كيف اهتممت بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؟

douglas karr

عندما سأل شيل عن الأشخاص الذين قد يكونون مهتمين بتقديم بعض الردود بامتداد مسح SAP على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، انتهزت الفرصة وكتبت له على الفور. بإذن شيل ، سمح لي بنشر ردودي على مدونتي. هذا هو الجزء الأول!

أخبرني متى وكيف بدأت اهتمامك بوسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. لماذا ا؟

من خلال العمل في وسائل الإعلام المطبوعة لأكثر من عقد من الزمان ، شاهدت الإنترنت سريعًا بدأ في جذب الانتباه ومعه الإعلان من صناعة الصحف. الإنترنت كوسيلة سهلة الوصول وغير مكلفة والتقنية بسيطة إلى حد ما. حتى في وسائل الإعلام المطبوعة ، كنت أعتقد دائمًا أن كل وسيلة لها نقاط قوتها وضعفها. أحيانًا الجريدة لم يكن أفضل مكان للإعلان.

عندما جاء الإنترنت ، رأى زملائي أنه يمثل تهديدًا. لقد رأيت أنها فرصة رائعة. قفزت من السفينة وانتقلت إلى دنفر ، كولورادو للعمل في شركة كانت تقود مسؤولية استخدام الإنترنت. لسوء الحظ ، انضممت عندما كانت الفقاعة تنفجر. انتقلت إلى إنديانابوليس للانضمام إلى الصحيفة المحلية وقيادة جهودهم التسويقية المباشرة ، باستخدام البيانات لاستهداف المشتركين المحتملين بشكل أفضل ودفع برنامج بريد مباشر للعملاء.

حاولت قدر الإمكان إدخال تقنيات مثل التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني في الصحف أيضًا ، ولكن أي شيء "الإنترنت" كان يُنظر إليه على أنه وسيلة لتقديم المحتوى وبيع الإعلانات ... وليس إنشاء العلاقات. كان أي شيء على الإنترنت أيضًا تحت سلطة قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، لذلك كنت أتقدم على أصابع الآخرين. عندما جاءت الإدارة الجديدة وبدأت تسأل ، "ما الذي تفعله؟" ، كنت أعلم أنهم كانوا غافلين وأنني كنت بحاجة إلى المغادرة.

من خلال صديق وزميل ، دارين جراي ، قابلت بات كويل وانضممت إلى شركتهم ، برانديريكت. كان دارين ولا يزال أستاذًا في المبيعات والتواصل. كان بات ولا يزال على درجة الماجستير في بناء العلاقات. كنت رجل البيانات والتكنولوجيا - أجد أفضل التقنيات لزيادة علاقات الشركات مع العملاء المحتملين والعملاء. لقد كان نجاحًا ، دارين باع ، وأرشد بات ، وبنيت!

047174719X.01. SCMZZZZZZZخلال هذه الفترة ، بدأنا أنا وبات في رؤية التأثير الذي تحدثه وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي. ليس من السخرية ، نقرأ كتاب شيل (التهمنا) ، أحاديث عارية. لقد فهمنا أن التسويق لم يعد مجرد تقنية "دفع" ، بل كان يتحول إلى شيء مختلف للغاية.

انتقل بات إلى The Indianapolis Colts بدوام كامل. أدرك فريق كولتس ، بقيادة جيم إيرساي ، أنهم على وشك تحقيق العظمة وأعتقد أن لديه رؤية ليعرف أنه بحاجة إلى اغتنام الفرصة للتواصل مع المعجبين بينما كان دفعه إلى Superbowl على مرمى البصر.

انتقلت إلى الهدف الدقيق، موفر خدمة البريد الإلكتروني ، مفتون ببشارة CMO ومؤسسها كريس باجوت. كانت رسالة كريس حول القيمة المذهلة للتسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني القائم على الإذن ، واستهداف الرسالة المناسبة للأشخاص المناسبين في الوقت المناسب.

MyColts.netفي العامين الماضيين ، بقيت أنا وبات أصدقاء مقربين ، وكثيرًا ما التقينا بنادي الكتاب المحلي الذي ينسقه ، The Indianapolis Book Mashup. كتابنا الأول؟ أحاديث عارية وبطبيعة الحال!

انتهز بات الفرصة لدفع The Colts لبناء شبكة اجتماعية لأبطال Superbowl. لقد ألقيت اللعاب وأنا أشاهد MyColts.net أصبح حقيقة واقعة. مع جدول زمني مزدحم خاص بي ، وأطلق مجتمع مطور لـ ExactTarget وتمت ترقيتي إلى مدير المنتج لـ ExactTarget بينما نمت من مئات العملاء المدمجين إلى الآلاف ، لم أتمكن من المشاهدة إلا عندما تم إطلاق MyColts.net.

بدأت أنا وكريس باجوت أيضًا في الاجتماع والتحدث عن الوسيط. أدرك كريس قيمة الوسيط ، والذي (أعتقد) كان مؤثرًا إلى حد كبير في دفع ExactTarget إلى صدارة الصناعة. كريس مدونة أفضل ممارسات البريد الإلكتروني تم منحه عدة مرات على مر السنين وتم الاعتراف به بالتأكيد كقائد فكري في صناعة التسويق عبر البريد الإلكتروني - ويرجع الفضل في ذلك جزئيًا إلى مدونته. كان هذا عندما بدأ كريس يرى فرصة ، رغم ذلك. كانت المدونات وسيلة رائعة للحصول على المعلومات - ولكن لا يزال من الصعب على المستهلك العثور على كتلة الذهب التي كان المدونون ينشرونها.

برنامج الخلاصةبدأ كريس في زرع البذور لـ برنامج الخلاصة، شركته الجديدة. راقب هذه الشركة! إنه التطور التالي للتدوين وأصبح الآن حقيقة واقعة. أشعر أحيانًا وكأنني أب أشاهد طفله يكبر بينما أرى هذه الشركة تبدأ - لكن لسوء الحظ ، لم يكن الوقت متاحًا لي للانضمام إلى الفريق.

لماذا علقت في وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي؟

وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي تكافئ الملعب. أعتقد أنها مهمة للأعمال كما هي للديمقراطية. توفر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي لأي شخص لوحة مفاتيح وإمكانية الوصول إلى الإنترنت للحصول على صوت. توفر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي وسيلة للأعمال التجارية الجيدة والصادقة لبناء علاقات مع العملاء المحتملين والعملاء. لم يعد الفائز هو "من يستطيع تحمل تكلفة معظم الإعلانات". لم يعد يتعين على الشركات دفع نسب ضخمة من ميزانياتها لإيجاد وسائل الإعلام المطبوعة والمسموعة. الآن عليهم ببساطة القيام بعمل رائع وستنتشر الكلمة.

ما المسوق الذي لا يريد أن يشارك في ذلك؟

ملاحظة جانبية: بعد سنوات ، بدأ نجم إنديانابوليس في رؤية الضوء أيضًا. بمجرد أن يسخر طاقم التحرير ، أصبح المحتوى الذي ينشئه المستخدمون الآن مجال نمو رائد للصحيفة. الدفع IndyMoms كمثال رائع.

9 تعليقات

  1. 1

    مقال رائع ، دوغ. لقد أتيت من عالم الطباعة أيضًا. لقد قطعت أسناني لتعلم الطباعة على جهاز CompuWriter Jr. وكان الشيء يحتوي على شريط فيلم طويل مع خط مطبوع يدور على عجلة داخل الجهاز. بمجرد كتابة الرسالة ، لا يمكنك الرجوع وإجراء التصحيح. كان عليك إعادة كتابة الخط وتجريده يدويًا على الخطأ!

    لقد اندهشت عندما ظهرت التكنولوجيا التي جعلت العملية الميكانيكية بأكملها "سحرًا تلقائيًا" باستخدام الكمبيوتر والطابعة ، انفتح العالم على إمكانيات لا حصر لها ، بما في ذلك تصحيح نوع o قبل طباعة الصفحة (تخيل ذلك).

    ثم جاء الإنترنت وبدأ الناس في التواصل مع بعضهم البعض كما لم يحدث من قبل. أنا دائمًا مندهش من عمق واتساع المواهب والذكاء في العالم. بالطبع هناك المجرمون أيضًا ، لكني أدافع عن حقهم في الانضمام إلى المحادثة. من المثير أن تعيش في زمن ثورة حقيقية.

    • 2

      بارد جدا! لم أدرك أنك أتيت من المطبوعات أيضًا! كان لدي خلفية في مجال الكهرباء / الإلكترونيات وعملت على جانب ترقيم الصفحات من العمل قليلاً حتى أعرف من أين أتيت. كنت هناك عندما بدأنا ترقيم الصفحات والأتمتة من إنشاء صفحات قص ولصق!

      إن مجالك هو صناعة رائعة بالإضافة إلى أنها مهيأة للتكنولوجيا. أعتقد أن تجارة التجزئة المتخصصة هي مستقبل البيع بالتجزئة ، وعلى الرغم من قوتها اليوم ، لا أعتقد أن "المتجر الكبير" سيستمر لعقد آخر (على الأقل أتمنى ألا يستمر).

      الطريقة التي يستفيد بها الناس من التكنولوجيا في الطيور البرية غير محدودة رائع. أصحاب الامتياز الخاصين بك محظوظون لامتلاكك!

      شكر!
      دوغ

      • 3
        • 4

          مرحبا رافي ،

          عندما أقوم بعمل الندوات تدوين الشركات والشركات التي "تفعل ذلك بشكل صحيح" ، أول شركة أذكرها هي Sun و Jonathon Schwartz!

          لقد قرأت مدونتك في الماضي! أنت تقوم بعمل جيد ولديك منظور مثير للاهتمام حول كيفية تطور التكنولوجيا وتغيير حياتنا.

          شكرا لتعليقك!
          دوغ

  2. 5
    • 6

      مرحبا آيفي ،

      شيل هو شيل إسرائيل ، مؤلف كتاب محادثات عارية - وهو كتاب أوصي به بشدة. شيل لديه عظيم المدونة التي تستمر في استكشاف ومناقشة وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي.

      وهو رجل لطيف حقًا! إنه شفاف بشكل لا يصدق ومنفتح وصادق ومتاح من خلال موقعه. أعتقد أنه من أوائل المؤلفين الذين وضعوا حرفته في العمل باستخدام عالم المدونات!

      هتاف،
      دوغ

  3. 7

    أعتقد أن مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي هي الطريقة الجديدة والقادمة للإعلان. إنه لأمر مدهش بالنسبة لي كيف تطورت الإنترنت على مر السنين وأتساءل فقط عما سيحدث في المستقبل. أي مسوق شبكي لا يستخدم مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي يفقد فرصة كبيرة لزيادة الأعمال التجارية.

  4. 8
    • 9

      تعد القدرة على تقديم قيمة وبناء سلطة على مدونة ... ثم مشاركتها والترويج لها عبر وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي مزيجًا رائعًا. تعد وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ثنائية الاتجاه ، مما يتيح لك إجراء محادثة مع الجمهور أو حتى تمكينك من بناء مجتمعك الخاص. لست متأكدًا من أن أي منهما سيكون بنفس القوة بدون الآخر.

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

How did I get interested in Social Media?

When Shel asked for folks who might be interested in providing some response with an SAP Survey on Social Media, I jumped at the opportunity and immediately wrote him. With Shel’s permission, he’s allowed me to post my responses on my blog. This is Part I!

Tell me when and how you first got interested in social media. Why?

Working in Print Media for over a decade, I watched as the Internet quickly began to siphon attention and, with it, advertising from the newspaper industry. The Internet as a medium is accessible, inexpensive, and the technology is fairly simple. Even within print media, I always believed that each medium had it’s own strengths and weaknesses. Sometimes the Newspaper wasn’t the greatest place to advertise.

When the Internet came along, my colleagues saw it as a threat. I saw it as an incredible opportunity. I jumped ship and moved to Denver, Colorado to work for a company that was leading the charge on utilizing the Internet. Unfortunately, I joined when the bubble was bursting. I moved to Indianapolis to join the local newspaper and lead their direct marketing efforts, utilizing data to better target prospective subscribers and pushing a direct mail program for clients.

I tried as much as possible to get technologies such as Email Marketing into the newspaper as well, but anything “Internet” was seen as a medium to deliver content and sell advertising… not creating relationships. Anything Internet was also under the authority of the IT department so I was stepping on other peoples’ toes. When new management came in and began asking, “What is it that you do?”, I knew they were oblivious and I needed to leave.

Through a friend and colleague, Darrin Gray, I met Pat Coyle and joined their firm, Brandirect. Darrin was and is a master at sales and networking. Pat was and is a master at building relationships. I was the data and technology guy – finding the best technologies to increase companies’ relationships with their prospects and customers. It was a success, Darrin sold, Pat guided, and I built!

It was during this period that Pat and I started seeing the impact that Social Media was having. Not too ironic, we read (devoured) Shel’s book, Naked Conversations. We understood that marketing was no longer simply a ‘push’ technology, it was turning into something very, very different.

Pat moved to The Indianapolis Colts full time. The Colts, led by Jim Irsay, knew they were on the verge of greatness and I believe he had the vision to know that he needed to take the opportunity to connect with fans while his push to the Superbowl was within sight.

I moved to ExactTarget, an Email Service Provider, mesmerized by the evangelism of CMO and founder Chris Baggott. Chris’ message was about the incredible value of permission-based email marketing, targeting the right message to the right people at the right time.

MyColts.netIn the last two years, Pat and I still remained close friends and met often with a local book club that he coordinates, The Indianapolis Book Mashup. Our first book? Naked Conversations of course!

Pat took the opportunity to push The Colts to building a social network for the Superbowl Champions. I salivated as I watched MyColts.net becoming a reality. With a busy schedule of my own, launching a Developer Community for ExactTarget and being promoted to Product Manager for ExactTarget while we grew from hundreds of integrated clients to thousands, I could only watch as MyColts.net was launched.

Chris Baggott and I also began meeting and talking about the medium. Chris understood the value of the medium, which (I believe) was largely influential in propelling ExactTarget to the forefront of the industry. Chris’ Email Best Practices blog was awarded several times over the years and he was definitely recognized as a thought leader in the Email Marketing industry – thanks in part to his blog. This was when Chris started seeing an opportunity, though. Blogs were fantastic vehicles for information – but it still isn’t easy for the consumer to find the nugget of gold that bloggers were posting.

Compendium SoftwareChris began sowing the seeds for Compendium Software, his new startup. Keep an eye on this company! It’s the next evolution of blogging and it’s now becoming a reality. Sometimes I feel like a father watching his child grow up as I see this company starting up – but, unfortunately, the timing wasn’t there for me to join the team.

Why have I got caught up in Social Media?

Social media levels the playing field. I believe it’s as important for business as it is for democracy. Social media provides anyone with a keyboard and internet access to have a voice. Social media provides a means for good, honest businesses to build relationships with their prospects and customers. No longer is it ‘he who can afford the most advertising’ who wins. No longer do businesses have to pay huge percentages of their budgets to print and broadcast media to be found. Now they simply have to do a great job and the word will get out.

What marketer wouldn’t want to be involved with that?

A Side Note: Years later, The Indianapolis Star has begun to see the light as well. Once scoffed by the editorial staff, now user-generated content is becoming a leading growth area for the newspaper. Check out IndyMoms as a great example.

9 Comments

  1. 1

    Great article, Doug. I come from the print world as well. I cut my teeth learning to typeset on a CompuWriter Jr. The thing had a long film strip with a font imprinted that spun on a wheel inside the machine. Once a letter was typed, you couldn’t go back and make a correction. You had to retype the line and hand strip it over the mistake!

    I was blown away as technology came along that made the whole mechanical process “auto-magic.” With a computer and printer, the world was opened up to endless possibilities, including correcting a type-o before printing out the page (imagine that).

    Then came the Internet and people started communicating with each other like never before. I’m constantly amazed by the depth and breadth of talent and intelligence in the world. Of course there are the crackpots too, but I defend their right to join the conversation. It’s exciting to be living during a time of true revolution.

    • 2

      Too cool! I didn’t realize you came from print as well! I had an electrical/electronics background and worked on the pagination side of the business quite a bit so I know where you’re coming from. I was there when we began pagination and automation from cut and paste page builds!

      Yours is a fascinating industry as well that’s primed for technology. I think niche retail is the future of retail and, although strong today, I don’t think the “Super Store” will last another decade (at least I hope not).

      The way you folks are leveraging technology at Wild Birds Unlimited is fantastic. Your franchisees are lucky folks to have you!

      Thanks!
      Doug

  2. 5
    • 6

      Hi Ivy,

      Shel is Shel Israel, the author of Naked Conversations – a book I highly recommend. Shel has a great blog that continues to explore and discuss Social Media.

      And he’s a really nice guy! He’s incredibly transparent, open, honest and available through his site. I think he’s one of the first authors to really put his craft to work using the blogosphere!

      Cheers,
      Doug

  3. 7

    Social media sites are the new up and coming way of advertising, I believe. It is amazing to me how the Internet has evolved over the years and I just wonder what is coming in the future. Any network marketer who doesn’t use social media sites is missing out on a big opportunity for increased business.

  4. 8
    • 9

      The ability to provide value and build authority on a blog… then share it and promote it via social media is a great combination. Social media is bi-directional, enabling you to have a conversation with the audience or even enabling you to build your own community. I’m not sure either would be as powerful without the other.

Leave a Reply