تحولات SaaS لتقديم قاعدة البيانات كخدمة

iStock 000006412772X صغير

قبل أسبوعين ، كان من دواعي سروري أن أستمع إلى سكوت ماكوركل ، رئيس العمليات في ExactTarget ، وهو يتحدث عن تطور منصتهم. لقد كتبت في الماضي على ما أعتقد لقد قفز مقدمو خدمة البريد الإلكتروني إلى الوراء - ويبدو أن المرشدين الاقتصاديين ذوي التفكير المستقبلي قد لاحظوا بالفعل.

تحدث سكوت عن هدف ExactTarget المتمثل في أن يكون مركز التسويق للشركات. بدلاً من أن تكون مجرد محرك إرسال للبريد الإلكتروني ، تعمل ExactTarget على أن تكون قاعدة بيانات السجل للعديد من عملائها مع الأهداف التالية:

  1. تجميع البيانات والوصول إليها - من خلال واجهة برمجة تطبيقات شاملة وإضافات بيانات قوية وبنية تحتية قوية وآمنة ، أصبح من الممكن الآن للشركات استضافة واستخدام ExactTarget كمصدر آمن ومتوافق لتخزين بيانات عملائها.
  2. قواعد الصلة بالموضوع - نظرًا لأن ExactTarget يسلم الرسائل عبر البريد الإلكتروني والصوت والرسائل القصيرة ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، يمكن التقاط البيانات السلوكية وتخزينها واستخدامها لتحسين ملاءمة الرسائل لهؤلاء العملاء.
  3. تسليم الاتصالات - تمتلك ExactTarget أسرع أنظمة إدارة البريد الصادر في الصناعة وينفجر نموذج OEM الخاص بها بسبب أداء النظام. يضاف إلى ذلك الصوت ، والرسائل النصية القصيرة ، وبعد شراء CoTweet ، ربما الرسائل على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.
  4. القياس على الكل - تتطلع ExactTarget لإكمال الدائرة من خلال توفير قياس قوي عبر جميع الاتصالات الصادرة.

كان يُنظر إلى تخزين البيانات إلى حد كبير على أنه أمر طبيعي بالنسبة للبرامج كخدمة إدارة علاقات العملاء (CRM) الخدمات ، ولكن الصناعات الأخرى تتحرك الآن في هذا الاتجاه. قام مزود التحليلات ، Webtrends ، بإطلاق زائر بيانات مارت، مما يتيح تقسيمًا قويًا للسحب والإفلات يتم إنشاؤه مباشرةً في المنتج. Webtrends لديها REST متفوقة API بالإضافة إلى محرك تحليلات رائد ، فإن استضافة قاعدة بيانات العملاء الخاصة بك مع Webtrends توفر للمسوقين المتطورين بعض الأدوات القوية لاستهداف وقياس الاتصالات.

تم إطلاق قاعدة البيانات كخدمة قبل عامين مع مزودين مثل Amazon و Google لتقديم قواعد بيانات ارتباطية بسيطة مستضافة في السحابة. كل هذا جيد وجيد ، ولكن بدون تطبيقات للاستفادة من تلك البيانات ، لم يكن للصناعة حقًا التبني الجماعي مثل اعتقد الناس أنه سيكون. الميزة التي تتمتع بها شركات مثل ExactTarget و Webtrends هي أنها أثبتت اتصالات و تحليلات المنتجات الموجودة بالفعل على مدى DaaS.

على الرغم من أن كل هؤلاء المزودين لديهم عمليات تكامل قوية مع بعضهم البعض ، يبدو أنهم سيتنافسون أكثر فأكثر ليصبحوا المصدر الأساسي لبيانات العملاء. سوف يدفع كل من مزودي التجارة الإلكترونية وإدارة علاقات العملاء والبريد الإلكتروني والتحليلات ليصبحوا قاعدة بيانات للسجلات وسيقدمون جميعًا قريبًا خدمات لتخزين بياناتك وتوفير رسائل قوية و تحليلات لبياناتك. من يملك البيانات هو مالك للعميل - وبالتالي ادارة العلاقات مع سوف ينفجر مقدمو الخدمات الذين يدفعون ليصبحوا قاعدة بيانات كمقدمي خدمة في العام المقبل. هذه إستراتيجية رائعة لموفري SaaS لأن ترحيل أو ترك مقدم الخدمة يصبح أكثر صعوبة بمجرد استضافة قاعدة البيانات الخاصة بك!

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Content Marketing

SaaS Shifts to Offer Database as a Service

A couple weeks ago, I had the pleasure of listening to ExactTarget Chief of Operations, Scott McCorkle, speak to the evolution of their platform. I’ve written in the past that I believe Email Service Providers have jumped the shark – and it appears the forward-thinking ESPs have already taken note.

Scott spoke to ExactTarget’s goal of being the Marketing Hub for companies. Instead of simply being a send engine for email, ExactTarget is pushing to be the database of record for many of its clients with the following goals:

  1. Data Aggregation and Accessibility – through a comprehensive API, robust data extensions and secure, robust infrastructure, it’s possible now for companies to host and utilize ExactTarget as a secure, compliant source for storing their clients’ data.
  2. Rules for Relevance – because ExactTarget delivers messages via email, voice, SMS and social media, behavioral data can be captured, stored and utilized to improve the relevance of the messaging for those customers.
  3. Delivery of Communication – ExactTarget has the fastest outbound mail management systems in the industry and their OEM model is exploding because of the system’s performance. Added to this is Voice, SMS and, after the purchase of CoTweet, perhaps social media messaging.
  4. Measurement Over All – ExactTarget is looking to complete the circle by supplying robust measurement over all outbound communication.

Storing data was largely seen as natural for Software as a Service Customer Relationship Management (CRM) services, but other industries are now moving in this direction. Analytics provider, Webtrends, has launched their Visitor Data Mart, allowing for powerful drag and drop segmentation that’s built directly in the product. Webtrends has a superior REST API and, coupled with a leading Analytics engine, hosting your customer database with Webtrends provides sophisticated marketers with some powerful tools to target and measure communications.

Database as a Service launched a couple years ago with providers like Amazon and Google offering simple relational databases hosted in the cloud. That’s all well and good, but without the applications to leverage that data, the industry really hasn’t had the mass adoption like people thought it would. The advantage that companies like ExactTarget and Webtrends have is that they have proven communication and analytics products already in place over the DaaS.

Although all of these providers have strong integrations with one another, it seems more and more they’re going to be competing to become the primary source of customer data. Ecommerce, CRM, Email and Analytics providers are all going to be pushing to become the database of record and all will be soon be offering services to store your data, provide robust messaging and analytics for your data. He who owns the data owns the client – so SaaS providers pushing to become Database as a Service providers is going to explode in the next year. This is a great strategy for SaaS providers since migrating or leaving your provider becomes much more difficult once they’re hosting your database!

Leave a Reply