تعرف على Sun و Jonathon Shwartz في هذه المقابلة الرائعة

صن مايكروسيستمزمنذ عام ونصف لقد حدث للجلوس على طاولة من جوناثان شوارتز في البداية مخيم Mashup وفي الواقع لم يعرف من هو.

مدير التسويق ، كريس باجوت، أشار إلي ، ثم جلسنا وشاهدناه يجري مقابلته من قبل CNET لمدة 20 دقيقة على الأرجح. لقد تأثرت على الفور. أول شيء فعله هو عدم توجيه اللكمات والتحدث إلى الكتاب المحددين حول بعض المقالات التي CNET كتب وكيف الاحد تم تحريفها. لقد كان في المقدمة بوحشية معهم وبالتأكيد لم يسحب أي اللكمات. لقد رأيت العديد من القادة يخدمون الصحافة ، لذلك كان من الرائع مشاهدتها.

في هذا ScobleShow الجلوس مع روبرت سكوبل، يتحدث Jonathon عن Sun و Java و iPhone و Mircrosoft ومجموعة من الموضوعات الحديثة الأخرى. إنه ودود وواسع المعرفة ومنفتح بشكل لا يصدق.

أحد أهم الاقتباسات هنا هو أن مؤشر Sun الرئيسي للنجاح هو حقًا سعادة موظفيها. يفتخر Jonathon كثيرًا بـ "boomerangs" ... أي موظفي Sun الذين غادروا ولكنهم الآن يعودون إلى الشركة. كما تحدث إلى العديد من الأسماء الخاطئة حول Sun مثل سعر الدخول والترخيص. هل تعلم أن صن تنفق ملياري دولار على البحث والتطوير كل عام؟ أو أن Java هي أكثر شعار تقني معروف على نطاق واسع؟

باعتباري تقنيًا "نمت Microsoft" ... بعد أن عملت دائمًا مع الشركات الكبيرة المبنية على شبكات وخوادم Microsoft ، أعتقد أن ملاحظاتي الوحيدة على Jonathon and Sun هي أنني بصراحة لا أعرفهم جيدًا بما فيه الكفاية. أنا في إنديانا ... لست في وادي السيليكون. لا يمكنني الذهاب إلى العديد من أحداث الصناعة. نحن شركة تطوير سريعة الخطى موجودة على مسارات قطارات Microsoft ولن تنزل في أي وقت قريبًا ... إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا. أنا شخصياً أحب LAMP لكن تجربتي معهم هي ببساطة ما فعلته بنفسي مع الاستضافة والتطوير و WordPress و MAMP. لقد عملت مع خدمات الويب Java قبل بضع سنوات وعملت ببراعة ، لكننا لم ننفذها أبدًا لأنه يمكننا أيضًا تنفيذ خدمة الويب باستخدام تقنيات Microsoft - التي بنيت عليها تطبيقاتنا.

يشير تعليق من مطور على موقع Jonathon إلى شيء مشابه ... لا يمكنه تجربة Solaris لأنه ببساطة ليس خيارًا له لبدء "اللعب" في المنزل.

ها هي فكرتي الكبيرة الجريئة المشعرة لـ Sun. أعني هذا مع كل الاحترام الواجب ، فلماذا لا تضع أموالهم في مكانها الصحيح وتتشاور بحرية مع عملاء Enterprise Microsoft حول إعادة تطوير تطبيقاتهم في Java على Solaris. إنه ببساطة ليس خيارًا بالنسبة لنا للبحث في مكان آخر عن حل ... حتى لو كانت المدخرات في نهاية الطريق ، فليس لدينا وقت للقيادة على هذا الطريق.

ليس لدي أدنى شك في أن تطبيقاتنا قد تعمل بشكل أفضل ، وأن يكون حجمها أسهل ، وقد تنخفض تكاليفنا ، وقد تتحسن الخدمة مع Sun. ولكن كيف نتحرك دون تعطيل شركتنا أو تأخير التطوير المطلوب للمنافسة في سوقنا؟ لدينا 5,000 عميل و 15,000 مستخدم ومليارات المعاملات كل ثلاثة أشهر. هل تقوم الشركات الأخرى بهذه التحولات؟ جوناثان ، في المرة القادمة التي تكون فيها في إنديانابوليس ... أود أن أتناول الغداء وأخذك في جولة في شركتنا.

ملاحظة أخيرة… يناقش جوناثان أيضًا تجربة الاقتراب من الموت التي غيرت حياته. لحسن الحظ ، لم أعبر ذلك - لكن إنجاب الأطفال كان له تأثير مماثل علي. أيضًا ... هل تم تقطيع الفيديو في النهاية؟

2 تعليقات

  1. 1

    شكرا للتعليق اللطيف. تم تقطيع الفيديو في النهاية. تعرض الشريط لفشل هائل هناك ، لذا فاتتك بضع ثوانٍ وشيء من نوع "شكرًا ، وداعًا". اسف بشأن ذلك. من بين حوالي 800 مقابلة قمت بها هذه هي المرة الثالثة فقط التي يتسبب فيها فشل الشريط في تدمير شيء ما.

  2. 2

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Mobile and Tablet Marketing, Search Marketing

Learn about Sun and Jonathon Shwartz in this great Interview

Sun MicrosystemsA year and a half ago I happened to be sitting across a table from Jonathon Schwartz at the first Mashup Camp and actually didn’t know who he was.

My CMO, Chris Baggott, pointed him out to me and then we sat and watched him get interviewed by CNET for probably about 20 minutes. I was instantly impressed. The first thing he did was pull no punches and talk to the specific writers about some articles that CNET had written and how Sun was misrepresented. He was brutally up front with them and definitely pulled no punches. I’ve seen many leaders cater to the press, so this was cool to watch.

In this ScobleShow sit down with Robert Scoble, Jonathon talks about Sun, Java, iPhone, Mircrosoft and a host of other recent topics. He’s friendly, knowledgeable and incredibly open.

One of the great quotes in here is that Sun’s leading indicator of success is really the happiness of their employees. Jonathon takes great pride in ‘boomerangs’… that is, Sun employees who left but are now returning to the company. He also talks to many of the misnomers out there about Sun such as price of entry and licensing. Did you know Sun spends $2 billion on research and development each year? Or that Java is the most widely recognized tech logo?

As a ‘Microsoft-grown’ technologist… having always worked for large corporations built on Microsoft networks and servers, I guess my only feedback to Jonathon and Sun is that I frankly don’t know them well enough. I’m in Indiana… not in Silicon Valley. I don’t get to go to many industry events. We’re a fast-paced development company that is on the train tracks of Microsoft and won’t get off any time soon… if that’s even possible. Personally, I love LAMP but my experience with them is simply what I’ve done on my own with hosting, development, WordPress, and MAMP. I worked with Java web services a few years ago and it worked brilliantly, but we never implemented because we could also implement the web service with Microsoft technologies – that our applications were built on.

A comment from a developer on Jonathon’s site states something similar… he can’t experiment with Solaris because it’s simply not an option for him to begin ‘playing’ at home.

Here’s my big hairy audacious idea for Sun. I mean this with all due respect, why not put their money where their mouth is and openly and freely consult with Enterprise Microsoft customers on redeveloping their applications in Java on Solaris. It’s simply not an option for us to look elsewhere for a solution… even if the savings is at the end of the road, we don’t have time to drive down that road.

I have no doubt that our applications may perform better, scale easier, our costs may be reduced, and service may improve with Sun. But how do we make that move without crippling our company or delaying development that is needed to compete in our market? We have 5,000 clients, 15,000 users and billions of transactions every quarter. Do other companies make those transitions? Jonathon, next time you’re in Indianapolis… I’d love to have lunch and take you on a tour of our company.

One last note… Jonathon also discusses a near-death experience that changed his life. Thankfully, I’ve not been through that – but having children has had a similar impact on me. Also… did the video get chopped at the end?

2 Comments

  1. 1

    Thanks for the kind comments. The video did get chopped right at the end. The tape had a massive failure right there so you missed a few seconds and the “thanks, goodbye” kind of thing. Sorry about that. Out of about 800 interviews I’ve done that’s only the third time a tape failure ruined something.

  2. 2

Leave a Reply