حان الوقت لتضع وجهك الحربي

وجه الحرب

هناك فرق بين مندوب المبيعات والأقرب. أعتقد أنني عظيم بائع، ولكن رهيب أقرب. أعلم أنني قمت ببيع العديد من التعاقدات الكبيرة ، لكنني لم أكن أبدًا الرجل الذي دفع من أجل ذلك حبر (توقيع العقد). لا أستمتع بالتراجع عن حجم العقد أو الضغط على العميل المحتمل للتوقيع في وقت سابق. لحسن الحظ ، أنا محاط بالموهبة في عملي الذين يستمتعون بهذه الفرص.

يمكن للمغلقين لدينا التعرف بسرعة على الفرص مع العميل ، وفوائد تطبيقنا ، وممارسة الضغط اللازم لإكمال البيع. قد يبدو هذا وكأنه تلاعب - كنت أتفق إذا لم أكن أعتقد أننا نغير نجاح عملائنا حقًا.

لقد حددنا أنه كلما زادت المشاركة وكلما بدأنا بشكل أسرع ، زادت سرعة العائد على الاستثمار لعملائنا - لذلك نحن سعداء على المدى الطويل. لقد حددنا أيضًا العكس - يحتاج عملاؤنا الأصغر حجمًا إلى أقصى قدر من الاهتمام ولا تأتي النتائج في وقت قريب. يمكن للعميل الكبير رؤية القيمة في غضون أسابيع ، وقد يستغرق العميل الصغير شهورًا.

مع ثقل الركود الذي يقع على عاتقنا بالكامل ، فإننا نواجه تحديات مع الشركات التي لديها دولارات لإنهاء العام ، ولكن يتعين علينا حقًا أن نثق بنا فيما يتعلق باستثماراتها. تفضل الشركات عدم الإنفاق على الإطلاق وعدم المخاطرة بالنمو بدلاً من إنفاق الأموال مع احتمال خسارتها.

هذا عندما تحتاج إلى ملف أقرب. الأقرب لا أسعار فرم للحصول على البيع ، وضعوا على وجه الحرب وتحدي العميل المحتمل لإغلاق عملية البيع.

هذا الأسبوع رأيته في العمل. لقد عملنا مع عميل محتمل سيستفيد تمامًا من منصة التدوين الخاصة بنا ، لكنهم كانوا يتباطأون في التوقيع. حجم العقد هو جزء صغير من ميزانيتهم ​​الإجمالية ، لذا فهي لا تحتاج إلى تفكير. سيكون عائد الاستثمار أكثر بعدة مرات من جهودهم الأخرى.

وضعنا أقرب له وجه الحرب وذهب إلى المعركة. لقد بحث في استراتيجيتهم الحالية وذكّر الاحتمال بأنهم قد استثمروا بالفعل الكثير من الوقت والطاقة في استراتيجية لم تحقق لهم أي نتائج ... ندى ... وأننا كنا الفرق. كلما اقتربنا من المحادثة مع السؤال الصحيح ، "هل ترغب في مواصلة استراتيجيتك الفاشلة ، أو الاستثمار في استراتيجية ناجحة معنا؟". أغلق!

تبدو قاسية ، لكن هذه أوقات عصيبة. تعمل الشركات على استنزاف ميزانياتها لعام 2008 في الوقت الحالي ، لذا قد تشعر بالرضا لأن المبيعات قادمة في طريقك وأن الركود ليس مشكلة كبيرة.

في عام 2009 ، من الأفضل لك مواجهة الحرب لأنك ستضطر للقتال من أجل أموال الميزانية التي قد لا تكون موجودة حتى! تأكد من استئجار غرف مغلقة - وليس مندوبي مبيعات - وقد تخرج سالمًا. تعد موهبة موظفي المبيعات لدينا جزءًا كبيرًا مما يدفع نمونا القياسي في الوقت الحالي وستزودنا بالنمو المستمر في عام 2009.

6 تعليقات

  1. 1
    • 2

      لن تساعد الدروع الواقية للبدن في إغلاق عملية البيع ، SBM! لا أريد أن يخاف الشخص المحتمل أو يخيفه. الخوف عاطفة تشل الحركة - خاصة في الأعمال التجارية.

      على العكس ، أريدهم أن يطمئنوا. المشكلة التي نراها مع هذا الاقتصاد هي أن الشركات تتراجع - حتى عندما يكون من مصلحتها المضي قدمًا. يجب أن تحارب المبيعات من خلال هذا الخوف.

      شكرا لك على الإضافة إلى المحادثة.

  2. 3

    يا إلهي ، إنه لأمر رائع أن تسمع شخصًا ما يتحدث عن الأعمال التجارية في العالم الحقيقي. كل ما أسمعه هو Twitter هذا ، و FriendFeed ذلك ، والتسويق عبر مواقع التواصل الاجتماعي. أعطني استراحة ، فمعظم أصحاب الأعمال مشغولون جدًا بتويتر ، لأن الشركات التي لديها منتج للبيع ، عليك أن تفهم عملية البيع من طرف إلى آخر ، وهذا يشمل الإغلاق ، والإغلاق هو فن ، حيث لا تخافوا. تذكر ، أسوأ ما يمكن أن يقولوه على الإطلاق هو لا ، وهذه مجرد واحدة ليست أقرب إلى نعم !!!!

    بريستون ايرلر

  3. 5

    سؤالي لجميع خبراء التسويق بمن فيهم سيث جودين ، ما الذي يمكن فعله لتسويق منتجك الذي سيصل إلى الأعمال التجارية المحلية الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم؟ الآن ، اسمحوا لي أن أقدم لكم بعض المعلومات الأساسية عني ، لقد عملت في صناعة الخدمات المالية لمدة 17 عامًا في مدينة نيويورك. كانت وظيفتي على وجه التحديد هي جمع الأموال وإدارتها. لقد جمعت ملايين مُدارة عبر طريقتين: استضافة ندوات للمستثمرين الأفراد ، والمديرين التنفيذيين غير المحترفين للشركات المتداولة علنًا. كان أكبر حسابي 45 مليون ... لا أمزح. الآن ، لدي شركة لتصميم مواقع الويب التي تصمم مواقع تكلف حوالي 3,000 دولار وما فوق. ما هي النصيحة التي من شأنها أن تمكنني من مقابلة وإغلاق المزيد من أصحاب الأعمال؟ حاولت الدفع بالنقرة ، عديمة الفائدة. شبكات التواصل الاجتماعي ... حسنًا ، هذا ما أسميه G لـ G (Guru to Guru). لقد جلبت المكالمات غير المرغوبة جميع عملائي تقريبًا ، باستثناء الكلام الشفهي. أعطني وجهة نظر جديدة وجديدة….

  4. 6

ما رأيك؟

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

Sales Enablement

It’s Time to Put on Your War Face

There’s a difference between a sales person and a closer. I believe I’m a great salesman, but a terrible closer. I know I’ve sold many large engagements, but I was never the guy that pushed for ink (the contract signing). I don’t enjoy pushing back on contract size or applying the pressure for a prospect to sign earlier. Thankfully, I’m surrounded by talent at my work who relish those opportunities.

Our closers are able to quickly recognize the opportunities with a client, the benefits of our application, and apply the necessary pressure to complete the sale. That may sound like manipulation – I’d agree if I didn’t think we were truly changing our clients’ success.

We’ve identified that the larger the engagement and the sooner we start, the faster the return on investment for our client – so we’re both happy in the long term. We’ve also identified the opposite – our smaller customers require both the most attention and results don’t come as soon. A large client can see the value in weeks, the small client may take months.

With the weight of a recession fully upon us, we’re challenged with companies who have dollars to close out the year, but really have to be compelled to trust us with their investment. Companies would rather not spend at all and risk no growth than spend money with the possibility of losing it.

This is when you need a closer. A closer doesn’t chop prices to get the sale, they put on their war face and challenge the prospect to close the sale.

This week I saw it in action. We’ve been working with a prospect who would absolutely benefit from our blogging platform, but they’ve been dragging their feet at signing. The contract size is a fraction of their overall budget so it’s a no-brainer. The return on investment will be many times more than their other efforts.

Our closer put on his war face and went to battle. He researched their current strategy and reminded the prospect that they had already invested a lot of time and energy into a strategy that has brought them no results… nada… and that we were the difference. The closer left the conversation with the right question, “Do you wish to continue your failed strategy, or invest in a winning strategy with us?”. Close!

Sounds harsh, but these are tough times. Companies are draining their 2008 budgets right now so you may be placated that sales are coming your way and the recession is no big deal.

In 2009, you better put your war face on because you’re going to have to fight for budget dollars that may not even exist! Make sure you hire closers – not salespeople – and you may come out unscathed. The talent of our sales staff is a large part of what’s pushing our record growth right now and will provide us with continued growth in 2009.

6 Comments

  1. 1
    • 2

      Body armor won’t help close a sale, SBM! I don’t want a prospect to be scared or intimidated. Fear is a paralyzing emotion – especially on businesses.

      On the contrary, I want them to be reassured. The problem we’re seeing with this economy is that businesses are holding back – even when it’s in their best interest to move forward. Sales must fight through that fear.

      Thank-you for adding to the conversation.

  2. 3

    Gosh it’s great to hear someone speak about business in the REAL world. All I hear is Twitter this, and FriendFeed that, and marketing via social media websites. Give me a break, most business owners are just too busy to Twitter, as companies with a product to sell, you have to understand the sales process from one end to the other, and that includes closing, and closing is an art, where you cannot be afraid. Remember, the worst they can ever say is no, and that’s just one more no closer to YES!!!!

    Preston Ehrler

  3. 5

    My question to all the marketing gurus out their including Seth Godin is what can be done to market your product that will reach the small to mid-size local business? Now, let me give you a bit of background on me, I’ve worked in the Financial Services Industry for about 17 years in NYC. My job was specifically to raise money and manage it. I raised an managed millions via two avenues: Hosting seminars for individual investors, and cold-calling executives of publicly traded companies. My largest account was 45 mil…no kidding. Now, I have a web design company that designs sites that cost around $3,000 and up. What would be the advice that would enable me to meet and close more business owners? I’ve tried pay per click, useless. Social media networking…yeah right, that’s what I call G to G (Guru to Guru). Cold-calling has brought almost all my customers, except for word of mouth. Give me a new and fresh slant….

  4. 6

Leave a Reply