما تذهب.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

Developing a Persona is Sculpture, not Casting

Companies and individuals are often overzealous in the protection of their brand or persona online. The old school of marketing taught us that everything about our brand had to speak to perfection… and that perfection was what sold. We had perfect logos, perfect packaging and perfect slogans to go with them. The old school of marketing often disappointed, too, though. Once we unwrapped and used the product, we would often be discouraged. It’s no wonder why people don’t trust marketing.

In attacking their online presence, the old habits haven’t died. Companies freak out when there’s a pixel out of place… or worse, and employee runs amok. An owner of an agency told me on Facebook about a week ago if his employees ever insulted someone in a tweet, he’d fire them. That sets the bar pretty high… at perfection. I hope that both of us agree that perfection is unattainable. I don’t want to do business with that agency I spoke of online because he lost credibility with me instantly. I can’t work with someone like that because I make mistakes all the time. It’s the fear of failing that often stops people from pressing forward and actually succeeding.

Imperfection is one of the hallmarks of transparency… which is what social media folks continue to preach. If there’s a pixel out of place on your site, I understand! I have quite a few myself – and with a handful of operating systems and dozens of browsers, the goal of perfection is, again, not attainable. If you say something embarrassing – it’s okay – I have to. If you make a mistake – God knows that I have, too!

Developing your online persona isn’t about casting an image of one’s self or its company and then putting the perfect replica out online for display. It’s about your image being a true reflection of one’s self – along with its flaws and mistakes. I often bludgeon the rules of grammar on this blog along with misspelling the simplest of words. When it’s brought to my attention, I simply go back and correct it. That’s what’s great about this stuff… we can mold it into the shape we’d like it to be.

If you’re driving your graphic designers, developers, marketers and PR folks nuts trying to get everything perfect, you’re doing more damage than good. First of all, people want to work with people they like. No one likes a perfectionist. Second of all, the delays that you’re injecting are more of a detriment to your progress than had you pushed forward with flaws aplenty. The exception of course is the giant gaff that’s going to do permanent damage to your reputation. Even those cases are rare, though.

When you’re take a step out in front of others, there’s not as much competition. To take advantage of today’s economy, today’s culture and the speed at which we are advancing, you simply have to get off your butt and charge forward. Between the bull and the China shop, the Bull will win every time.

Don’t try to cast your perfect persona online. Instead, throw some mud out there and start molding it into the shape you want. Over time, the shape will become clearer. Over time, people will learn to know and trust you. Over time, people will buy from you. Over time, you’ll have a great following. Some of us have figured that out. The ones that haven’t are being left in the dirt.

Be fearless. Be fast. Be agile enough to fix it as you go.

Leave a Reply