إدارة المنتج: الصمت هو النجاح الذي غالبًا ما يذهب بدون مقابل

الصمتكونه مدير منتج لشركة Inc 500 ادارة العلاقات مع كانت الشركة مُرضية وصعبة بشكل لا يصدق.

لقد سئلت مرة واحدة عما إذا كان هناك منصب آخر في الشركة أرغب في أن يكون ... بصراحة ، لا يوجد منصب أفضل من مدير المنتج. أظن أن مديري المنتجات في شركات البرامج الأخرى يوافقون على ذلك. إذا كنت تتساءل عما يفعله مدير المنتج ، فإن أوصاف الوظائف تختلف بشكل كبير من شركة إلى أخرى.

في بعض الشركات ، يوجه مدير المنتج منتجه ويمتلكه حرفياً ويكون مسؤولاً عن نجاح أو فشل ذلك المنتج. في عملي ، يوجه مدير المنتج ويرتب الأولويات ويساعد في تصميم الميزات والإصلاحات في مجال التطبيق الذي يكون مسؤولاً عنه.

السكوت من ذهب

لا يمكن دائمًا قياس النجاح مباشرة بالدولار والسنت. غالبًا ما يتم قياسه بـ الصمت. ستخبرك الدولارات والسنتات بمدى تنافسية ميزاتك في الصناعة ، لكن الصمت هو المقياس الداخلي للنجاح:

  • الصمت من فرق التطوير الذين قرأوا متطلباتك ووقائع الاستخدام وقادرون على فهمها وتنفيذها.
  • الصمت من فرق التسويق الذين يدركون قيمة منتجك ويمكنهم توضيحها في المواد.
  • الصمت من فرق المبيعات المنشغلة بالبيع للعملاء المحتملين الذين يحتاجون إلى ميزاتك.
  • الصمت من فرق التنفيذ التي يتعين عليها شرح ميزاتك وتنفيذها مع عملاء جدد.
  • الصمت من فرق خدمة العملاء الذين يتعين عليهم الرد على المكالمات الهاتفية وشرح المشكلات أو التحديات المرتبطة بميزاتك.
  • الصمت من فرق تشغيل المنتج الذين يتعين عليهم التعامل مع المطالب التي تضعها ميزاتك على الخوادم والنطاق الترددي.
  • صمت من فرق القيادة الذين لا يقاطعهم العملاء الرئيسيون الذين يشكون من قراراتك.

غالبًا ما يذهب الصمت دون مقابل

مشكلة الصمت ، بالطبع ، هي أن لا أحد يلاحظه. لا يمكن قياس الصمت. غالبًا لا يمنحك الصمت مكافآت أو ترقيات. لقد مررت بالعديد من الإصدارات الرئيسية الآن ونعمت بالصمت. أدت كل ميزة من الميزات التي عملت بها مع Development Teams لتصميمها وتنفيذها إلى زيادة المبيعات وعدم حدوث زيادة في مشكلات خدمة العملاء.

لم يتم الاعتراف بي أبدًا بسبب هذا ... لكني موافق على ذلك! أنا أكثر ثقة في قدراتي مما كنت عليه في أي وقت مضى. إذا كانت نهاية الذيل صامتة ، يمكنني أن أؤكد لك أن هناك الكثير من الضوضاء في الواجهة الأمامية. يتطلب كونك مدير منتج ناجحًا شغفًا ومطالب لا تصدق في مراحل التخطيط للإصدارات وخرائط الطريق. بصفتك مدير منتج ، غالبًا ما تجد نفسك على خلاف مع مديري المنتجات والقادة والمطورين الآخرين وحتى مع العملاء.

إذا لم تلتزم بتحليلك وقراراتك ، فقد تخاطر بعملائك وتوقعاتك ومستقبل شركتك ومنتجاتك. إذا قلت ببساطة نعم لمطالب القيادة أو مطالب المطور ، يمكنك تدمير تجربة المستخدم لعملائك. غالبًا ما تجد نفسك على خلاف مع رئيسك في العمل وزملائك.

إدارة المنتج ليست وظيفة للجميع!

هذا يمثل ضغطًا كبيرًا ويتطلب أشخاصًا يمكنهم العمل من خلال هذا الضغط واتخاذ القرارات الصعبة. ليس من السهل النظر إلى وجوه الناس وإخبارهم أنك تتحرك في اتجاه مختلف ولماذا. يتطلب الأمر قادة أقوياء يدعمونك ويحاسبونك على نجاح أو فشل منتجك. القادة الذين يضعون ثقتهم فيك لاتخاذ القرارات المناسبة.

يتطلب أيضًا تقديرًا للصمت.

4 تعليقات

  1. 1
  2. 2

    دوغ سمعته بهذا المنشور. على الرغم من أن بعض التعليقات تتوق (أفعل) ، إلا أن الصمت هو في الواقع شكل من أشكال التعليقات التي لا يتم أخذها في الاعتبار في كثير من الأحيان. والاعتراف؟ يتجاهل العديد من المديرين مهارات الموارد البشرية البسيطة ، غير مدركين لكيفية تأثير تعليق إيجابي بسيط على معنويات موظفيهم.

  3. 3

    مثير للإعجاب! لا يوجد اعتراف ولا صمت أفضل من الاعتراف بالرجل الذي أفسد كل شيء - بينما أحدث الكثير من الضوضاء. لا يزال لديك وظيفة في الصباح! لكن ، لا يزال يتعين عليك إصدار بعض الضوضاء ، تأكد من أن الناس يعرفون أنك لا تزال ترفس.

  4. 4

    سيدي ، الصمت بالنسبة لي صفة جوهرية إلى حد ما. إن مكافأة الصمت محددة ولكن إذا تزامن مع الشخصية والعمل الذي يقوم به الشخص ... سواء كان ذلك في مجال تطوير المنتج أو غير ذلك ...

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Search Marketing, Technology

Product Management: Silence is Success that often goes Unrewarded

SilenceBeing a Product Manager for an Inc 500 SaaS company has been both fulfilling and incredibly challenging.

I was asked once if there was another position in the company I would like to have… honestly, there is no better position than Product Manager. I suspect that Product Managers at other software companies agree. If you’re wondering what a Product Manager does, the job descriptions vary widely from company to company.

At some businesses, a Product Manager literally directs and owns his/her product and is accountable for the success or failure of that Product. At my work, a Product Manager guides, prioritizes, and helps to design features and fixes in the area of the application he/she is responsible.

Silence is Golden

Success can’t always be measured directly in dollars and cents. It is often measured in silence. Dollars and cents will tell you how competitive your features are in the industry, but silence is the internal measure of success:

  • Silence from Development Teams who read your Requirements and Use Cases and are able to understand and implement them.
  • Silence from Marketing Teams who recognize your product’s value and can illustrate it in material.
  • Silence from Sales Teams who are busy selling to prospects who need your features.
  • Silence from Implementation Teams who have to explain your features and implement them with new customers.
  • Silence from Customer Service Teams who have to answer the phone calls and explain problems or challenges associated with your features.
  • Silence from Product Operation Teams who have to deal with the demands that your features put on the Servers and Bandwidth.
  • Silence from Leadership Teams who aren’t interrupted by key clients complaining about your decisions.

Silence often goes Unrewarded

The problem with silence, of course, is that no one notices it. Silence can’t be measured. Silence often doesn’t get you bonuses or promotions. I’ve been through multiple major releases now and have been blessed with silence. Each of the features I worked with Development Teams to design and implement have resulted in additional sales and no increase in customer service issues.

I’ve never been recognized for this… but I’m okay with that! I’m more confident in my abilities than I’ve ever been. If the tail end is silence, I can assure you there’s a lot more noise on the front-end. Being a successful Product Manager requires incredible passion and demands in the planning stages of releases and roadmaps. As a Product Manager, you often find yourself at odds with other Product Managers, Leaders, Developers, and even with Clients.

If you don’t stand by your analysis and decisions, you may risk your clients, your prospects, and the future of your company and products. If you simply say yes to leadership demands or developer demands, you can destroy your clients’ user experience. Often you can find yourself even at odds with your own boss and colleagues.

Product Management is not a job for everyone!

That’s a lot of pressure and it requires people that can work through that pressure and make the tough decisions. It’s not easy to look people in the face and tell them you’re moving in a different direction and why. It requires strong leaders that will back you up and hold you accountable for the success or failures of your product. Leaders who put their trust in you to make the appropriate decisions.

It also requires an appreciation for silence.

4 Comments

  1. 1
  2. 2

    Doug you nailed it with this post. Though some crave feedback (I do), silence is in fact a form of feedback that is often not considered. And recognition? Simple HR skills are overlooked by many managers, oblivious to how a simple positive comment can affect their employees’ morale.

  3. 3

    Interesting! No recognition and silence is better than being recognized as the guy who screwed everything up – while making a lot of noise. You’ll still have a job in the morning! But, you’ve still got to make some noise, make sure people know you are still kicking.

  4. 4

    Sir, Silence for me is a quality which is more or less very intrinsic. The reward for the silence is definite but if it synchronizes with the personality and the work done by the person… Be it the area of Product Development or else…

Leave a Reply