أنت لا تدفع مقابل مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

استطلاع على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

مع التركيز الواسع لـ Martech Zone، قد لا أحصل على التضخيم الاجتماعي الذي تحبه مدونة رائعة إقناع وتحويل يحصل (منشور رائع من جاي!) ... لكنني أقدر المجتمع الذي أنشأناه هنا Martech Zone.

أحدث Zoomerang استطلاع أضفنا إلى استراتيجيات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي التي تملأني بالفخر ... أنتم مسوقون متطورون! أنت تشارك بنشاط في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، وتنشر المحتوى هناك ، وتدفع مقابل الأدوات والترويج ... وتقيس عائد الاستثمار. ببساطة ... رائع! هذا يعني أننا نواجه تحديًا يتمثل في تقديم محتوى تسويقي متقدم لك بقدر الأساسيات.

استطلاع على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

قد يتساءل المرء إذا DK New Media هو اجتماعي شركة استشارات اعلامية، لماذا تكون سعيدًا لأن لا أحد من قرائك يدفع مقابل استشارات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؟ حسنًا ... سأقولها ... لست بحاجة إلى ذلك. إن مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هم عشرة سنتات ويبدو أن المؤهلات هي أي شخص يمكنه تجميع جملة مكونة من 140 حرفًا مع علامة تصنيف ورمز @.

تحتاج الشركات التي تستثمر في الاستشارات التسويقية إلى تحديد المستشارين ذوي الخبرة في العمل من خلال استراتيجيات تسويق متنوعة عبر الوسائط التي تستفيد من كل وسيط وتعظيم استثماراتهم وتأثيرهم. يتطلب ذلك استشاريًا يتمتع بخبرة أكبر. آسف إذا أساءت للتو جزءًا من جمهوري ... ولكن ما لم تكن تعرف تأثير الشبكات الاجتماعية على البحث والجوال والوسائط التقليدية والبريد الإلكتروني وما إلى ذلك ... وكيفية قياس فعاليتها مع ... ما زلت في المدرسة الابتدائية.

15 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مرحبًا دوغ ، لقد جئت إلى هنا بعد ارتباط من مشاركة مدونة جاي. أول شيء لاحظته هو أنه يعطيك رابطًا مباشرًا غنيًا بالكلمات الرئيسية وأن رابطك المتبادل هو منشوره مع إطارك حوله.

    الشيء الثاني الذي لاحظته هو أنه لا يوجد أي خيار في الاستطلاع يمثل استراتيجيات في الواقع. إنها أفعال وتكتيكات ومجموعات من الإجراءات. لا يعد استخدام أدوات الوسائط الاجتماعية المجانية التابعة لجهات خارجية استراتيجية. إنها طريقة لتنفيذ استراتيجية.

    وبالمثل ، فإن الدفع لمستشار وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ليس استراتيجية. أنت تدفع لمستشار وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لمساعدتك في تطوير استراتيجية ونشرها وتعديلها.

    آخر شيء ألاحظه هو أنك على الفور ما لم تكن لديك مقاييس تعيد تعيين أهدافك الإستراتيجية ، فأنت لا تزال n00b ، وتحتاج إلى توجيه خبير من مستشار تسويق عبر الإنترنت مؤهل. الدعائم لقول ذلك.

    • 2

      دانيال،

      أنا أقدر ارتباط جاي! نظرًا لأننا نتحدث عن العديد من الأدوات هنا ، فقد أغرقنا أنفسنا في الروابط الخارجية ، لذلك أقوم باختبار نهج الإطار لمعرفة ما إذا كان يحسن نتائج تحسين محركات البحث الشاملة لدينا على الإطلاق. سأقوم بمشاركة هذه المعلومات في منشور مستقبلي.

      رد: الاستراتيجيات ، لست بالضرورة أختلف معك ولكن من الصعب شرح الاستطلاع بالكامل داخل عنوان الاستطلاع وحده. أنا مقتنع بمعرفة أن الناس فهموا الغرض من الاستطلاع ولم ينشغلوا بالتفاصيل الدقيقة. كان علي أن أحاول إنشاء "خطوات" في الاستطلاع لمعرفة مستوى التطور والتفاعل الذي انخرطت فيه الشركات مع استراتيجيتها.

      ليس من السهل القيام بذلك ... ولكن إضاعة أسبوع في الكلام بدلاً من مجرد إلقاء اقتراع للحصول على شعور بأن هناك تجارة كانت. كنت أرغب في الحصول على الاستطلاع هناك. إذا كان هذا مسحًا رسميًا صحيحًا من الناحية الإحصائية ، لكنت اتبعت استراتيجية مختلفة تمامًا.

      أقول إنني لا أختلف "بالضرورة" لأن لدي شركات قامت ببناء إستراتيجيتها من خلال مشاركة المحتوى فقط ... أو مجرد الدفع لطرف ثالث. الأداة "يمكن" أن تكون الاستراتيجية.

      شكر!

      • 3

        شكرا للاستجابة مدروسة! سأعود لقراءة المزيد من المشاركات ، ويسعدني أن جاي مرتبط بك.

        أعترف أن لدي شريحة على كتفي عندما يتعلق الأمر بالحديث عن "استراتيجية وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي". أعتقد أنه إذا لم يكن ما تنفذه الشركة خطة واسعة ومصممة عن قصد ، فهي ليست استراتيجية. بدلاً من ذلك ، إنه مجرد عمل مزدحم. أحيانًا ينجح هذا ، لكنه يتركك في معظم الأوقات حيث بدأت ، فقيرًا ومرهقًا فقط. إنها خدمة لصناعتنا عندما يساعد أي شخص قادة المؤسسات على التعرف على الاستراتيجية الحقيقية.

        • 4

          وهكذا يجب عليك يا دانيال! هناك الكثير من الأشخاص الذين يجرون حولهم وينشرون الخراب في الشركات ... مما يدفعهم للقفز قبل أن يكون لديهم استراتيجية كاملة. سأستخدم المزيد من الحذر في المستقبل مع كلامي. شكرا لك مرة أخرى! 🙂

  2. 5

    آمين دوغ. آمين. ومع ذلك ، أعتقد أنك تسير في البحر ولكني أفهم أن هذه كانت وجهة نظرك. القياس هو المفتاح والقدرة على تسليم منتجك في الوقت المحدد أكثر أهمية.

  3. 6

    حاولت تعديل تعليقي لكنني لم أستطع لسبب ما. أعتقد أنه من المفيد توظيف شخص لديه "مجموعات كبيرة من المنصات المشتركة ، بلاه بلاه ، لغة الشركة ، تجربة إعلامية مباشرة" ولكن الأهم هو تعيين شخص بناءً على النتائج. لا يعني عدم خبرة شخص ما أنه لا يستطيع تقديم منتج هادف وقائم على النتائج.

    الجميع يبدأ في مكان ما.

    • 7

      لست متأكدا أوافق ، كايل. إذا لم يكن لدى أحد الأشخاص الخبرة ، فينبغي أن يأخذوا الوقت الكافي للذهاب للعمل في مكان ما والحصول عليها. أرى عددًا كبيرًا جدًا من الشركات يتورط في فوضى من قبل أشخاص يفتقرون إلى الخبرة. بالنسبة للنتائج ... يجب أن تكون متسقة قبل أن أثق بها في ميزانيتي. لا أتوقع أي شيء أقل من عملائي أيضًا. لم نعد نتدرب ... هنا توجد وظائف وشركات تعتمد علينا.

      • 8

        أعتقد أنني قادم من منصبي أكثر من أي شيء آخر. عندما أقوم ببناء تدريب للشركات ، فإن افتقاري لخبرة الشركة ليس مشكلة. الآن ، أوافق على أنه فيما يتعلق بالتسويق والتطوير والاستشارات ، قد تواجه مشكلة. أنا ممزق في ذلك. لدي شركة لمدة 5 سنوات لم يكن لديها "خبرة" قبل أن نبدأها.

        لا أعتقد أنك بحاجة إلى "العمل في مكان ما" قبل أن يتم تعيينك كمستشار أو شخص يمكنه تقديم قيمة. إذا تم تعييني لإثارة فريق تنفيذي أو المساعدة في صياغة إستراتيجية لمنظمة غير ربحية كبيرة ... إذا كنت أقدم قيمة ... فلا ينبغي أن يكون ذلك مهمًا.

        لدي قائمة كاملة بالأشخاص ذوي الخبرة الذين فشلوا. لا أعرف ما إذا كانت التجربة هي المشكلة ... ألا يجب أن تكون قدرتك على تقديم ما تبيعه؟ فترة؟

        وصدقوني ، أنا قادم من وجهة نظر بيع شيء ما والفشل ... أعتقد أننا جميعًا حصلنا عليه.

        • 9

          لا أعتقد أنك تتواصل معي من ناحية "التجربة". لم تكن تبني تدريبًا للشركات حول كيفية بناء شركة بشكل فعال ... كنت تقوم ببناء تدريب على الاستخدام الفعال لوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، أليس كذلك؟ وقد تم تعليمك تطوير التدريب ، أليس كذلك؟

          لذلك ... هذا شيء لديك خبرة فيه ... وكان تدريبك ناجحًا. سأقوم بتوظيفك من أجل ذلك ... لكنني لن أوظفك لمساعدة عملي في الحصول على برنامج رعاية صحية جديد عندما لا تكون لديك خبرة هناك ، أليس كذلك؟

          بالنسبة للفشل ، لن أعمل مع الناس أبدًا إذا قالوا إنهم لم يفشلوا أبدًا. أعتقد أن ما قلته هو أنهم كانوا "متسقين" في قدرتهم على تحقيق النتائج. هذا بالتأكيد يترك مجالا للفشل. لكنني أيضًا لن أقوم بتوظيف مستشار يقول ، "حتى الآن ، عملت مع 8 عملاء وفشلت في الحصول على نتائج لأربعة منهم". 🙂

  4. 10

    كل الوسائط متصلة (لا يقصد التورية Zuck). وصف ما يسمى بمستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي بـ "عشرة سنتات" لا ينصف ذلك. أنا معك مائة بالمائة و أنا معك يا أخي.

  5. 11

    "مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هم عشرة سنتات ويبدو أن المؤهلات هي أي شخص يمكنه تجميع جملة مكونة من 140 حرفًا مع علامة تصنيف ورمز @."

    يكاد يكون من العار أن لا يتناسب مع 140 حرفًا.

    بالطبع ، إذا كنت مؤمنًا بقاعدة 10,000 ساعة ، فسيكون من الصعب على أي شخص أن يكون خبيرًا في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ؛ إنه لم يكن موجودًا لفترة كافية.

    أثناء وجوده في مؤتمر Exact Target ، لاحظ جاي باير أن "وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي وظيفة الآن ، لكنها سرعان ما ستصبح مهارة. تمامًا مثل الكتابة أو النسخ. اعتدنا أن يكون لدينا أشخاص لذلك ، ثم أدركنا أنه سيكون أكثر كفاءة إذا كان لدى الجميع المهارة ". (أعيدت صياغته إلى حد ما). على أي حال ، أعتقد أنه على الأرجح على حق.

  6. 12

    "مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هم عشرة سنتات ويبدو أن المؤهلات هي أي شخص يمكنه تجميع جملة مكونة من 140 حرفًا مع علامة تصنيف ورمز @."

    يكاد يكون من العار أن لا يتناسب مع 140 حرفًا.

    بالطبع ، إذا كنت مؤمنًا بقاعدة 10,000 ساعة ، فسيكون من الصعب على أي شخص أن يكون خبيرًا في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ؛ إنه لم يكن موجودًا لفترة كافية.

    أثناء وجوده في مؤتمر Exact Target ، لاحظ جاي باير أن "وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي وظيفة الآن ، لكنها سرعان ما ستصبح مهارة. تمامًا مثل الكتابة أو النسخ. اعتدنا أن يكون لدينا أشخاص لذلك ، ثم أدركنا أنه سيكون أكثر كفاءة إذا كان لدى الجميع المهارة ". (أعيدت صياغته إلى حد ما). على أي حال ، أعتقد أنه على الأرجح على حق.

  7. 13

    "مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هم عشرة سنتات ويبدو أن المؤهلات هي أي شخص يمكنه تجميع جملة مكونة من 140 حرفًا مع علامة تصنيف ورمز @."

    يكاد يكون من العار أن لا يتناسب مع 140 حرفًا.

    بالطبع ، إذا كنت مؤمنًا بقاعدة 10,000 ساعة ، فسيكون من الصعب على أي شخص أن يكون خبيرًا في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ؛ إنه لم يكن موجودًا لفترة كافية.

    أثناء وجوده في مؤتمر Exact Target ، لاحظ جاي باير أن "وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي وظيفة الآن ، لكنها سرعان ما ستصبح مهارة. تمامًا مثل الكتابة أو النسخ. اعتدنا أن يكون لدينا أشخاص لذلك ، ثم أدركنا أنه سيكون أكثر كفاءة إذا كان لدى الجميع المهارة ". (أعيدت صياغته إلى حد ما). على أي حال ، أعتقد أنه على الأرجح على حق.

  8. 14

    "مستشاري وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هم عشرة سنتات ويبدو أن المؤهلات هي أي شخص يمكنه تجميع جملة مكونة من 140 حرفًا مع علامة تصنيف ورمز @."

    يكاد يكون من العار أن لا يتناسب مع 140 حرفًا.

    بالطبع ، إذا كنت مؤمنًا بقاعدة 10,000 ساعة ، فسيكون من الصعب على أي شخص أن يكون خبيرًا في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ؛ إنه لم يكن موجودًا لفترة كافية.

    أثناء وجوده في مؤتمر Exact Target ، لاحظ جاي باير أن "وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي هي وظيفة الآن ، لكنها سرعان ما ستصبح مهارة. تمامًا مثل الكتابة أو النسخ. اعتدنا أن يكون لدينا أشخاص لذلك ، ثم أدركنا أنه سيكون أكثر كفاءة إذا كان لدى الجميع المهارة ". (أعيدت صياغته إلى حد ما). على أي حال ، أعتقد أنه على الأرجح على حق.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

You Don’t Pay for Social Media Consultants

With the wide focus of the MarTech Blog, I may not get the social amplification that a great blog like Convince and Convert gets (Great post from Jay!)… but I do appreciate the community we’ve built here at the MarTech Blog.

The most recent Zoomerang Poll we added on social media strategies fills me with pride… you folks are sophisticated marketers! You’re actively participating in social media, syndicating content there, paying for tools and promotion… and measuring return on investment. Simply put… awesome! It means that we’re challenged with bringing you advanced marketing content as much as the basics.

One might wonder… if DK New Media is a social media consulting firm, why would you be happy that none of your readers pay for social media consulting? Well… I’m going to say it… you don’t need to. Social media consultants are a dime a dozen and the qualifications appear to be anyone that can piece a 140 character sentence together with a hashtag and an @ symbol.

Companies that are investing in marketing consulting help need to identify consultants with experience working through diverse, cross-media marketing strategies that leverage each medium and maximize their investment and impact. That takes a consultant with much more experience. Sorry if I just insulted a portion of my audience… but unless you know the impact of social on search, mobile, traditional media, email, etc… and how to measure it’s effectiveness with… you’re still in elementary school.

15 Comments

  1. 1

    Hi Doug, I came here following a link from Jay’s blog post. The first thing I notice is that he gives you a straight-up keyword-rich link and your reciprocal link is to his post with your frame around it.

    The second thing I notice is that none of the options in the poll are actually strategies. They’re actions, tactics, and sets of actions. Using free third-party social media tools isn’t a strategy. It’s a way of executing a strategy.

    Likewise, paying a social media consultant isn’t a strategy. You pay a social media consultant to help you develop, deploy, and adjust a strategy.

    The final thing I notice is that you’re spot-on that unless you have metrics that map back to your strategic objectives, you’re still a n00b, and you need the expert guidance of a qualified Internet marketing consultant. Props for saying so.

    • 2

      Daniel,

      I appreciate Jay’s link! Since we talk about so many tools on here, we drown ourselves in outbound links so I’m testing the frame approach to see if it improves our overall SEO results at all. I’ll be sharing that information in a future post.

      RE: Strategies, I don’t necessarily disagree with you but it’s difficult to fully explain a poll within the poll title alone. I’m satisfied knowing that folks understood the purpose behind the poll and didn’t get caught up in the minutia. I had to try to generate ‘steps’ in the poll to see the level of sophistication and interaction the companies were engaged in with their strategy.

      That’s not easily done… but wasting a week in verbiage rather than just throwing a poll to get a feeling out there was the trade. I wanted to get the poll out there. If this were a formal, statistically valid survey, I would have taken a far different strategy.

      I say I don’t ‘necessarily’ disagree because I have companies that have built their strategy through just syndicating content… or just paying a third party. The tool ‘can’ be the strategy.

      Thanks!

      • 3

        Thanks for the thoughtful response! I’ll be back to read more posts, and I’m glad Jay linked to you.

        I readily admit I have a chip on my shoulder when it comes to talk of “social media strategy.” I believe that if what a company is executing isn’t a broad, intentionally designed plan, it’s not a strategy. Instead, it’s just busy work. Sometimes it works, but most of the time it leaves you right where you started, only poor and exhausted. It’s a service to our industry whenever anyone helps organization leaders recognize what strategy really is.

        • 4

          And so you should, Daniel! There are too many folks running around and wreaking havoc with companies… getting them to jump before they have a strategy fully in place. I’ll use a bit more caution in the future with my verbiage. Thanks again! 🙂

  2. 5

    Amen, Doug. Amen. However, I think you are going overboard but I understand that was your point. Measurement is key and the ability to deliver your product on time is even more important.

  3. 6

    I tried to edit my comment but couldn’t for some reason. I believe that it is advantageous to hire someone that has “droves of cross-platform, blah-blah, corporate lingo, direct media experience” but it is more important to hire a person based on results. Just because someone is inexperienced does not mean they can’t deliver a meaningful and results-driven product.

    Everyone starts somewhere.

    • 7

      Not sure I agree, Kyle. If someone doesn’t have the experience, they should take the time to go work somewhere and get it. I see too many companies steered into a mess by folks who lack the experience. As for results… they need to be consistent before I’m going to trust them with my budget. I wouldn’t expect anything less from my clients either. We’re not in training anymore… out here there are jobs and companies dependent on us.

      • 8

        I guess I’m coming from my position more than anything else. When I build training for companies, my lack of corporate experience is not an issue. Now, I would agree that on marketing, development, and consulting you could have an issue. I’m torn on that one. I’ve had a company for 5 years that didn’t have “experience” before we started it.

        I don’t think you need to go “work somewhere” before you can be hired as a consultant or someone who can deliver value. If I am hired to excite an executive team or help mold a strategy for a large nonprofit… if I am delivering value… it shouldn’t matter.

        I have an entire list of experienced people who have failed. I don’t know if experience is the issue… shouldn’t it be your ability to deliver what you sell? Period?

        And believe me, I am coming from the standpoint of selling something and failing… I think we all have.

        • 9

          I don’t think you’re connecting with me on the ‘experience’ part. You weren’t building training for companies on how to effectively build a company… you were building training on effectively utilizing social media, right? And you were educated on developing training, right?

          So… that’s something you DID have experience in… and your training was a success. I’d hire you for that… but I’m not going to hire you to help my business get on a new healthcare program when you have no experience there, right?

          As for failure, I would never work with people if they said they had never failed. I think what I said was that they were “consistent” in their ability to get results. That definitely leaves room for failure. But I’m also not going to hire a consultant that says, “to date, I’ve worked with 8 clients and failed to get results for 4 of them”. 🙂

  4. 10

    ALL Media is connected (no pun intended Zuck). Calling so-called social media consultants a “dime a dozen” doesn’t do it justice. I’m with you a hundred percent and got your back bro.

  5. 11

    “Social media consultants are a dime a dozen and the qualifications appear to be anyone that can piece a 140 character sentence together with a hashtag and an @ symbol.”

    It’s almost a shame that didn’t fit into 140 characters.

    Of course, if you’re a believer in the 10,000 hour rule, it would be difficult for anyone to be an expert in social media; it just hasn’t been around long enough.

    While at the Exact Target conference, Jay Baer remarked that “social media is a job now, but soon it will become a skill. Just like typing or making copies. We used to have people for that, then we realized that it’s more efficient if everyone has the skill.” (Somewhat paraphrased.) Anyway, I think he’s probably right.

  6. 12

    “Social media consultants are a dime a dozen and the qualifications appear to be anyone that can piece a 140 character sentence together with a hashtag and an @ symbol.”

    It’s almost a shame that didn’t fit into 140 characters.

    Of course, if you’re a believer in the 10,000 hour rule, it would be difficult for anyone to be an expert in social media; it just hasn’t been around long enough.

    While at the Exact Target conference, Jay Baer remarked that “social media is a job now, but soon it will become a skill. Just like typing or making copies. We used to have people for that, then we realized that it’s more efficient if everyone has the skill.” (Somewhat paraphrased.) Anyway, I think he’s probably right.

  7. 13

    “Social media consultants are a dime a dozen and the qualifications appear to be anyone that can piece a 140 character sentence together with a hashtag and an @ symbol.”

    It’s almost a shame that didn’t fit into 140 characters.

    Of course, if you’re a believer in the 10,000 hour rule, it would be difficult for anyone to be an expert in social media; it just hasn’t been around long enough.

    While at the Exact Target conference, Jay Baer remarked that “social media is a job now, but soon it will become a skill. Just like typing or making copies. We used to have people for that, then we realized that it’s more efficient if everyone has the skill.” (Somewhat paraphrased.) Anyway, I think he’s probably right.

  8. 14

    “Social media consultants are a dime a dozen and the qualifications appear to be anyone that can piece a 140 character sentence together with a hashtag and an @ symbol.”

    It’s almost a shame that didn’t fit into 140 characters.

    Of course, if you’re a believer in the 10,000 hour rule, it would be difficult for anyone to be an expert in social media; it just hasn’t been around long enough.

    While at the Exact Target conference, Jay Baer remarked that “social media is a job now, but soon it will become a skill. Just like typing or making copies. We used to have people for that, then we realized that it’s more efficient if everyone has the skill.” (Somewhat paraphrased.) Anyway, I think he’s probably right.

Leave a Reply